Cerwin Vega Al-1000 Floorstanding Speakers

Al-1000

15" Woofer, 8" Mid and 1" Tweeter

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
J   AudioPhile [Feb 18, 2007]
Strength:

great cabinent, good low to mid volume sound, nice clean bass, low price

Weakness:

distorted high volume, low power handling, small magnet, bogus power rating, lacking mids and highs

These speakers are ok for the price, you get what you pay for. The sound is ok at low or moderate levels but the sound definately degrades at high volume. I removed one of the woofers and the magnet is relatively small, CV claims they handle "1000 watts peak", which we all know peak ratings are bogus, I'd rate them at 150-250 watts maybe, but I sort of remember CV telling me they were 400 watts continuous, hey it's been awhile. These are good entry level speakers, or if you want something big and intimidating looking, I wondered why such a huge "1000 watt" speaker would be so cheap, (under $1000 a pair), and you're really paying for a huge cabinent. I've tried several different amps, Ashly, Mackie, Crown, and compared them to many different speakers. I rate the Cerwin Vega AL-1000 as just ok, not bad, I don't regret buying them, they look great and sound ok. However I'd have been much more satisfied if they were 1000 watt continuous but they'd cost 2-3 times as much.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: none really
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Ketil   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 29, 2004]
Strength:

Just great sound. Bone-crushing bass :D

Weakness:

Ehh? Beg your pardon?

I bought these speakers used at a VERY cheap price, and haven't regretted a second. I used to own a pair of V-15F but these babies just run them over. I love the clarity in sound and the possibility to play loud as hell all night if I want to. NO other speaker can handle the beating these beauties do. I haven't got the words to describe it. You have to listen for yourself. Tight bass, open mid and a crisp high. Suits my music just GREAT! And I listen to almost everything. Pop, Techno, Classical etc.... I would recommend these speakers to anyone.

Similar Products Used: CW AT 100 CW VS-12 CW-E315 CW-V15-F Cerwin Vega DC 15
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ketil   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 29, 2004]
Strength:

Just great sound. Bone-crushing bass :D

Weakness:

Ehh? Beg your pardon?

I bought these speakers used at a VERY cheap price, and haven't regretted a second. I used to own a pair of V-15F but these babies just run them over. I love the clarity in sound and the possibility ro play loud as hell all night if I want to. NO other speaker can handle the beating these beauties do. I haven't got the words to describe it. You have to listen for yourself. Tight bass, open mid and a crisp high. Suits my music just GREAT! And I listen to almost everything. Pop, Techno, Classical etc.... I would recommend these speakers to anyone.

Similar Products Used: CW AT 100 CW VS-12 CW-E315 CW-V15-F Cerwin Vega DC 15
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wayne Newell   Casual Listener [Aug 20, 2003]
Strength:

Bass, clarity, everything

Weakness:

Idiots buying them and not playing the right music or knowing how to use them

I don't know what type of music people are playing on these speaker but they must be hearing impaired. These speakers are only bought for one purpose and that is to play loud and produce masses of deep bass which they have no problem doing. I am totally happy with them and of course anyone with any sense must realise that you can't power these with a flimsy amp. They are crystal clear and produce a sound worthy of their looks. If you want deep dirty bass then have a word with you AL1000 and they will provide enough to rattle the beam in your house.

Similar Products Used: NOTHING
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Friend   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2003]
Strength:

Deep bass, loudness and some detail after all

Weakness:

Doesn't comply with small amps and small rooms

I Bought this speaker for rock and electronic music, and this kinda music it plays with an "in-your-face-attitude". If you want to feel the music, use this speaker, but use it in a large room (+ 50 kvm) and use it with a powerful amp, or it might disappoint you. If you want deep bass sound and nice reproduction in an "normal" size room the Dali 505 (older model) or 5005 (blue) will do it better that al1000 (not as horribly loud though).

Similar Products Used: System Audio, Dali & B&W (floor speakers)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Harald Bjorkenes   AudioPhile [Feb 14, 2003]
Strength:

Non really.

