Energy Speaker Systems RC-30 Floorstanding Speakers

RC-30

  • Speaker System: Bass Reflex, Rear Vented
  • Recommended Amplifier Power: 200 watts RMS
  • Impedance: 8 ohms
  • Minimum Impedance: 4 ohm
  • Frequency response: 42Hz-23000Hz +/- 3dB

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
lofijunkie   Casual Listener [Feb 08, 2011]

I purchased these from Audio Advisor on closeout for 400/pr+shipping. I went from some old Athena Technology
bookshelves which were great for the money. After doing some research, I concluded these are basically another step up just below going nuts with audiophile gear. They are designed by the same dude who did the Athenas years back and the co. is Canadian/mfg in China. Since speakers are limited by their source-mine
is a humble Best Buy Harman Kardon reciever with a Rega table. These speakers deliver the goods when positioned correctly with your room. Based on friends opinions with over the top systems, my system
rocks for what it is. Speakers aren't quite broken in yet, but the mids and highs are very clear. Bass gets a
little flabby with music thats demanding, but my sub takes over when needed. I would have done the 50's
if they were available when I purchased these. Maybe hooked up to a nice analog setup with quality cables,
then, you could really hear what these boxes can do?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
upsetdog   AudioPhile [Aug 25, 2010]

I bought a pair of these from Audio Advisor cause they were on sale. I moved my B&W 805's to another system and put these in the HT. For starters these DO NOT sound better then my 805's. I moved them to my two channel tubed system. They don't image as well, they don't disappear as well and the highs are not as clean as the B&W's. Now, that being said this is still a very fine speaker. Although they take forever to break in, I waited for the bass to firm up. When you get these brand new the sound is hard and lifeless. The mids and highs start to get better after a few hours. And within a couple of days your sailing right along. But the bass is another thing. Right out the box you have low frequency and that's all. No definition no tunefulness just low sound. But after about a week of constant play they loosen up. The bass has gotten a lot better and the speakers have really bloomed. I listen to jazz mostly with classical and a lot of vinyl thrown in and these little beauties don't disappoint. Nice sound stage and they do vanish, to a point. I highly recommend them

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
pete1987   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2009]

I got this pair of speakers from audio advisor for around $680 shiped.
I sold my old b&w cdm 1nt and got these instead.
I am not a audiophile but i love to listen to music.
These speakers are Amazing for movies but i would say are above ok for music.
They do have a punchy bass but is not EXTREMLY CLEAN OR TIGHT.
i feal that the treable is not as crisp in music as it is in the movies.
They are not as detailed as the b&w speakers in music.
If you love movies they would blow your mind away.!!!!!! by far better then the b&w in movies.
ooooooo and the finish is outstanding.very well build.
Sorry for broken english

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Moge   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 11, 2008]
Strength:

Very good sound, the finish is ansome, bi-amp, the connector are all in gold metal, there is 3 kinds of feet that you can put underneat them, there is foam plug tho put in the back to drop the base when you put them to close to the back wall. The packaging is very high quality. Where there is in special is the time to buy them. 5 years waranty, no need to buy extended waranty.

Weakness:

I do not understand why they sound that good for the money i have paid for it.

I have listened to Paradigm monitor 7v5, mini-monitor v5 those to have to mutch high and the midrage is to loud to much presence for me, those speaker sound to much agressive for my listened. The RC-30 sounded better. I have bought the RC-50 (800$) and the RC-30 (500$) and compare both and i loved better the sound of the RC-30m i have return the RC-50 to the store. I have own the Take 5 speakers from Energy and now i have the Encore serie. I have bought the RC-30 with the RC-LCR center channel and with my old xl-12S sub and wow the sound is almost perfect. The finish of the RC-30 is very nice, in rosewood, but there is a little difference in the color between the RC-LCR and the RC-30 but if you did not put them close together there ok. I have bought them because there where in special at 66% of, 500$ a pair compare to 1500$ regular and for the price paid i think there is no speaker that can bet this one on quality and sounding. I have heard the Paradigm Studio 60 (2000$) and they were my first choise but when i heard the RC-30 is almost the same sound but i paid 4 time less, so i loved the RC-30 better.

