Definitive Technology BP7002 Floorstanding Speakers

BP7002

  • Dimensions: 7-1/4" W x 16" D x 46-1/4" H
  • Freq. Response: 15 Hz — 30 kHz
  • Nominal Impedance: Compatible with 8 ohms
  • Rec. Assoc. Amp.: 20 — 400 watts/channel
  • Driver Complement: Four 5-1/4" high definition cast-magnesium basket polymer upper bass/midrange drivers
  • Two 1" pure aluminum dome tweeters with silk surrounds
  • One 12" long-throw subwoofer coupled to two 12" infrasonic radiators
  • Efficiency: 92 dB

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Joseph - Pa   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2011]

I auditioned many speakers. I easily eliminated many from consideration, knowing for many years, Folks want them merely due to extensive marketing. Listening to friends with those 'designer' speakers...invariably my question to them is are you deaf? I also listened to the competition in several outlets hooked up to different sources and equipment - sorry they do NOT sound right. I knew I was correct in my decision to AVOID those popular speakers...when I caught the employee boosting the 'tone controls' to make them sound good. With good equipment the tone controls needn't be used othrwise you are changing the music as performed.
Anyway, based on certain criteria I chose the Definitive Technology BP7004 - didn't buy the 7002 as my room is a bit small for them.
Listening to music through these speakers - I was surprised at what I NEVER heard before from CDs I've listened to for many years. The clarity is astounding. Having not one but two sub woofers is fantastic.
I've always questioned why the other brands seemed to build speakers with the bass 'lacking' and why they build 2-way speakers. 2-way???? with voice being a major portion of music-
having a mid-range speaker is an absolute must. STOP, stop don't tell me the mid-range can be rendere with a tweeter and a mid-woofer.
And they reduced the effectiveness of the low end JUST to assure YOU buy one of their expensive sub woofers.
Definitive gave their designs a lot of thought - gave us something to rave about.

And Yes, Chet knows customer service. I had an issue which He assisted me with. The manager of the store I purchased them from gave me the run around.


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dcbradshaw   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2011]

Let me start at the beginning, a few years ago i started my home theater career by purchasing the Bose 5.1 box set from best buy, i was told they sound amazing so i went to best buy and purchased it, after 4 years of thinking i had a great system i noticed best buy integrated magnolia into the store, i checked it out and boy oh boy did i feel like a little kid after i listened to the Definitive Technology stuff!! i went home and put my Bose on Craigslist and sold them the next day, i found a guy selling the older BP2002TL's and snagged them for super cheap, i then got a pair of BPX's for Left/Right surround, C/L/R 2300 for the center and a pair of Studio monitor 350's for the rear surrounds all on ebay for the price i sold the Bose for, i thought i was the BeezNeez until i went back into best buy and found that they discontinued the BP7002 towers, i got the display models on a sunday after black friday for get this $475.00 plus tax for the pair!!!!! i had to replace the binding post on one but that was an easy fix, just had to call Deftec and order it for free, super customer service by the way, Chet is the man, anyway, i took the BP7002's home and hooked them up as my mains, i hooked up the BP2002tl's as my rear surrounds, i then sold my Studio Monitor 350's and C/L/R 2300 and got the C/L/R 2500 to match the mid bass drivers, i then got a second pair of BPX's for my height speakers, so after all of this buy and sell stuff my home theater now looks like this......front left and right BP7002, center C/L/R2500, left and right surround BPX, rear surround BP2002tl, front height BPX, i am running all of this with an onkyo tx nr5008 9.2 channel receiver, to sum it all up Definitive makes by far the best speakers out there for home theater in that price range, they also sound great with music, the detail in which these speakers provide is astonishing, they will fill a large room with sound that will make you think that you are in the movie or in the front row of a concert, you can sit anywhere in the room and still have the same sound quality that you would get if you were in the sweet spot of the set up, i read all of these reviews about how Def Tec speakers can't hang with the high end two channel speakers that cost the same or much much more and i say BOO! these speakers will make the hair on the back of your neck raise up, i watched Avatar on blu ray and decided words could not explain my experience, yes my receiver is not even close to what these speakers can handle power wise(145 watts per channel @ 8ohms) but it does make them sing, my neighbors hate me and my friends love me, just remember the name Definitive Technology the next time you go shopping for speakers, do not be shy and listen to them at low volume for they are not fragile by any means, turn them up and close your eyes, you will be amazed, this is my humble opinion so take it as you will.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RISound   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2010]

