Definitive Technology BP 2002TL Floorstanding Speakers

Definitive Technology BP 2002TL Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Bipolar Tower w/Built-in 250 Watt Powered 12" Subwoofer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 45  
[Apr 01, 2020]
harmonxjim33


Strength:

The rca is feeding full range stereo bass signal from my receivers left, right and center pre outs and it has made a huge difference. Bass has tightened up immensely...midrange and tweeter information has cleaned up as well. Play bowmasters game a Free Online PVP Multiplayer Game for PC

Weakness:

Doesn't have any weakness for BP 2002TL

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2020]
pdmonty1965


Strength:

So...I originally had a pair of B&W 703 tower speakers and matching HTM2 center but I never really like the sound….great midrange but the high end just seemed harsh. I sold them and bought my current setup which consists of the 2002tls with a CLR3000 center...what a difference in the positive direction for sure. Compared to my 703's the entire soundstage completely opened up seeming broader and warmer but still having excellent clarity and detail. I thought it couldn't get any better but on the advice of Def Tech I decided to wire my towers and center up using rca's from my receivers pre-outs to the 2002's and 3000's dedicated full range inputs for bass. Just disconnected the bottom jumpers and removed them so now my amp via speaker wire is powering only my midrange drivers and tweeters. The rca is feeding full range stereo bass signal from my receivers left, right and center pre outs and it has made a huge difference. Bass has tightened up immensely...midrange and tweeter information has cleaned up as well. This is the recommended connection method from Def Tech for optimal performance and I can see why. It feels like I have a newer better version of my already amazing speakers!

Weakness:

Not a single weakness for me yet however as these have internally powered bass drivers, eventually you will probably experience amp issues/failures as you would eventually with any piece of electronics but so far so good.

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2018
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 14, 2009]
Justin Heard
AudioPhile

The BP2002's just keep getting better!!!!!

Some people have issues I think due to room size or shape. I am blown away. The speaker do not sound bright and I do get pin-point imaging and "make you duck" dynamics. The sound stage is not a stage....its a massive field! My Denon 5803 got smashed by UPS (Do use them...thay will give heavy weight item to kids even "5 year old" according to the operator.) so I use a rinky dink 30watt Sony reciever.....and it still rocks!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2006]
pohennessy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Home theater,WOW.

Weakness:

Music

I have had these speakers now for 2 years,for home theater I would rate these a 5.0 for sacd music 4.0 I recently purchased a rotel rb993 amp to hopefully get better sound for music listening and dont know how movies could get better.Awsome speaker,and for the price it is the best I have listened to.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 18, 2004]
LTTONY
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

IN THE ABOVE LISTED CONFIGURATION, THE BASS IS FAST AND DETAILED, WONDERFUL IMAGING, SUPERB DETAIL.

Weakness:

VERY LONG BREAK IN PERIOD. AT 100LBS, DIFICULT TO POSITION WITHOUT ASSISTANCE.

I HAD LISTENED TO THESE SOME TIME AGO AND WAS NOT OVERLY IMPRESSED. ADDITIONALLY, THE SALEPERSON DID NOT RECOMEND THEM. SO YOU ASK WHY I RECENTLY PURCHASED THEM ANYWAY. WELL, THE PRICE WAS RIGHT. FIRST, THEY WERE ON CLOSEOUT, NEW IN THE BOX, AND IN CHERRY. SECOND, ALL OF THE REVIEWS COULD NOT BE WRONG. I WAS ABLE TO SET THESE UP QUICKLY AND HAD THEM POSITIONED WITHOUT MUCH EFFORT FOR IDEAL LISTENING. MY ROOM IS 21 X 17. I NEW IT WOULD TAKE SOME TIME TO BREAK THESE IN, BUT THE INITIAL HOME AUDITION HAD ME WONDERING IF I HAD MADE A BIG MISTAKE! I DECIDED TO READ THE MANUAL!!! I FOLLOWED THE MANUALS ADVICE AND RAN A PAIR OF RCA OUTS FROM THE PREOUTS ON MY AMP TO THE FULL RANGE LOW FREQUENCY INPUT ON THE SPEAKERS. NEXT I REMOVED ALL OF THE JUMPERS AND RAN A BIWIRE SET OF SPEAKER CABLES TO THE MID/HI FREQUENCY INPUTS AND STARTED OVER. THE DIFFERENCE IS NIGHT AND DAY. THESE SPEAKERS THRIVE IN THIS SETUP AS RECOMMENDED BY THE MANUAL. THE SOUND IS VERY DETAILED, FULL, AND SPACIAL. I HAVE RUN THESE FOR OVER 100 HOURS AND THE TWEETERS ARE ACTUALLY ON THE SWEET SIDE. SOME ADDITIONAL RESEARCH HAS REVEALED THAT THE ACTUAL BREAKIN TIME FOR THESE IS OVER 200HRS. I AM RUNNING THESE STRICTLY AS A 2 CHANNEL SETUP FOR NOW. THEY ARE MATED WITH A MUSICAL FIDELITY A308, SONY SCD-XA9000ES, AUDIOQUEST GIBRALTAR SPEAKER CABLES AND AUDIOQUEST CORAL INTERCONNECTS.

