EFE Technology T-22 Floorstanding Speakers

T-22

2 Way Mini Tower (22"X9"X10"D)

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Frank J. Utecht   AudioPhile [Feb 22, 2015]

Everything you see written about these speakers is true. Clear. np dostprtion. airy. sound of instruments accurately placed left to right and front to back, sound does not come from a box. Unless you own a pair of Allison IIs (as I do) you could spend multi-thousands and still not match the sound quality of these Frias' T-22s. I've not used them since 2007 when we moved to New Mexico so I'm selling them but oh, I wish I had someplace to set them up so I could keep them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Old audiophile   AudioPhile [Apr 11, 2008]
Strength:

Dynamic
actual Live sound
Superior Mid range Detail
addictive you can't get enough!
Extreme power Handling

Weakness:

Absoulutely NOTHING!

After reading all the reviews of Ed Frias T22CF speakers, I purchased 2 T22CF's and 1 C2CF center channel. I've listened to allot of speakers over the years and I'm almost 60 yrs old, and BOY let me tell you..... These Speakers are Simply Amazing! I have never heard speakers that sound so real and alive, dynamic and Clean..... I seriously don't think these speakers can be beaten at any Price Peroid....they are that good....I know you ask....how can speakers that cost $2,000 beat speakers that cost upward of 5,000-8,000 well I don't Know? But just as everyone esle has said these speakers just bring tears to my eyes..... the soundstage is Huge and they simply disappear and I hear instruments so clearly it's really brought a huge improvement to my life......my wife who really never really listened to the sound system is now grossly involved and goes out and actually purchases CD's (believe me, this is something!) I came in from work the other day and my wife and the lady next door were sitting listening to music sipping wine! My wife finally agreed that the purchase of the 3 speakers T22CF and C2CF were the best purchase that I'd ever made (man she hatted to admit that) Ed Frias has a talent that some of the very very very expensive speaker mfg's just seem to miss......He builds a speaker (speakers) that simply sound LIVE and get out of the way of the Music! Don't hesitate to purchase any of his speakers..... I guarantee you it will be the best purchase you will ever make.....Just ask my wife!

Customer Service

The Best Available....Peroid!
One of the nicest people I've ever dealt with!
Folks simply don't know what they are missing!

Similar Products Used: B&W
Green Mountain
OHM
Krell
Definitive Technology
Old Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
airballwall   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2007]
Strength:

Soundstage, clarity, and accuracy. They actually get out of the way of the music.

Weakness:

None.

I feel the need to add my 2 cents worth. I originally demoed the T-20 with dlowman, who also posted a review. They trashed my B&W 602 S3 seven channel surround system They made the B&W's sound cluttered and muddy. Since then I have the T-22CF in a 5.1 theater, the T-40 towers in a listening room, and a pair of T-20's that I am waiting to find a use for. I wish I could use them in my car, lol. These speakers may be the best purchase I have ever made. Every time I sit and listen, I feel such joy. Their clarity and soundstage fills the room with incredible depth. Each instrument and nuance of the music is clearly noted. I use a NAD T163 pre and the T973 seven channel amp. Recently I placed a MHDT Constantine DAC in the lineup for 2 channel music. This allowed the T-22CF to open up even further than I thought possible. I find myself relistening to media I haven't listened to in years and gaining greater appreciation. I am in the process of getting out my turntable and experiencing analog again. These speakers will never disappoint. They have added to the quality of my life. By the way, Ed Frias is as fine a man to deal with that you will find. I will never give up these speakers. Now if I could only find a pair of T-60's.

Customer Service

The best. Ed will even repair cabinet damage.

Similar Products Used: B&W, Totem Acoustic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lovesound   AudioPhile [Sep 04, 2007]
Strength:

Truly live, accurate, high-energy sound. Tremendous value. Great build quality. Looks to match.

Weakness:

Absolutely nothing.