Now is a great time to look for the 7002s as Definitive Technology has added a new line and Best Buy is discounting, plus up to 3 years financing at no interest.
This began when a dear friend rewarded me with the gift of a Def Tec center CDC 2500 for setting up her system. (Yeah, I'm a lucky guy.) I paired that with my Mirage 7.1 surround system and Denon 2307CI. Sound was vastly improved by the new center. I then found a pair of Demo Gem 6s and stands at 1/2 price. And finally my favorite place on earth, Best Buy, put a barely demo'd pair of Def Tec BP7002s for 1/2 price, and matched bipolar rears for 1/2 price as well. Fortunately they had a returned Pioneer Elite VSX-33 for $100 off and that brought everything together. (I also use a 1999 era 700 Watt Yamaha home theatre receiver for Zone 2.) The sound? The dream system I've always imagined. Blueray movies sound as though you were in the movie; Bluray concerts as well. These front speakers each carry a built-in AC 300 Watt sub; center 150 Watt. (You have to plug them into a wall socket) But setup is easy. The Def Tecs have built in cross-overs, so you don't have to use the sub out from the receiver, and the sound is perfect. I recently had a friend over for a test run. I joked that I would tape the windows for safety. We ran through the latest Casino Royale film, Eagles HD DVD, Michael Jackson This is it, (Blueray), which knows how to fully use this system, Chris Botti, (Bluray), and more. My friend kept repeating, "This sounds incredible." In summary, the sound is accurate, encompasing, and at studio grade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nash Hunter   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2008]
Strength:

earth pounding bass and silky smooth highs from the same speakers; self powered subwoofer with (2) matching 12" passive radiators and look totally stunning when bathed in low light at night.

Weakness:

"WILL GET YOU IN TROUBLE WITH THE POLICE!!!" if you run them at full power; with make mrs. mad as ^%#@ when she finds out how much you payed for them and how much room they take up(they really are BIG); MUST have LOTS of power(200w minimum!!!) to play at full vol.; must have a deadacated amp to power them(normal A/V receavers can't handle the job); will make you have to get match speakers to keep up with them.

over the years I heard my far shear of surround sound systems and I thought I heard them all... that is till A friend of my'ne got a pair of these speakers.At the time he had a pioneer 5.1 system in his living room and it was ok but once he had these installed and hooked up everything changed.Soon he was back on line looking for match parts to go with them and after sinking over 7,000.00 grand he has without a dought the best sounding system in alabama.Cheak this out: up front he has a Emotiva MMc-1 A/V signal processor routing all his signals and running the audio channels into a Emotiva Xpa-5 500-w 5 ch. audio power amp.From here power goes into the BP7002s while the rest goes to a matching C/C/R3000 front center speaker and two BPVX/P rear surround speakers.Each speaker has a self powered subwoofer(yes even the center speaker) and together thay shake his home like crazy and make any sound coming thru them come to life( even TV signals).Ovcource he added a Supercube Trinity signature series 15-in. sub for the $^&( of it even thu he really didn't need to.in the end he may have ticed off he wife something bad but he has the ultamite sound system case closed.

Similar Products Used: Nothing(and I mein nothing) can match these speakers so don't even try to compare them to anything else!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Art K.   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2007]
Strength:

Clean, silky highs, clear mids and heart pounding bass. Best bang for the buck product.

