Dynaco A25 Floorstanding Speakers

Dynaco A25 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way small box speaker system, approx 19 X 11 X 10 in., 8" woofer, 1.25 in dome tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 37  
[Jun 22, 2019]
puss


Strength:

I purchased a pair of Dynaco A25 speakers this year ( having read their great reviews from a variety of owners ) for my music system. As an audio enthusiast and previous music student, I've owned several speakers over the years (including The Smaller Advent speakers) and I must say these are truly my favourite. Recalling my first 'real' experience listening to music (from sources other than a transistor radio) brings back fond memories as teen with my uncle at my grandparents' farm. My uncle's Bogen amp (about 30 wpc, late 60's-ish) was placed on a beam in the barn. His speakers (not sure of the model, from late 60's-ish) were placed on hay bails....any WOW. What wonderful sound came from those records we played. Now back to my Dynacos.....At first I was a little underwhelmed to be honest. Then I began to experiment remembering that wonderful sound from the barn. I realize that speakers from that era could take some serious juice (as per my uncle's vintage Bogen amp) and I pre-amped my receiver to a more powerful amp. Also, I experimented with speaker stands. I felt my metal 20" stands were compromising the great bass extension I remember (as per the reviews commenting on some of the lack of bass extension from these speakers). I switched to lighter, wooden stands that were lower (remembering those hay bails) at about 15 inches. And WOW...the wonderful sound quality that I remembered was back. David Clayton Thomas' wonderful raspy voice and his band were back with a vengeance. Clarity, warmth, power and bass to boot were back. The main floor of my house is filled with wonderful music that never gets fatiguing. When I desire a more intimate listening experience closer to my set up, all the detail and musicality I remember as a music student, with musicians back in the music room, is there as well......I would try to forget speaker specs and trust your ears as part of an overall listening experience with a variety of music in choosing a speaker. You may have to fiddle a bit as I had to. You won't be disappointed with the Dynaco A25s.

Weakness:

Can be a little finicky to achieve their potential....amp power, placement/speaker stands vs. wall

Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1974
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2017]
hifijohn
AudioPhile

Bought a pair of dynaco a25 , for $25, I dont know why but curiosity got the better of me,If your not familiar with them they use seas drivers One dome tweeter and a 10"woofer. a super simple cap and resistor crossover for the tweeter.the enclosure is an aperiodic design which seems to be a fancy name for a ported speaker where the port is mostly stuffed with insulation.This is a good thing since this is long before they learned to make bass reflex speaker that where tuned properly.
Firstly these are speakers designed in the late 60's so its unfair to review them by todays standards.there is no deep rumbling bass but plenty for jazz or rock even though the bass isnt of very good quality.the top end is mellow but very good,you turn up or down the tweeter with the 5 way switch in back .turning up the tweeter gives more air but makes the upper mids a little too metallic for my taste.I have found that speakers with simple crossovers can give you very good imaging, and these did a good job but did not do better than any modern speaker today could.I also think the 10"woofer was bad idea, its a little bit too big to handle the midrange well and you hear it in female vocals if you turn it up.
Overall they are fine for background music.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 22, 2016]
Hal
Audio Enthusiast

After my dad passed away, I inherited his Dynaco A25's, bought back when we were living in Montreal about 1975 or before. I remember them being something like $79 apiece, perhaps that was the cost per pair. Always loved them, love them now.
Amazingly, when I was attending some movies at a wonderful small review cinema in Montreal (each showing room would house perhaps 100 people), the speakers they were using were Dynaco A25's (this probably pre-dated 5.1 sound tracks). They sounded great, there was no lack of volume (it was a movie theater after all) and they kept up. As far as i could tell there was only one pair set left and right just at the lower edge of the screen. The magnificent sound track to Kubrick's "Barry Lyndon" sounded amazing, as did "The Rocky Horror Picture Show". Wonderfully versatile speakers, if you can get a pair at a steal, wonderful - you won't be disappointed. If you have to pay a couple of hundred for them, you'll still be delighted.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2015]
Scooter
Audio Enthusiast

I bought the Dynaco A25 speakers in either 1975 or 1976. My friend in college who was an audio expert had them and I loved how they sounded. Very difficult to track down. Crazy Eddie's was only selling the A25 XL which I was told wouldn't be as good. My dad finally had to make a trip to New Jersey to pick them up. I never needed to replace these speakers. For a long time I wasn't using my stereo but recently I decided to run it and these speakers sound so warm and lush. This, after owning them for about 40 years. Except for a stain on one of the grills, they look absolutely beautiful too. They even sound better now that we are in the digital age and tape hiss and lp surface noise are things of the past.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2014]
Martyn Miles
Audio Enthusiast

