Definitive Technology ProCinema 100.6 Floorstanding Speakers

ProCinema 100.6

4 Satallites, Center Channel & Subwoofer

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
trekman2001   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2003]
Strength:

Big sound out of small speakers

Weakness:

If I had to give one I'd say the center channel could use a little fuller sound.

I bought these after listening to quite a few mid range speakers. I was going to go with the Bose home theater speakers but lucky for me the salesman showed me D.T. pro 100's. There was no comparison. The DT's delivered a far richer sound. I'm using them with my Onkyo txds-787 and I think they sound almost perfect.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
mike   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 01, 2002]
Strength:

sound!!!!

Weakness:

sub amp?????

excellent system for movies and music and the only sub that you can use speaker level and low level(rca) at the same time, but I'm on my second sub. The auto turn on feature has quit twice and the sub amp has had to been changed twice.My first sub was the TL 100 and the second sub was the TL 200!! My friends sub just quit today .Has anyone else had this problem?

Similar Products Used: paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
HT Enthu from Dubai   Casual Listener [Jun 29, 2002]
Strength:

Great Sound.

Weakness:

Sometimes the Sub is Boomy.

Very Good Buy. My HT is as below: Denon 1802 Denon DVD800 ProCinema 100 Front ProCinemea 80 Rear Definitive Pro C2 ProSub 100TL

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Cary C.   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Full clean sound at a reasonable price, solid construction, comes in white (nice for wife acceptance factor).

Weakness:

Surround speakers a bit topheavy with attached stands.

Started shopping for home theater equip for our new home. Thanks to this website, I was turned on to Energy, DefTech and NHT. Eliminated Bose right off the bat.

Choice came down to Energy and the DefTech's. The price on the Energy was attractive, but the DefTech's sounded distinctly better. My wife was leaning toward the Energy till she sat down and listened to the DefTech's. As she sat in the audio room at the local place she said, "Oh no! These really do sound better!".

What can I say except that this speaker set (combined with the Denon AVR1800 we purchased) sounds fantastic. Movie dialogue is crisp and clear and special effects sound fantastic. The 10" sub is plenty for our family room (about 18'x15'). We feel like we are in the middle of the action of any movie.

These speakers have delivered sound from our CD's that we have never heard before. It feels like we are in the middle of a sound stage at a live concert.

The best comment I can relate came from my wife. She has said, "I know this is your toy, but I am sure enjoying it!"

Thanks to the reviewers on this site for steering me in the right direction.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Energy Take 5, NHT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cary C.   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Full clean sound at a reasonable price, solid construction, comes in white (nice for wife acceptance factor).

Weakness:

Surround speakers a bit topheavy with attached stands.

Started shopping for home theater equip for our new home. Thanks to this website, I was turned on to Energy, DefTech and NHT. Eliminated Bose right off the bat.

Choice came down to Energy and the DefTech's. The price on the Energy was attractive, but the DefTech's sounded distinctly better. My wife was leaning toward the Energy till she sat down and listened to the DefTech's. As she sat in the audio room at the local place she said, "Oh no! These really do sound better!".

What can I say except that this speaker set (combined with the Denon AVR1800 we purchased) sounds fantastic. Movie dialogue is crisp and clear and special effects sound fantastic. The 10" sub is plenty for our family room (about 18'x15'). We feel like we are in the middle of the action of any movie.

These speakers have delivered sound from our CD's that we have never heard before. It feels like we are in the middle of a sound stage at a live concert.

The best comment I can relate came from my wife. She has said, "I know this is your toy, but I am sure enjoying it!"

Thanks to the reviewers on this site for steering me in the right direction.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Energy Take 5, NHT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeb Clarke   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2000]
Strength:

Sound & Size

Weakness:

None that I could hear

Where do I start? These are just simply awesome speakers! Because of size restrictions, I needed to stick with a Sat/Sub system. I have been wanting to replace my Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble II system for awhile now, so I first started listening to Bose. I quickly dismissed them after hearing them first hand and reading the reviews posted here. I then checked out the Polk 2600's and the Mirage AVS-100's (cousin to the Energy Take-5 system). Both sounded fair but were definitely lacking mid-range. I then listened to the DT Pro 80's. I was impressed by their size, value and sound. But then I listened to the Pro 100's. There was just no comparison. The mid-range came to life and they had a fullness that I hadn't heard in any system up until then. Sure, they cost a little more than the Pro 80's, but they are definitely worth it. I am hearing nuances in my CDs now that I have never heard before. The sound is crisp and clear, but not too bright or harsh. For the money, I don't think you can find a better system for the price out there.

