Dynaudio Focus 220 Floorstanding Speakers

Focus 220

For a dynamic power delivery in the bass region, this slim floor-standing loudspeaker relies on two mid/bass drivers from the completely newly developed Esotec+ generation. By employing a double-magnet motor system with ultra-compressed Ferrite magnets, dramatic musical passages are reproduced without compromise. And with increased cone excursion, even the most powerful transients are delivered without compression.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
michael   AudioPhile [Oct 28, 2012]

There are a lot of comments on the 220s lack of bite at the top and their flabby bass justified?

I tend to agree initially,but not until I sat down and brainstorm about it. They are indeed dynamic speakers which I use that to my advantage. You can insert straws in their ports for a tighter and quicker sound. I instead searched for a more permanent solution . I mate them with the excellent LAT SS-1000. ( see my reviews on the speaker cables column for more details) changed their stock spikes to the Herbies beautiful stainless steel ones.Thereby eliciting a much more detailed version(understatement actually) from upper registers to the deepest bass that are even much better than the showroom versions!

I am glad I had purchased the mark 1 version which are both lower priced and sonically more suited to my taste . This goes to show how sensitive these speakers are to the changes made further up the audio chain . They are not slow and cumbersome what the others made them up to be . You really need to match them synergistically with your other hi fi gear to enjoy their remarkable sound.

For my money these dynas are fine value for money,with solid built good finishing ,and a tasteful design to match!

My setup as follows:
Phonograph end- VPI Classic Grado, Sonata cart , extensively modified outboard power supply(for incredible improvement in sound staging and dynamism) Pro-ject tube phonostage. i/c Homegrown pure silver and Synergistic cables(both very good value)
AET HCR powercord (smoothness and detail)

Digital end-Moon cd 1 ,extensively modified Beachmark DAC1 (frankly I can not detect any improvement with whatever you do to this dac ,meaning ? you get it for what it is-save$$!)
Oyaide pure silver digital cable, i/c are LAT IC-300 MK2 and AET HCR powercords.

Pre and power amps are by Bryston with LAT AC2 and Oyaide Tsunami power cables ,all are plugged into a custom made isolation transformer (for black background noise)

The 1300 ft2 area is acoustically treated to elicit a more accurate sonic rendering-the Dynas really sing if the rooms are well treated!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
peterl69   AudioPhile [Mar 17, 2008]
Strength:

Full Accuratge Clear Bass that goes deep without being bloated or muddy
Rich full "meaty" midrange
Clear detailed yet smooth highs
Beautiful Rosewood Bookend pattern, better than I got on my 140s
Speakers are not too heavy, great if shipping needed or for moving around
Easy to drive for Dynaudios speakers
Releatively high performance for the price for Dynaudios. I like them better than some of the more expensive dynaudio speakers.

Weakness:

For relatively light floorstanding speakers, they need a more stable wider stand
They spoil you with their sound
The price has gone up since the dollar has been devalued

I have tried numerous speakers looking for the sound that pleased me. Some I rejected perhaps unfairly before realizing it was my Rotel amp that was harsh in the upper midrange, not the speakers. But overall, after some gear switching it came down to the Dali Helicon and Dynaudio Focus. The Dalis were a bit more open and detailed at the top and the Dynaudios to me were a little smoother and less fatiging and had a very "meaty" natural sounding full midrange. It was a tough decision based on my liking of a slightly more laid back sound.

I temporarily ended my search with a pair of Focus 140s which for me had what I wanted which was floor standing speaker sound in moniter speakers. They have the best bass in quality and quantity that I have heard in monitors, a wonderful rich organic midrange, and smooth yet detailed highs and easily equaled many floor standers in overall output.

