Definitive Technology BP7004 Floorstanding Speakers

BP7004

  • Frequency response 16Hz-30kHz
  • Two 5.25'' bass/mid drivers
  • Two 1'' aluminum-dome tweeters 10'' active subwoofer driver
  • Two 10'' passive radiators
  • Nominal impedance 8 ohms
  • Sensitivity 92dB
  • Recommended amplifier power 20-300Wpc
  • Dimensions 6.6'' x 42.25'' x 13''

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
Ronald Hagood   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2015]

I am blown away by the sound quality of these speakers. They sound better than my Bose 901's do. I found an older, discontinued, pair, in L.A., on Craigslist. I spent a total of $425 for the pair and that's the best audio deal that I've ever got. I am another satisfied customer. The friendly people at Definitive Technology are sending me, free of charge, the spike feet for them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2009]

Purchased these to replace an old Bose hand me down system I had. Without a doubt these are the smoothest and fullest range speakers I have heard for the price. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the integrated subs sounded when using LFE. IMO these sound much better than the comparable Polk, Klipse, and Infinity products at the same price point. Currently hooked up on a B&K ref 20/ Adcom GFA-6000.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sam4022   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2008]
Strength:

Clean open and wide sound stage. Built in sub with smooth crossover. Bi-polar design and very good looks.

Weakness:

None so far.

Short & Sweet. My first real speakers was a pair of KLH17s hooked to a Fisher 220 receiver and a Garrard Lab 80 TT. So I go back a few years.

Until recently our primary objective was movies so we had a very nice set of PSBs with an Advent Sub 12. Since an early retirement I began listening to some old vinyl but the PSBs and monster sub while great for movies, just didn't cut it.

After about a dozen auditions we reduced our choices to either Vandersteen 2Cs or the DefTech 7004s. Listening to Jazz Samba (Stan Getz / Charlie Byrd), The Eagles Hotel California (Hell Freezes Over in DTS), Manha De Carnaval (Susannah McCorkle) and The Canadian Brass (Tuba Polka - best musical bass test ever) the DefTech had the most consistent clean open sound and smooth deep base I've ever experienced.

These speakers are so enjoyable I just added a set of DefTech BP6Bs, cheaper and better than the standard DetTech surrounds, on the rear channel. I've been listening to and buying speakers for a long time and I rate the 7004s as the best ever.

Similar Products Used: None with a built in sub but similar in size, i.e., Yamaha 777, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chessnut   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2008]
Strength:

airy highs, deep tight bass, clear and detailed mids. Sounds as great or better than speakers that cost 2 to 3 times its price. lean profile.

Weakness:

End caps gets smudged easily along with its black sock covering getting dusty as well, You have to clean these bad boys often. Could easily tilt too.

I bought a pair of these awesome speakers as my Christmas present last year. I have BP 8 Bs for front and rear duties initially with a pair of SM 350 for surround back, along with CLR 2002 as center and a yamaha sub. I'm using a Pioneer Elite VSX 84 TSxi receiver with a Sunfire TGA 7400 power amp. this system previously sounded great as it is but got the upgrade bug when I opted for the powered towers for the front speakers replacing a pair of the BP 8 Bs. I'm now using my yamaha sub added to the center channel, so it's running full range too. What an improvement!!!! I just love these babies. I found the improvement on the low end, it just sounded deeper and tighter, and the treble was airy.. er. I'm a big fan of SACDs and DVDAs, I'm using Pioneer Elite DV 79 AVi via firewire and all my collections sounds new to me all over again. Hats off to Definitive Tech for making awesome speakers with real world prices. My next upgrade bug.... Yamaha RX Z11, 11.2 ch receiver + a pair of DTs BP 7002 + a pair of BP VX and the Pioneer Elite BDP 94 HD.

Similar Products Used: Martin Logan, Paradigm, Revel, KEF, B&W, Aerial Acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
queherb   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2008]
Strength:

Outstanding clarity with tight bass and warm, airy non fatiguing highs.Small footprint allows you to have the power of towers without the ugly width.They go unnoticed on side of my home theater unit until the sound kickssssssss in.You will feel the bass.