I learned about EFE (Ed Frias Enterprises) Technology while surfing the Internet, and the customer reviews of Ed’s products are so glowing that I felt practically driven to call him. Ed has been building speakers for a long time, and he told me that he stays in the business because he enjoys making people happy. Now that I own a pair of his speakers, I know exactly what he meant by that. I purchased his T-22CF (carbon fiber) speakers for my music system, and the first time I played the demo CD through them that Ed includes with his speakers, the sound literally brought tears to my eyes. Yes, they sound that good! They are the most accurate, dynamic and live-sounding speakers I have ever heard. Whatever the measure of speaker performance (musicality, accuracy, imaging, sound stage, speed, transparency, tonal balance, dynamic range, etc), these speakers deliver – in spades! They are one of the most gratifying purchases I have made in a long time. In addition, dealing with Ed was a genuine pleasure from start to finish. If you are in the market for truly exceptional (and exclusive) speakers, I suggest that you contact Ed Frias. You will NOT be disappointed! FYI, Ed’s contact information is: EFE Technology, Ed Frias, 668 West Lee Blvd, Prescott, AZ 86303-6753, Phone (928) 778-2616, e-mail efespeakers@commspeed.net.

Customer Service

As already mentioned, Ed runs a first-class operation from start to finish. I sent him so many e-mails asking so many questions before I was ready to buy that most people would probably have given up on me, yet Ed answered each one courteously, promptly, and honestly. During the couse of all our correspontence, it became crystal clear to me that Ed cares deeply about customer satisfaction, just as he cares deeply about his products.

Similar Products Used: I have heard and auditioned many speakers in my 58+ years, but I have yet to hear anything I would describe as "similar" to these. Ed clearly has a gift.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dlowman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 06, 2005]
Strength:

incredibly fast deep bass. Smooth midrange. Crisp highs, Ed's customer support

Weakness:

NOT a single thing!

You want GIANT KILLERS!!! These are it. The absolute best speaker I have ever heard. If you are interested in buying the T-22 speaker. Do yourself a favor and buy the T-22CF's with the carbon fiber drivers. They are much more dynamic and have a HUGE soundstage. I have owned the AR DIY's designed by ED. I have owned the T-20 imports as well. They both compared to other speakers are an amazing deal. But to find something better you have to go with another EFE design the T-22CF. The midrange is soo smooth. The highs are exacly as they should be and are never harsh. The bass wow this thing will go down to a solid 40 hz easily. The only need for a subwoofer for these speakers is if you need the extra impact for movies etc. I have left more than a few friends speechless with this setup. Buy one of these, and you will never own another speaker :)except your friends lol ;)

Similar Products Used: EFE DIY, EFE T-20, Paradigm MKII, B&W, Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mac   AudioPhile [Aug 15, 2005]
Strength:

Imaging is superb Smooth and detailed highs Excellent midrange Tight, accurate bass. Incredible speed and sonic impact. Larger than most “sweet spot”. Perfect staging Extremely transparent.

Weakness:

None

I have been listening to these speakers for a few months now and they never cease to amaze me. These are absolutely the best speakers that I have heard in this price (and several times this price) and size range. I am using these for the fronts and 2 channel listening in a 5.1 surround system. These are the T-22CF speakers. Hi res multi channel SACD and DVD/A is just a pleasure to listen to. With the C-2CF center channel, you have a perfectly timbre matched front stage. But they also bring a new depth to two channel music. They have an incredible soundstage, sounding much bigger than they truly are. I found that my subwoofer is not required on many of my music choices. Bass is unusually clean and tight. Paired with adequate amplification (at least 150 – 200 watts per channel), the T-22CF’s will easily beat a lot of floor-standing speakers. The speakers are a sealed cabinet design and rated at 4 ohms. I am driving them with 500wpc amps. They will play as loud as you can stand with crystal clear clarity as well as can be enjoyed at less than deafening levels with the same results and with no listening fatigue whatsoever. Imaging is another strong point (I have yet to find a weak point!). I was listening to a 2 channel XRCD, Kenny G’s Breathless with my wife and she thought it was playing in 5.1! At times even I have caught myself getting up and making sure I didn’t accidentally push “5 Channel Stereo” on my Pre-Pro. These speakers simply disappear as you listen to them. Note decay is rapid and sounds very good as well. I know this has been said many times, but I could hear subtle background vocals as well as instruments that were extremely difficult to make out with all the other speakers I have heard. You can discern every instrument individually. No clutter whatsoever. Vocals are reproduced with an exact realism and tonal balance. All the subtle nuances of both male and female vocals can be heard as never before. Although Ed does not offer a trial period, it was no problem for me as I was aware of the magic he did with his crossover mod with BIC Venturi speakers I used to own years ago. Anyone that avoids doing business with him is simply missing out on some of the best speakers, especially for the price, that one has ever heard. He has an incredible talent for accurate music re-creation – not warm or bright, just right. Mr. Frias is always prompt to answer any questions for you, whether using email or talking to him personally on the phone.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Klipsch Axiom Advent Heil Towers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wwside   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2004]
Strength:

