Cerwin Vega Re-25 Floorstanding Speakers

Cerwin Vega Re-25 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

10" Woofer and 1" Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Nov 03, 2019]
tehilla


Strength:

Very good bass, good mids and highs they image nicely and can be loud without distortion, certainly not audiophile quality ( according to my neighbor) but it more than adequately gets the job done.

Weakness:

I cannot pinpoint any other weakness than the mids and highs could be better.

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 03, 2019]
tehilla


Strength:

Very good bass, good mids and highs they image nicely and can be loud without distortion, certainly not audiophile quality ( according to my neighbor) but it more than adequately gets the job done.

Weakness:

I cannot pinpoint any other weakness than the mids and highs could be better.

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2015]
shane murray
AudioPhile

These are an excellent set of speakers. I run an Pioneer 821 K amp and It does a marvelous job... Picked these speakers up for $40 bucks off Craigslist. Fresh new reform kit en route, will keep these speakers forever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 08, 2012]
Eric
Casual Listener

These speakers BANG. The sound quality sounds great and also the bass is excellent! You will NOT be dissapointed !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2010]
harpsm
Audio Enthusiast

As others have said, these speakers feature excellent, tight bass, but somewhat muddy mids and somewhat shrill highs. As such, they are excellent for percussion, electronic, and hard rock, but some weaknesses show for more organic and delicate sounds (vocal music, piano), though classic jazz and orchestral music still sound pretty darn good. The bass is deep enough that a subwoofer is not necessary, but a good powered sub will still make a real improvement with bass-heavy music or as part of a home theater. Being Cerwin Vegas, these things will happily play loud. Even powered by my 65 watt-per-channel receiver, neither the speakers nor the receiver strain to fill a 500+ square foot room.

My only comparisons for these speakers are large vintage bookshelf models from Infinity, Boston Acoustics, and Spendor. The CVs are in the same ballpark of sound quality, but with much fuller bass and a much greater capacity for high volume.

Bottom line: these speakers do a great job of making you feel the music, and even though they're not audiophile grade, only the most discerning ears could find significant flaws in their sound. At the going used rate of around $150, they're a great deal for music and/or as fronts in a surround sound system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 23, 2007]
Bluedenmant
AudioPhile

Strength:

Bass! Build quality. Woofer surrounds look like they will last a long time on these drivers.

Weakness:

Shrill midrange/tweeters. Unbelievably so.

I'm a bit baffled at most of these reviews for one reason only. No matter what you paid (hi/low) for these speakers, what really stands out to my listening ears is the disparity between the excellent quality of the 10" woofers and the mid/highs. I'm still pleasantly surprised at how well the bass performs. But the mid/hi's are exceedingly shrill; and that's the best word I can use to describe what I'm hearing - shrill; painfully so. You have to adjust the treble down to nothing to withstand the piercing sound of the mid-range/tweeter speakers. I don't understand how CV got one so right and the others so wrong. Luckily you can adjust (like Reviewer #5 mentioned) the dynamics w/equalizer, but you really should not have to.

Similar Products Used:

As this was for speaker rating, I will only list speakers currently being utilized:
System A:
2 Large Advent (classics) for Centers
2 Polk Lsi-9 for Fronts
2 AR-3a (classics) for Rears
2 OHM-L speakers for additional Centers

System B:
2 CV RE-25
2 AR-38b
2 Infinity Qs
2 OHM R-2 speakers

Value Rating: based on what I paid for them
Overall Rating: 3 is best I can give for reasons stated.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 01, 2006]
saldfsdkja
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Powerful quality bass, cosmetically rich, nice clearity with little distortion at high volume levels, even more exceptional at minimal volume.

Weakness:

The Re’s midrange, and highs lack quality mostly apparent with classical. Only weak when compared to high-end audiophile equipment. Overall the Re's are excellent and the everyday audio enthusiast will cherish the moments listening to this speaker.

At first glance you quickly notice the sleek wood grains, quality construction, and beautiful finesse of Cherrie wood. Cosmetically superior to other tower speaker they provide a compliment to virtually any home décor.

When first listening to the Re's you quickly realize the pleasing sound at all ranges of volume, most notably at low or even extremely low decibels. This makes it perfect for late nights, apartments, or just great sounding everyday easy listening. As you increase the volume you notice the extreme clear non-boomy sound of the bass, not so spectacular midrange, and decent highs. Nevertheless the strengths of this speaker are quickly noticeable, the weaknesses however are a little more subtle but faintly apparent. Only holding the highest degree of skepticism can I even make a legitimate claim? My problem is apparent for me due to the fact of my wide range of listening genres’. I see no problem unless I listen to classical music. There is where I realize the areas of improvement.

Current setup:
Paradigm monitor 40’s L&R
Paradigm cc-450 center
Vega Re-25 L&R rear
Svs sub
Kenwood KC-X1 receiver
(2) Carver cube Amps
Kenwood M-3d amp

I still have not had the courage to part with my Re’s they provide great sound and exceptional longevity, they will however have to move to my room, because they do not contend with high end big boys. If you can find a pair for fewer than 200 and have space, I believe them to be a great addition.

Please feel free to share your views with me, and give me feedback as to whether this article assisted you.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm monitor 40’s L&R
Paradigm cc-450 center
Vega Re-25 L&R rear
Svs sub
Kenwood KC-X1 receiver
(2) Carver cube Amps
Kenwood M-3d amp
Hk recievers,
Athena,
Miller and Kreisel subs,
Sony, Etc. Etc.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 14, 2006]
kfilly
AudioPhile

Strength:

Bass, bass, and more bass. Fairly smooth and balanced.

Weakness:

Cerwin Vega does an awesome job with bass. I would like to see them improve mid and high tones a little bit.

Good audio speakers! They play bass even at low sound levels. They handle a decent amount of power. They do not distort even at high volume. They do a decent job at high and mid tones. The speakers produce a low frequency range considering there is only a single 10" in each speaker.

Customer Service

Never needed it

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer speakers with 15 inch woofers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2006]
Tyler McClure
AudioPhile

Strength:

Volume,
Clarity,
Power,
EVERYTHING!

Weakness:

They're about 50lbs...

I've had many sets of speakers. Bose, BIC Venturi, Kenwood, Alpine, and I have to say, these are the most powerful of all of mine, or maybe level with the Bose. The clarity of the sound is unreal. Total power, these are loud bad boys! If you want a great set of speakers, these are the way to go. I'm sad to say that I am trading them at a Pawn Shop, but in return I'm getting a new set, and a Randall Amplifier. I will miss these babies. If you ever get the chance, BUY THESE SPEAKERS!
10 OUT OF 10!

Similar Products Used:

BIC Venturi Formula 6 Spec II

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 07, 2004]
davewri2323
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

I live in a house that is not too close to anyone who would be bothered, Haven't exploded them yet.

Weakness:

Not designed for low level background music.

Saw them on the floor with some other speakers piled on top. I knew the owner was just clearing out his overstock and didn't know or care what the jewels really are capable of. Hooked them up to my Hafler TransNova,Onkyo P304 pre-amp and gemini CD-4000. Stunning sound! Everything you could ask for in a good small speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com