DLK Acoustial Products Model 3 Floorstanding Speakers

Model 3

3-way bass reflex

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Corvetteguy   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 08, 2003]
Strength:

Great Bass and real wooden Cabinents

Weakness:

Heavy and Some Had Foam Suroundings

I got These from a Friend They were a pair of Custom made DLK's That were made in shop. They had Omega 12" Woofers with foam i'm trying to find some replacment 12" Dlk's Two if you have any email me at r8553@hotmai.com

Similar Products Used: Dlk 1,1/2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Jim McNamara   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2003]
Strength:

Sound!

Weakness:

A little big and very heavy.

These are my only speakers. I bought them in 1978. They are wonderful! Their sound is wonderfully neutral and warm. They are very durable, as I've played them hard and also moved many times. They've held up beautifully - still working great. If DLK were still around, I'd absolutely consider their products.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
omnipro   Casual Listener [Dec 29, 2002]

DLK was indeed the house brand for Schaak Electronics. The speakers were designed by a gentleman named Donald L. Kliewer (pronounced Kleever) I believe that prior to working for Schaak Don had worked for Telex Communications doing something for the Mercury space program. I worked at the Schaak store in the Southdale mall in Edina, MN for 5 years and sold many pairs of DLK speakers and have owned an original pair of the model 3's for years. Scott

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rob Van Dyke   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

Good sound and well built

Weakness:

Big and heavy.

I have a pair of DLK Model 3 or 4. 3-way bass reflex. The tweeters have been blown and I was wondering if anyone knew what type or brand they were? They are old and sound really good for there age. Also well made made.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Klipsh, KLH
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
MICHAEL FELDE   AudioPhile [Dec 07, 2002]
Strength:

HIGH END SOUND. BUILT WELL!IMPRESSIVE LOOKING.EASY TO SERVICE.HARD TO BEAT WITH LOW WATT TUBE AMP AND A GOOD VINYL.SOUND SIMILIAR TO VINTAGE TANNOY DUAL CONCENTRIC MONITOR

Weakness:

WIRE CONNECTIONS AT THE BOTTOM A HASSLE,HEAVY, LARGE, XLNT SOUND BUT SMALLER SPEAKERS PERFORM JUST AS WELL.PRONE TO BLOWING OUT WITH TOO MUCH POWER TO EM

I BOUGHT A PAIR OF DLK MODEL 4,S AT AN AUCTION FOR 10.00 THE CABINETS LOOK IMPRESSIVE! I RE EDGED THE FOAM SURROUNDS AND GOT LUCKY. THEESE SPEAKERS SOUND VERY VERY GOOD I DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THEM REALLY AND HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THEM BEFORE SO ANY INFO APPRECIATED.TWO 12 WOOFERS A MIDRANGE AND A PRETTY GOOD TWEETER SIMILAR TO INFINITY EMIT.IMPRESSIVE LOOKING CROSSOVER SYSTEM.WORTH HAVING IF YOU CAN FIND A PAIR I SUSPECT THEY MAY BE RATHER RARE AND POSSIBLY A FUTURE AUDIO COLLECTIBLE

Similar Products Used: JBL INFINITY KLIPSCH TANNOY YAMAHA WHARFDALE.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tony   AudioPhile [Nov 16, 2002]
Strength:

Good bass..but i blown 1 set already

Weakness:

the back where tha wire plugs in vibrates 2 much

I got the dlk 1-1/2's speakers i had 2 sets but i blown one set already...but i got these on the Kenwood Kr-5150 receiver set up as subwoofers and they f#$@en went through h@#l and back.but if these evr do blown i dunno if i can get another set that is better then these

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Schulz   Casual Listener [Oct 06, 2002]

Hey guys, from what I remember this was the house brand of a chain of stores called Schaak Electronics. I do not know why they went out of biz, but that was a long time ago. I have 1 1/2's purchased around 79', 80'.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2002]
Strength:

High-end.

My father purchased the DLK 1 1/2 in 1979 and gave them to me in college in 1985. I have used them since then and they are a great speaker. The two-way consists of two 8" woofers and and tweeter. The latter positioning prevents "frequency dropo-outs". The 1 1/2 was their most popular model and very well built. I don't know what they are worth and have not seen them on Ebay at all. These are in mint condition and the foam edges are like-new. Solid for rock and they are well supplied from a vintage Kenwood KR-5150 Reciever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rkt7233   AudioPhile [Jul 25, 2002]
Strength:

tweeter level controle, been through h^&! and still sound great.

Weakness:

80watt peak no longer made (to my knoulage)

My uncle gave me a pair of the model 1 1/2 along with a vintage Harmon kardon reciever, they have bad surround rot and one has a rip in the cone and they still sound awsome, thinking abour replaycing the woofers with MTX woofers witch are simaler to the DLK.

Similar Products Used: MTX KLH Technics JBL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Gary Flick   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2002]

I have DLK''s 1 1/2''s and I need to replace the tweeters in order to resurrect these sturdy friends. They are two-ways with a crossover point of 3,000Hz. The tweeters are 1 1/2" direct-radiating and are 4 ohm. The over-all frequency responce of these 1 1/2''s is 40Hz-18,500Hz. Any help with this matter would be greatly appreciated as these speakers had good "presence" and "beautiful" solid wood cabinets.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com