Cerwin Vega A-316R Floorstanding Speakers

A-316R

User Reviews (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6  
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 2012]

Found 2 316r speakers on a curb. Took them home and they pound! Selling if anyone is interested.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 22, 2011]

I bought my 316r's in 1981 and they have been my main speakers for thirty years.I recently upgraded electronics to a NAD C165BEE and NAD C272 pre-amp,power amp combo.I always liked the 316r,but I never knew they could sound this good.With the NAD electronics the old C-V's sound so much more defined and accurate.In the high range the cymbals have more definition and no shrillness.Vocals are clear with great presence.Probably the most noticable improvement comes in the bass.The big 15" drivers on the 316r's used to be a little boomy...not any more!The bass is now tight and powerful.Every note of the bass guitar stands out and the kick drum hits you in the chest like a good house system in a live concert.
These are OLD speakers so I imagine you can pick a set up rather cheap.Matched with the right electronics the 316r's are impressive.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joel   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 22, 2010]

Cerwin Vega 316R speakers. I bought these speakers in 1981 and kept them until 2000 when my children were too young for me to play them any more. They are so big the were end tables for the couch. I used to put a 19 " tv on top of one of them. They were amazing and I gave them to my oldest sons friend who never even turned them on and got rid of them because he thought they were broken because they needed refoaming. The kids are grown and I finally replaced these withKlipsch RF82's which sound great with a full surround system, but pale in comparison in the music department compared to the Cv 316r's. I used to hook the cv's up to my stereo with a stereo vcr and play movies and the house used to shake when the bombs went off or the helidcopters flew by. Wish I still had them. I hope whoever ended up with them is enjoying them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jabber   AudioPhile [Jun 24, 2010]

Just got a set of vintage Cerwin Vega 316r'sand they are beyond amazing!!! Nothing can kill these! I bought them off my cousin (whose Dad bought them at a yard sale for 20 bucks) and he tested them on two Macintosh mc2300 + sansui AU7900, and they rock. I'm running a Sansui Integrated AU6900 and Phase Linear 400, and these speakers shake the whole room. One of the mids aren't working and the other one is scratchy, will need attention, but it still pounds. I have a pair of Pioneer CS703's 15in. and the Vegas kill them with ease! I will never part with these and will be on the look out for more cerwin vegas!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tony   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2008]
Strength:

Extreme Bass
Very efficient, you don't need big power, just a 45 watt steroe will sound huge.
Beautiful Walnut cabinet
Piece of furniture your friends will envy
Good cross-over setup, easy to hear the different attenuation levels, even with my blown ears.
Re-foaming and re-coning available and even when done still have the same sound, and bot expensive when you consider the value.
Cabinets can also be re-finished easily, just use light sandpaper or steel wool and re-oil them. Don't sand too much the veneer is thin!

Weakness:

Big, these thing are pieces of furniture.
Your wife will put candles and flower pots on them that leave rings. (see above though)
Anything you put on top of them will eventually slide off and smash.

These speakers are meant to be CRANKED!
I bought them as soon as I heard them blasting out Loverboy, The Kid Is Hot Tonight, in the sound room of the store. They were hooked up to a 1000watt Adcom pure power amp and it was LOUD.
They are listed as unlimited power rating and only need as little as 1 watt to move them.
When I got them I purchased a Sherwood 70 watt Stereo Amp for temporary power and ended up keeping till this day because it sounded so good on these speakers. (I now run a Pioneer VSXD903S to them, it's awsome too)
These speakers have neve popped or crackled, EVER, I have friends with Bose, Infinity, Energy, and even Martin Logans that I've heard popping at high bass levels. These Vegas never have...Ever!
The finish of the cabinet is beautiful, they don't make them like this any more.
The sound is very omni directional as long as they are placed across a corner, then the bass can come out of the huge port in the back and flood out and around the room, the highs are also projected out of the rear facing horns up each wall giving a lot of dimension to the sound.
I'll be burried with these bad boys.

Customer Service

Cerwin Vega has been good, I had the 316 r's re-foamed about 3 years ago and they look like new again.
I had a problem with my CLSC15S Sub amp not auto switching on and they sent me a new amp in 3 days, I installed it myself. To save me the shipping they paid to ship the old one back too.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega HTCTR center (1)
Cerwin Vega CLSC15S Subs (2)
Cerwin Vega CLCS 6 Surrounds (4)
Cerwin Vega AT-8 Bookshelf (2)
Cerwin Vega VS-8 Bookshelf (2)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2008]
Strength:

Die hard, I don't think you can blow these.
Extreme bass
High efficiency, takes very little power to move them
Very omni directional as long as placed across a corner.
Good crossover setup, easy to hear different attenuation.
Can be re-foamed and re-coned at reasonable prices.
Beautiful Walnut veneer cabinets can also be re-finished easily. (Don't sand too deep, fine sand only, the veneer is thin)

Weakness:

Big, these are a good size speaker, they become a piece of furniture your wife will put candles and flower pots on, that leave rings in the finish.

I've owned these since 1981, brand new.
I bought them as soon as I heard them blasting out Loverboy, The Kid Is Hot Tonight in a sound room of the store.
These speakers are meant to be CRANKED. They can take any kind of power (the book says unlimited) and I have never heard them pop or crackle...ever, my friends have Bose, Energy, Boston Acoustics, even Martin Logans and Infinity and I've heard all of them crap out, never my Vegas!
These speakers deliver the lowest Bass you'll ever be able to hear, your ears will rattle befor the speakers will.
For the best sound they have to be placed across a corner, this gets the bass moving around the room and the trebles coming out of the rear horns up the walls.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega AT-8 Bookshelf
Cerwin Vega HTCTR Center
Cerwin Vega HT-6 surrounds
Cerwin Vega CLS-15 Sub
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jphil   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

Bass Handling power Sound clarity in the high

Weakness:

VERY big Heavy thin inside wiring

This is one of the best speakers I have ever own. the other one that I have are JBL LT-80. They don't even give a little competition to my cerwin vega....

Similar Products Used: JBL LT-80 Infinity Paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kjell   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 1999]

An old pair but do they kick the sh_t out of the newer modells .. and on top of that they can eaven work good on other material than bass and disco ..3 stars on all material five stars when you impress your pals ;o)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-6 of 6  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com