I owned a pair of Dynaco A25s in the '70s and sold them to my brother to buy some English loudspeakers with Bextrene cones.
I thought that plastic cones would be better than paper ones. How wrong can you be?
After a while I found the new loudspeakers, which were Celef Monitors, fatiguing to listen to.
It was as though the ears and the brain were having to work hard to 'decode' the music.
I forgot about these Dynacos until I discovered my brother still owned them. He hadn't used them for decades.
In the end he gave them to me. What a revelation they were when I set them up to listen to.
Natural, unforced reproduction. A smooth top end and the ability to 'catch you out' with an aspect of the music you had missed previously.
I thought to myself, 'Welcome back you Dynacos. I have missed you.'

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 01, 2012]
joop speth
AudioPhile

I bought my Dynaco A25 speakers in the welfare store of the Dutch Army in 1975! Since then they have always been my standard living room speakers, and says a lot. I am a music enthousiast, Classic Rock, Zeppelin , Beatles, etc, but also ancient classical music. So... They still sound superb after more than 35 years!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2011]
Mikeymort
Audio Enthusiast

If you search online, you'l find these available used for 200 a pair, and reproductions using drivers from SEAS which are the modern equivalents of the drivers they made for Dynaco. The reproductions cost over $2,000 a pair. The speakers are immune to most of the problems associated with old speakers, such as the woofer surrounds rotting out, as they used rubber surrounds.

I'm a musician and have owned a Dyanco system for many years. The speakers can be listened to for hours on end without listening fatigue. The midrange (where 90 percent of the music is) is as good as it gets, at any price. They don't have bass that will shake the foundation of your house, but bass lines are very cleanly articulated. The treble is as smooth as the midrange.


I am sensitive to distortion from a speaker's crossover. You can hear it with well-recorded voices. This is the one of the few speakers where this distortion is entirely absent. It's why speakers without crossovers, such as Bose 901's and Magnapans are so revered. .

Dynaco A-25's are some of the most musical speakers ever made.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 24, 2010]
ned
AudioPhile

Love the dynaco a25s. I pair them with a mcintosh mc250. Super-musical. I listen to 50's jazz and 70's british heavy metal predominantly. Likely my last pair of speakers. I've searched hi and lo for this type of tone and midrange. Bass is tune-full, balanced and just down-right enjoyable. Mids are a touch laid back but still somehow up-front, smooth and balanced. Upper end is rolled off but is so well balanced with the rest of the tones, there is no longing for more. Love it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2009]
dave
AudioPhile

Very please with these. too bad my little triode converted 6V6 PP won't drive them.

I believe I am through trying to make speakers, unless I try to make A35 out of these.

I am listening to them stock right now and they do so many things right. terrific bass.

I can't wait to get some 6mf Sonicaps into them. I believe that is what they take and I just happen
to have pair sitting in front of me. Now where is that dang soldering iron?

Maybe some Tangband bamboos or Fostex Fe 103 to sub for the old tweeter later. I like
3-4" fullrangers as tweeters when a 1st order crossover is used.

Very pleased, very pleased.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2008]
hypertone
AudioPhile

Strength:

good tonal balance, good imaging, magical midrange, soft and sweet treble, natural sound, unbeatable vocal reproduction

Weakness:

lack of deep and punchy bass, rolled off high end compared to modern speakers

I like listening to music, not speakers, and I think my system achieves that with the A-25's. Powered by a SET amp, the sound just seems to come out of thin air and these little Dyna's just disappear. These speakers were designed before the age of speaker stands, and were meant to be hung on a wall or on a bookshelf. The bass really benefits from being close to a wall. I keep mine about 5" from the wall on stands. The bass from these is a little soft and lacks punch. You really notice this on fast, complex pieces of music, but placing them near a wall makes a big difference. The extreme treble is rolled off, but detail is still good with the treble knob on the back switched to the highest position. The midrange is so full, open and natural on these speakers. Vocals sound so good, with seamless transition from woofer to tweeter.

These speakers are really easy on the ears, and ear fatigue is non-existent. The midrange is the best of any speaker I have ever heard. Vocals are natural and uncolored. Instead of hearing tweeter sizzle, you just hear music. Go get a pair!

Customer Service

Seas still makes replacement drivers for 40 year old speakers. How can you top that?

Similar Products Used:

Polk Monitor Series, B&W, Celestion

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com