Definitive Technology BP 10B Floorstanding Speakers

BP 10B

Two 25 mm pure aluminum dome tweeters; two 17 cm mineral-filled homopolymer- coned, cast-magnesium bass/midranges

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
DefinitiveSid   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2004]
Strength:

- Smooth Transition Between the Mids and Highs - Detailed, Smooth Highs - Smooth Mids - Wide/Deep Soundstage

Weakness:

- Requires Quite A Bit Of Power - Placement Oriented (Sound Changes Completely With Each Shift Of The Speaker) - To Honest, Show Most Defects In Recordings

Formerly, I was a Polk Audio fan that always wanted to upgrade. Since I continuously upgraded, and changed, I eventually just changed speaker brands completely. Having heard Definitive before at a friends house, they interested me, so I picked up the BP6B. With their unique, yet incomplete sound, I proceeded to go for the BP10B. The BP10B is a rather robust looking speaker, and weighs quite a bit at 60Lbs. With 1" thick Medite front and back, and 3/4" Particle board sides, and robust drivers. It is definetely a step above others in its price range with construction (Particle board aside). The Definitive, upon hook up was effortless. Yet it still gave my B&K a work out, it really needs power to produce the lows. It has the potential to produce the lows, I just can't do it with my limited power. The highs are incredibly smooth for aluminums, and are amazingly detailed. The guitars remain clear and vibrant throughout most songs, but this also has its down side as it shows pretty much all of the defects of songs... The mids this speaker produce are great, very smooth and the transition between the mids and highs is nothing but stellar, which is one huge step for me as most all of my Polk speakers before had a nasty hiss between the mids and highs. The soundstage, Definitive is known for a lifelike soundstage. The Definitives are incredibly placement oriented, and in my small room I can not get seperated far enough for them to REALLY open up. However in my limited space, they are wide, and incredibly deep. Depending on the song, the BP10B can control the room with no problems at all. It also has incredible seperation between instruments, that I don't hear often in this price range. They do particularly well with Blues/Jazz/Metal. I know you are thinking, Jazz and Metal, what in the world? But these speakers can reproduce bands like Disturbed like no other I have heard. They just can 'do it'. Stuff like Jonny Lang, no problem. BB King, no problem. They can do about any kind of music you throw at them. Definitive is a fine speaker company, a speaker that can NOT be heard right in stores. An in-home demo is a must, or you just won't 'get it'. They require ALOT of tinkering with placement to get them to sound right. The show rooms at stores just don't cut it. So if you are interested in giving these speakers a go, get an in-home demo, and another thing about them. They sound terrible on receivers. If you plan to buy these, give them an amp and watch them open up. Simple as that. Fine speaker, I would love to own the BP30 one day.

Similar Products Used: - Polk Audio RTi70 - Polk Audio RT35i - Polk Audio RT25i - Definitive Technology BP6B - Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL - Klipsch Chorus - Vintage 'New' Advents - Pioneer CS-E9000 - KLH 900b
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chimera128   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2004]
Strength:

Size, no stands needed for rears. Small footprint. Enormous sound, deep bass, great midrange.

Weakness:

... Might want to consider getting something smaller if you have to carry them up stairs.

I was considering speakers for the rear channels. My house is going to be complete in about 2 months and I wanted something full range for the surrounds. While browsing local stores I found the BP10. It sounded much better than the BPVX and the BPVX/P. I am going to wait till I move in to get the rest of my system, as i am quickly running out of space in my apartment.

Similar Products Used: B&W 700,800 series, Martin Logan, Magnepan.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jayvahs   AudioPhile [Nov 09, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent spacial imaging and sound stage. Faily effecient for a speaker that contains a total of 5 drivers per cabinet.

Weakness:

A bit heavy in the upper mid-range. This anomoly may be due to the direct/reflection properties and/or room acoustics.

I purchased these speakers back in March of this year to compliment the Boston VR965's. The goal was to regain the same overall soundstage presence that I lost when I donated my 25 year old Bose 901's to Courage Center. I can honestly say that this goal was achieved. And with a LOT less power per channel. These are GREAT secondary (or rear channel) speakers. Some listeners may not like the direct- reflecting (what Definitive calls Bi-Polar) characteristics, since three of the drivers are mounted in the rear of the cabinet and are required to be 6-8'' from the rear wall. A great compliment for any system.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics VR965 ADCOM GSA-7300 Power Amp Bose 901's (replaced)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
trekman2001   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Nice full range of sound.

Weakness:

none

I bought these speakers in January to complete my surround system (I'm using the pro 100's for the sides and rear channels.) I love these speakers. I think they have just incredibe range. You can't go wrong getting a pair of these. I listend to both the bp8 and the bp6's and while those were quite good the bp10b's were just a little richer in sound quality for not that much more money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Claude Dean   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Play very loud.Large soundstage.

Weakness:

a touch on the bright side

Dollar for dollar these speakers are tough to beat.I recently had a pair of B&W 803's in my system for a few days.Very nice speakers,incredible build quality.But when I put my BP10B's back I was able to appreciate how good they really sound.They are a little rough around the edges and more forward and aggressive sounding than the B&W's,but that's what I like.(I listen to hard rock mostly)For movies they are amazing,huge soundfield. My system:Sony STRDA5ES Rotel RB1080 DVPS7700 Def Tech BP10B CLR1000B PF1500 sub PF12TL sub Energy RVSS HTS1 (center rear) Panamax Max 1000+ Cables by Kimber,Monster,AR,NBS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phased   AudioPhile [Mar 06, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent bass extension.Good build quality.Quality drive units.Great looks.