I then decided more is better and ordered some Focus 220s. To my surprise, they were only a little better in the bass, which in a way was good since the Focus 140s were already great and I didn't want to overdo it. What was even a little more surprising is that I noticed a slightly more forward upper midrange with the Focus 220s. With my musical and slightly laid back Musical Fidelity Nu-Vista M3 amplifier the slightly more forward midrange enhanced the sound and put more brass in the brass and edge in female vocals without being fatiging. I am sure for my ear, if I had the more forward upper midrange effect through the already forward Parasound or Rotel Amps, I would have not liked this.

In other words, over the Focus 140s, the Focus 220s made music slightly more engaging through my musical and slightly laid back amp - Neal Youngs voice sounded more as it should, with only a slightly annoying rebellious tenor twang, etc.

Similar Products Used: Dali Helicon 300 and 400 speakers
Polk Audios best (not as good and have bloated bass)
Infinity Studio Monitors
AV123 Ref 1s (best buy in a used speaker circa $500)
Merlin Moniters (great sound but not enough bass for me)
If you are on a budget, the 52SE and 72SE Dyns are supposed to be close in sound. And if you are even more on a budget, Harman Kardon has a good sounding 2 channel amp.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Roy Marley   AudioPhile [Dec 12, 2007]
Strength:

as above

Weakness:

as above

Dear friends, sorry me but these speakers are not really hi-end class equipaments.
I feel that Dynaudio has left to design good speakers.
The speakers tested are used, and I took it from a friend just for testing with my system.
The bass are false, as are in the most part of the actual speakers from Dynaudio. This is the number one point that Dynaudio users feel problems. The distortion is too high in the low frequencies.. I have measured more than 11% in 50Hz (99.4 dB SPL - Sine Wave). It is not acceptable.
Frequency response is not so bad, but could be better for its price. The minimum impedance was about 3,1ohms, and it is not good for all amplifiers and receivers. Dynaudio should improve this characteristic. The low cost crossovers and low sensitivity of the speakers must have a check in order to solve this problem. I do not recommend to use these speakers in 8 or 6 ohms equipaments.
Talking about sensitivity, most Dynaudio speakers are very inefficient, with sensitivities near 80 dB/w/m, and this combined with their low impedance require high power amplifiers, and we know that high powers don´t combine with high quality sound. Good power amplifiers cost much more than these speakers, and are usually used with best class speakers.
Sometimes it seems that Dynaudio has stopped in time some years ago, and can not see that the equipaments have improved.
The midrange and high frequencies are correct, but not so extended in highs. The competitors ih this range are showing best performances with the use of new or improved components for domes. Diamond, aluminium, titanium, Beryllium and others are showing best performance than the old softdome.
But the level of quality of the high and midrange frequences can be enough for home cinema, where I think these speakers are more recommended.
It is clear that the design of these speakers was based on the old Contours. It was not a good idea even the old range was out of date concerning the actual technology of equipaments.
I believe you can find a lot of better speakers in this price range (try Quad or new 600 B&W series).
Sorry me again, but this is my opinion.

Similar Products Used: Joseph, Dali, B&W, Tannoy, Quad and others...
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Roy Marley   AudioPhile [Dec 11, 2007]
Strength:

See above.

Weakness:

See above.