Weakness:

Crispy tweeters, no bass ?? Cant get them to rock like they should. The cabinets are just to cheap. The foil is to thin.

Great speaker, but not for me. Very disapointed after listening to them for some time now. My amp is Pioneer VSX-2011 and a Yamaha power amp.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega DC15 , THESE RULE. KICK ASS. Cerwin Vega AT-100 ,
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
J Hoff   AudioPhile [Dec 04, 2002]
Strength:

It gives you a good quality feeling altough the design has been for ages.

Weakness:

None

In combination with NAD 208thx this is one hell of a system. I thought that this speaker is made for one thing,give you a pleasant experience and that`s exactly what it is.

Similar Products Used: There is nothing to compare with.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stonecarver2   AudioPhile [Apr 12, 2002]
Strength:

Tight not boomy base power handling bi-ampable

Weakness:

none

I had seen these when they first came out but were hard to find. I have been useing a pair of Cerwin Vega D9s since 1990 so I didn''t rush right out and get the Al''s and when I got the fever for them they were out of production.My D9''s are still in mint condition and I have never found anything to top them. I came accross a pair of AL''S in the news paper and got them from a guy that didn''t really know what they could do. I matched my Al''s up with a carver TFM 75 amp, the amp pushes 750 watts 8ohm and 1000 watts 4ohms.These speakers sound sweet and deadly powerfull. The bass is tight and quick, deep but not boomy. Treble is clean and crisp. I can see where some people say there harsh and don''t sound that great. I got lazy after we moved and didn''t hook up my main system and used another preamp with its bass & treble and it sounded good but not the same.Once I unpacked and reset up I realzed I wasn''t useing my equlizer. Like night to day the sound. I''ve lived with powerfull Cerwin Vega''s for so long that having the EQ. there just kind of got in the background.I rember when I got the d9''s I did the same to them with the EQ. and backed off the midrange. If you don''t they will rip your ears off at high power. The really cool thing about CV. speakers are that they take so little power to play loud but when you push them they only laugh and ask for more and boy do they make you here music like never before. If you have CV''s than you know what I mean and if you don''t go out and get them!!! The Al''s are something to behold, base that will throw you down and unlimited power.I have yet to hook up both Al''s and the D9''s at the same time.I think that I would blow the house up.But most of all If they did not sound great I would not love them no matter how loud they would play.

Similar Products Used: D9 Cerwin Vega''s E 715 Cerwin Vega''s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steen   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Midtone, bass

Weakness:

Nothing really. They are huge, but not as huge as my old A 316 Rs.

This is not model 2001; this is NOW! 2002. And it''s the AL 1002 we''re talking about. I''ve had some A 316 R for some 20 years, and there haven''t been many times, when I''ve heard anything better. One of those times when it DID happen, it was offcourse with a couple of CV beauties - the 1512 2. I knew I had to get these babies, but suddenly I realized that the AL 1000 was gonna reappear in a new version. So here I am, with a couple af AL 1002s, and I must say, that I''ve never heard anything as great! Especially the midtone turns me off, after listening to some mute midtone for something like 20 years. Wauuw. CV really devolved during the last years, but the same time they decided to keep with the heavy duty bass, that (in my oppinion) drives any kinda'' music. Without bass - no music! I wondered if my Denon PMA1560 (150 W)could manage these babies, but it sounds really great, and I can play fu***** loud for a long time without caring about the amplifier. I am planning on getting a Nad 218 THX though, but just as to be sure that nothing gets burned :) So. If you like are into bass, and you would like to hear what the midtone SHOULD sound like, buy the AL 1002s. But make sure you have enough power (amplifier) to get them going!

Similar Products Used: Havent used anything, but have heard a lotta'' stuff. Dalis, B&Ws, JBLs and KEFs, and there is no competition. The AL 1002s are much better in midtone and bass, and that really doesn''t matter which a
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jOHANN   Casual Listener [Mar 18, 2002]

paIR IT WITH cREST aUDIO 1000 WATT AT 8OHM STEREO YOULL SEE AND NO LONGER HEAR BUT FELL SOMETHING......

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com