EPI 100 Floorstanding Speakers

EPI 100 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way "acoustic suspension system, 8" woofer, special concave 1" tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 50  
[Dec 04, 2020]
nicpic


Strength:

Wow! Thank you for sharing great product! I was just thinking about this. So once again thank you! I will be glad if I help someone too. If you have problems writing all sorts of articles but you need it in your studies, I can suggest you contact them writing service. Have a nice day!

Weakness:

I want to wish everyone strength and good luck!

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2020]
sa_miller


Strength:

I had the original EPI 100’s in the 80,s, loved them, moved on, upgraded. They were in the closer for years and I ended up giving them away. Many years later, I still thought about their sound in the back of my mind - so, after some googling, I found Huw of Human Speakers and bought a pair of his 81 and absolutely love them. About a year later, I got the bug to upgrade again and bought a pair of Kef LS50’s. Three weeks later, I sent them back and returned to the 81’s. You can’t go wrong with these!

Weakness:

No weaknesses in my mind.

Price Paid:
594
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2029
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2020]
stevens


Strength:

I Love these speakers and cannot part with them. I have had other speakers but none of them touch the soul like these. Very musical and a speaker you will never forget.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Dec 01, 2016]
Marty J
Audio Enthusiast

My comment is a quote from the Complete Buyers Guide To Stereo/ HiFi Equipment 1980 edition. This is what was called a capsule review.
The EPI 100, 8" AS woof, 1" inverted dome tweet, 1.8k crossover, 12W min pwr, 48hz -3db freq, 21x11x9 (HWD), 25lbs. Rather than making outlandish claims backed up by dubiously acquired specifications, EPI is quite reasonable in stating the frequency limits of this item. The actual sound is excellent with bass response remaining crisp and tight to the lower response limit. The treble response is clear and airy. Overall this is an excellent speaker and a very good value in its price range. End quote. Considering the model 100 was introduced in 1970 and this review is from 1980 and that the 100 is still popular with audiophiles, it's got to be a great speaker. I got mine from Tech HiFi (NYC) in 1981 and still use them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 21, 2016]
Simon
Audio Enthusiast

Something compelled me to buy what was to me an 'unknown brand' in a church sale. I'd never heard of EPI, and had not re-entered the audio world since I left it 20 years or so ago. It came with an old pioneer receiver of the same vintage.

I could, quite simply not believe my ears. So I did my research (EPI 100V) and discovered what you all have - what a beautiful listening experience, so I paired it with a Sansui (217) amp and got a double bonus.

These are very rare in Australia, and still worth very little price wise.

There is literally no fatigue in listening to them, the midrange / vocals and soundstage is quite unbelievable. For a total cost of $150 ($50 for EPI + Rotel turntable, Rotel Receiver and Pioneer AMP), and $100 for the Sansui, this is an absolute winning combination.

Mine were only ever used in a Church so 100% original, unmodified with original surrounds.

The bass (for a sealed enclosure) is bigger than expected, the highs are sweet and enjoyable and at no stage bright or offensive.

I feel like i've won the lottery, I haven't had this pleasure listening to music since , well .. ever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 26, 2015]
Robby
AudioPhile

I live in Holland, and i bought a cheap pair of EPI 100V of the Bay. These speakers will blow away AR 4x's! Iam still searching for empty cabinets. So i can build a second pair. SO anyone?? I have the 2 tweeters and 2 woofers as a spare.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2012]
kswiss442
AudioPhile

I have a pair EPI 100 LINEAR speakers that I purchased in 1976. These speakers are incredible. The highs are crisp crystal clear. The bass is deep, it seems to play with the inner ear. Incredible. Friends have come over and asked what kind of speakers they are. Im in the process of replacing the drivers for the third time since 1976. The tweetershave never been replaced and sound just as good as the first day I brought them. I would put them up against any speaker in its price range.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 26, 2011]
SCATO
Audio Enthusiast

I PAID $200 IN 1977 FOR MY EPI 100's. THAT YEAR CONSUMER REPORT MAGAZINE RATED THE EPI 100 THE BEST BOOKSHELF SPEAKER. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING MY WOOFERS FOR THE 2ND TIME & MY TWEETERS & CROSSOVERS FOR THE FIRST TIME. THE CHERRY CABINETS STILL LOOK GOOD AFTER 34 YEARS. MY WIFE HAS TRIED TO GET ME TO GIVE THEM UP EACH YEAR BUT I HAVE HELD MY GROUND. MY SON-IN-LAW (A MUSICIAN) OFFERED TO PAY FOR THE UPGRADE THIS TIME BECAUSE HE IS CURIOUS TO HOW THEY SOUND AFTER ALL THE TALK I GIVE THEM. THE MIDS & HIGHS ARE NATURAL AND SWEET. LOOKING FORWARD TO PAIRING THEM UP TO A NEW AV AMP.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 26, 2009]
Donplatt
Audio Enthusiast

I Love these speakers and cannot part with them. I have had other speakers but none of them touch the soul like these. Very musical and a speaker you will never forget.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 21, 2008]
bill18018
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good bass
Exceptional mids and highs
Very musical sound, more like real music than any other speaker I have ever heard in the sub $2,000 price range
Don't demand a ton of power

Weakness:

While not fatiguing, EPIs are a bit on the bright side. Great for classical, jazz, blues, or anything acoustic. Not the best "Yo Dude Rock-N-Roll" speaker...if that is what you are looking for.

I bought my first EPI 100s in 1982 and now have a few pairs and some other EPI 100s. I have compared them to several other vintage and modern speaker systems and I am always impressed by their clarity and musical nature. Their bass is good in both quality and quantity but it is the tweeter that leaves its competition in the dust. I have always found that violins, piano, brass, and the female voice that will give fits to speakers. EPI 100s handle these with grace and ease. Not the best speaker I have ever listened to but easily the best speaker for the money.

If you want to play them at party levels and not have them sound strained 60WPC should be enough power.

Similar Products Used:

Advent, Genesis, AR, Infinity, Quad

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 50  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com