Eltax Linear Response 6.5 Floorstanding Speakers

Linear Response 6.5

2-way floor standing speaker with Vifa components

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
carl   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2003]
Strength:

good price

Weakness:

need a decent expensive powerful amp to make em sound right

i have used these for about 3 years and found them to be an average quality speaker until last year when i purcased a new yamaha amp. now i find then to be very impressive. so much so i went out and bought some eltax extreme 400 which at 400w each sound absolutly great. i now have the extreme 400`s as front speakers and the 6.5`s as the surround speakers. now when i have the amp on 6ch stereo the sound is amazingly crisp and clear, v,v loud. to make the eltax range of speakers work correctly you need to be able to power them with a good amp.

Similar Products Used: kenwood, mission, marantz, all sorts
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
_MikeH_   AudioPhile [Apr 21, 2002]
Strength:

Nice finish; Price but not available anymore; nice smooth flat sound; solid construction (thick walls and are heavy)

Weakness:

I would not pay £350 for these. Plastic woofer frame, and paper cone.

I bought the Eltax LR6.5 yesterday from Richer Sounds Newcastle, I decided that these would be a risky bet but overall a better value over some Mission 702e speakers I also considered. I was replacing some Mission 701 speakers, so I needed something a little more smooth and a floorstander design. My budget was £110. Luckily I managed to grap the last pair from the "ex-display", meaning they come with a 3 month garantee, no box and no manual. They are supposed to be discontinued now. The speakers are supposed to be sold for £350 and in that respect sounded a good deal to me. I bought them and took them home. Up till now I have been pleasantly surprised with the subtle improvements. While there may not be such great difference over the 701s, there is noticeable nice spots, such as the smooth but detailed treble and better midrange. Vocals now appear more up-front and out of the speaker. There is better sound staging, and the air around the speaker is full of little details. I can now manage to recognize the different instruments in music, such as the use of a tambourine in some of Rooftop (Stereophonics J.E.E.P.). There is a noticeable difference in lower midrange, where small bass melodies can lie and somehow seem overlooked with the Mission 701s. I have yet to know how much these speaker have been used, they could have been used in Demos, and such, so I’ll have to see if there is a benefit in the future of some heavy use. At the moment there a definite sign of improvement. However, to say these designs cost £350 would seem a tad steep. Their finish is brilliant, even if mine are scratched, they still look gorgeous, and the drive units have a 25mm thick front baffle. They’re also bi-wriable, and they can be filled with sand, although it would be difficult to get it out. I recently noticed that the two speakers are not a pair when I wired them up, one has a black sticker and the other one white, I had to remove a drive unit to straighten a screw and notice the label “Spare Part No. 9042”, eh? The other woofer has a Vifa label on it. Seemingly these have some strange counterparts, but are not different in sound terms. They may not have grills, boxes or a proper warranty but sound ace, although I’ve never heard a better speaker –since these are the most expensive speaker I’ve heard. I need to buy a new amp now, as there’s not a great bass kick. They are supp

Similar Products Used: Mission 701, Pioneer 1987 Three ways
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Eugene McGunigal   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2002]
Strength:

Will do justice to a wide range of music. Look good and are very cheap.

Weakness:

Will distort if pushed hard.

I chose these speakers as an alternative to some Missions which were out of stock. They are musically well balanced but driven hard vocals do become distorted. Fortunately this is at uncomfortable levels. The bass is reasonably good and more than sufficient if you have a loudness filter. They are a nice piece of furniture but you may have to shell out at Ikea if you want a matching beech theme throughout. They are floorstanders but because of their slender design they do not dominate my sitting room.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike Andrews   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2001]
Strength:

Not bad for price @ middle volumes in my large living room

Weakness:

At higher volumes (still easily within speaker ratings & with different amps) loses voice frequencies completely... almost to distortion... started off liking them but saddened on thorough testing.

See above.

Similar Products Used: Mission M72, Celestion F3, Mission 702e and Tannoy Revolution R2 the latter which I am going to trade these for.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
David   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2000]
Strength:

Is very cheap!!!

Weakness:

You can hear it´s cheap.

First of all the treble isn´t very good. It sound´s like it´s playing inside a box. It´s not clear at all. If you want some quality treble and midrange, buy a B&W 600 series 2. That´s what i´m going to buy, or maybe a Dali 909. That is also a very good and punchy loudspeaker at low price.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Andrew   Casual Listener [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

Very good and clear Bass, for the money it will stretch to 40Hz which is unheard of at this price.

Weakness:

Can be harsh when played at high volumes

Although Eltax arn't ever so popular in the HiFi world, there is no reason for this at all. Eltax LR6.5 are fairly cheap, stylish and above all sound good. The bass is superb, but the treble can kill songs at high volumes, but for £150 you'd do well to find anything better! The sound stage is very good and voices and instuments can be easily placed. Above all, the best buy I have ever had.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
sam storey   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 2001]
Strength:

Price! a measly £120.
Looks
Crisp treble

Weakness:

No real punch for those d&b and hardhouse fans at high levels.

i was initially dissapointed by the lack of thump, but after a long listenting session they began to losen up and i began to appreciate the incredible difference compared to my previous fl/st.
even if you don't like the sound of them, they would make great pieces of furniture for 120 quid!
perhaps not worth the £350rrp but well worth a listen for the discounted price.

Similar Products Used: Acoustic solutions ds1000 mkII
Eltax 5+
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Tyler   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent scale, well balanced treble and bass, good build

Weakness:

A tad large, otherwise non

Whilst looking for a pair of floor standing speakers in the 300-400 UKP price range, I auditioned the Kef Q35, MS25i, Tannoy R3, Wharfedale EM95 and a few others at Richer Sounds and an independant dealer.

The amp used was an Arcam 8R and a various CD players.

After extensive listening, the Eltax LR6.5 offered the best sound for the money. I prefer an articulately detailed treble and a controlled bass, which is the best way to describe these eltax speakers.

I found at this price that many speakers like to impress with a detailed treble and bass, but this often leads to a seamed 'boom and tizz' sound. The Eltax's sound is exceptionally integrated and even though they are a two way speaker, it is impossible to tell.

The soundstaging has to be heard to be believed - if there was ever a 3-d sound, then these speakers definately have it!

Five stars, no doubt.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James Bond   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2000]
Strength:

Bass Depth, Smooth Treble,

Weakness:

Harsh at high volumes, lack of bass punch

These speakers are very good but you must have a large room to house these beasts; they are massive. Too close to a rear wall and the base slows down somewhat. Too far away and there isn't enough punch to the bass. However for easy listening music or light volumes they truly excel. Though the bass never has the punch it certainly goes deep down to find those frequencies that you've only ever dreamt about. The general sound is quite warm and the vocals are clearly defined while the treble is pleasingly smooth which makes it a joy to listen to when relaxing. They definately are good all round speakers. One can use them to listen to d&b, dance etc but to turn the volume up to get the bass response one wants they tend to turn harsh in the upper frequencies. However if such is your musical taste you'll be better off with some other floor standers such as the missions 783s.

But I'll reccomend them for someone who wants to fill a big sitting room with relaxed controlled music.
Now that you can get them cheap at RicherSounds though makes them a bargain for anyone with a big room

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com