Electro Voice Interface D Floorstanding Speakers

Interface D

12" 3-way speaker

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
nottingc   AudioPhile [Jun 21, 2009]

I purchased my D's back in 1980 for $2,200.00 worth every penny of it. The Interface D's can handle any style of music you throw at them from rock to classical. Not too many speakers can do that very well. The dynamics of the Electro-Voice Interface D's are astonishing you will feel and hear the bass. I believe that music should be felt as well as being heard, the D's can do this very well and with ease. The D's sound great even at low levels very clear and with an unbelieveable soundstage. 7 years ago I picked up anouther pair on EBay, had the woofer surrounds redone and off we went. I have decided to stack both pairs, one pair sits in the normal position and the other pair is inverted on top. Now when you are listening to music you are sitting in the front row not in the balcony, the sound is crazy. I have a friend that also has stacked D's and he would never part with them either. I have listened to alot of speakers from A/D/S to B & W too . . . . . . . you name it but nothing compairs to the overall preformance of the Electro-Voice Interface D and that's why I have 2 pairs!!

Strengths: Sound, soundstage, real bass,lifelike midrange, treble smoothness

Weakness: What, NOT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
marc in miami   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2009]

I purchased my Interface D in 1976 back in Switzerland from a friend who worked in an Audio Lab. They had the pair for testing. One is US made the other build in SWITZERLAND. He was able to sell it to me for half the price. And said that this where one of the best speakers the lab ever tested. He also helped me to get a ‘Harman Kardon Citation 16’ power amp.
I’m not an Audiophile. It was pure luck. I did not know how good this equipment was until my power amp after 30 years died. Over the years I went through several pre amps. NAD, Nakamitchi, B&K Component. Like others I had to replace the rubber caskets on the bass speakers.
I replaced my power amp with a relatively inexpensive 2x150W one from a known brand with excellent reviews. It did not sound good at all. I returned it and got a Parasound A21 and Pre Amp. The high voltage power amp moves the speakers. Goosebumps, it sounds great again.
So if you see a pair of Interface D’s don’t let them get away.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mssanto   Casual Listener [Mar 21, 2009]

I've owned these Centry's (EV Interface D's) since I loaded them off of EV's dock in Buchanan, MI back in 1976 at $350 using employee discount. I've had to have the gasket surrounds on both of the 12" speakers replaced twice now, but other than that they have performed beautifully all these years. I've had no problem with the equalizer - it's never hummed, as a couple of other reviewers have noted. PreAmp out to this equalizer then back into the main amp and they are cut off from anything below 28cycles. You can really feel these beauties. Although the cabinets are rather large, they can be placed in a corner without too much loss; a switch beside the midrange can then be thrown to compensate for this placement.
It has been a bit of a pain to lug these from Michigan to Arkansas, to N Carolina to Jalisco (MX) and now to TX, but I have never heard a cleaner sound; both the low and hi ends really do produce that "being there" experience. I can not imagine being without them.
I first used these with a Harman Kardon 40W/ amp (with pre amp out and main amp in jacks) in a 20' x 15' carpeted and draped living room. Other than in experimenting, I never turned this amp's power all the way up at - at 1/3 power you'd have to shout to be heard. At the wide-open volume setting these very efficent speakers - as the Century's owner's manual states, were "too damn load" - putting out 110db. Today I am using them with HK's AV354 and although also a smallish amp, it is impossible to overdrive the EV's - though the horn's will cut out if I go nuts (5W protection).
The walnut vernier, grills and and especially the flat black bases are showing their road-warrior status but the cabinets are still as solid as the first day I brought them home.
Some people leave a watch or a ring to their son. I'll be leaving 228 lbs. of magic.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mraysounds   AudioPhile [Mar 08, 2008]
Strength:

Very accurate mids. Very strong, wide and well balanced bass and treble. Capable in every type of music.

Weakness:

Not the best of a kind in orchestral performance.

Heaviness.

Very old and stylish speakers from 80's. These speakers have accurate sound with very good timing. Especially they have perfect, unique mids with a port which "reflects" the mid sounds. A very strong and capable bass and hf...

Capable in every type of music... but best in rock. The only disadvantage is the orchestral performance which you can't ussually get the smoothest and widest in these db's...

The best I've ever listened and used in this leauge.

Similar Products Used: JBL L80T
B&W 602, Matrix
Mission 703
Wharfedale Diamond
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anatoli from Moscow   AudioPhile [May 07, 2006]
Strength:

Too BIG.

Weakness:

Old fashioned spring connectors.

Fantastic speakers.Best in the world midrange sound.

Similar Products Used: ESS Transstatic ONE.Hybrid electrostatic speakers age of 1971.Samsung C-01/M-30S audiophile amplifier.Thorens TD-126MkII turntable.McIntosh MCD 7007 CD player.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jim paidas   AudioPhile [Sep 18, 2003]
Strength:

Beefy!Call and email EV to start production of a replacement! Or at least have a pool of parts available for the owners that still have them

Weakness:

None

THE BEST! Hands down! Too bad Bob Pabst retired! The new CO that owns EV sucks! Nothing currently mfg. comes close! Sound great low, loud,and great low frequency agitation.

Similar Products Used: There is nothing similar to these bad boys! One of the greatest loudspeakers systems ever designed and produced for the civilian population.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Simon Tanner   Audiophile [Jul 14, 2001]
Strength:

Best Tweeter and best midrange-system ever heard! Super Bass.

Weakness:

Some parts (Wooferedge) must be replaced after 10 Years of use (getting weak). EQ Hum.

The ultimate Speaker. Thiele-Small rules. Also the EV Link9 is the best speaker for the price (900.-- $).

Similar Products Used: Electro-Voice Link9, B&O 3000, Klein&Humel Studio Monitor and a lot studio monitors.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   an Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 1999]

These are the best sounding speakers I have ever heard; bar none. The 12" down-firing woofers think that they are 18" and the vented midrange is beyond smooth. The low point is the electronic eq which is not as quiet as it should be. These speakers sound wonderful at low levels and have labels on the back warning that "listening at rated power levels may result in hearing loss". These haven't been produced for 15 years, so if you find them check the woofer surrounds for rot. EV will fix them only until they run out of repair parts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
mike   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2001]
Strength:

incredible low listening levels

Weakness:

none if you like large speakers

I listened to a pair of these speakers in 1980, they were out of control, at low levels the bottom end still went through you. Unfortunatly I didn't listen to them at live levels, I could only dream what they would have been like up loud, a totally cool speaker. Today I'm lucky enough to own 2 pair of very fine jbl monitors, l 300's and 4350b's.

Similar Products Used: jbl l300 summits, jbl 4350b monitors
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fozzie Bear   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2001]
Strength:

Loud loud! lots of bass!

These speakers cost me hardly anything second hand in fine condition. They sound lovely and bass heavy, fine for techno dub etc. Very happy with these very loud, clear speakers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com