Genelec 1030A Floorstanding Speakers

1030A

Small Active monitors

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
raffello   AudioPhile [May 05, 2010]

The best little monitor around!! I've bee mixing and mastering music in a full time studio for 15 years and have used all kinds of high end monitors, I have to say the 1030's are amazing!!

The Genelec's are extremely flat and true to the sound you need for mixing music. The other people here who say these monitors aren't doing a great job, DON'T KNOW SOUND FOR MIXING!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vijay Angre   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2009]

Genelec 1035 A is good Near Field Monitor I’ve used this monitor for more then 5 years in combination with SSL 4000 G+ & Genelec 1035 B as Far Field Monitor .The Bass Tilt & Bass Roll Off are very well designed control parameters & also result best, Your good understanding of monitor acoustic output performance with respect to the input signal will help to produce the excellent result with Genelec 1030 A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Antimateria   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2004]
Strength:

Everything sounds gratifying

Weakness:

Everything sounds gratifying

I run recording studio and here is my opinion about 1030A Listening to Genelec is like eating sugar. They lie across the whole range. No mid-range, just tsi tsi tsi and boo boo boo, each bass drum sounds the same it’s impossible to find the proper EQ… I understand why self-appointed audiophiles feel affection for them but for serious mixing it’s a disaster.

Similar Products Used: Tannoy System15dmt2 Yamaha NS10
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Neil13us   AudioPhile [Nov 07, 2003]
Strength:

universality, durability, much better than an NS-10M

Weakness:

a touch pricey in the current market

Genelecs, and this model in particular, have become ubiquitous over the last decade; having, thankfully, replaced the Yamaha NS-10M. I think that is the role to which they are the best suited- a standard speaker. While I prefer any number of my own speaker designs or the SLS S8R for critical, near-field work, other engineers need a reference with which they are familiar; a role for which the 1030 is just the ticket. On their own, I tend to feel they are just a touch "friendly" to the material, I'm just never quite sure that I'm getting the whole truth in the upper midrange. They do nothing offensive with the music, they just seem to take off some of the edges that I really ought to be dealing with directly before delivering my customers' product. That said, I have a pair and will keep them if only to make freelancers feel comfortable and, with the exception of a woofer surround coming unglued from the cone, they haven't given me a bit of trouble.

Similar Products Used: SLS S8R, Meyer HD-1, Genelec S30, various ProAc, B&W, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
BodyCount   AudioPhile [Jun 11, 2003]
Strength:

Their strenght is really their clarity of high tones and endless depth of bass driver ....

Weakness:

You could get permanent hearing damage if you take them too far ! Trust me , i came too close on few occasions ....They are pretty expensive but worth every bloody dollar that you work for....

I`m using these speakers for few months now , combined with Audio-production PC , and I use them for monitoring my music production. I use multiple rythm machines ,and VST effects and i cant`t find not one bad thing about this speakers.....in few words : " These are last monitor speakers you`ll ever need ".

Similar Products Used: .....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Plec81   AudioPhile [Jun 04, 2002]
Strength:

They play LOUD and packs a real punch. They go pretty damn low in the bass. Highs are very detailed.

Weakness:

The bass response is extremely hyped. The high-end is just too smooth. Mid-range purity is virtually non-existent. Soundstage is very shallow. They make everything sound equally great.

Since I run a mastering studio I get to hear music mixed on alla kinds of systems. From 250$ home hi-fi speakers to 25 000$ monitors. The thing with mixes done on Genelecs is that they always lack low-mid punch and has a really muddy bottom end. "What is the reason for this?", I wondered. After conducting listening tests on 1029A, 1030A, 1031A and 1032A I now know what the deal is. All genelecs below the S30 model has a VERY hyped bass response. About everything you play on them has an incredibly punchy bass. Even recordings that don't sound good on home hi-fi system sounded great on these monitors. It does sound a bit lifeless though. This however explains the problems with mixes that I get which have been done on Genelecs.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Alec   Audiophile [Jul 23, 2000]
Strength:

Unusual clarity and detail; low hype

Weakness:

No inherent character or vibe whatsoever; low hype means not enough low end on some recordings

These are the rare professional engineers's speaker which may have appeal to the audiophile consumer. These speakers provide an absolutely unbelievable level of clarity and detail, as other reviewers have mentioned. Maybe it's because they are powered and therefore eliminate the possibility for "user error" or imperfections in cabling to introduce problems. In any case these speakers will make you want to listen again to every recording you own to hear all the details you never heard before. As someone else said, this can sometimes be unfortunate when it reveals the imperfections of a recording.
If you're in the market for bookshelf speakers, or bookshelf-size speakers, I recommend you listen to your favorite CD on these, just for kicks. I have them in my studio and they make me happy every day.

Similar Products Used: Nearfield monitors by JBL, Yamaha, Mackie, Dynaudio.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Matthew Lenz   Audiophile [Dec 11, 2001]
Strength:

Unmatched clarity and punch. Extremely transparent and uncolored. The best high frequency articulation of any monitor I've ever heard! Very tigh low end.

Weakness:

Expensive, but you get what you pay for.

I've been using Genelecs for music production for almost 6 years. Their are no other monitors I trust more than my 1030s. They are the only choice for near field studio monitoring, and they are absolutely stunning in home theatre applications. I hear things on my genelecs that you just do not hear on other monitors.

Similar Products Used: Almost every active studio monitor on the market. Mackie, Tannoy, Event, KRK, Meyer Sound, Dynaudio Acoustics, to name a few.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Walter Steenvoorden   Audiophile [May 15, 2001]
Strength:

good clean sound at high spl, good magnetic shielding, very neat dynamic span

Weakness:

don't have TRS inputs

As i was set update my editing room/video studio is was looking for a new set of monitors. The old ones i had where late 1985 passive self build celestion/dynaudio speakers. Since i edit video's and work a lot with computers, magnetic shielding means a lot. The first set of monitors i tried out where the Tannoys, besides their lower price and lower SPL they had a bit of a cold low end sounding less "warm" then the Genelecs. Since video editing is just a hobby, i wanted a cheap but good speaker setup. Since i work as an engineer at a broadcast consulting agency, and parttime as a DJ i know a lot of monitors. Since Dynaudio did not make good active monitors anymore(or the dutch agent was to lazy to import them) i had to search for a well priced pair of speakers, i was suprissed at the cost of the 1030s since the 1036 and S30's i knew where at collosal prices. I bought a pair inmediately , they may look small, but the sound from them sounds ass warm and full as any "BIG" hi fi setup of reference class speakers

Similar Products Used: ATC 20 30. Mackie, Behringer, Event 20 active, Dynaudio, BNS and Tannoy reveal active
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Marcus   an Audiophile [Oct 31, 1998]

Have you listened to these small (20cm*30cm*24cm) finnish active loudspeakers? They contain own amplifiers for both 1 inch tweeter (50w) and 6.5 inch woofer (80w). This design allows sound reproduction of very high class combined with high sound-pressure levels (115db 1m). They are designed to be used as professional near field monitors, so they should be listened in range between 1 to 2 meters. In these ranges they give very pure and clear sound containing more information than most common speakers. Speakers can be adjusted by room with selectors in back. I love the sound of these genelecs. I recommend everyone buying speakers in their price-class first trying these amazing actives!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com