Focal Mini Utopia Floorstanding Speakers

Mini Utopia

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Ronald   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2015]

Bought used (perhaps 3rd hand), for around USD 2.5k with original stand. Very please with the sound especially from mid bass to high freq. Very revealing and fast sounding pair of speaker with astonishing sound stage and depth. If nick picking it must be the lower and lowest octaves that is soft or missing (if you have really hear hi-end speakers you will know what I meant). Not to worry I have overcome this shortcoming by partnering the Mini Utopia with the Proac Response ER-1 subwoofer. It was a match make in heaven as the ER1 is able to keep pace with the very fast Utopia. Setting and fine tuning the ER1 was done within 15mins. Now the Mini Utopia sound exactly like a full range hi-end speaker with the wonderful imaging of a standmount. This is a keepers sort of speaker with great looks in a moderate size living room.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter Ulrich   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2012]

Lightning fast, superb transparency, dynamcis, soundstage, easy to drive, high sensitivity. Looks great especially with matching stands which you have to bite the bullet and purchase despite the high price as they provide an exact match and height relative to listening position is absolutely critical with these speakers. Capable of very high volumes without distortion and sound superb with any type of music. Used with Lavardin IT and Nordost Valkyrja cables in my system. I completely agree with another reviewers comment here that these are really hard to macth with a sub (even the known great ones) due to their speed. I have an REL B1 which has worked great with every other monitor I have tried them with but not with the Mini's. The REL obviously could not keep up with the Minis and everything sounded more sluggish with the sub in the system. The good news is that you don't really need a sub with these in a reasonable size room with proper placement. An oustanding product from a solid company that makes theirs own drivers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
nsinclairb   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2004]
Strength:

Fast, not coloured, truthful.

Weakness:

I couldn't find an adquate sound stage

Having had the minis for just over a year, I have had great problems to get them to reproduce the superb sound stage that my Quad 57s used to give me. Maybe my room is a little too large for the speakers or maybe my speaker cables are too short. Having said that, the sound from them is great and once I had resigned myself I thoroughly enjoy the fidelity that these speakers give throughout the range of music that I play - anything except hip hop, garage, house, punk or Max Bygraves.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Norman Sinclair-Baines   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2003]
Strength:

Don't have to be 3 feet from a wall Better furniture than the Quads People don't think that they are radiators

Weakness:

None so far

I only picked up these 2nd hand speakers today. I have had a pair of Quad 57s for 17 years and a good friend has a pair of Mezzos so I thought I would try a pair of JM labs for myself. Not having the same budget as his I found my new speakers through ebay and wired them into my Audio Analogue Bellini/Donizetti amp system with Linn LP12/Ittok/MCR Spectral and Sugden CD player. I won't go into detail about the cables. I haven't yet got the positioning right but I can tell that the Minis are faster and a little brighter than the Quads. The bass is a little fuller as well. I am sure we are going to get on fine and will update this once I have got the soundstage right

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
SL Wang   AudioPhile [Jun 27, 2003]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

Outstanding speakers.very good in mid and high. Bass is good enough for me. Don't want to turn off the system once you turn on.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe France   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2003]
Strength:

Beautiful full elegant sound. Nice balanced base. Somewhat unusual appearance, but beautifully made cabinetry.

Weakness:

Expensive, and probably a little large for some buyers in this market segment.

While auditioning the Rogue Tempest against the VTL I-85, I got a chance to hear the Mini Utopias. From the very start, and in a situation where they were not placed in anything close to optimal configuration, these speakers sounded absolutely magical. I was looking over the VTL's grill and tubes, but had to turn and look with amazement at what was coming out of these very beautiful speakers. The sound was elegant, but not laid back, it was smooth, but not bland, bursts of energy when called for were attention grabbing. These, big little guys have incredible personality. They are not small monitors, nor are they inexpensive, but they do an awe inspiring job on everything monitors are supposed to do best. They make the great Dynaudio Contours sound a little dry and etched. Most other monitors don't have the full rich base sound of the MiniUtops.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio, Spendor, PSB, Aerial, and most of the other usual suspects
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Ertugrul   AudioPhile [May 07, 2003]
Strength:

Mid highs,treble!

Weakness:

Non!

I both the Mini Utopias by a friend and used them around 6 months.I was very hapy whit the sound:The mid highs and the highs are among the very best!Very 3D sound,very open.Before the Mini utopias i always had B&Ws i will not say that B&W is not a good speaker but no B&W speaker is in this leauge. You have the feeling that you listen to a quality product.It sounds very good on all typs of music clasik,jazz,rock,folk... As a monitor i think it is the very best! It also work very well whit tube amps!

Similar Products Used: Voce divinas,Proacs,Verity Parsifal,B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thaiq   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 20, 2003]
Strength:

The music always sounded natural and keeps everything dynamic and right on time.

Weakness:

Price is kind of high for monitor speakers but as ones might imagine, these aren't oridinary enclosures.

Thrilling tonality, detail, and clarity of the music are breathtaking. Both male and female vocals are velvety smooth, silky, and textured. Mini Utopia speakers are masters at fleshing out the performers in the soundstage. Slightly lighter bass, but there's just no getting away from a great subwoofer especially one built to high standards.

Similar Products Used: Thiel CS7, Hales Concept 5, Audio Physic Virgo II, Kef Reference 4, and Dunlavy Sigma.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dimitris Lykouressis   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2000]
Strength:

Transparency,and very balanced for mini monitor

Weakness:

None so far

I have been using theMini for almost a year partnered with YBA amplification and CD along with Siltech cables.The sheer transparecy and musical involvement is unsurpassed.If you love music do not hesitate,go and buy it you will not regret it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ivin Seabrook   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 1999]

I had not listened to any expensive mini-monitors, so I wasn't sure what to expect.(My speakers are the giant Dunlavy SCIV's).
Wow!! These little speakers are definitely competitive with the Dunlavy's!! Very detailed and dynamic. Open soundstage. Very transparent.
Of course by the time you add the matching stands, you are up to about $8000.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com