Clarity,tone,balance,dynamics,tight quick base. Solid from top to bottom. Can play very loud and equally very soft. Does well with all types of music

Weakness:

At this price point none

For the price and size I haven't heard any other MTM type monitor do as many things as well as this one. This is one fine speaker and the most impressive thing to me is with the sum of all its parts they bring music to life.

Similar Products Used: Have owned System Audio,Vandersteen,Von Schweikert,PMC,Dunlavy,Phase Tech,Onix Rockets and Refs,HTD,Bose. Demoed many others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mom2SnC   Casual Listener [Feb 09, 2004]
Strength:

They are great! Not to grainy, no to dround out. Everything comes to life! They are great speakers for movies, music and more! Order your own right away to order your own!!

Weakness:

nothing specified.

EfE Speakers are the best I have ever heard. I have heard alot of speakers during the years and nothing compares, even the prices are great! I have sat in regular autofile companies and had gotten disappointed over the comparison. I like EfE's sound, customer service and the manufacturing aspects of it all. My father has a few of his own Efe speakers in his home, I listen to them whenever I get a chance!

Similar Products Used: all of above
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wallypro   AudioPhile [Nov 26, 2003]
Strength:

Full range speaker capable of all types of music and 5.1 surround.

Weakness:

They are kind of big for rears, but Ed sold special mounts that work great.

I bought the T-22's as my rear speakers. Ed really thought this was overkill for the rear channels of movies ect... I insisted because I am totally into 5.1 music, and wanted the full range behind me. Many of the newly released SACD and DVD Audios really put out a ton of signal to the rear channel, and it is awesome hearing not just a small bookshelf speaker. For instance the Steely Dan Gaucho backup singers never sounded so good. I also enjoy listening to some of my music in 5 channel and a full range speaker allows me to do that. These speakers by themselves would be better than 95 percent of the world's main speakers, so you can imagine how incredible they are as rears. Ed Frias recently moved, his new address is: ED FRIAS ENTERPRISES 668 W Lee Blvd Prescott, AZ 86303 928-778-2616 efespeakers@commspeed.net

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
mikeslc   AudioPhile [Jun 13, 2003]
Strength:

Amazing, life-like sound. Huge soundstage. Great imaging. Low price.

Weakness:

Doesn't have low bass. But what bookshelf does?

I bought the EFE T-22s strictly on the glowing web reviews these speakers have received. Well, all the great things that have been written about these speakers are true. I purchased the T-22 with the premium wood burl finish. They look fantastic. I bought these with the intention of putting them in my second system. However, that plan changed as soon as I heard them! I immediately placed the T-22s in my main system and sold my NHT 3.3s (which area great speakers). The T-22s are a bookshelf, so they don't play real low in the bass. Subwoofer are required for full-range sound. I paired the T-22s with two NHT SW3P subs. However, from about 50 Hz on up, they are unmatched by any speaker I've ever heard. The instruments and voices take on a life-like quality that's hard to describe. They just sound more real than others I've heard. Music that I liked before literally gives me goosebumps all over my body. The sound is simply electrifying. Needless to say, I'm saving my money for Ed's top of the line T-60.

Similar Products Used: Speakers I've owned: NHT 2.5, 3.3; Paradigm Active 20, Studio 100; Hales Concept 3. Speakers I've heard at a dealer: Wilson Sophia, Watt/Puppy 7, Maxx; Revel Studio; B&W Nautilus 800.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com