Dunlavy SC-IV Floorstanding Speakers

Dunlavy SC-IV Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

(See reviews)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Feb 12, 2014]
jjff168
Audio Enthusiast

I tried a few pairs of speakers in my 23'x22' listening room. So far, this IV is the best. I'm looking for a V for an improvement. The IV is biamped by a tube and an SS amps.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 05, 2008]
tom schnabel
AudioPhile

Strength:

great value for price, great sounding speaker overall.

Weakness:

mid bass hump I'm experiencing, and the fact that Dunlavy no longer exists and it makes it harder to deal with issues.

i bought the Dunlavy IV's in 1995. I first used them with a Krell 200S. I have a big room (24L x 16W x 17H) and the old Thiel 2.2's just didn't cut it.

a few years ago I switched my Krell out for EAR 509 tube monoblock amps. I bi-amped the system putting the EAR's on top and a Carver Sunfire for the bottom end. I put in hi pass and low-pass filters so the Carver handles everything below 100 hz, and the EAR's handle everything above.

I have an annoying mid-bass peak, around 70 hz or so and don't know how to get rid of it. any ideas out there on how to tackle this? never noticed it with the Krell amp, but then the Krell never could sound as full and lush either on the mid and top end.

Similar Products Used:

Theta Digital front end
Linn TT w. lingo
audioquest interconnects, transparent audio cable.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 01, 2008]
tom schnabel
AudioPhile

Strength:

accurate, attractive, great deal for $4000 new

Weakness:

pronounced mid-bass hump on acoustic bass in jazz music, lack of low bass extension.

wonder if the IVa's, V's, and VI's got past this problem.

any updates or other ideas on this? does anybody know people who do mods on dunlavy's now that dunlavy (both inventor and company) are gone?

I visited Ambrosia Audio in Bel Air, CA. in 1995 looking for a bigger speaker than the Thiel 2.2 I had. I just moved and had a much larger living room.

I replaced my Krell 200S a few years ago with EAR 509 (100w/ch) monoblocks, and have bi-amped the Dunlavys with a CArver Sunfire for the bass. I get an annoying mid-bass peak and don't know how to get rid of it. I didn't notice that with the Krell, which produced deeper, more authoritative bass. I don't want to cut the speakers open and put in new drivers, or necessarily even get tube traps. any ideas out there.

my room is about 24 L x 16 W x 17'h., a big room. The Dunlavy IV's are 12' apart, 3' from sidewall of L dimension of room (can't help that) 10' from listening position and about 10' from back wall.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 28, 2002]
sappy111
AudioPhile

Strength:

Value, neutral sound, reproduction of large orchestral music, natural bass, palpable sound stage.

Weakness:

Size of speaker

I have owned the SC-IV since 1994. They are some of the best speakers money can buy, and are certainly hard to beat value-wise. For those audiophiles out there, allow me to qualify myself. I run my SC-IVs off of Pass O amps, P preamp, Meridian 508.24 CD player and balance interconnects. I listen almost exclusively to classical music. For large orchestral music, there is simply no substitute for large, sealed cabinet enclosures. Acoustic orchestral music always reveal the flaws of vented cabinets, especially in the bass regions. Dunleavy knows this which is why they make such huge (and unsightly) speakers that can double as confines for us audiophiles.

Similar Products Used:

You name it (literally - over the past 10 years I have heard most everything). Close calls in this price range are Dynaudio, Audio Physic, Apogee (before they went bankrupt), Martin-Logan, Wilson, Ari

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2002]
Jules99
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great bass and has this layered type midrange.

I wanted to tell people about this great mod on the Dunlavy Speakers. I have the Dunlavy Aletha speakers. I had heard that the Aletha's use cheap parts and I recently found a great guy to do Mods here in New York. I had Blackie Pagano at www.tubesville.com look at them. He said the crossover was very complicated for a first order one and used the cheapest parts imagineable. For a $1000 he put in hi grade caps and resistors but did not change the topology at all. He just upgraded parts. What I got back was 75-100% better. It was amazing! The same sonic signature was there but everything was dramatically improved.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2000]
ManSeng Lai
Audiophile

Strength:

Livelike performance, extremely neutral, big sound, good image height (not like you're looking down at a vacalist!), precise image focus and extremely coherent sound.

Weakness:

Most people complain about the bass response which is not really true. Read on.....

What do you guys listen to??? Organ music?????

