Energy Speaker Systems Veritas V2.3 Tower Speakers Floorstanding Speakers

Energy Speaker Systems Veritas V2.3 Tower Speakers Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Looking for headline speakers without the headline expense? Introducing the breathtaking Energy Veritas V2.3 speaker system, a superior blend of unbelievably true sound and exceptional craftsmanship. Designed for the music enthusiast, the Energy Veritas V2.3 offers unparalleled performance and flexible placement capabilities, making this your ideal sound investment. Visit your local authorized Energy retailer and experience the incredible performance of the Energy Veritas V2.3.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Jun 29, 2015]
Ben B
AudioPhile

They are glorious speakers! "If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up". They ended my multi-year speaker search! The highest praise I could give them.
They will handle every bit of clean power you can throw at them, but remember they are a 3-1/2 way design. Their resistance must be horrifying for any amp. I'm sure they drop below 3 ohms at numerous points, so you will need an amp with an adequate power supply to drive them to their potential, but prepare to be rewarded! I recommend bi-amping. You need a 1400hz crossover, though.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 11, 2010]
8watt300b
Audio Enthusiast

I bought these new along with a Bryston 4b and Bryston BP25 pre. I used Music wave speaker cables and Kimber PBJ interconnects.
These sounded pretty nice without being too harsh when turned up. They had an airy sound that depicted musical veritas.
Loved them!
In all I melted 3 drivers as they couldn't seem to handle the high power of The Bryston 4B.
Dealer told me I must be driving them into distortion. Nope, just louder than the 200 watts rating seemed to like to handle.
Anyways, I told them they could keep them and I bought the Highest in the Conisour line and drove them hard with no complaints. Missed the sound of the Veritas though.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 17, 2010]
chinpoko
AudioPhile

When I first listened to the Veritas V2.3 at the defunct Good Guys I was immediately impressed by the speaker's clarity, effortlessness, balance, neutrality, accuracy and soundstage. The $2400 price, however, was way above my budget.

Several months later, when Energy introduced the new model (the V2.3i), one GG store had one floor unit of the V2.3 that I found to be in perfect working state. It just had a practically invisible needle-type scratch on one side of the cabinet and the spikes were missing. I got it for less than 1K, tax included.

At the time I had a Conrad-Johnson MF-2100 solid state amp and a Conrad-Johnson PV-10AL tube preamp While the sound was very satisfying across the board, I had a craving for a tube amp because I knew it would bring the speakers to a higher level of musicality and performance. So I saved up for it and got myself a Jolida 302B integrated amplifier. I also invested in Kimberly interconnects and discovered that speaker cables made with "enameled" oxygen-free copper wire (20 bucks for a 100-ft roll) gave me a sound that a $$$ teflon-insulated product couldn't match.

My final addition to the system was an ACI Force subwoofer. I was pleased with the V2.3 bass response, but I knew that the sub would enhance imaging as well. The result is pure joy. Depth, detail, speed, dynamics and 3D effect is stunning. With the best LPs on my turntable it's got me nailed to the listening chair and skipping meals. The beauty of tube equipment is that with different tube combinations you can significantly change the sound, like you would with new components but at a fraction of the cost.

I think this speaker is worth looking for at reliable stores that handle used audio, like Saturday Audio Exchange.





OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2009]
rob wood
Audio Enthusiast

having been a music lover for many years and spending a lot of cash listening to many different sets of well known speakers and never really being satisfied with the overall sound.I managed to bump into a set of these marvelous v2 3i and let me tell you they are simply amazing you use these with the right amplification you wont ever get rid of them. they are by far the best speaker for the actual size of them . ive had speakers that cost a few grand more than these v2 3i and are no were as good . these are simply one of the best speakers around better than you might think ,relatlivey cheap aswell . to put it bluntly buy them try them out unbelievable !!! you must use a good amp to get the best out of these speakers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2008]
John Penner
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

These speakers are well constructed with a nice finish and lovely appearance. The speakers encorporate high end materials and some fine, state of the art technology, and wonderful sound. Read the review by John Higgins from the Absolute Sound for the full rundown on these speakers.

Lets be honest, can you buy better speakers ? Of course you can, but how much do you want to spend ? The question of how much more you need or want to spend may not be neccessary if you give these speakers a listen.

Weakness:

This is not a weakness but simply a reality, if you want the best from these speakers use high end electronics to compliment them. They require at least 100 hours of playback break in period to sound best, but, like a fine wine they better with age, the time is well worth the wait.

I don't profess to be a hardcore audiophile and write with all the technical lingo that goes with a review, but I am a staunch audio enthusiast that appreciates dearly a very high quality of sound. I have had at least a dozen speaker lines under my belt, I can never stay satisfied with what I have after I have heard something better. As my budget dictates what I can spend, I upgrade within my means. I auditioned these speakers with some of my favorite C D's and was struck by the clarity of sound, spatiousness and imaging I was hearing. I was hearing detail in the recordings that simply gave the music life. I was hooked and brought them home. After 5 months of listening I decided to compliment them with a pair of the Veritas 2.2i's and the 2.0i centre channel as well as the Veritas Subwoofer. It is an incredible sound system package. I upgraded to a very high end Yamaha RX-V2700 reciever. I wish I could have afforded to do that earlier.They sounded great before, but I can tell you that a decent amp/ reciever will make these speakers shine in all thier glory. When I sit and listen to well recorded material I am so immersed in it I sit and listen as if hypnotized, I can't move, I feel like I am at the recording studio.

Similar Products Used:

I have had Infinity, B+W, JBL, Polk, Definitive Technology, Paridign, Atlantic Technology, to name a few.

