Gershman Acoustics Avant Garde RX-20 Floorstanding Speakers

Avant Garde RX-20

Time-coherent, 3-way, floorstanding loudspeaker

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Mike   AudioPhile [Sep 25, 2015]

I have owned my pair for many years and have never thought of replacing them. I drive them with VTL MB 250s. This combination makes the speakers virtually invisible, liquid and smooth.Try them with VTLs and you will never need to buy anything else.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
owenls2000@yahoo.com   AudioPhile [Apr 13, 2009]

There are, in the world of high end audio, some products which are just special. These avant gard is one of them. The are very very musical and able to connect emotionally with the listener. The are voiced using a variety of music and they reflect it. They are at home with chamber music as with rock. They are beautifully made and finished and they take up very little space. But, they produce bass that is absolutely terrific. Although small, I have them in a large (16x28) room with no problem. They do require power, even though the specs don't really reflect this. They sounded great with the 50 watt Naim, but it was not enough. This is a speaker that fits beautifully in any decor and sounds terrific on all types of music. Really special.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Maprik   AudioPhile [Jan 11, 2009]
Strength:

Crystal clear. Able to capture the most micro nuances and yet deliver deep powerful bass.

Weakness:

Hmmmm...the style may not appeal to everyone?

The RX-20s are truly amazing speakers. They are so diminutive, tiny floorstanders, and yet they produce such tight prodigeous bass it is shocking. This speaker will give as good as it gets. With top notch equipment the Avante Gardes will show exactly why the upstream equipment costs as much as it does. My mid/high-end Jeff Rowland Concentra MkI integrated (100w/channel) is a perfect match. I can't help but be drawn into the recording every time. The Avante Gardes can be the last speakers you will ever need to own. They are that good.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Audio Physics Virgo
Avalon Acoustics Eclipse
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jbailey   AudioPhile [Oct 05, 2005]
Strength:

Tight bass. Convincing sound stage. A work of art, asthetically and sonically. Good balance. Whatever your musical interest, I think you would be pleased with these.

Weakness:

They need room. They are a ported bass reflex design and have got to be out from the back wall, at least about 3 feet. Otherwise the bass is boomy.

I love'em, just love'em. They look great and they sound as good as they look. Purchased based upon reviews at this site. Am very pleased. They exceeded my expectations.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Maggie, Carver Amazing, Klipish, Clarion, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yroc1   AudioPhile [Dec 22, 2004]
Strength:

Bass,soundstage,fast,high WAF

Weakness:

Need a stand to insure proper elevation of the soundstage.

Those speakers were bought in replacement of Martin Logan Aerius i.They require space around them (±3/4 ft.)and will give you lot of satisfaction.Mine were put on stands (6");it helps for the level of the soundstage. I have the black piano gloss finish;very high WAF!!! They need high current;I am diving them with a Threshold T-400 ( 150 w X 2,in pure class A ).They are as fast and detailed as the Aerius with more flesh in the sound;no sub is required.

Similar Products Used: A lot of speakers including Magnepan & Martin Logan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mahesh_rajan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 12, 2004]
Strength:

Awesome sound (entire range) and soundstage Small footprint Beautiful finish (high WAF and praise from guests)

Weakness:

None so far

If you desire the live experience (or some facsimilie thereof) look no further. Despite their small footprint and size, these speakers are giant killers! I have listened to/auditioned many speakers before but these little gems hit the spot for me. My favorite genre is vocal jazz and its almost like the musicians are in my living room performing daily! Too bad not to many people know of these speakers or the husband-wife team behind them.

Similar Products Used: NHT (3.3 & 2.5) B&W, JM Labs, Thiel, Monitor Audio, Mordaunt Short
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kibe   AudioPhile [Jun 07, 2004]
Strength:

Excellent Sonic quailty Excellent Bass excellent Mid Excellent High

Weakness:

Need careful speaker placement High current amp is a must

Sound quality has been improved in every ways compare to my other speakers namely B&W, Mission, Boston Acoustic, JBL. This is truely an audiophile speakers for "All" types of music. Bass, Mid, High sound "Incredible".

Similar Products Used: B&W 802
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BobF   AudioPhile [Oct 11, 2003]
Strength:

Deep bass and crystal clear extended highs.

Weakness:

midrange a bit colored

Purchased a used set about 9 months ago at what I consider a great price. These speakers have impressive bass and exceptional highs, but I find the midrange a bit too colored on subtle vocal tracks. Female voice sound a bit "weighty", perhaps it is a cabinet resonance. I have the same results with with a BAT amp and a Spectral. All in all, an excellent speaker for the money.

Similar Products Used: Revel gems
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
rjc101   AudioPhile [Jun 18, 2003]
Strength:

First class resolution, transperancy, coherance and dynamics.

Weakness:

None

This speaker, the RM2, ithe current iteration of the Tower II. It is truly full range, for the bass output is flat down to 22Hz, but more importantly, it uses a truly superb 8" wide range ribbon driver from 160 to 10000 cycles (my model has 2 per speaker, the more expensive RM 40-$4600/pr-uses 4), at which point it is crossed over to a pair of ribbon supertweeters. This driver in cunjunction with the supertweeters deliver an upper bass through high frequency sound of superior detail, transperency, coherance and lack of distortion to any dynamic system that I have heard, and on a par with more more expensive ribbons and electrostatics, but, as this speaker is not a dipole, it lacks the room interaction problems common to such speakers. Moreover, the crossover slopes employed are 6db per octave, which means no phase shift. Finally, the bass supplied by the 12" woofer and downfiring passive radiator is not only extended but truly powerful sounding, which is an important plus on many recordings, in particular, those of large scale orchestral and big band music. Moreover, it will generate this bass in a smaller room (mine is just a little over 180 square feet). In short, I believe this speaker constitutes a tremendous bargain, and therefore should be a must hear for anyone shopping for speakers in its price range.

Similar Products Used: Dunleavy SCIv, Von Schweikert VR 4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hogtown   AudioPhile [Jan 17, 2003]
Strength:

Soundstage, bass, great with all types of music, high WAF.

Weakness:

none

These speakers can be an audiophile's dream come true as long as you have a top notch amp. I have tried them with many amps from 50watts to my present Bryston 4BSST( 300 w/ch ). The Bryston match is heaven. Keep in mind that this is the newest Bryston that is very sweet and more powerful that the older models. The soundstage is excellent. And I can only reiterate the positves in many of the other reviews. Don't let the small footprint of the speakers fool you. These are up there with some of the best. As I said just give them a top notch amp. I also found the Acoustic Zen speaker cables to work very well as they brought out great inner detail on many recordings.

Similar Products Used: ML Prodigies, ML Ascent, Living Voice
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com