Eosone RSF1000 Floorstanding Speakers

Eosone RSF1000 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Dipolar 4 way w/ powered sub

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[Jun 24, 2020]
fabdtagan


Strength:

These towers speakers sounds amazing for the money. Sure are better speakers there. Needs space away from front wall. Aprox 1.6 mts in my room. and 2.00 mts between speakers. Needs good spikes ; about 5cm long. Once well tuned with the rear controls the speakers dissapear. High Quality recordings makes the difference. For the money unbeatable. Drums image is increíble. And tbe bass is tight with control.

Weakness:

Needs no bright electrónics. I m using an Audiolab power amplifier (British). Analisys Plus speakers cables and QED rca cables .

Price Paid:
500
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 08, 2020]
Dominic


Strength:

I've had RSF1000 for over 20 years now, these vintage speakers when paired with the right receiver are unbeatable. The highs soar and the bass thumps at unbelievable range. The music follows you around the room no matter where you are. Recently, a few weeks ago one of the amps seems to have blown. I get a odd sounding noise when I turn the amp on. Right now its in a shop here in Tampa but I'm not sure if it can be repaired, and was hoping for any suggestions. I really would hate to part with these fine speakers. Any help is appreciated.

Weakness:

No weaknesses, these vintage speakers are Dipolar, which is unusual for their price range. Rare gems!

Price Paid:
1500
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 13, 2014]
tex mex
AudioPhile

I was given these speakers by family because they were upgrading.along with a Yamaha tuner and a 12" mtx floor sub this combo gives me brutal bass and angelic mids and highs but the core are my speakers I have a wide variety of music taste but I never have to adjust system for maximum sound quality and nothing brings music alive like these because you feel it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 02, 2009]
noodlehead
AudioPhile

Got my rsf1000 for $100 dollars! from eoson. long story short worked at best buy cust came in ask what my cost was told him $550. gave me a grand then i just paid a hundo for my bad chickens. cadillac of a speaker!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2007]
Dmcdon5346
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, strong sound with amazing highs and mids. Tight bass.

Weakness:

At extemely high volumes, and I mean extremely loud, the bass falls apart. Might be my receiver's fault though.

I purchased these speakers without ever seeing them when I worked for Best Buy. Eosone had not released the products yet, and we only read the spec sheet on them. I was 16 years old and $550 was a lot of money when you worked for $5.65/hr. I have had these speakers for 11 years now and never had one regret. They have very clear sound and a tight bass to them. I have always been extremely impessed with the clearity of the highs for a large tower speaker. I have powered them with a Sony STR-D915 220w receiver to this point, but I just ordered an Onkyo with 7.1. I felt it was time for an upgade to Digital. As for the speakers though, I will never sell them. They have treated me great for 11 years now and I definatly abuse them. I've had many complaints over the years from my neighbors, but they just sound so good when turned up that I can't resist.

Similar Products Used:

When you find the ones you love, don't cheat on them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2006]
powerlord
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

They are big and beautiful,the mids and highs rule!They have extremely tight bass at 80hz and above.

Weakness:

Won't go as low in the bass dept. as I thought they might.

I've been looking for a set of these for quite some time and as soon as I saw them on ebay I jumped at the chance without ever hearing them before,and I'm so happy I did.I have tried alot of HT gear in my life,all brands from 200.00 to 5000.00 dollar.There have been great infinity products,Definitive,Snell,Paradigm,Lotus, I could go on.I'm not an audiophile snob,but I am aware of seperation,cancellation,bass frequencies,crossover settings,phase shifting and parameters.So I am picky to a certain extant,these Towers have made me fall in love with them,I have them coupled to my Pioneer Elite reciever,subwoofer knob at about 12 O'clock,at 75 hz.Medium settings on reciever with front and rear mids and tweeters on.The sound quality is bar none,if you don't watch out the tweets will make your ears bleed,the mids are exquisite,but alas the subs lack the deepest of low end,don't get me wrong,they will shake everything in the house just not at high volume,they tend to flatten at that point.Very nice tight bass with music.Whoever gives these a bad review has either way to much money and are just bored out of their skull or they don't have the gear to push these correctly!

Customer Service

Haven't used them

Similar Products Used:

Infinity overture,Paradigm,Snell,B&W

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2003]
homesound
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Look nice.

