Eltax Symphony 8 Floorstanding Speakers

Eltax Symphony 8 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Floorstanding

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Nov 07, 2002]
HPurser
AudioPhile

Strength:

The top end is very strong and clear. Extended bass.

Weakness:

The top end is overpowering and tiring. Cost of extended bass is flabbiness.

For the new 8.3 I ran these for a few weeks... These speakers have an extremely uneven response, accentuating at 100Hz and 6kHz and with a MASSIVE dip between 400 and 900Hz. Flabby and sizzling. Great if you're listening to a flute solo or whale song, but that's about it. Unfortunately, Eltax have buckled to the home cinema market's preference for a 'lively', bracing sound. It's as if they've taken the (much better) 8.2s and added an undefeatable 'pop music' EQ setting such as found on kids' midi-systems. What makes it worse is that the quality of drivers, construction and connections is actually pretty good. Overall, this isn't an awful speaker. I just don't understand why Eltax have changed this model so much for the worse- perhaps the crossover's doing something odd.

Similar Products Used:

Eltax Symphony 8.2 Mission 7.3e KEF Cresta 3 Wharfedale Valdus 500

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 20, 2002]
Peter Garner
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great, beefy but musical sound. Look very nice.

Weakness:

Middle range a bit underplayed. Can sanitise some pop / rock / dance music.

These are lovely speakers, especially for classical music, as they give voices in particular plenty of depth and weight (though this may be partly the Arcam amp and CD player they are hooked up to), but without muddiness. Wonderful for choral music, and opera singers. There is some weakness in the middle range, and one reservation is that the bass is sometimes so crisp, bouncy and controlled, despite being relatively overpriveleged in the picture, that rock and pop music can sound a bit clinical. Also, jazz - especially where rides, etc. are prominent, can sound 'noisy' because the sound is very forward. I have found these are a good compromise hooked up to my TV/DVD - the bass is substantial enough to live without a subwoofer, and the placement is good enough without multiple speakers.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 03, 2002]
Philip McCavity
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good bottom end bass, very "toppy" with good mid range

Weakness:

Where's the mid bass gone?

Having lived with these speakers for over a year now, I'm still not sure about them! Lost a bass driver from one unit after only a month (thanks Richersounds for a relatively prompt replacement, even if I did have to fit it myself). Paired with a Cambridge A500, they initially seemed to offer a clean sound- probably more lively in the bass field than all of the other combinations that I auditioned. BUT, after living with them (and now being totally paranoid about driving them into clipping and hence driver destruction)for a year or so, I'm feeling that there's something missing from the set-up. Deep bass is fine (although it has an "out of the room" feeling) great for p***ing off the neighbours but, in terms of LOUD... not that good. They tend to sound like they're going to self-destruct at the sort of SPL's that I enjoy.

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy studio monitors, home builts

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 03, 2002]
Philip McCavity
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good bottom end bass, very "toppy" with good mid range

Weakness:

Where's the mid bass gone?

Having lived with these speakers for over a year now, I'm still not sure about them! Lost a bass driver from one unit after only a month (thanks Richersounds for a relatively prompt replacement, even if I did have to fit it myself). Paired with a Cambridge A500, they initially seemed to offer a clean sound- probably more lively in the bass field than all of the other combinations that I auditioned. BUT, after living with them (and now being totally paranoid about driving them into clipping and hence driver destruction)for a year or so, I'm feeling that there's something missing from the set-up. Deep bass is fine (although it has an "out of the room" feeling) great for p***ing off the neighbours but, in terms of LOUD... not that good. They tend to sound like they're going to self-destruct at the sort of SPL's that I enjoy.

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy studio monitors, home builts

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 24, 2000]
David Kitchen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Astounding sound, incredible for those soft moments (Belle and Sebastian) and for harder things (Mos Def).

Weakness:

Can be a little boomy at times, this may be because of the room that they're in though ;)

I tried Tannoy, Mission and Yamaha when i auditioned these. And whilst these were cheaper, and i was at first scepticial, they beat the others hands down. So i took the plunge and risked it.

They've proven to be the right choice, teamed up with a Sony STRDB930 amp and a Marantz CD6000OSE, they have so far given unparelled performance. The Sony amp is not well-known for it's music performance, but the speakers repair this weakness in the amp and deliver a fine performance.

For this price range? astounding.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2001]
Mr Nico
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Superbly articulate bass. Clear, crisp treble.

Weakness:

None as of yet.

I actually am posting a review for the Symphony 6.2 speakers. They are pure amazing and that man.

Similar Products Used:

Speaker and that,.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 1999]
P.Chia
a Casual Listener

Since three weeks i am the proud owner of a pair eltax symphony 8 speakers I'm suprised wat great sound they produce
especcially that i have bought them to use as a left and right speaker with my DPL amplifier from JVC
the bass is very good and low
for the price that i bought them (250 US $) they are the best speakers i've
heard in that price range.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
[Jan 22, 2002]
James White
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid Top and bottom end. Great Price & Great looks.

Weakness:

Mid range can become week depending on the music choice.

Linked to a Yamaha DSP-620 AMP, Running 6.2 on the rear & the eltax center.

Similar Products Used:

B&W

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 1999]
Simon Gallear
an Audio Enthusiast

Of the floorstanders I listened to (of the same price range) these came out tops. I wanted a pair of floorstanders to be driven by a Cambridge Audio A100 amp (40wpc). At the time there were some very tempting deal (at Richer SOunds) for Mordaunt-Shorts (800 series) but in reality these were far to big for my room. So what do I like about the Eltaxs?I am a freelance classical musician and I was particulally impressed by the reproduction of choral and orchesteral music. The sound stage is great providing a very realistic experience. There is plenty of bass (having two drivers and a reflex port), but a word of warning; if you want to listen to rock, jungle, D&B etc. you may want to look at something else, however, if you are listening to predominantly 'classical' music, then I think that you will be very pleased indeed!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Feb 16, 2001]
serge de cock
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

clear treble, sounds very detailistic, nice looks

Weakness:

bass is too short, sounds like you hear it from an other room. Flat sound in some bass tracks

I've used the eltax 8.2 for three days. In the beginning i was very enthousiast about the sound, but after better listening i discovered even more "bad habits". Like the bass which is in some tracks very good,(like aphrodite > full bass) but in other tracks it seems the bass won't let itself "go". I mean i didn't feel a warm bass filling the room.
Other thing i wan't to say is that when voices come up in a track, the midrange and bass seems to be more at the background.
Classical sounds like enigma sounds very good. So i guess this speaker is worth the price for people who like music with an easy bass and lots of treble tones.

Conlusion: good speaker for the price, but the speaker is "too young" to be comperenced with big brands like tannoy & b&w. The eltax has too many "childweaknesses". So i say to the producers of eltax: You're going the good way but the speakers has to grow up.

Serge de cock.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com