Dynaudio Audience 72 Floorstanding Speakers

Audience 72

Two-and-a-half-way floor standing loudspeaker. Front-ported bass-reflex, spikes included.

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
paulove   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2010]

An allround speaker, can play anything. Even with only two 6,5" it plays mighty base and the tweeter makes a lot of space i all dimensions, there is no special weaknesses og problems. The craftmanship is excellent with real wood on outside if you choose walnut, not black ash.
I´ve heard speakers at double the price who didn´t played better.
This speaker is a bargain in my opinion.
Make sure you make them toe-in 10-20 degrees towards your listening position.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Raul   AudioPhile [Mar 03, 2009]

These are a replace for Kef iQ9. I was so unsitisfied with Kef (I kept them les than a week) and now I'm very happy. This pair of Dynaudio fullfills my expectations and more.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike11427   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2003]
Strength:

Midrange, smoothness, detail.

Weakness:

vinyl cabinets, very revealing

This is a follow up review. I still own these speakers after two years and do not consider upgrading. They are that good. I am using a Cary SLI-80 integrated to drive them to acceptably loud levels.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tommychainsaw   AudioPhile [Aug 08, 2003]
Strength:

very fast, clean sounding, with the right room and room placement these guys can dissapear (only audio physic and Thiel can match) PRICE!! for their price, nothing comes close.

Weakness:

looks, not the cutest kid on the block.

What these speakers call attention to is the music. With proper electronics up stream, these speakers can do real magic. Highs are some of the best I have heard yet. Mids are......well, I can only think of describing them as life like. Bass is plentiful and very clean. These speakers can dissapear and leave only wonderful 3D music behind. I have found that they do like alot of power and are somewhat cable sensitive. These speakers are also very revealing and will tell you if you need upgrades upstream. my system: Arcam CD 72t Parasound P/LD 1100 preamp Bryston 4B-SST amp (NICE) Dynaudio Audience 72s Analysis Plus Oval 12 speaker cable Analysis Plus Oval One interconnects

Similar Products Used: Thiel, audio physic, b&w, klipsh, boston acoustic, ess
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pearl41   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2003]
Strength:

Realism, depth and image. Like the overall slim look and they do not weigh a ton.

Weakness:

None. The better the cables and equipment, well you know what will happen.

I was looking to up grade from PSB 1000i's.I was sure that the PSB Silver was the next speaker for me.My dealer did not stock the silvers but had me listen to B&W, Meadowlark and the Danes. When I heard the 72s it was the sound that I was after. Just to make sure I auditioned Paradigm Studio 80s. Nice speakers, just too large. I found the center channel and 72s on audiogon for the price that was a considerable savings over new at the dealer. The speakers image,present vocals in real life presence and disappear. We all have different taste, but these are the speakers for me.

Similar Products Used: My system is: Dynaudio Audience 72, Dynaudio C122 PSB Subsonic 6 PSB Century 100i Marantz 6000 ose-cd player Marantz MM9000 Amp Marantz SR6300 Reciever for pre MIT Terminator 3 speaker cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hifiheertje   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2003]
Strength:

Very clean and accurate sound

Weakness:

Non

Have these speakers now a few days because my Dynaudio’s 82 are not in house yet. They have the same character as the 82’s whit a less deeper bass and some smaller definition in the midrange. But they sound much better as the Kef’s Q7’s which have a wider sound stage but the bass of the Q7’s sounded muddy on my Rotel. Even the B&W CDM7NT and the CDM9NT couldn’t make against the Dynaudio 82 but came a lot closer to the 72’s. The metal dome of the B&W’s sounded to harsh if you compare them with the Dynaudio’s. The Danes reproduce a clean and natural sound on my set, when I listened to both classic as modern pop. The s’ses especially from woman voices are natural and in the right properties. Al kind of music will do it on these speakers with the right equipment. My set: Rotel 972 pre, Rotel 1070 amplifier, Philips 963 SA as CD/SACD/DVD player. All cable’s are from “van den Hul” , interconnects “the Second” and “D102 MKII hybrid”. Speaker cable is the “the Wind hybrid”.

Similar Products Used: Kef Q7 B&W CDM 7NT and B&W 9NT
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Div M   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, neutrality, smooth sound.

Weakness:

None at the price

Extremely listenable. Very smooth vocals. Strong and tight bass. The lows go down some way. No need for a sub. GReat set of speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2002]
Strength:

Clean and clear sound

Weakness:

Got bored after ten minutes of listning

I checked these speakers out then I was upgrading my system. Although I couldn’t hear anything specifically wrong with the sound it didn’t made wanna dance, if you know what I mean. The sound is clean and clear but it’s not captivating. In my ears it sounds boring, lacking of character.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Kappa 400, Audiovector M3, B&W 603 s3, B&W CDM 7NT, Canton ERGO 900
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
sloot   Casual Listener [Oct 16, 2002]
Strength:

Honesty to its source.

Weakness:

Unforgiving to lesser gear.

I considered several speakers in my quest for an upgrade from my Canadian DB Plus shelf speakers. Monitor and Krix paraded their wares as well as Dynaudio's 82 & 1.8. Monitor and Krix seemed stimulating on initial contact but both soon tired my hearing. They both had a powerful mid range push that was rather coloured and taxing. Mointor also lacked bass representation, letting this fall off rather early and dramatically. Dynaudio appeared to have a neutral and flat honesty that, although less stimulating, caught my attention with its cleanliness and detail. When I took it home with the NAD C350 amp I bought with it the system seemed to be lacking something, although the sound was crisp and detailed it lacked heart. Also there seemed to be a treble 'roof' that was annoying, the bass seemed a bit pushy and, although all the information seemed present, the mids were unsatisfying (can't quite say there was a hole). I listened intently for the last couple of months and felt that the speakers were being limited by the amp's lack of quality and power. Today I received my Redgum 120w amp and hooked it up. I think my jaw is still lying on the lounge room floor. The speakers opened up tremendously providing a fuller, flatter, warmer sound. The bass is far more controlled and detailed, mids far better filled out and the artificial treble 'roof' has given way to a sweet, clean and smooth top end. This combination is just superb and confirms my suspicions with the NADs capacity to drive the 72s and provide a good sound. I admit that the $$$$ difference is significant and care must be taken when criticising the NAD but that's not really the point here, the 72s really do need a quality amp to allow them to perform properly. Believe all that say that 100w + will do these speakers good. I also considered the 82s. The bass was too over powering and less distinct and seemed to spill up over clearer low-mids. They also painted a soundstage more forward and narrow than the 72s, which provided depth and width. The 72s sounded either as good or better than the 82s with every track I tried (especially with vocals), except one, Rose Rouge by Saint Germain just took off on the 82s. Unfortunately I listen to more than one track and choose the more consistent and better performing Audience 72. I also managed to listen to the higher quality 1.8mkII. The 1.8 sounded t

Similar Products Used: Proton amp. db Plus speaker.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Lasse   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2002]
Strength:

All, most midrange

Weakness:

Hi demands of your other equpment ?

Well, i just say it as it is, this is for serius listening. Nothing can beat it up to 15-20k. Go listen for your self and you will not go home whitout a pair.

Similar Products Used: NHT, Mirage, Infinity etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com