Weakness:

See above description

I purchased the RSF-1000's used over 1 year ago for $900. I tested the speakers for the first time with the Pink Floyd album Dark side of the moon. The first thing I noticed was the subs crapping out during the heart beat in the beginning of the cd. The excursion of rate of the subs are not all that great. The do not travel out very far at all. The bass is very boomy even at low volumes. I have attenuated the crossovers so many times to find that sweet spot and I am yet to find it. The bass from the woofers is undefined and not clean at all. I believe it is due to having two subs occupying the same ported cavity. The 6" drivers are not crossed over well either. They can be easily overdriven if you do not know to set the bass level on the main receiver to low and compensate with the volume of the subs on the rear of the Eosones. Another gripe I have is the "radiant sound field". I am not as big of a fan of it now as I was when it was explained to me how you could sit just about anywhere between the speakers and still get an equal stereo listening environment. Actually the radiant sound technology mucks up the stereo separation of the left to right channels. I just want to rip the rear component out and make rear channel speakers out of them. I admit that I purchased these speakers just to brag to my friends but the more I grow in my musical taste and the more my ears crave that perfect sound I feel like parting with these speakers and purchasing some paradigm speakers. I was thinking of undertaking a project to re engineer the Eosones and putting different drivers/subs and crossovers inside. Anyone interseted in starting a project?

Similar Products Used:

Dr.crankenstein car subs with KLH book shelf speakers. Sorry.... but I made you laugh [:P

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 21, 2000]
Prestash Bob
Audiophile

Strength:

Exceptional sound,build quality,value

Weakness:

no other finishes except black

First,let me state that the soundstage,build quality,and internal components used on ALL Eosone speakers is top rate. I find it amusing that some reviewers at this site seem to not know quality and value,over "THE BRAND NAME SPEAKER ENVY" that seems to effect people not willing to listen honestly and read reviews. After reading outstanding reviews of this model and its center channel speaker companion in(Audio,March97 issue, Stereophile,June 97,and Stereo Review,Spring 98) I ordered them without hearing them.Unfortunately,the only dealer near me was mail order through Crutchfield.Generally,I would listen to a speaker first,but because of the reviews and poor listening enviroments of most showrooms I took the chance.I was not dissapointed!For those who read the reviews of this speaker,it was pointed out that these speakers because of there accuracy,and dipol configuration,will show any flaws in a poor performing reciever-amp.With the right reciever-amp the sound stage was open,spacious and engaging,without being fatiguing.And in movie watching,the speakers really came to life.Producing a huge soundfield,that could produce the slightest effect in a movies soundtrack. Let me also give some history on Eosone. Desighed By Arnie Nudel,(Genesis,and Infinity fame)these speakers reek of quality. I challange any audiophile to find speakers in this price range that,A.use thick MDF and internal bracing,B.weigh over 100pounds,C.high grade crossovers and internal wiring(I know because I popped the drivers off and took a look inside! and D.offer a dipol 7 driver arrangement utilizing high grade drivers. This is what you get for under 1500 dollars! And,the RSC300 center has NO competitors in its price range.The encloser is solid,weighing in at 18pounds,and also has a driver in the rear making it a dipol also,mating perfectly with the towers.All in All these speakers are exceptiona values. Also,did you know that Best Buy stopped selling Eosone speakers because the performance and quailty of the units were effecting there top seller...Polk Audio? And,that The Eosone line was purchased by Polk-Audio as Polks high-End speaker line,but the cost was prohibitive for them to continue the line? Sadly,Eosone no longer sells directly,though,you can call Polks headquartes to get any remaing units that might still be around.Those of us who got in earlly have a great pair of Audiophile-Grade speakers!

Similar Products Used:

Eosone center,Polk FX surrounds,Marantz SR-96 THX Reciever,Toshiba Progressive scan DVD-HDCD transport, Sony SDP-ES800 Doldy Digital Decoder.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 21, 1997]
Michael Robinson
an Audio Enthusiast

I purchased these speakers and have had them for about a year now. The great thing about them is that they seem handle everything very well. The problems are that they don't handle anything exceptionally well. Home Theater is what I consider to be their strong suit. When comparing to other speakers such as KEF or NHT, I found that the musical capability of the Eosone's lacked somewhat. Would I buy them again? Yes, but boy did I ever get a smokin' deal on them in the first place. Also, the six inch midbass on the speakers seems to be crossed over too low. When I start pounding out tracks with good deep bass, the sixes tend to clip too soon. The subs handle that bass perfectly, and I know it's not the amp. (proud owner of an ADCOM GFA-7000)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
[Nov 05, 1997]
kevin
an Audio Enthusiast

These speakers are great. Real deep and clear on the bass with an execptional mid-range output. They are a little large but if space is not a problem the I recommend these speakers to an Audio Enthusiast.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com