Dynaudio Audience 62 Floorstanding Speakers

Dynaudio Audience 62 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Two-way floor standing loudspeaker. Front-ported bass-reflex, spikes included.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Apr 15, 2007]
rama
AudioPhile

Strength:

good midrange

Weakness:

poor bass

good for av

Similar Products Used:

tannoy

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 10, 2003]
jukeboxtheater
AudioPhile

Strength:

Excellent soundstaging, treble that's smooth and detailed, tuneful bass

Weakness:

No midrange magic.

Okay, let me say first off that this is a very fine speaker. Now let me hedge that statement by saying that despite its excellent qualities, that I do not believe that this speaker represents the best in its price class. As an comparison, lets take the Paradigm Reference 40 speakers, which are priced similarly on the new and used markets. 1.Treble. Both speakers are very good in this regard but I have to give the edge to the Dynaudios for their slightly smoother, though still highly detailed, top end. The Paradigms can get a little too aggressive and in-your-face. 2. Bass. Again, the Dynaudios are superior, though the Paradigms are certainly no slouch. However the Dynos have condiderably stronger output below 50khz. 3. Soundstaging. A draw. Both speakers have outstanding soundstaging characteristics. 4. Image height/size. This comparison hardly seems fair since the Paradigms were placed on 24" stands which made their overall height considerably taller than the Dynaudios. Never-the-less, the Dynos equated themselves very well, projecting an image well above their modest heights. Overall, I would have to judge this contest a draw. 5. And last (but certainly not least!) Midrange. No comparison, the Paradigms simply smoke the Dynaudios in this regard. The Paradigms possess the midrange magic that makes instruments and (especially) vocals seem real. The Dynaudios do not. It's for this last reason that the Dynaudios, as excellent as they are in other areas, will soon be going back on ebay.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm Reference Studio 40's

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 20, 2003]
Kris Benson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

A rich bass that travels well (through walls and ceilings too). Coupled with tweeters that sing harmoniously to any studio performance. Give Moby (why does my heart) and anything from Dido or Portishead will certainly turn heads.

Weakness:

Live rock performances: Big no no. (in my opinion) Positioning. I was a bit generous in spacing the Dynaudios apart and although the steros imaging was just as good as any moving them alot closer together and toeing them into the listening point made 60% impact on richness and the "invloved" feeling.

After deciding to change from stand mountables (b&w602 s2')I decided to search for a pair of speakers that would give a very subtle bass, that travels well and yet isnt too overpowering I became rather lost amongst the Missions and Kef speakers that i demo'd. And in honesty I had started to listen to the 42 and 52 bookshelf models due to their excellent treble roll and even though they were stand/bookshelve speakers the bass was rather punchy and rich, just as music should be (providing its supposed to be punchy in the first place!) These are very commendable speakers but as i was leaving the demo room a nice package had just arrived, the 62 model. 10 minutes later my decision was made. These excellently built speakers had pure clarity at both ends of the audible spectrum and I was smiling from ear to ear. Until I was told they were the only ones in the city and had to have them orderd from Denmark! a lovely 3 week waiting, but very worth it. Till this day they stand in their black facia and cherry veneer as the pinacle of my bedroom. Towering tall(ish) and proud and still reproducing crystal clear audio.

Similar Products Used:

As far as im concerned none are similar.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 20, 2001]
Xavier Scheepers
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

clean, neutral,very deep (not loud)clean bass,precise with lots of detail, very direct. reacts a lot on speaker cable so try to find one to suit your taste.

Weakness:

with poor recordings, treble can get a little sharp (so I only buy quality CD's, not so difficult if you only listen classical.Placement is a bit critical. tweeter can damage very easily.

The reason that I bought these speakers is, that these ones were the only speakers that were really neutral and natural (at the price). For me, the KEF's were nice in big rooms, but in small (5*4) they got very big in the bass and I like a deep bass, but I really dislike a big/fat bass. the other speakers mentioned (not the audience 60) didn't have a natural sound or they sounded coloured or flat. The 60's were very nice like the 62, but the 62 had more "room" in the sound. I'm a professional classical musician and listen a lot to music, these speakers were for me the only ones at the price that sounded a little "real" authentic.If you like a loud bass above all, look elsewhere, if you like a deep bass with more than a hint of the recording location audible, these are the ones for you at this price level (and a bit higher)

I found out that the placement of these speakers was a bit critical. My speakers are standing in a very well damped room and that is also where I tested them in in the shop (this was probably also the reason why the other speakers were sounding flat, they were not direct enough).I guess the Dynaudio 62's directness makes them work in these kind of rooms. The floor and wall materials have to be soft/damping to make them come out and play, if not, they can get harsh and sound forced!

