Cerwin Vega AT-15 Floorstanding Speakers

Cerwin Vega AT-15 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

15" Woofer, (2)5" Mid and 1" Tweeter (1987-1997)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[May 18, 2020]
kennneth willliams


Strength:

I bought my cerwin vegas AT100's in 1990 when I was station in Germany. I'm the original owner and still have them. They are just as loud and crisp as the day I bought them. And if you like base, those 15" subs definitely thump. I only made one improvement, I recovered the covers eith a outdoor plastic screening mesh used for scteen doors. I was tired of my cat clawing at the fabric. I'm pondering the thought of selling them.

Weakness:

The only weakness I can say is thst when I turned up my system pass 5, sll the pictures would fall off thr walls. I can also say my neighbors weren't too happy with me.

Price Paid:
440
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1990
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2020]
Waynehardt


Strength:

I had a set of Cerwin Vega AT-15's hooked up to a 12 watt portable stereo in 1984 while I was in the Army and the quality and clarity was so exceptional I never had to turn the volume up very high to fill my room in the barracks and most of the other guys usually had their stereos confiscated for excessive loud noise as I was told by the company commander while inspecting my room and thought they were extra refrigerators, also we had a party outside in the common area and this other guy hooked up his high powered Bose system so we had a competition and the Cerwin Vega AT-15's hooked up to a portable stereo won.

Weakness:

Some years later I had another set hooked up to a nice receiver and some time went by until my son was a toddler and pushed in all the cones and messed them up pretty good but now that he's older and wiser I ordered the recone kit.

Price Paid:
499.00
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1984
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 05, 2018]
TAGuy


Strength:

Strengths : BASS . Big beautiful deep musical BASS. The polycell tweeter too . Great imaging , if properly setup . Big power handling . Massive output . I have recapped the cross overs, added a 400Hz coil (1.6mH) to the woofer, reglued the back panel seams , lined the inside with Thermo King (like cheap dynamat) , fiddled with position, used a dsp parametric EQ, and gotten some of the best overall sound of any vintage hifi speaker I've ever heard. Other speakers used : RTR 280DR, JBL L100 , Infinity SM152 , Quantum Jr , and Quantum 3 , Pioneer HPM100 , Cerwin Vega DX7 , VS120 , XLS1515* (*Not even close)

Weakness:

Needs lots of power , despite high efficiency. Mids are not as good as highs and lows. Cabinet may develop glue seam cracks if moved , due to high weight , and internal pressure at high volume .

Price Paid:
300
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1985
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2018]
kraigmartin80


Strength:

I have a pair was lucky enough to buy them for 50$ so far they bump and shake the house love it. Im running them through a pioneer sx-1010 with an eq its the best pair I’ve had so far vs the other speakers ive owned over the years had them for about a year going on 2

Weakness:

Fuse goes quickly I think my amp puts out to much for them

Price Paid:
50
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[May 24, 2018]
Cerwin Vega lover


Strength:

I've owned them for three years had them professionally reconed and refomed I push them with a crown ce2000 660 rms watts a Channel and they take every bit of it if you want an amazing speakers that can take plenty of power that will rock your world look no further these are the speakers for you great clarity bass and Power these are simply amazing speakers I will never get rid of these speakers

Weakness:

There are no weaknesses

Price Paid:
150
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1991
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 24, 2018]
Cerwin Vega lover


Strength:

I've owned them for three years had them professionally reconed and refomed I push them with a crown ce2000 660 rms watts a Channel and they take every bit of it if you want an amazing speakers that can take plenty of power that will rock your world look no further these are the speakers for you great clarity bass and Power these are simply amazing speakers I will never get rid of these figures

Weakness:

There are no weaknesses

Price Paid:
150
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1991
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 18, 2017]
Bob
AudioPhile

I have owned many speakers over 45years . I have had a pair of at15's since 1988 . they have survived 4 receivers . and are still rockin . I had one grill fall apart due to a basement flooding about ten years ago. but both pair of speakers survived .and come out rockin .
if you ever get a chance and get lucky enough to come across a pair at a fair price they are worth buying .you wont be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 07, 2017]
Biggnikk
Audio Enthusiast

The Cerwin Vega! AT-15 is the best speakers system I have had the pleasure of hearing. Hands down.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 06, 2016]
Kevin
Audio Enthusiast

Using a kenwood kr-9600 receiver . Pair of cv at-15s . Also a pair of cv u-351s . Buried my ears in both sets of cv speakers at the same time and I have got to say to say they seemed equal . Don't under estimate the cv u-351s . These fat ice-box-speakers also rock . Also have some cv dx-7s that are smaller but impressive . Googled and built some app.44in. Strong stands for the at-15s& u-351s . I like the falling sound up like that . Gonna put some massive vintage electrovoices on line -c- on my kenwood receiver to mix up the sound for a change . Another cool deep bass nostalgic sound .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 04, 2016]
Matt
Audio Enthusiast

In 91, I wanted a system that I would have forever. I made the right choice. Onkyo integra and CW AT-15. I dare you to find a bad review on these speakers. Bass, bass, and more bass. I am only pushing 110 watts, they can handle over 400!. After 20 years I had the surrounds and voice coil replaced by licensed service center - I had my babies back!!! These speakers are truly one of a kind. Will never get rid of them. I paid a lot for them when the first came out, few hundred more to have them rebuilt - worth every penny.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 53  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com