Dear friends, sorry me but these speakers are not really hi-end class equipaments.
I feel that Dynaudio has left to design good speakers.
The speakers tested are used, and I took it from a friend just for testing with my system.
The bass are false, as are in the most part of the actual speakers from Dynaudio. This is the number one point that Dynaudio users feel problems. The distortion is too high in the low frequencies.. I have measured more than 11% in 50Hz (99.4 dB SPL - Sine Wave). It is not acceptable.
Frequency response is not so bad, but could be better for its price. The minimum impedance was about 3,1ohms, and it is not good for all amplifiers and receivers. Dynaudio should improve this characteristic. The low cost crossovers and low sensitivity of the speakers must have a check in order to solve this problem. I do not recommend to use these speakers in 8 or 6 ohms equipaments.
Talking about sensitivity, most Dynaudio speakers are very inefficient, with sensitivities near 80 dB/w/m, and this combined with their low impedance require high power amplifiers, and we know that high powers don´t combine with high quality sound. Good power amplifiers cost much more than these speakers, and are usually used with best class speakers.
Sometimes it seems that Dynaudio has stopped in time some years ago, and can not see that the equipaments have improved.
The midrange and high frequencies are correct, but not so extended in highs. The competitors ih this range are showing best performances with the use of new or improved components for domes. Diamond, aluminium, titanium, Beryllium and others are showing best performance than the old softdome.
But the level of quality of the high and midrange frequences can be enough for home cinema, where I think these speakers are more recommended.
It is clear that the design of these speakers was based on the old Contours. It was not a good idea even the old range was out of date concerning the actual technology of equipaments.
I believe you can find a lot of better speakers in this price range.
Sorry me again, but this is my opinion.


Similar Products Used: Monitor Audio, B&W, Tannoy, Dali, Joseph and a lot of other speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Romulus   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2007]
Strength:

Solid and fine lookiing speakers.
Strong authorative bass. Natural sound with a detailed midrange. Great soundstage good dynamics and fine reproduction of voices and instruments.

Weakness:

Bass may be a little to strong.

I have heard these speakers only on a demo using Naim CDX, Naim NAC 205 (pre amplifier) and NAP 200 (power amplifier). Previously (in other dealer shops) with the same system I have tried out Neat Momentum 3i (standmounts), 4i (floorstands) and Naim Allae (floorstands)-all these speakers were good match (in different ways) to Naim electronics. However the Dynaudio 220 speakers produced for me the 'wow' factor (for first time on demo on speakers) on certain tracks. Moment I heard them what grabbed me was the deep powerful bass, the pace rhythm and timing was spot on. The texture of the vocals was a delight to listen and the accompanying instruments sounded so natural. The midrange had wonderful detail presented in a smooth way but not loosing out on excitement or emotion of the piece of music. The speakers presented a defnite soundstage and one could position the singer, guitars, the drummer and other musicians. The music is wonderfully integrated as to bass midrange and treble.This was the first time I heard such a rich sound using Naim electronics and such a unexpected suprise. I played all types of music from classical to rock and the speakers presented the music in such a musical way with wonderful timbre/texteure to instruments and vocals.. If I had a chance I would of replayed my entire CD collection to re descover the music. My only nagging thought was that the bass was a little strong but i will book another demo to make my mind up (just an excuse to hear those speakers again!)

Similar Products Used: Neat Momentum 3i & 4i.
Naim Allea
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tommy S.   AudioPhile [Jan 31, 2007]
Strength:

First of all they are built like fort knox. I cannot tell you hownice the quality is with these speakers. For a speaker this size, the sound they produce is incredible. I keep them around six feet apart, 3 feet from the back wall, and 2 feet from the side walls.

The soundstage they produce is unreal. They disappear in the room and allyou hear is pure beautiful sound. Beware, these speakers are very truthful, and will show all the flaws with your recordings. Now I only look for excellent recordings.

As far as home theatre, they have more than enough bass for me. I do have a subwoofer in my system, but if I unplug the unit I am more than happy with the
bass that these speaker produce. Just buy these speakers. You will fall in love.

Weakness:

none

These speakers are the biggest bang for the buck out there!!!

Similar Products Used: I auditioned these with other brands such as Dali helicon, b&W 800 series.
There was no comparison. These speakers easily bested the other brands.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2006]
Strength:

Clarity. Treble. Mid range. Look

Weakness:

somewhat light weight. Have to drill holes in my thick carpent floor in order to secure them.

Supior Clarity. Sweet High. Holo Mid. Ample Bass. Good sound stage and imaging.

I am totally disagree with the previous post that gave them 3 stars. I don't know why, but I hear the opposite with Focus 220. I also listened to Focus 140 at dealer's, the sound is consistent with my 220 at home.

