Definitive Technology BP 6B Floorstanding Speakers

BP 6B

These full-range bipolar (front and rear) radiating systems combine the lush spacious soundstaging, lifelike depth-of-field, razor-sharp resolution and pinpoint imaging of the finest dipolar panel loudspeakers with the extended bass response, high-efficiency, wide dynamic range and easy-to-position convenience of the best conventional box systems.

User Reviews (36)

Showing 1-10 of 36  
Avinash Bhaskare   AudioPhile [Oct 01, 2009]

I purchased these speakers to replace JBM N38 front I have with Denon AVR1800. The JBL started sounding muddy and got low on the highs.
These are awesome. The drums sound very real, Tremendous bass and very clean highs.
I also compared them with Paradigm Phantom V3 and these seem to have more bass and highs.
The Paradigm were also very good, these are slightly better.
The cabinets are sturdy, black glazed finish is very good.
I did figure out the problem with JBLs - the screws holding the drivers had come loose. Used an allen key to tighten them and the bass is good, still missing on the highs with JBL.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sabah   Audio Enthusiast [May 22, 2007]
Strength:

good shape and it dosnt reflect the screen image on its bodey

Weakness:

these speakers shows all the sound Coloration

when i played the speakers with my yamaha DSP-A2, i thought that yamaha is bad,
the sound was so harsh, because room was not isolated, i did isolate the room but still the sound not good, at that time what i need is just high sound level no matter what is the quality of the sound.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
pablo chicago   Casual Listener [May 12, 2007]
Strength:

Value and exceptionally good for home theater

Weakness:

somewhat over technical/mechanical sound, especially for music.

A very good option for entry/midlevel home theater applications.

I have had my set of BP6's for over 7 years as front/main speakers, and they have served me very well. They blew away Klipsch, psb and polks at a similar price level.

I am upgrading my entire system now and the towers will not work in the new design. I can tell you that friends of mine who have spent much more on Mirage, PSB and others are consistently impressed with the sound from my system which is driven by a 10 year old Harmon Kardon receiver.

All of that being said, I believe that there are some trade off's with the bi-polar design and the DT product. For HT applications, I think they are very good, but I would tend to agree that for music, I find the highs exagerated and there is a mechanical or highly technical sound at times which I do not find wonderful. Nevertheless the overall sound is solid for a multipurpose system. As a point of reference, I would say that the DT's and probably bipolar designs in general, have some sound charateristics in common with Bose systems. Bose sounds striking especially with demo tapes and action movies, but for music, I find the sound harsh and overdone. DT's suffer from a bit of the same.

Again, I think these are a great value that can probably be had for about $500 a pair

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Pablo   Casual Listener [May 05, 2007]
Strength:

Value and very good for home theater

Weakness:

Somewhat artificial sound for music.

I am actually looking to replace by BP6's after about 7 years. The speakers have served me very well. When making the original purchase decision, the DT's blew away the JBL, Klipsch, Infinity and Polks that were in a similar price range. At this point I am upgrading my entire system, and when looking at some options on audio review, I decided to contribute my experience with the BP6's.

Friends who have spent many times what I did on the BP6's on mirage and polks have commented about how great my system sounds and this is with a 10 year old Harmon amp. I was told years ago that if you push your budget on anything - it should be on speakers, as they make the biggest difference, and I have found that to be true. The BP6's offer a solid value, especially for HT. I would tend to agree with other reviewers that for music, I have found that the BP6's are not ideal. Dont get me wrong, their sound is very good, but I belive that the bi-polar design does sound a bit artificial and overhighlights some highs and lows. This is ofcourse a personal opinion. In my view, bose suffers to the extreme from this "artificial" sound. Bose sounds impressive at first, especially with demo recordings, but sounds overly technical and un-natural to me. DT is not as extreme, but I am trying to give some perspective and comparison for my opinion of the DT sound. For a multipurpose application, both movies and music, I think that the BP6 are a solid choice, but the more you favor music, you might fade away from DT and perhaps bipolar design in general.

I applaud DT for the BP6 as they offer a lot of speaker for about $300 a piece. I recommend them for someone looking for a mid-priced, entry level speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
DefinitiveSid   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2005]
Strength:

- Bass Response - Fairly Wide Soundstage - Fairly Detailed High End - A Clear Midrange

Weakness:

- Over-Pronounced Midrange - Harsh Highs - Slightly Boomy Bass, Depends on distance from the wall.