I found a place on the web, Audio-Video Logic, that had the monitors for $280/ pair + S&H and the 10" Sub for $359 + S&H. (Forgot to ask the price on the center channel). But I decided I didn't want to wait, so I bought them from a local dealer and was able to get about a 15% discount.

I am absolutely thrilled with my purchase and I highly recommend them to anyone looking to buy a Sat/ Sub system. And whatever you do, DON'T buy Bose until you've heard these. For the same price or less, you get 100x better sound.

Thanks to everyone who has posted reviews here at this site, it was a great help.

Similar Products Used: Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble II, Bose, Polk 2600, Mirage AVS-100, DT Pro Cinema 80
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audiophile [Mar 02, 2000]
Strength:

Soundstage, depth, warmth, detail

Weakness:

None.

Nothing comes close to these speakers for even twice as much. They are great. You need to hear them to believe them.

Similar Products Used: Energy Take 5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Casual Listener [Aug 27, 2001]
Strength:

Great Sound for Music and Home Theatre. Small enough

Weakness:

None

I auditioned these speakers after seeing the many outstanding reviews here. I've owned them for about 3 months and they are great. I have a large family room open to a kitchen and the sound fills the space well. I use them for both Home Theatre and music (hard rock, contemporary, classical, instrumental) . I was considering the pro cinema 80s but the 100s sounded much better musically. I also upgraded to the C2 Pro Center,although for home theatre I find I have to set the volume lower on the center to hear a good balance with the satellites. Nonetheless, I think the upgrade was worthwile for its tonal quality.

At first,I was considering a cheaper setup thinking I'd get good Home Theatre with it and then I would still rely on my current Stereo System for music. I'm glad I went for excellence in music quality as well. This is now my system of choice to listen to music. Listenting to 5 channel stereo or the matrix setting on my new Denon 2801 receiver with these speakers are a worthwile upgrade from my old 2 channel stereo system, which for its time was pretty good, consisting of a pair of JBL LX 55 Speakers and an older 70's vintage receiver ( now you should know my age, if you didn't guess it from my musical preferences).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Casual Listener [Sep 17, 2001]
Strength:

Clear, Well Integrated, Attractive, Great Value

Weakness:

Small Distribution chain

My first foray into Home Theatre. I spent several months auditioning systems and scouring the mags. My criteria for selections was
- sound clarity and effortless bass (It's what I like)
- good technical performance specs (I'm a geek)
- visually appealing and small (Wife factor)
- could be used for music (50%) and HT (50%)
- value (As I learn more I'll probably upgrade - As well, I don't want to feel too bad when the kids knock them over again and again....)


I liked the clarity, reflected sound and good looks of the Bose but they could not provide the deep, effortless rumblies for HT in my room.

I liked the clarity, specs and value of the Paradigms but when mounted on a back wall they were not as visually appealing as some other brands.

The Def Techs were clear, provided effortless bass, had good tech specs, were visually appealing to my wife and represented a good value relative to other speakers in they're sound range.

I purchased a Yamaha RXV800 and Toshiba DVD to fill out the package.

I purchased the Def Techs and Yamaha at Advance Electronics over the web and phone. Five out of Five stars for the purchasing experience and after sales support from Chris A. at http://www.advance.mb.ca/

5 Stars for Value. 4 stars overall because there's always something better out there. 5 Stars for Advance the sales/after sales experience.

Similar Products Used: auditioned Paradigm, Bose, Yamaha, Pioneer, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
rashad   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2001]
Strength:

excellent sound for such a small speaker

Weakness:

makes poorly recorded cd's sound that way

I am using a denon avr1801 as my receiver in my living area and was initially using the klipsch quintet system. while the klipsch performed well for movies i was somewhat disappointed in their music reproduction. they have now been relegated to the bedroom. now with the procinema 100's the sound is so much fuller. It is unbelievable how much the midrange comes to life with these speakers. I am listening to my cd collection all over again. It is even more of a joy with the 5 channel stereo setting on the Denon. They do an equally good job on movies as well. DTS soundtracks such as the crime scene in the bone collector or the lobby shooting spree in the matrix or the battle scenes in gladiator and pearl harbor sound amazing! I could not be more happy with these speakers.

Similar Products Used: klipsch quintet
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com