My electronics are a Marantz PM8000 (with class A operation) with 95/35 (Class a) W.P.C
Arcam alpha 7se CD Player
Kimber 4PR speaker cable (cable choise makes big difference with these speakers)

I can only say that if your budget is limited and you like classical (and jazz) in a natural way at decent levels (neighbours) you really should give these speakers a try (in a well damped room 5 stars, if not damped ,4)

Similar Products Used:

KEF Q55.2, 65.2, Dynaudio Audience 60, JM Lab opal 615, speakers by Quadral, Piega, ALR, B&W, chario, tannoy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2001]
Doug Morgan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Revealing treble. Deep clean low end.

Weakness:

No soul.
Vulnerable tweeter.

For a couple of years I owned a pair of Dynaudio 60's. I loved 'em. The problem was, that because the tweeter could easily be damaged, I would worry anytime someone went near them. With kids around the place this was a bit of a nightmare. Then I was lucky to find - for a good price - a pair of ex demo Dynaudio 62's, and thought that I would use these instead, (and try not to worry if they got damaged). I could then keep the 60's in a safe place/ 2nd system. Logical, if slightly bonkers, I know.
This may have worked, had it not been for the fact that the 62's sounded a lot different from the 60's.
Someone had stolen the 62's mojo.
They sounded cold and irritating, and couldn't jive.
Perhaps they needed some more running in, I thought. But these were the pair that What Hi Fi used for their review, and so should be well and truly run in. I played them constantly for weeks, until I could take no more.
Putting the 60's back in the system, brought back warmth and listenability.
I would hazard a guess, that when Dynaudio decided to revamp the Audience range, they extended the very highest and lowest frequencies, to give what may be "technically" a better sound, but something definitely went missing when they did so.

As a footnote to this saga; I have since sold both pairs of speakers, and bought a pair of Monitor Audio GR10's. To my ears these are at least as accomplished as the 60's, but are prettier and have a protective grill over the tweeters - very sensible.

Similar Products Used:

B&W P4. Castle Avon. Dynaudio 60. Monitor Audio GR10.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 17, 2001]
Bart
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Neutral sound, controlled low as far as it's there

Weakness:

Lack of punch at low frequencies

The dynaudios provided me with a beter stereo sound (larger sweet spot?), seemed tighter lower frequencies than the B&W 603s2. Dynaudio doesnt emphasise any frequency range it seems to me. Some people might calll this boring i find a a strength of the speaker.

Compared with the 603s2 the dynaudio lack some low. Im not a bass pumping diehard but i have to say that some deep bass feels good. However the uncontrolled bass of the 603s2 is abit overdone. The bass of the dynaudio might not be deep but is very controlled and good sounding.

The remainder of the set is a Rotel RA-1060 and a Marantz cd6000 ose.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 603s2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 27, 2001]
Daniel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Imaging!
Clean bass

Some months ago I wanted to buy my first pair of floor standing speakers (had an old pair of Celestion 3). I was toying with the idea of buying online, but I felt you just really had to be there, in the room, experimenting with placement, different music, etcetera, for at least a few hours. Anyway, after visiting a couple of audio stores in the Bay Area, it came down to the Dynaudio 62 and the B&W 603. I was almost set to buy the 603, but the salesperson brought in the Dynaudio 42 just for comparison. Wow, no bass, but the imaging was excellent! Sounded much better than my Celestions at home. Had to go to another branch to hear the 62 (it apparently just arrived). I was not disappointed. Imaging was the same as 42, bass was there, plus much better defined than 603. Even though the speakers were $100 more than the 603, they were well worth it. I am really happy with these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 09, 2000]
Daniel Geneau
Audiophile

Strength:

Clarity, transparency,

Weakness:

Dont know yet

I had a pair of demo Dynaudio Audience 50 at home for 2 days and I was so pleased with the sound I heard with my Arcam 8se CD and 9 amp that I bought a pair of Audience 62 (floorstanders, more bass). I received them 12 days later and was not happy with the sound I then heard; too agressive and tiring. Il let them play for days using a pink noise track. Nothing has changed. I had regrets having bought the Audience 62, not finding the sound I liked so much with the 50. Suddenly, after 9 days, one morning, there it was, that nice sound, clear but without this harsh I so much hate in a sound system (specially on vocals). What is it? speaker break-in? brain break-in? According to Paul Barton from PSB audio, there is no such thing as a speaker break-in:

http://www.soundstagelive.com/factorytours/psbnrc/

Tansparency, détails and musicality. A pleasure to listen to. New emotions with old records.

The Audience 62 are taller than the 60 and the finish is nicer. The crossover is also different. I had no chance to compare both.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com