Weakness:

Price

We have owned these speakers for 6 months. They are the best sounding speakers I've ever owned.I mainly listen to 2 channel stereo and these speakers sound incredible with Hip Hop, R&B, Jazz and Lite Rock. The lows are tight and deep. The mids are clear and the highs are warm and revealing. We hear nuances in music that was previously missing .These speakers are connected to a Pioneer elite txi55 receiver and rotel power amp.I let the speakers play for the recommended time before doing any critical listening. I was initially concerned about placement of the speakers because we only had 18 inches of space on each side of our entertainment center and the side wall. The speakers are 2 feet from the rear wall.In the 18inch space, the def techs are toed in between 30-45 degress. The speakers are 10 feet apart. All I can say is the music and movie experience has been a joy. I have found my love for music again with the 7004. I also noticed the small movements of the speakers change some tonal qualities.(speakers straight and the speakers sound warmer and more enveloping.Toed in they sound more precise and a little brghter.)I am glad we did not go wall to wall withe the built in home entertainment unit .Experiment and be rewared with the sound you thought your equipment could produce!!!! It won't take alot of experimentation to get these setup properly .p.s I only had 18 inches on each side.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
uhuhuh   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2007]
Strength:

Very detailed high & mids, deep bass, bi-polar design adds amazing depth to sound, tons of sound from relatively small footprint for a tower speaker.

Weakness:

Not cheap!

Listened to all 3 in the product line, 7002, 7004, 7006. All three sounded amazing, 7006's were a bit small for the size of my theater room (12.5' x 28' x 15' height) and the 7002's were just a bit out of my price range, so I went with the 7004's. Unpackaged, hooked up and was listening to music and watching Spiderman 3 in no time. The bipolar design breathes new life to my system, the added dimension is truly amazing. I listen to a wide range of rock and reggae music and everything sounds incredible. I run a 7.1 setup consisting of a Denon 3808ci receiver, an Infinity 12' sub, and Polk center & surrounds. The 7004's have considerable bass on their own, and in smaller rooms should be sufficient by themselves, but the added stand-alone sub in a large room fills out the sound nicely. From what I understand, there is a suggested break-in period, but they sound amazing out of the box. If you have the $$, give them a listen.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Infinity, Klipsch, JBL, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
AndrewMICK   AudioPhile [Nov 25, 2006]
Strength:

Value, Frequency range, Massive imaging, always looking to see if the receiver is in a surround mode, capable, they never faulter.

Weakness:

Huh?

Well I've had these a while and they just better as each day passes, over Thanksgiving I left them on to break in, WOW! Like the dude said before me what a huge difference, so deep and clear. Anything you listen to is properly reproduced from movies and Beethoven's Symphonies. Absolutely stunning, BTW don't waste your time with Martin Logan, who wants to sit in one spot to listen?? Get Deftecs, also these speakers are a REAL full range speaker, all the way up and all the way down, way down. They don't joke when people say customers love their speakers, I know I do.

Customer Service

Amazing, needed feet for the towers, called up, got a real person, and she happily sent them out promptly.

Similar Products Used: Apogee, Martin Logan, B&W, Morel.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
peter59   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2004]
Strength:

Incredible midrange,tight and extended bass, smooth highs, huge soundstaging, super imaging

Weakness:

very picky on speaker placement, make sure they are at least 12 in. from a back wall and at least 6 feet apart. brings out ever note and sound from your recordings, very revealing, If you have a lousy engineered cd recording you will scream for cover.

Heard alot about these types of speakers. Never had bipolars. Didn't know what to expect went to the local dealer and gave them a listen. Brought in a few of my favorite cd's to test them out, can you say WOW! and that was in a sales showroom. The manager told me speaker placement is very important due to the bipolar nature of the speaker you know it turns out he was right. Wasn't sure how they would sound at home. Right out of the box they sounded ok. He had reminded me that these speakers need at least 60 hrs of break in. So I took his advice and kept them on for approx 3 days straight and noticed a HUGH diference. These speakers just opened up so much that it put a grin on my face so big my wife could not contain my excitement. All I can say is I have enjoyed listening to these speakers so much that I find myself loosing myself in the music, hasn't happened in a very long time. Afterall isn't that what we are all trying to achieve. I am able to hear nuances in the cds that were never there before. These speakers handle everything I throw at them with finesse and ease. Classical,Jazz,and Rock, Male and Female vocals are so breathtaking real.Luscious sounding speaker. I am thoroughly enjoying my music library all over again. I believe I have finally found my nirvana.

Similar Products Used: Celestion SL12's, Thiel, Martin Logan,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com