These speakers are measured -1.5db at 33Hz measured from a distance of 10 feet. Most/ all speakers are measured -3db from 3 feet!!!!! To roughly translate DAL SC-IV measurements in other manufacturer's terms, the bass response would be something like -3db@ 25Hz from 3 ft. Pretty respectable.

My SC-IV sounds great. Lifelike performance, very involving sound and mostly coherent. Many drivers but only one voice. You cannot pinpoint sound from any driver. Most neutral without being sterile.

Bass is not much of a problem for me 'cuz I can feel the bass in my guts! If you're a fan of Krell bass then this is not the speaker for you.

I have auditioned many speakers before which includes the Wilson Watt-Puppy 5.1 and 6.0, Hales Trancendence 5 and 8, B&W Nautilus 801's most Canadian speakers. All the speakers mentioned above are great speakers BUT the SOUL and PRESENTATION of MUSIC is not the same as the DAL SC-IV. Music through the SC-IV has soul.

Ignorance kills. Please do not misinterpret specs. As you know there are many ways to measure an amplifier's power.
(you know what I mean)

Great speaker. Highly recomended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 1997]
Barry
an Audiophile

I'm not sure why there was so much fuss about the Dunlavy SC-IV's in Stereophile. I really wanted to like this speaker, but in the end, I just couldn't get excited about it. I heard the speakers in two diferent show rooms with excellent equipment, but despite extended auditioning, I never got goosebumps. For the price asked, that's an imperative. There's nothing sonically wrong when you go through the checklist, tonal balance, soundstaging etc. just no magic. I must conceded that I have a strong preference for planar loudspeakers Magnepans, Martin Logans and the like. If you do too, you may like but won't be thrilled with these speakers. In the same price range, I much preferred the Ariel 10Ts, although I couldn't get used to their image height being so low to the floor. The Ariels seem more transparent, have a much better sound continuity across the drivers, seem to have better base and better high frequency air. Oh, I bought a pair of Magnepan 3.5Rs instead.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
[May 06, 2000]
Terry Burns
Audiophile

Strength:

superb soundstaging and imaging...sounds like real instruments in real space

Weakness:

off axis listening

after auditioning Theil CS3.2/CS6/CS7...B&W Matrix 801/ Joseph Audio RM50/Infinity IRS Sigmas/similarly priced Tannoys,Dynaudios,Montannas...I was deciding between the Theils and Infinity IRS Sigmas when I got a chance to audition the Dunlavy SC-IV's....I was blown away...the best piece of audiophile equipment i own..........system components past&present Citation 7.0/Lexicon MC-1/Classe CDP-.3/Classe CA-200/ClasseCAV-75/Elite DVL-91/Dunlavy SC-I AV...

Similar Products Used:

owned Infinity RS8Kappas for 7yrs prior

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2000]
James
Audiophile

Strength:

Soundfield and clarity

Weakness:

Size

These speakers have an incredible sound. I have found nothing in this price range to compare. I could not find any weaknesses in these speakers. I measured the listening range of these speakers and in my room and the bass goes down to 28hz, which covers 95% of most of the material one will come in contact with. I have 2 Velodyne ULD II 15's to cover the rest. I understand that not all speakers sound the same to all people and will sound different in each enviroment, but those who give these speakers bad ratings are probably representitives of other speaker companies. I have yet to find any person male or female who didn't think that these speakers weren't fabulous sounding. These speakers are very sensitive to product and source and if there are weaknesses, they well be revealed. I'm not the kind of person to give other speakers bad raps, because I owned a pair of Vandersteen 2C's for seven years before I bought my IV's and these are the only speakers that made me want to trade up. With the right equipment and right set up you will be in sound heaven.
My equipment:
Classe CA 300 Amp.
Citation 7.0 Pre Amp.
Denon 1650AR Compact Disc Player
Panasonic DVD A 110
Marantz MA500 monoblocks for surround
2 Velodyne ULD 15 Subwoofers
Dunlavy SC1 Center Channel
NHT Super One's for surround
Synergistic Cables

Similar Products Used:

B&W 802, Vandersteen 3, Thiels

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2000]
Abimanyu Boentaran
Audiophile

Strength:

Vocal, midrange, treble purity

Weakness:

Bass

I liked this speaker, for it was excellent on vocals and jazz with somewhat lackluster and slow bass. I blew a tweeter,which really dissappointed me with a speaker this caliber, price and size.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com