The Definitive Tech BP6B was the product that pushed me over to the Definitive Tech side, so to speak. I originally had the Polk Audio RTi70, and I brought this speaker home as an alternative to its spot. And it prevailed obviously. However, it does had it flaws, which led me to upgrade. Before I address its strengths and flaws, I would like to introduce you to the speaker itself and it's build quality. The BP6B stands almost at 32" tall, its side panels are 3/4" Particle board, with 1" Medite front and back panels. The top and bottom are 1/2" particle board. The internal portion of the cabinet has a brace midway, this helps damp resonances in the middle portion of the cabinet, but the resonances in the top portion are absolutely out of this world. This definetely probally colors the sound a bit. The speaker sports DT's normal, grill sock and caps. Now on to the sound. The strengths of this speaker is the midrange is clear, most of the time, sometimes the bass becomes way to eager and starts to distort it. It is a very bass heavy speaker, that is for sure. Now, although the midrange it is clear, it is over-pronounced in the higher range. Kind of exagerates things just a tad. Although Definitive uses the same tweeters between all their speakers (7000 series aside). The BP6B tweeter is indeed different from the BP8B and BP10B. The magnet is half the size. Either the tweeter differences changes the sound, or the crossover does - but this tweeter can be very hash at times. It is definetely not as smooth as its bigger brother the BP10B. So definetely, it has its faults in the mids and highs, but at the same time - they remain relatively clean at the same time. The soundstage on the 6B is fairly wide, dosn't quite have the depth or height as its bigger brother, but still bigger than some speakers out there. It's forte isn't music, with the pronounced midrange - it tends to exagerate instruments such as the guitar, which may be some peoples ideal sound. But to me it just dosn't sound natural. The top end, although detailed - as I said does indeed get harsh. Which for music can tend to make your aggrivated after a while. Definetely just isn't the first choice for critical listening for extended periods of time. Now, its forte is definetely MOVIES. That pronounced midrange and high end leads to a very involving movie experience when paired with a nice center channel. Things in a movie come in loud and clear, and its amazing bass response adds alot to the movie. So basically, if you are trying to put together a HT first setup, this may be your best choice really, it does theater like no other. It would also fair well in a HT as surrounds paired with its bigger brothers. Overall, this is a decent value - not quite worth its asking price - but definetely holds a place in the line up and provides people looking for a nice clear HT with a good set of speakers backed by a solid company. I recomend it to those doing a HT first system and are just starting out. I hope this review proves helpful.

Similar Products Used: - Definitive Tech BP10B - Polk Audio RTi70, RT5, RT35i, SDA SRS 1.2TL - Klipsch Chorus B&W DM 303
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ttskyline01   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 24, 2005]
Strength:

Can play down to 25hz No distortion whatsoever awesome build quality and sound quality

Weakness:

No weaknessess found!!

This is my first pair of Def Tech speakers and I must say they are awesome!! I have these babies hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V440 receiver and they sound great!!! I've heard that if you pair these speakers with a Yamaha receiver, they will sound bad. Well that is not true. The Yamaha is bright but with these speakers paired to the amp, it sounds a little melow. Also I can play these speakers loud and hear no distortion ever!!

Similar Products Used: Technics 3 way towers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
HT Enthu from Dubai   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2005]
Strength:

Huge sound stage, airy, great bass, lively, waf

Weakness:

expensive, connecting the speaker wire is tricky

I was more than happy with my Def Tech's procinema 100 for HT. I was on the search for a floor stander to match my denon 1802. my requirement was more for music. The wallet size was usd400/-. So, went around auditioning: - B&W (great, but requires the change of my amp, the hole in the wallet?!?) - Klipsch (no life) - JBL (good but just as expected) - Polk (no life) - Mission (good but just as expected) - Jamo(good, 4ohms, requires the change of my amp and just as expected) - JMLab (fantastic highs and midrange, 2nd choice) i could not help stretching my budget when i listened to the bp6b. Perhaps, i got stung by the bipolar effect. The most lively sound. I auditioned this on a lower powered amp (denon 1604) with variety of music for more than 1 hour. There was no comparision. This is truly an amazing speaker with great sound. At home on the 1802, hooked this on speaker B terminal, pro cinema 100 pair on speaker A termnial, the existing pro-sub100 reinforces the bass. My hall is 20x22 ft. I cannot believe this lively music filling, from a low powered amp, the hall of this size. don't listen to the myth that bi-polars are not good for music...try it yourself, i realized what i was missing!

Similar Products Used: ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
meephis   AudioPhile [Aug 08, 2004]
Strength:

Sleek design Smooth, clean highs

Weakness:

Rap/Hip Hop lovers beware, reinforcement needed in the way of a solid subwoofer.

Make no mistake, beleive it or not these are Definitive's bottom-end towers. I say this because once you hear these in your home you'll have a hard time believing. They are excellent speakers and are a force to be reconned with in the sub $800 price range. The bipolar design creates a wonderful space-filling, laid back sound that seems so effortlessy produced. these are a wonderful speaker that has proved itself in all music genres.

Similar Products Used: Mirage FRX-7 - The Best of The Lot PolkAudio RT600i
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gmood1   AudioPhile [Jan 22, 2003]
Strength:

Good highs,bass is also pretty good,mids are ok

Weakness:

Not really any for a speaker this size.

This is a great HT speaker.I wouldn't try to do any serious music listening with them thou.The bipolar effect seems to add ambience to the movies.The bass is good for a speaker of it's size.Price for performance they will be hard to beat for HT!

Similar Products Used: bose,jbl
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

Best sound for the buck.

Weakness:

Speaker connects are on the bottom.

I went out shopping for a receiver and ended up buying speakers too. I was checking out some receivers on different speakers and the sound was just too good to not take them home along with a Denon AVR-1802. I added a ProSub 100 a week later and it really rocks. I was listening some live Pink Floyd over the weekend and heard sounds that I never knew were there. I am very pleased. A buddy of mine spent more than double on his Polks and I think the Def''s sound better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com