Dali 808 Floorstanding Speakers

Dali 808 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3-way speaker, 2x8" woofer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Dec 08, 2018]
bjorno


Strength:

I have owned them for almost twenty years and they just get better. In those 20 years I have owned 2 NAD 317 amplifier and one 326. I have just changed to C 328 amplifier and ad a sub woofer. The sound is just amazing. Very happy.

Weakness:

None that I have experienced.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2018]
joaocoelho


Strength:

Very good all-rounders. At this price level, its hard to find anything better. Good sound stage, deep bass, no distortion whatsoever when you play them loud.

Weakness:

They need a powerful amp to really shine and show their potencial. To play dry and firm, anything above 100W per channel will do the trick. These are big & heavy speakers. Don't even think about using them in a small room/confined space, those dual bass-reflex drivers need space to 'breathe'.

Price Paid:
800
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2002
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Apr 18, 2010]
Eddy
Audio Enthusiast

Awesome... great sounds. Doesn't get any better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 25, 2003]
Julian K
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

For me a great all rounder, good transitions between frequenicies.

Great speaker, more than I could havasked for. They replaced a set of Bose 901 Series IV`s.

Similar Products Used:

Bose 601 + 701

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2000]
chris
Audiophile

Strength:

nothing realy

Weakness:

treble, slow bass

these speakers are only suited for party`s n stuff, dont even think about using em on a hifi setup. they SUCK on any music played low.
the treble got a HORRIBLE flat sound. sounds like a damn tin-can. also to sharp.
i bough a pair of PSB image5t instead. cause these only belong in the junk!
hive em!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 12, 2000]
Jukka Pekkarinen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

A great choise, if you don't got a separate subwoofer.
Balanced high and low sounds.

Weakness:

Nothing comes in mind.

I have been very satisfied to my 808.
The speaker pair doesn't cost too much.
Dali 808 is a good choise if you are looking for home theather main speakers or you have a stereo system for listening music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 20, 2000]
Andy Philipp Gøttig
Audiophile

Strength:

Crisp, clear, good dynamics and punchy bass response. Price only $330 a piece in Denmark.

Weakness:

For the price I don’t see any real weakness. (Might break your ribs).

One thing Dali has always understood is to give people what they want! That means that they don’t need great technologies to make a good speaker, no: simply good sound. Whit this speaker Dali has made clear what they stand fore (and they did it in way, so that you can feel it in your chest daammm….).

To those out there who doesn’t know this speaker: The DALI 808 is a three-way, four-driver, dual bass reflex design featuring the 1" soft dome tweeter specially developed for the Dali Blue Series and a customized 5" midrange unit in a sealed, tubular chamber for effective resonance control. With two air-cooled long-throw 8" bass drivers, the DALI 808 is capable of handling large amounts of amplifier power. The cabinet is made from MDF, which is very “death” material. With 91db sensitivity, recommended amplifier power on 150 watt and a SPL on 112db there is fun fore the whole family.

Dali 808 is a very pleasant speaker to listing to; it has a very outstretched sound image. This loudspeakers strength is its great stereo perspective, which to my ear is very précis. Even when you play loud, the 808 keep a rather undistorted and stable sound image. The bass is detailed and controlled and good integrated as a part of the 808’s total sound expression.

Okay, I will admit that this speaker isn’t perfect. If you want clean sound there are better speakers at the price level, like the B&W DM603S2. But there aren’t many speakers out there, which are better all-rounders then this, (at the price of course) if you also want to make a reasonable SPL. If you only hear Jazz and Classical music don’t bay this, but if you like dance, rock or techno and you do not want to spend a million on speakers these are definitely worth a listen. Oh’ yes I said they weren’t perfect, they lack control sometimes, and the bass could be faster, the midrange can also be a little hard on the ears, but still fore the price they are great.

Dali 808 offers good home cinema performance, whit good impact. They fit great in a high power home cinema, but fore the more serious home cinema I would go for another brand or another series from Dali, maybe.

Compared to Cerwin-Vega 808 lacks control in the bass area, but the Dali’s are made fore more then just SPL. So as a powerful speaker only, they are great to.

With a good amplifier in the back, and some good cables Dali 808 is the ticket to many years of listening pleasure. Hear it next time you drop by your HI-FI store.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 25, 2001]
Eddie
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great for all kinds of music! plays loud if it has to

Weakness:

bass could have been better.

Dali, you have done some serious work here! These are great, at least with my technics system. Have used them for more than 2 years, and could not dream about changing.
this is far better than i imagined, havent heard the new 8008.

Similar Products Used:

Some technics speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 1998]
John Bill
an Audio Enthusiast

I got to hand it to Dali, they have really outdone themselves with these speakers. The bass is crisp and clear and so is the midrange... It works perfectly with my Yamaha RX-V595RDS. Recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Feb 21, 1999]
Phil

I would like to know if these speakers are good enough to warrant not buying a sub in the near future?I have a DSP-A1 amp
What are the cost of these speakers in Canadian Dollars?
Thank you

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com