Similar Products Used: Energy Take 5, Energy Encore system, Paradigm Monitor 7v5, 11v5, Paradigm Studio 40, 60, 100, Klipch RC 52, 62 and 82.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
korky   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2007]
Strength:

fit and finish
sound quality
energy label of quality

Weakness:

none yet

I have owned the take 5 satelite set for a few years now, and decided to upgrade my towers. I have always liked the looks and of course the sound of energy speakers so decided to purchase energy towers. I was looking into the c5 and found that i liked the syling of the c30 reference con. better. These speakers look so rich and they sound even better. The cabinet is so small and the sound is so big. I got the speakers for half price on sale so i think i got a steal of a deal. These speakers sound great with my hip hop music and also sound great with home theater

Similar Products Used: take 5-energy
soundstage
sony
toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Ong   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2007]
Strength:

Best for techno coz booming sound, execllent
Best it produce long bass. example. doooommm when it have to, execllent
Best for low quality recording CD's coz booming sound cover the weakness
No need sub woofer


Weakness:

Not nature sound produce, added a bit booming sound.
Sometime super tight bass it just polk polk polk the end.
I guess need to find a good/matching SPEAKER CABLE to make it powerfull and balance sound. Must play with hifi hardward to make this speaker sounds balance.

Hi people out there. I own this speaker for 3 weeks. During demostration in the hifi shop sound is powerfull nice and balance. But went it come to my home is a bit to booming, Maybe is because i place this speaker at corner so it produce to much bass a booming sound. Will figure out to solve this problem, wait for my next review
My email ong_chong_tian@hotmail.com

Important to take note my HIFI consist. coz u must know what drive this to produce what sound.

Integrated amp Cambridge Audio 640A pre out to a Power amp
audiolab 8000P to drive this speaker
wire is a normal Monster XPMS

THERE IS NO RIGHT OR WRONG OF SOUND -
IT IS RIGHT WHEN YOU LIKE IT -
IT IS WRONG WHEN YOU DONT
HAPPY LISTENING
BUT DONT SPEND MOST OF YOUR
HARD EARN $ ON HIFI

$$$+DANGEROUS HOBBIES+$$$

Similar Products Used: Speaker use to compare ENERGY C30

Dali IKON 6, Dont have the punching sound (audited) in show room (nature)
Bose AM5, Not as punching (Using now)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bob Berryman   Casual Listener [Jul 11, 2006]
Strength:

They have a nice look and finnish. a sound well balanced right through,.a nice clear treble.Im sure they wont dissapoint

Weakness:

none at this stage

Hi there,I would like to add a little more.I approached the staff at Beggs HiFi ,Nelson,New Zealand .and asked them about some thing special ,as you do.They led me straight to these,it took a month for me to make up my mind after some research ,and checking out the options.I hooked them up to my 30 watt per channel onkyo mini system.Which has served me well for the last 5 years,awesome, right out of the box.Im looking forward to the sound they make when I run them in properly and add hi end equipment . 5 out of 5.now, 6 out of 5 next,Im certain.

Similar Products Used: Tannoy mx1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
canuckle   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2006]
Strength:

Everything. The sound is amazing beyond description. The build quality is second to absolutely nobody. Every single part is remarkably high quality. Bi-wiring and bi-amping is a snap with the 4 posts.

Weakness:

There really are none. One weakness for Energy i suppose is that they could be selling these for triple the price easy.

After months of auditioning what seems like a million different speakers, the Reference Connoisseur line stood out as the clear leader to me. The RC-50's were actually my first choice in speaker; however, the room that they were being put into wasn't really very large, so the 50's were a bit of overkill. I went with the RC-30's and I'm so completely satisfied that I can't even begin to describe. Perfect, distortion-free clarity throughout their entire dynamic range, deep and rich bass, full and lively midrange, and soaring and clear highs. These are some of the most realistic sounding speakers I've ever heard. I have one friend with some high-end B&W's and another friend with fairly high-end Klipsch's. We all agree that the RC-30s are the best sounding speakers of the group. This is significant since my RC-30's cost less as a pair than either of theirs as a single speaker. The high-end on these speakers is as good as any speaker I've ever listened to. They're smallish cabinets and easy to fit in just about anywhere, but the sound is huge... you really wonder where it's all coming from! Another thing you cannot overlook is the build quality. Quite simply, speakers don't get made any better than these. I got the cherry veneer and it's more attractive than any of my furniture! I checked out speakers 4 times the price that looked cheaper. Energy cared about how these were put together and it shows in every detail. You could fall in love just looking at them. There's no need for my subwoofer anymore as these speakers carry such a deep, rich lower end. They are stunning with the home theatre. They fill the room with sound that could make you believe a symphony had stopped over for a private session. They are easily driven by my 100wpc amp but are set-up to be bi-amped if i cared to do so. Since my neighbours wouldn't like that, I'm good as is. If you want $4000 worth of sound in a $1000 package (Canadian monies), this is the only speaker for you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com