Weakness:

The binding posts are located underneath the speaker.While this betters the looks of the speaker,it is a pain to attatch cables.This only poses a problem for nuts like myself that change cables and speaker position often.

The Definitive BP 10b is one of the best bargains in audio period.They are a sleek,narrow,beautifully crafted piece of gear.Their fit and finish is first rate all the way.I have owned the BP 8 also.Which is not as good a bargain,but a great product none the less.The BP 10b is somewhat different than the original BP 10.The B model uses a metal dome tweeter instead of fabric.This is said to extend high freq. response,and better the overall sound of the speaker.I feel that the tweeter in the B model is a little bright.However there is enough low freq. energy from those amazing little 6.5" woofers and the way that they are loaded to offset this.The BP 10b is an excellent performer when it comes to home theater duty.They have true subwoofer-like bass extension.Most will be amazed at their ability to reach down into the lower octaves considering the size of the drivers used.I would buy the Definitive BP 10b before anything else in the 1000.00 a pair market.They are a steal when purchased used.Try to get them for under 600.00.Dont be afraid to pull their socks down and check out all the drivers.Just pull the top cap off and loosen the draw string.There should be one 6.5" woofer with butyl rubber surround,and a 1"metal dome tweeter both front and rear baffle.Be sure that these have not been replaced with cheap radio shack type drivers.

Similar Products Used: Definitive bp8,Polk RTA 12-C,Klipsch heresey,Klipsch RF-3,Infinity RS-5,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian King   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2000]
Strength:

huge, soundfield, great lower end response,plenty of bass

Weakness:

takes some moving around to get best sound, hard to adjust spikes with carpeting

I have had these speakers for a little over 2 months now. I also purchased the Def Tech C1000B center, the BP2X's for rears, and 2 PF15TL+ subs. Driving these is a Denon avr4800. I cannot say enough about these speakers. I spent many hours looking on the websites to see what people had to say about the BP10B, I also listened to many different models such as PSB, and Paradigm. When it came time to get serious and go with the head to head comparison, it wasn't even close! I could not believe how ridiculous all the other speakers sounded next to the BP10B's. Anyone looking at Definitive can save themselves alot of time by simply doing head to head comparisons. My wife, who doesn't care about this at all, even was amazed at the difference in the sound of other models compared to these. It's simply a no brainer. They put out an excellent amount of bass, which I was able to tell right away by bringing in some of my Rush cd's. Definitive rates their speakers pretty aggresively saying the BP10B's play down to 20hz. I can't say for sure if this is accurate, but they play alot louder, lower, and cleaner than anything else I listened to! I also only paid 849.00 dollars for the pair brand new, not demo's either! So do yourself a favor and check out Definitive, they're an absolute steal!

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Monitor 9, PSB Stratus Bronze
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond charland   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2000]
Strength:

they play rediculously loud without a hint of distotion

Weakness:

none

Well let me start this review by saying that i have been a fan of definitive products since sandy gross first made the split from polk audio, and started the company I bought the first pair of definitives ever made the bp 10s now known as the 10b . I feeel there is simply nothing in this speakers class in this price range. The huge soundstage these speakers create simply must be heard to be beleived. With music or movies the sound is REAL and startling. I have these speeakers hooked up to a dolby digital - dts preamp and the amp that is driving these speakers is a beautiful carver tfm35 250 watt per channel amp. i am also running the awesome powerfield 1500 subwoofer by definitive. HEY GUYS THIS ONE IS A NO BRAINER, IF YOU WANT THE REAL HOME THEATER EXPERIENCE AND YOU DONT WANT TO BREAK THE BANK BUY DEFINITIVE PRODUCTS THEY ARE BUILT TO LAST AND WORTH EVERY PENNY>

Similar Products Used: paradigm monitor 5 , jbl lx22, klipsh kg 3.5,definitive tech dr7, definitive tech bp 10.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bidyut   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2002]
Strength:

Good power handling and good clean sound.

Weakness:

None so far

I don't know why people review when they have no idea what they are talking about like the person below. Worst is they just like that give stars. No reason for so ever. Also to show igonraance they type something more like BP5 which never even exist.

Like the very other below except the immediate below person, I love these speakers for the reasons already mentioned.

I just wanted to post this just to tell that don't post it just beacuse you have never seen it or used it.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Interlude I30
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond Charland   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 02, 2000]
Strength:

smooth addicting sound able to handle loads of power

Weakness:

none

Well this is my second post for these speakers, not because anything has changed but because I love them so much that I had to buy another pair for surround duty. The soundfiels that they throw for surround duty is every bit as sexy and enveloping as they are as mains. I am totally in love with these speakers and as I said before, This is a no brainer if you want high quality sound at a price that wont make you remortgage the house get out and hear what youve been missing. GET OUT AND BUY DEFINITIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: paradigm jbl boston acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com