I will say this much, keeping in mind the budget, the only speaker I may switch to for the money, and I mean the ONLY one, (and I may switch soon I might add), is the Anthony Gallo Nucleus Reference 3.1. I gave this speaker a serious audition and I must confess, it's a damn sweet speaker. Decisions, decisions.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2007]
KK
AudioPhile

Strength:

Lovely uncolored midrange, superb clarity, sweet highs and good bass repsonse which is amplifier-dependent. Big sound given moderate size of the speakers are not huge like Studio 100 from Paradigm. Solid build and finish.

Weakness:

If I have to give one, it will be that you need good equipment from the upstream to explore all the potential of the speakers

I've gotten these wonderful speakers for about 6 months and been very happy about their performance. Although I am not using an exotic amplifier for the speakers (right now Denon AVR 5700), i got a decent bass response, lovely uncolored midrange and sweet highs. I am planning to upgrade my amp to extract better performance of the speakers. That's how revealing and good these speakers are. The soundstage is deep, solid, focused and laid-back type. If you are looking for more forward image, these speakers may not suit your taste.

Customer Service

Energy service is excellent. I have asked them couple technical questions about the speakers. very detailed answers and even giving my literature to read too! Fast response especially after they become the Klipsch group.

Similar Products Used:

Studio 80, 100. B&W N803 804

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2006]
mauserb
Casual Listener

Weakness:

Had to return these speakers to the dealer for the second time because the black covering is pealing off again and 3 of the 4 woofers don't work any more. The cone seems to have shifted to the side pushing it against the part in the middle. The woofer is jammed and doesn't move. The reliablity of these speakers concerns me now that I'm at the end of my 5-year warranty. I'm tired of to all the hassle associated with boxing them up, getting them to the dealer and then paying for shipping. It's amazing to me to see a product that the manufacture is so proud of they attach a signiture emblem on the back but has the worst reliablity of any electronic product I've ever owned. For the money spent I thought I was getting a better product. The sounds was awesome while they worked...how long will they last next time.

Disappointed again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 23, 2005]
Jack Dotson
AudioPhile

Strength:

Soundstage width and dept, imaging, detail, dynamics, looks, build quality, price, and one of the largest sweet spots your likely to find. Fantastic dispersion. Sound eminate well beyond the boundries of the speakers. To the sides, front and rear. In two channel listening I often find myself doing a double take to ensure my center and surrounds are not on. Be careful, these bad boys will certainly show the limitations of associated equipment and you might find yourself bit with the upgarde bug once again. :-)

Weakness:

Fairly inefficient. Takes a good amp to sound thier best. Not readily available at most locations.

What an amazing speaker! I was looking for a speaker to replace my beloved Maggie 1.6's. I loved the Maggie's for music, but wanted something more dynamic and better suited for HT and music. I had a B&W HTM-2 center that I really liked, so I went to audition 803/804's and came upon the 2.3i's. Did a comparison and it didn't take long for me to realize just how good the Veritas, a speaker I had barely even heard of, was. The detail, impact (dynamics), soundstage/imaging width & depth, were just amazing. The bass wasn't super extended (still need a good sub for the lowest octave), but had very good impact. Hit fast and hard and was extremely detailed. Don't get me wrong, these still have plenty of bass for most music (maybe even too much in a small room) and when a sub is not required, I don't use one, because I absolutely adore the articualte bass these puppy's produce. No boom here baby! The mid-range is probably best described as just a tiny bit on the laid back side. Not in your face and never harsh or etched sounding, but certainly not lacking either. Smooth, sweet and involving. They just sound right to my ears. About as good as you can get for a dual purpose speaker. Equally good for HT and music. What more could you want? What else can I tell you? I'm just thrilled to death that I came across these speakers and cannot believe they're not on the A list of every major audio magazine. They're that good and one of the best kept secrets in the audio world IMO. Better than my Maggie's, and let me tell you, that's no small feat. Best bang for the buck. I strongly recommend you give these a try if your in the market for a new speaker. I won't put a price limit on the competition because I truely believe they can easily best allot of speakers many times their price.

Similar Products Used:

Current set-up: 2.3i's, 2.0Ci (on order), Sonance TR-4000 in-ceiling rears, SVS 20-39 pci sub. Outlaw model-950 pre-processor (next upgrade), Outlaw model 755 amp, Sony DVP NS999ES for source, Hitachi 60" LCD HDTV. Have owned many speakers, but to name a few: Boston A-200, Polk's (various models), Klipsch Cornwall II's and LaScalla's, PSB Stratus Bronze and Gold i, AR-9's, Infinity Kappa 8.1, Maggie MMG and 1.6, Vandersteen 2Ci, Monitor auido silver i's, JBL 4312, etc., etc. You get the idea.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2005]
holenneck
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

highs and lows. matches perfectly with my sunfire.

Weakness:

i wish i could have gotten them for free, but this is the most money i have spent on 2 speakers and this is the first time i havent given it a second thought

Blew me away, read some negative reviews up here, but luckly for me, my reciever pushes it fine and if the speakers sound better than they do now after they have 100's of hours on them, i will continue to be blown away. thanks to everyone who takes the time to write a review, there are alot of people who are new to this hobby and are audiophiles on a budget. info like this only helps people make the right decisions.

Similar Products Used:

polk audio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2004]
rking199
AudioPhile

Strength:

great clarity and imaging. can handle lots of power, the more you give them the more they come alive.also great looking speaker

Weakness:

none that can see

i have had these speakers for about 8 months and cant believe how good they sound for the price. i purchased a set of 2.2 at the same time as well as matching center channel. i just recently upgraded my yamaha rxv3000 receiver with a rx-z9 and the combination is unbelievable. the rx-z9 pumps out 170watts per channel and these speakers cant handle every watt. they are the best speakers i have ever owned.

Similar Products Used:

bose, infinity, nht, mirage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com