Similar Products Used:

MONITOR AUDIO GR60, BOSTON VR965, EPOS ES22, PROAC STUDIO 125, SPENDOR E9S.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2003]
Jones1965
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound for music and HT. Sleek look.

Weakness:

Time required for setup and placement. Easily toppled.

I have wanted to purchase these speakers for 3 years and I finally got the chance. I purchased them used online. And just as I remembered they are awesome! The imaging of the left and right is incredible. If you are looking for a well defined, well built speaker for both music and HT these are the speakers. The built in subs allow them to sound like speakers of much greater cost. If there is a weakness, it's in the fact that placement is critical to good listening. They need to be able to reflect for the bipolar design. On a final note, these speaker like power. Make sure you drive them witha quality high end receiver or even better a seperate amplifier. My system: Onkyo Receiver Def Tech CLR 2002 Center Klipsh In Wall Surrounds Toshiba DVD Samsung HDTV receiver Mitsubishi 55" HDTV

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 24, 2003]
Landoco
AudioPhile

Strength:

soundstaging, imaging, dynamics, clarity. Prodigius bass

Weakness:

Heavy, can tip if not grounded well

After owning these speakers for about two years, I am really impressed iwth how good they are. I had started questioning them but realized that othe weak links in the system can cloud your judgement. I repalced by sony ES receiver with a rotel 1095 five channel amp and immediately realized that I need to upgrade my comonents to get optimal sound from these guys. They need quality componet to really shine and the amp is the only thing I changed. I will upgrade to the Rotel 1066 or 1098 pre/pro and only expect things to get better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2003]
deftech
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Full, open soundstage. Bi-polar configuration really opens up the room.

Weakness:

Tip over easily. Can be a challange to set up for the best possible sound,(if you consider that a weakness)

I have to say that after living with theese speakers for 3+ years and having them in 3 different rooms that they are very good at reproducing both ht AND music if properly set up. I had them in a small room and frankly they sounded confined. I now have them in a 11x16 room, 6 feet apart, slightly toed in, 18 inches from the rear wall and tri-wired. I ran a seprate rce line from my pre amp to the full frequency imput and 12 ga canare cable to the mids and seperate 12 ga to the tweeters. This configuration works very well. They are being fed by a yamaha rx-v2095 which has enough clean opwer for the room they are in. Listening to the Corrs version of little wing brings out the many layers of this song. The vocals seem to be coming from the c/l/r 2300 center channel in stereo mode. I actually got up to make sure it wasnt on . It is easy to pick out the harp and flute as well. They also perform on movie soundtracks as well.They can be subtle when called on but pack a punch when needed as well. They are well worth an audition. I listened to some other prominent manufactors systems as well but thought they performed the best for the money all around.

Similar Products Used:

paradigm, b&w, pinnacle, klipsch, jbl

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 05, 2003]
Eric
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Small fooprint, no sub to deal with, awesome sound

Weakness:

none noticed yet

The subs on these are killer. Most CD's and movies I won't turn past 12 oclock becuse they will have 2 much bass. The size is perfect and I love the look with no sub. They sound great for movies or music. I am hearing things in movies I have never noticed before. I am using with the CLR 2500 center and BP8b rears. I am a def tech fan.

Similar Products Used:

I am using an Interga 7.1 receiver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 29, 2003]
shawn
Audio Enthusiast

Forgot to post my system (may help with some readers) receiver - Pioneer Elite vsx-45tx DVD - Panasonic rp-91k cables - Kimber 8vs (mids) bi-wire with Kimber 4vs (I found that the bi-wire setup opens up the soundstage even more) for the sub I used acoustic research master series audio interconnect cable opitical - again AR masters digital coax - AR masters and a monster power conditioner 3600 Again test these buggers out, for music it could go either way BUT for HT this system CANNOT BE BEAT FOR THE MONEY. (and thats the bottom line)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com