Weakness:

slight placement sensitivity

I bought the pair used as demos for $ 1000, best investment I ever made. I listened to this pair when they were first brought out of the box a few months before they were sold as demos. Out of the box they were great but just kept getting better as time went on. I've always listened to them with my own CDs so I knew how well they performed compared to the other brands of speakers they had in the store. They were open, clarity was exceptional as well as their pinpoint imaging. Bass was superbly blended with the mids and highs. Treble sounded silky smooth even tho they had metal tweeters. I was hesitant to buy the 7002s because of the review I read that stated these speakers needed room to perform but when the store put them up on sale, I decided to go for it. I have them set up in a 11'x 18' x 9.5' room, 7.1ch configuration along with a pair of 7004s for the sides and BPVX for rears. I use a CLR 2002 with a Supercube II for center ch duties.Control and amplification are from Emotiva, dvd by Pioneer Elite, power protection, stabilizer and back up from Furman. These speakers are awesome, they place you in the action or brings you in the audience when watching concerts. I applaud Definitive Tech. for producing quality speakers at an affordable price.

Similar Products Used: Def. Tech. BP 8 B, 7004, B&W 602 S.3, 703s,N803s,Paradigms
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
angel j.   AudioPhile [Nov 28, 2006]
Strength:

clean,clear,very deep and open speaker. beats speakers that cost more than these babies.very solid.

Weakness:

weight, positioning was a bit of a work out but the results were great once properly set-up.

I got this pair as floor models only benn demoed for at least a week, they were in exellent condition.these monsters produce a wide open clear sound, imaging is spot on.subs create the lowest octaves. using them as mains with bp 7004 as sides, bpvx as surr. back. no problem with standing waves with this rig. also got clr 2002 with s-cube 3 for center duties. these guys outdoes the local Imax theater. music from dvd-a,SACD and red book cds sound phenominal. i also love to play the standard movies like master & comm, star wars,king kong and of course 5th element to show-off to friends and family. i love seeing their jaws drop. I heard others that say they're for HT , but these guys are also musical IMHO and the price/quality ratio is exceptional. I wouldn't trade this rig for the world. thanks DT for this awesome speakers. My HT consist of pioneer elite vsx 59 txi, rotel rb 1091-ctr amp,rotel rb 1092 -main LR, rotel rb 1080 x 2 -side surr and back, pioneer dv 59 avi universal dvd, sony kds r 70 xbr 2, mon. sony mds jb 920 minidiisc,yamaha cdr s 2000, directv HD sat recvr, monster htp s 7000 + hts 5500 conditioners. avs 2000 stabilizer,ups 1000 batt back-up.waiting on PS 3 for x-mas.

Similar Products Used: bw 700/600 series, MLs,sonus faber, vienna acoustics, fell for bipolar design ever since i had bp 8 bs from old rig.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hfa0729   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2006]
Strength:

sensitive, bi polar sweetness, thumping bottom end.

Weakness:

shipping boxes are disposable, don't know if i will be able to put them back together. that's it!

wow, what an upgrade. purchased with the c/l/r 2300 center channel. play loud, strong and articulate. have them in a 700 sq ft room and still only have the sublevel at high noon level. i still pull out "favorite" cds just to hear how much better they sound, particularly on the lower end. easy to power and efficient, currently feeding them 100 wpc apiece and they are plenty loud. after putting these into play i moved the old subwoofer upstairs with the older stereo. i never thought i would pay $2k for speakers but i have no regrets now. spend your money and put a smile on your face for many years to come.

