Energy Speaker Systems Veritas v2.8 Floorstanding Speakers

Energy Speaker Systems Veritas v2.8 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Dec 29, 2008]
charisma
AudioPhile

Strength:

natural controled stage,never agressive
even great performance in small room,with small amp but with grip on the woofers

Weakness:

??

Reviewing the energy again,must say it,s a fabulous speaker,best I ever had.
Positioned in a small audioroom,breathtaking performance.
Delivers lots of air and spacious soundstage,tight deep bass(depending of poweramp)though very musical and tunefull.
Sounds even fantastic with a audiophil rotel integrated in the small room,so not the worst to drive,but needs certain grip on the woofer(the rotel has!)
Always stay in focus and controled,even on high volume.
A keeper for sure.

Similar Products Used:

a lot,from apogee to sonus faber

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 14, 2008]
charisma
AudioPhile

Strength:

natural presentation,expansive stage, no fatigue.
Easy to drive,even with tube amps.

Weakness:

needs 3wire at least or even better 3-amping for best result,wich raise the cost.
for me nothing else.

Own the speakers for 3 weeks now.
To start with,they sound fantastic,absolutely.
Must surch for best set-up still,but already they sound amazing.
Drive it with a tube poweramp,and surprisingly enough,it works great.
Even the lower register sound deep clear and controled.
Tri-wire was a must here,makes a big diverence.
The often heard complain about the fatter midrange is minimal here,but sometimes noticable.
Depth,stage,magic,imaging,all are first rate,very revealing speaker.
Indeed ,I agree with other reviewers,I dont listen very technical as I used to do before ,trough the speaker,it,s just very natural and non fatiguing.
These will stay for a long time for sure...

Similar Products Used:

Sonus Faber,elipson,apogee

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 24, 2003]
tpaxadpom
AudioPhile

Strength:

Excelent performance, very natural, extremely high WAF (wife acceptance factor).

Weakness:

Will make you spend a fortune on cables (if you have not done so) :o)

Incredible speakers! I have heard many speakers in this price range, but none outperform these. Extremely natural sound on any listening level. With this speakers you can listen to the music without thinking of quality and other aspects. Nevertheless their impedance look very attractive on the graph (due to the special impedance network), not every amp would be a good match for them. The same holds true with speaker cables.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 802, Nautilius 800, Watt Puppy 5&6, Wilson Sophia, Martin Logan SL-3& Odyssey, Vienna Acoustics Bethoveen, Aerial 10-T&8, Joseph Audio rm33si...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2002]
ACHANG
Audio Enthusiast

I never agree with privious review by Gene Davis from Seatle. I don't think he had enough time to break in. As one of reviwer said in this review section, it may take forever to break in, however overall sound will be getting better and better. I strongly suggest that if you didn't have really enough break in time, you better read mannual carefully and try to give enough breake in time and wirte a review later.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2000]
Gene Davis
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Nice soundstage, decent base, Good highs

Weakness:

Not very versatile ( not a great HT speaker) over priced, depth is weak

Honestly I can't say to many good things about the Veritas speakers. They don't sound bad but there are many speakers that flat out sound better in this price range. You'd hope that it could at least do HT at this price but it can't. The only thing that really stands out to me about the Veritas V2.8 speakers is that they do produce wonderfull highs. I can't say that is true with the mids and base. Although the base is not bad, its still not up to par with other speakers in this price range. Sweetspot is way to small as well, along with a lack of depth.

Overall make sure you do some serious shopping around before thinking about buy a pair of Veritas's, its a little embarrassing for Energy when you hear a cheaper speaker sound better!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 03, 1999]
Harry
Casual Listener

Strength:

A large, warm and colorful sound. They are big and it takes a large room to use them but put into a moderate sized room (400 sq.ft.) and you'll never feel the need for a subwoofer.