The produce nice sound stage, not forward, and not backward (deep), it's like sitting in the AA row of the orchistra tier.

The imaging is very good, not too far from my Audio Physic Step SLE, which had the best imaging I've heard.

The timbre and pace are excellent.

My 35W Primaluna Prologue One drive them flawlessly. I had been wanted Dynaudio speakers but their better ones were very hard to drive. Not Focus line, finally Dynaudio has a product line that as good as contour (maybe even as good as old confidence line), but much eaiser to drive and cheaper.

Very happy with them!

Similar Products Used: I listened to Focus 140, Countour 3.4 from Dyn, and owned ProAc 1SC, Thiel 1.5 Audio Physic Step SLE. I like Focus 220 and Step the best
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2006]
Strength:

Clarity. Treble. Mid range. Look

Weakness:

somewhat light weight. Have to drill holes in my thick carpent floor in order to secure them.

Supior Clarity. Sweet High. Holo Mid. Ample Bass. Good sound stage and imaging.

I am totally disagree with the previous post that gave them 3 stars. I don't know why, but I hear the opposite with Focus 220. I also listened to Focus 140 at dealer's, the sound is consistent with my 220 at home.

The produce nice sound stage, not forward, and not backward (deep), it's like sitting in the AA row of the orchistra tier.

The imaging is very good, not too far from my Audio Physic Step SLE, which had the best imaging I've heard.

The timbre and pace are excellent.

My 35W Primaluna Prologue One drive them flawlessly. I had been wanted Dynaudio speakers but their better ones were very hard to drive. Not Focus line, finally Dynaudio has a product line that as good as contour (maybe even as good as old confidence line), but much eaiser to drive and cheaper.

Very happy with them!

Similar Products Used: I listened to Focus 140, Countour 3.4 from Dyn, and owned ProAc 1SC, Thiel 1.5 Audio Physic Step SLE. I like Focus 220 and Step the best
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2006]
Strength:

Timber accuracy, micro and macro dynamic.
Easier to drive than previous Dynaudio speakers.
Easy to place.

Weakness:

Long broken in time required.
Bass seems not as tight as Focus 140, maybe need to place them more securely into the floor, now they just sit on the thick carpet.

Very well balanced. Sweet high, natural midrange, good bass.
I only have them for a week. They replaced a pair of Audio Physic Step SLE which I had for 6 years. I listened to many systems in shows and stores. But think Step SLE provide excellent sound for the money.
Untill recently I was amazed by Focus 140, I decided to get a pair of Focus 220 then. They don't have the pin point imaging compared with Step SLE, but they excel in all other aspects.

Similar Products Used: Focus 140, Contour 3.4, Audio Phyic Step SLE, Thiel 1.6, ProAC 1SC, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Neil Sumner   AudioPhile [Sep 09, 2005]
Strength:

Workmanship

Weakness:

Small soundstage, poor imaging No details Poor middle and bass Treble not so extended or natural

This review is for Focus 220 speakers. Dynaudio has launched a new range of speakers called Focus. They say that these speakers should sit in between the Audience and the Contour line. I intended to replace my old 72, and I got a pair to hear with my system. I do not own them. I must say that I've heard a lot of Dynaudio speakers in my time, but these are the worst floorstand speakers I've ever heard from them! I´m disappointed. I toed in the speakers and turned my chair sideways, but the soundstage did not improve. The soundstage is too small for a speaker this size. There seem to be a problem with the bass and middle...fuzzy with weak harmonics. The midbass is not right either: acoustic guitar did not show enough dynamics. They just don’t have the clarity, details and naturalness that I’m looking for. The midrange seems sucked out and the bass is very week. My CDs sound poor on these speakers. They lack clarity, detail, and they sound grainy. This will not be my choice.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio 72 Dynaudio 52SE Contour 3.3 PSB Stratus Gold
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com