Cerwin Vega VS 120 Floorstanding Speakers

VS 120

3 way bass reflex, 12-in woofer, 4-in mid, 1-in tweeter

User Reviews (81)

Showing 1-10 of 81  
Heem   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 29, 2016]

Cerwin-Vega! VS-120 Specs

Type: 12" 3-Way (12", 4", 1")
Frequency Response: 28Hz - 22kHz
Power Handling: 5/250 watts
Sensitivity: 97db
Nominal Impedance: 4 ohms
Crossover Points: 300Hz, 6kHz
Dimensions: 32" x 16.5" x 14.75"
Weight: 57 lbs. each

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dee Based   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2016]

I picked these up in almost mint condition for $75/pair in the parking lot of a Jack in the Box in Ahwatukee, Az. Seller was moving to Texas and didn't want to move them halfway across the country. When I saw them in person - I understood why! They are 32" high, 16.5" wide, 14.75" deep and weigh 57 lbs. EACH. After hauling them upstairs to my apartment and hooking them up to a Pioneer Elite receiver, I remembered why I love Cerwin-Vegas so much!

These speakers are incredible. The amount of bottom end they put out just makes everything sound wonderful. Other speakers sound thin and weak, like something from a transistor radio. To me the C-V bass does not overpower the rest of the music, just provides a much fuller, more rich bottom end, all the way down to 28Hz - that's lower than some subs!

These are 20 year old speakers, so the capacitors in the crossovers need to be replaced. I'm using a combo of Obbligatos for the tweet caps, Daytons for the mids, and Bennic electrolytics for the power caps. I'm also replacing the tweeters, which are the weak spot in this otherwise stellar speaker. If you get a set of these, you will experience music like never before. Oh yeah, and since Cerwin-Vega! bills itself as "The LOUD speaker company" I should mention these get LOUD. Like, really loud. Like, shake the building loud. And sound great (low distortion at high volumes) doing it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rico martin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2016]

This is my second pair of cerwin vegas my first pair got stolen my Car speakers also got stolen, how ever I fun mine On a 300 watt per channel Kenwood amp and the Vegas kick butt!! They sound much better than my Bose speakers, I was surprised yet the bass response is just awsom!! I love cerwin Vega period!! Only problem I have is that they don't print brochures, so I can't read on them any more? My vs 120's are great!! I wish I could find another pair??? Thank you keep building them please.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cvfan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2014]

Hi there. I am happy to say I'm the proud owner of a set of VS120'S. I also have the 100's and the 80's. The ve5c helps even everything out with movies along with the ve-28 subwoofer for the lows. The overall experience is rather thrilling at least for myself.
These speakers sound great! I love bass but have more than ill ever need till im in a house. (Live in a complex. :-/ These perform well at all levels of audio. I can honestly say as well that yiu would need to spend much more $ to be getting much better of a sound. Great speakers and Very very satisfied.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2014]

I picked up these Cerwin-Vega Vs-120s with an onkyo 2 channell amp and a Kenwood home theater amp for a total of 20 bucks which I think is a total steal!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sheldon   AudioPhile [Dec 13, 2013]

I run my VS-120 with an SAE MARK IXB preamp to a QSC 1310 power amp. That's up to 375 conservative watts per channel. The gain on the amps is set at 6db and I have never the SAE above 50%. The Vega's sound sweet as the days I bought them. I have boss 901's and acustimas 5's, Infiniti's, definitive technologies and Celestions. All bought after Vegas and I still listen to the SV-120 the most. They are great for all types of music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
big mark   AudioPhile [Aug 04, 2012]

i run my 1994 vs 120's from an onkyo 304 pre amp into 2 mono mc intosh 1951 mc 30 tube amps at 4 ohms pushing 33 true watts.14 guage wires iv'e had the amps for 40 years every ten years or so they will go thru a tube or so but i've never turned the macs above1/2 gain or the onkyo beyond 1/2 gain can't be in the room with' em listen to eric clapton live at royal albert hall and see what i'm talkin about........30' x 30' room........dare ya to kill em.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tracy Zoller   AudioPhile [Jul 27, 2012]

Best Godamn Speakers on the Planet!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2011]

Got these for $10 at a yard sale. Yes, a yard sale. I replaced an RCA surround system with these, and what a difference! I have these in a 600 sq ft apartment, and could probably vibrate the entire building. I like these better than a set of Bose 301s I used to have, and for 15+ years old, they have held up well!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2011]

I bought my VS-120's from a local through the want ads for 35$. They look like they are probably about 10 or 15 years old. When I first hooked them up to an older pioneer receiver I heard things in my music that I never heard before. They sound great all around. One of the surrounds on the subs is a little beat up but thats okay because I run them with a 15 CV subwoofer. These speakers sound great and get so much louder than they need to, which is good for doing work around the house when you still want to hear your music. I am currently running them with an Onkyo TX 811. I dont know how much power it puts out but it is beyond enough. If I have my computer volume at 80 percent, I dont need my receiver past 50 percent and I fill the whole house with music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 81  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com