Cerwin Vega VS 150 Floorstanding Speakers

Cerwin Vega VS 150 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Bass reflex - 15" woofer, 6.5" mid, 1" tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 70  
[Jun 17, 2020]
sgallup


Strength:

Effortless, clear, precise bass at any volume. I can tell the difference between CD and mp3's which typically have a high pass filter. The mids are clear, and the highs are non fatiguing.i have had these since 1996 and would never give them up. At the 20 year mark I replaced the foam rubber surrounds with an OEM kit and the look brand new!

Weakness:

Extremely large and heavy, these need to be treated like furniture.

Price Paid:
1,000
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1996
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 29, 2020]
ddank


Strength:

If you know anything about great sound this is the speaker to have. Every note is heard in it's best clarity especially the bass lows. These babies are the closes sounding speakers to an car audio system's low notes. If you're a basshead like myself you know the low notes I'm talking about. I myself listen to rap r&b and occasionally subwoofer test tones. Believe me in the right acoustical room these boys will hit like any concert hall or big time club venue. The sounds from these still outperform speakers made currently today. Definitely worth the$899 I paid for them back in 1995 from Circuit City back in the day. It's hard to describe the amount of low bass frequencies that come from these things. The only way to word a description is to say: THESE MOTHERFUCKERS DON'T PLAY with a voice of you taking a constipated dumb. The bass is so so so clear. Would never give these up. They are loved second only to my kids.

Weakness:

The only weakness is the weight of these bad boys. You will need two ppl two move these.

Price Paid:
899
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1995
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2019]
bigdeals1954


Strength:

Running with a vintage Marantz 2330B. Sharp crisp sound. You can literally hear every instrument

Weakness:

I can’t find @ny. They do need power and lots of room for maximum benefit

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 16, 2019]
TUtley


Strength:

These sound incredible with full depth of sound even at low volumes. I bought mine from a friend for $150 and they needed the foam on the woofers replaced. I spent $23 on a repair kit from simplyspeakers.com and they have a simple instructional video that made the fix a breeze. They sound amazing! They are block rockers for sure. I kept blowing integrated amps up from running to long at too much volume so I bought a crown Power Tech 1 that is exactly what I needed. Granted most people don't have concert sound and volume in their living room but I'm an audio junkie!🤪

Weakness:

I haven't found a weakness other than underpowering, you can over power all day and they take the abuse as long as it's clean power!

Price Paid:
150
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1983
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2018]
Steve
Audio Enthusiast

I have owned Klipshorns jbl l100s etc but my cv vs 150s excel in all things musical. I love them either low in volume or wake the dead loud. They are currently powered by a pair of Ati 1502s and i have no intention of ever replacing them. Highly recommended

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 04, 2016]
Nathan
AudioPhile

I have had these speaker for over 20 years now and they sound just as amazing as the day that I bought them, better even now that the speakers are well broken in. Listen to all types of music but mainly rock n roll as god intended lol....simply one of the best purchases I have ever made...i paid over a thousand dollars 20 years ago which for me was a huge deal but they were worth every penny and continue to rock to this day....I love my Cerwins and would never part with them...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2015]
Patrick
Audio Enthusiast

AWESOME! is all I can say about the VS-150's. You definitely need to feed them at least 150 watts to get the best sound. They will play very well with a smaller amp but the more power the better. I am using a Kenwood KR-9600 which puts out 160 watts per chanel and they sound great even at low volumes. I hear all the people who love KLIPSCH talk about the tweeters not being very clear and that these are basicly a garage, party speaker. I couldnt disagree more. I own a pair of KLIPSCH Heresy, and KLIPSCH KG 4'S. The Cerwin Vega VS 150's stack up to these and put out a fantastic sound. The BASS is awesome and no sub woofer is needed. My Klipsch need a sub to compliment them. I guess it is the type of music I like that makes me a big fan of the Cerwin Vega VS 150's. I love 70's FUNK and FUNK n ROLL I call it. The CARS, DAZZ BAND, etc. anything with a good beat. Oh well that is my two cents. I highly recommend these you will not regret it. Only down side is the Cheezy cabinets. I am going to put new Maple Veneer over the top of the existing cabinets and poly them natural. Peace Out.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2015]
Craig
Audio Enthusiast

I purchased a pair of Cerwin Vega VS150s at a garage sale. I hooked them up to my Pioneer SX-1250 and they sound good until the volume gets to about 1/3 when the Bass really kicks in all of a sudden I have these LOUD "Pop" or "snap" sounds coming out with every kick of Bass. Just so disappointed I don't know what to do. Is it the cabinets being loose although I can't see if the backs are loose or not. Is it the receiver itself? Any advice would be greatly appreciated because I can feel that Bass starting to tremble the floor and I want to just rock the f@#k right out but can't! Ugh! Help!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 12, 2015]
David H
Audio Enthusiast

I was lucky and picked these up at a yard sale for $10.
Thought I would strip them and sell parts. Once I tested them, wow!!
I have serial # 06 and 07.
You need space to play these. I live on an acre so I don't bother anyone
and don't let them breathe when the wife is home.
I have run them on a 77 Sony 100 watt amp (silver), a JBL pro amp 300 watt and
currently a 160 watt Luxman receiver. I never get over 40% since they are so loud,
yet clear. Bass is fantastic but mids and highs can be overpowering also.
These are 4 ohm and need a real power source, not a AV modern receiver unless built
for 4 ohm load.
I have a large room, about 34 by 30.
I'm running B&W DM14's on the other side when I want a change. (Less volume/wife home)
I've been through 40 speaker sets and the VS-150's are keepers.!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2015]
Rune
Audio Enthusiast

i have cerwin vega vs 150 too its best to use 5ampere slow blow they play good lows and i am gonna have them all my life de bad ting is my tweeters are blown so i have to get new tweeters and refoam or a recone set and an stronger amp an i got the new sl5m by cerwin-vega so i got tweets till i got vs-150 tweets then its good i love this series best <3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 70  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com