Dali 505 Floorstanding Speakers

505

2-way floorstanders 2x6,5" mid/bass + 1" tweeter

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
biliescu   AudioPhile [Mar 09, 2010]

This is indeed a fantastic speaker. It is a great speaker whether or not one takes into account the price, but even more so if one does. It presents a wonderful soundstage with very good detail and very true instrument and vocal timbre. It is very easy to drive and pours an extremely convincing sound. The better the gear feeding them the better the result. A special mention goes to the textile tweeter which is detailed and smooth and is responsible for the amazing clarity and naturalness of the voices and wooden instruments. I listen to a lot of classical music and is just hair-raising to hear the strings through these speakers. And that includes all strings, including the big basses. Which brings us to the other special mention: the base response is excellent. Place them right and you will indulge into detailed, deep, and correct bass.

These speakers don't promise much when you look at them or when you see the price, but what a great hidden treasure they are. Addictive sound from a modest worker in the field of audiophilia.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steven B   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 18, 2009]

I have hooked these speakers on 3 totally different amplifiers (Yamaha, NAD and Marantz) and on none of them they sound good!

Best in rooms that are not too small and they can go very loud, even with a 2 x 50 Watt amplifier...

There is very good bass, but almost no midrange and the high tones are irritating!

So I wouldn't advise them to anyone! I've used these speakers only 1 year and bought some B&W's...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
mashimaro   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2007]
Strength:

Cheap. Discrete appearance. Warm, listener friendly sound. Easy to drive (92dB).

Weakness:

A bit too small for large rooms.

Great sounding, inexpensive speakers. I like their warm sound. I wouldn't use them in a very large room though, but for small and medium sized rooms they are terrific.
I use a Harman/Kardon AVR30 to drive them.

Similar Products Used: Jamo Studio 180 (Worst speaker Ever!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Morten Kansy   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2002]
Strength:

good dynamik bass at music, very good alround speaker and can play very loud if you have the power.

Weakness:

none compared to the price.

I bought these speakers 4 years ago. my demands were cheap, good quality and good looks. my dad has a set of Dali 7 whicjh is now almost 20 years old and they sound great. so i ordered a magasin from Hifi-klubben in Ã…rhus. i read it and saw the dali 505, when i saw the price, the specs and the review of it, i couldn't get to Ã…rhus quick enough. i listened to them, compared them to the 606 and there wasn't much dout, so i bought them. a good idea is to have good thick cables, as thick as possible, i use 5,22mm2 i'm now using them in my home theater which is Yamaha rxv-496rds Yamaha cdx493 sony dvps325 yamaha yst-sw160 dali 505 dali sr5 rcf center and this sounds great together. Gladiator and dvd at DTS sound awsomm. Pearl Habor when they bomb the Habour, wowww what a rush. just one last thing BUY THEM! you wont be disapointed, if you have good sence for quality. by the whay, one of my friends has a set of JBL LX 80, which costs 2,5 times more than mine, but the sound isn't 2,5 times better, not at all.

Similar Products Used: 606, QLN something.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tomek Skura   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 1999]

Dali 505 are 34" tall floorstanders using two 6,5" bass/mid and one 1" soft dome tweeter speakers, rear bass reflex .I like these speakers very much, use them in my system over a year now.
They need at least 100 hours of "Burning time" but after that they are great. They need to be placed min 15" from a rear wall - otherwise the bass is boomy. Although not very neutral, the sound is well balanced and 505s are very dynamic.I tried them with Yamaha, Technics and JVC budget equipment and they are at least good in all low/mid priced systems. More natural and dynamic than KEF Coda 9 I had before.Good all-rounders for those who want the music dynamic and well balanced, and like to listen to loud music.
4 stars, as Dali 606 costing $50 more are better (in midrange).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Bram van der Wal   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2001]
Strength:

OOOWWWWW....what a phat bass does come from those speakers! Also the highs en mids are very clear and in balance with the bass.

Weakness:

none so far, except the time to play them in will take some time (300 Hours), but that's worth it :-)

Good alround speakers for Home Theater and also for music. I mostly listen to Dance and Pop, but also to musical sounds such as Santana and Supertramp. These baby's handle everything!
For now I don't need a Subwoofer. That can wait some time longer, after I have moved to a bigger house. The invasion at Normandië from the DVD Saving Privat Ryan was so overwhelming. I realy thought I was in the middle of the fight.

For this money you can't buy better.

Similar Products Used: Listened to the Dali 5005 and 6006, but these were not any better. Save some money!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Audy Barr   an Audiophile [Oct 05, 1999]

In the end this has to be the most awe inspiring speaker I have ever heard ( and I include JM labs Utopia's). It has only 2 speakers in each enclosure, a soft dome tweater and midrange/bass speaker that is rear ported. I almost gave up on getting this speaker to work musically with the high definition I am used to. The secret was two fold. Out of the box the speaker is crisp, clear, and consise..very British in sound..Tanoy like but with out the harshness, ..BUT..it lacked fulness, openess of sound and the deep rich exacting base that I wanted. The sound stage was somewhat collapsed vertically as well. I bi-wired with Kimber 8 cable and this dramatically increased the soundstage. I played it continously for a week ( 150 hrs) and it did not change all that much. I moved them to within 6" of the wall and out as far as 3' ...no rich base and no openess of sound. At 250 hrs I was ready to take them back....the only thing that kept me doing so was my dealer ( Loyality Sound ) who wanted me to keep at it, and the fact they had the most wonderful crisp clear sound in the upper registers.
Now, at almost 400 hrs I played one last card at wow has it come to-gether. I lowered the rear spikes 1/2 inch lower than the front and does this speaker now perform !!!!! they are located 9' from my chair and 7' apart. They are angled into the room so that the nearest corner of each speaker is 17" from the rear wall and the other corner is 18". Now these speakers have unbelievable depth and resolution. The base is awe-inspiring...deep ( on a test disk...30HZ)and pronounced without being boomy like a sub....and so crisp and clear. The three dimensional sound is the best I have ever heard at any price and the richness...wow.....

It is no wonder thou that so many people have fallen in love with the speaker initially and then given up on it for lack of a full base sound.....it needs at least 400 hours of hard play time to break in....but boy is it worth it...I do not know how one can excellerate this process, and like most of us, one wants to hear it before one buys it, but unless you happen upon a shop that has had one playing for 6 months on demo, how do you really hear what it is capable of.

Currently running Acoustic 107 center, Kimber cable and bi-wired through out..Marantz SR-18 ( expensive, yes...but absolutly beyond Dennon , Yamaha, Parasound, and most seperates I have owned), Marantz CD67SE, and Toshiba 2109 DVD and JBL 1200 Sub with Yamaha rears.

I encourage each and every one of you before you spend any money on any speaker at any price, listen to and try a set Acoustic Energy 505's ( do not confuse this brand with Energy or Acoustic Research...check out their home page..!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Svein Holmefjord   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 03, 2000]
Strength:

Volume ,

Weakness:

sound quality , mids , highs , bass ..

if you want to own a speaker that plays pop and rock loud , and is cheap , this is the speaker for you , if u wan i bit of soundquality ,they are not , Try the suite series , thats good stuff ,

Similar Products Used: Dali suite 1.5 , dali suite 2.5 , Paradigm Titan v2 , b&w dm603 , ..
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
John Warmolts   Audiophile [Aug 18, 2000]
Strength:

Good

Weakness:

No

Very allround

Similar Products Used: Marantz pm66se Ken Ishiwata and st 48 and cd67MK II
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com