I couldn't be happier.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 08, 2000]
Randy Tomlinson
Audiophile

Strength:

Superior dispersion and very flat frequency response give very low coloration. Proper setup will give absolutely outstanding imaging and depth. Excellent power handling--sound good when loud. Easy for tube amps to drive (flat impedance curve @ 5 ohms). Warm, full sound that's easy to listen to for long periods. In home theatre situation, as good as anything there is for front L & R. Non fatiguing and very dynamic with AC-3.

Weakness:

Take FOREVER to break in. Sound terrible before broken in. Not quite as detailed in lower treble as some other high end speakers, but this makes them like many kinds of recordings. Bass, in some rooms, can be boomy and overly full.

For a box speaker, the Veritas V2.8 is hard to beat. When broken in and properly set up, there are few box speakers that are more natural and free of obvious problems. Not as good as Magnapans and electrostatics for inner detail, but far more forgiving than either of those. Bass is strong and deep but mid bass can require special care (placement, traps, etc) in making the thickness go away. Large rooms work better but can be made excellent even in a small room with proper acoustic treatment. Bi or Tri Wiring helps sound. I bought these after being impressed at a CES show years ago. Each year I look for something better but, so far, haven't been tempted except by Maggies (which won't work in a small room) and the big Revels. Too bad they haven't made a matching center speaker for home theatre yet.

Similar Products Used:

Apogee Stage & Duetta Signature, Magnapans, Infinity Kappa 9.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 25, 2000]
Russ Roberts
Audiophile

Strength:

Full spectrum sound, excellent high end & Midrange...full extended bass.

Weakness:

Slightly bright until fully broken in...sound is extremely accurate..if poor recording they are extremely honest.

I have resisted a review on these speakers but finally must put one up. These 2.8's have received excellent ratings by Stereophile magazine from back in '95 & '96 and are very deserving of them. These are quite reveling and will show off poor electronics. They also require a long breakin. I have recently added a SACD player and these speakers have really shown their stuff with this new piece of equipment...they put out what you put in, like a speaker is supposed to do, simple as that....
Equipment:
Proceed PRE preamp
Aragon 8008BB pwr amp
Harmonic Tech Pro9 speaker cables
Sony DVPS9000ES SACD player
Proceed CDD & DAP transport/DAC
Kimber Hero interconnects

Similar Products Used:

Klipsh Khorns (20 years), B&W N802, Wilson Watt Puppy 6.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 04, 1999]
rob
an Audiophile

In general I have been very satisfied with the veritas 2.8 speakers. The only issue with these speakers is that there is no acceptable center channel if you are trying to incorporate them into a home theater system. For this reason I may end up going to an alternative...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Oct 29, 2001]
Ian Richardson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Incredible detail, unmatched resolution, open soundstage, very transparent, balanced sound, musical, very musical

Weakness:

Some break-in required, but I've never used any speaker over $3,000 that didn't require a good deal of break-in.

My search was for the most musical speaker I could find under $10k. My musical tastes include classical, jazz, blues, vocals, and oldies. I went to as many HIFI dealers that I could find in my area over a weekend and spent three days listening to whatever they had on hand in their sound rooms. Not a completely unbiased method and probably not the best means of comparison, but by the time I got to the Veritas 2.8, the sound stood out above all others to such a spectacular degree that the probable margin of error was completely superseded by the implicit harmonic accord presented before me. So I put a down payment on the speakers so that they'd hold them for me and continued the search another day, but to no avail. The Veritas owned on all others, particularly in the transparency and imaging which were eerily near lifelike. In fact I'll never get tired of listening to these speakers because when I do, I turn out the lights in the room and it's as if a live band/orchestra is performing before me. This pleasant illusion is incredible! And what's better is that the louder you play these speakers, the more beautiful they sound. At concert level volume the Veritas just bloom with the most awesome sound. A true work of art--and they look great too.

By the way I was recommended a Classe CA-200 amp to drive the 2.8s, which I must say mate seemlessly with them.

Similar Products Used:

Revel Gem, B&W 801, Totem Shaman, Vienna Beethoven

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com