Customer Service

should be bullet proof

Similar Products Used: infimity, polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Qruzer   AudioPhile [Apr 17, 2005]
Strength:

Tight bass Duel mid-range (both sides of speaker) Incredible reflecting sound stage

Weakness:

Demanding setup positioning

I purchased these as newly arrived floor demos. Got about 10% off. I have been using the BP2004 for 3 years, so I knew a few weeks as floor models would be fine. Set up was a breeze. The powered sub is tighter then expected. It also should be managed properly. I only set my dial to about 5 on a clock.<--(best way for me to describe) It you already have a sub you do not need to over kill your music with bass. Even in only 2 channel selected these poewed subs must be tamed! These built in subs are much more musical then their predecesors (2002 series)While the 7002 doesn't need heavy amp power to drive them - I think the bass is punchier with seperates anywhoot. If you are looking at the 7000 series these should be at the top of the list. What seperates these dramatically from the 7004, 7006 are the dual mid range drivers. They completely opens up the sound stage! Movie wise you will not believe the presence these towers demonstrate. I've coupled these towers with the Def Tech 2500 center (matching mid range size)I couldn't believe how much it mattered till I switched out the BP2004 towers. Remember, reflection distance from your walls is extremely important during set-up. I tow mine in to my listening position a bit, keeping the back side predominately pointed towards the back wall about 13'' away. I'm a big fan of bipolar sound imaging and these speakers define that approach. Audition these speakers and have the sales person move them to different positions for you to evaluate.

Similar Products Used: BP2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
meephis   AudioPhile [Nov 13, 2004]
Strength:

supurb detail and solid bass due to a twelve inch subwoofer coupled with two twelve inch radiators

Weakness:

as with most bipolars positioning is touchy however not as bad as most

First of all I would just like to point out that this is a review as of first impressions IN THE SHOWROOM. I am giving this review to aid anyone trying to decide on these speakers for a purchase, to give my opinion for whatever it is worth to you. And with that being said here it is. I walked into Ultimate Electronics the other day to take a listen to a subwoofer(Klipsch RSW-15) and while browsing through the rooms these caught my attention, they're not the type of speaker that catches your eye with some radical design but if you're familiar with definitive technology you realized that before you started to read this review. First of all I don't just go into an electronics department and listen to speakers that I'm not familiar with, infact it's not uncommon for me to know more about a product than the salesman. I'm not saying that the reps at Ultimate Electronics aren't very knowledgable, in fact they are on the average some of the best that i have encountered thusfar, What I am saying is that if you are seriously considering a speaker you should learn as much about a speaker as possible. This entails research such as checking manufacturer's website, owner reviews, and of course, other retailers. Once you have taken care of that its show time. First impressions are everything. After going through the usual barrage of cds that I test speakers with(I didn't have an SACD handy which is an error I don't plan to repeat) I had him play an SACD, Whoa!! I was amazed with the sound coming from these speakers. Don't get me wrong, I am very well aware of the capabilities of Definitive Technolgy speakers but with all things considered-showroom acoustics and the poor positioning(toed out until I mentioned it). Not only were they toed out but they were placed along the width of the room, however this was fixed by just teoing them in. This was surprising due to how unbelievbly flat and dead they soundded before the "position correction" once this was performed however the sound was full and lively. I was also amazed by the low fequency response dropping extremely low and loud, playing at a very pleasant level for even me. I am also condiering a pair of Polk Audio LSi15 speakers-see also my review on those for additonal information. No matter what I threw at them they handled it with ease- from bass heavy energy music to the crisp plucks of an acoustic guitar interupting the smooth soothing sound of a flute on a Cd thats name escapes me. I also tested the subwoofers ability to keep up with the rest of the speaker. Sometimes a even built in powered subwoofers have a little bit of trouble keeping up-NOT the case with the Definitive system. I played a sort of "rapid fire" bass track to test this and they easily passed the test. Finally I tested the detail of the tweeters, I played an "echoeing" portion of a track on an energy CD, in which even on very good speakers, the very high, well detailed sound sometimes "smears" in with it's reverberation. Once again not only did this speaker pass the test it set the bar by exceeding all of my expectations bringing out every detail and easily decifering the difference between the original and the echoe. These are a very nice pair of speakers that anyone should be proud to own.

Similar Products Used: Polk Audio Klipsch other Definitive Technology Mirage etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com