Celestion Ditton Floorstanding Speakers

Celestion Ditton Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Discontinued Series

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 43  
[Jul 24, 2020]
drbarry1


Strength:

I have had my Celestion Ditton 200s for 35 plus years and have still not found another pair of speakers that have the the same combination of neutrality, low distortion, dynamic range and stereo image that these do. As "natural" a sounding pair of speakers as you will ever hear.

Weakness:

They are a little wanting in deep bass response as nd benefit greatly when combined with an appropriate subwoofer.

Price Paid:
350
Model Year:
1984
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2019]
flemmingr


Strength:

Hi friends, I have such a set in mint quality, I have tweets lying in my closet. as my speakers are modified with Dynaudio D28AF. And that sounds fantastic. that customized in the home with measuring equipment.

Weakness:

The ornigal tweeters

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1985
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 25, 2017]
colin
AudioPhile

Have recently purchased a pair of Ditton 332s .
Ive owned (along with many others speakers) the 44s 551s & 33s & a friend has the 442s Which ive always liked when listening, So when these came up for sale i jumped at the chance of buying them.
I own a M520 modified (kt88s) valve amp (about 38 watts per channel) & the top of the range ES Sony cd player to give you an idea of my Gear. The detail that these can retrieve is astounding for a vintage speaker. I cant stop listening to these and I think it may be a long time before i decide to sell them.
IMO you would have to spend mega bucks to equal the same sound from a modern speaker.
I recommend anyone who sees them up for sale at a fair price to Buy them, as I know you will be amazed as I am.
Celestion have always been one of my favorites along with the 66 & 25s but I think these are an undiscovered Gem...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 18, 2016]
Vin
Audio Enthusiast

I had been searching for a good audio setup for a long time and I tried quite a few combinations of amplifiers and speakers when i could afford to buy them and then resell if i was not satisfied. For years I maintained a NAD 3150 and Mission 773 speaker as my system. Then I ventured into the 70's golden era of audio and bought a Marantz 2238 which produced a strong low end but lacked in definition. I figured i needed a 70's speaker to match and came across a pair of Celestion Ditton 66's. The pair was in fairly good shape but the HF2000 tweeters were blown and the seller provided another pair which I replaced. Got the cabinets refurbished and replaced the aging capacitors.

After a couple of hours listening to the likes of Joe Pass and Ella Fitzgerald on vocals, piano of Don Friedman and sax of Grover Washington, I was happy but still remained to be impressed. Then a friend gave me a Yamaha CA810 and i hooked up the Dittons, took out the old AR XA turntable and spun some old vinyl of Kenny Burrel and I had found magic in the recordings. Threw on some Tina Turner, cranked up the volume and the Dittons came alive with superb detail and staging.

Hooked up my CD player NAD 542 and compared George Benson Live in LA on CD and vinyl and the live recording was fantastic. I had reason to run through my 200+ cd collection again and heard bits I previously have not taken notice of.

Its been over a year now that that the Yamaha and Celestion remain my go audio system where i can simply waste the time away in audio bliss. The wide tonal range the Celestions are capable of is amazing and they produce a very convincing sound stage. The vocals are wonderfully natural and the instruments are separated well.. You will in modern terms have to spend many thousands to achieve the tonal range of this superb speaker. I have to agree with many that rate these speakers quite well. They are beyond doubt legendary.

I will definitely be nursing these for many years to come.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2014]
daniel
Audio Enthusiast

I found a pair of Dutton 66's that went though a horrible house fire and they still sound better then my pioneer RS. 590's I absolutely love them they shake the metal on my deck awning XD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2013]
Mike
Audio Enthusiast

This review is for the ultra rare holy grail of English loudspeakers - the Celestion Ditton 88.
I was most fortunate to come across a pair of these beauties and didn't hesitate a nanosecond in buying them. I got them home and hooked them up but wasn't prepared for what I was about to hear! Over 30 years old, still gorgeous - but the sound! They imaged as well as the KEF 102's I used to own. They thundered like the Altec 19's I still own and they purred and projected a sound image as good as the Magneplanar 2.5R I had a few years ago. All things to all people? Don't know. Don't care. I'm just enjoying the music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 12, 2012]
Lawrie White
Audio Enthusiast

In the early 70's I went through a 'hi-fi' phase, bought just about all the 'good' stuff going.
Speaker-wise, I had some Bose 901's, very impressive, for a week, then I wised up &
found them very tireing, many others including the big Warfdales, Tannoy Ardens,
Spendors, Rogers, Quads, ALL were ok, but then I heard the Ditton 66 monitors in a
'comparison-room' full of dozens of set-ups, Tottenham Court Rd I seem to remember.
In a word....WOW!!! took them home there & then, I think they were about £600, a lot
in 1974!!
A pal was an audio engineer & worked for the BBC in a recording studio, & we set them up on some bit of space-age kit & fed in all sorts of loads/ohms fequencies etc. & found they went down to 19hertz right up to 40 point something khz all the needles were flickering but we couldn't acctually HEAR it, but we 'felt' it & our skin tingled!!
I love them to bits, still have them & they regularly get a good thrashing, I had to replace one HF unit a few years back, & I molly-coddled them over the years & they still look
& sound like new, drive them from a 210wpch rms reciever. Been offered £1000 for them...................no chance!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2011]
yanoulecellestion
Audio Enthusiast

I'm in love with my 662 ! simply a perfect sound with every king of music! and belive me, when I say every kind it realy does, from ground shacking bass to crispy symbals to melodics voices,piano and orchestra they play them all without any failure! you give them more power, they continue to give the same perfect sound! I had them in perfect condition from their first owner for only 400$ but they worth easily twice that price, if you see some take them! even if they're not to sale! no seriously if you have a chance to get some, don't miss it.

goods: smooth and well detailed sound, outstanding basses
bads: none but easily breaking grills(that I don't use anymore..)



OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 10, 2010]
Erwt
AudioPhile

I'm an audiophile without funds. So I just bought a pair of Ditton 25 for 120 € on ebay. Of course I needed to make sure if the 2 medium/tweeters and super tweeter were ok so I asked for a test. The friendly seller found a spare NAD A/V receiver (haven't looked which one) and a Marantz classic CD-73 CD player. Some pop revealed the lack of depth and quantity of bass I read about in earlier reviews. I was pleasantly surprised with definition in mids and high though. The high hat tssk's was never before so real to me. When I got home I couldn't wait to hook them up to a mid priced Sony digital A/V receiver with a an optically linked cable receiver as a first try. As I wanted to use them as main speakers in my home entertainment system, I tried them with what they were intended for. First thing at hand was a 192kb/sec Radio 1 recording. It sounded dull. The synth base was just absent. Then I had drive somewhere, so I had the opportunity to compare quickly (acoustic memory is short) with the standard radio of our Citroen Berlingo :-) No matter what FM radio station, I was pleased: It started to occur to me that I didn't misspend my money. As I'm writing now, I'm listening to harpsichords and they sound harsh. But then again my earlier KEF Q90's (also ebay) also did before break in. I lower the volume a and things improve: Violins are impressive. When I close my eyes, the stage is here, around me, so real?!? I could swear I hear an echo from the concert room behind me. Here come the pianos. Scary! I never believed in vintage audio - thinking that modern science was more advanced, thus better. What a fool I've been. This British craftsmanship makes me smile. I'm happy with my purchase. They are airy, very revealing, detailed, fast. Lower volumes reveal the interest of their passive radiator. At natural sound levels there is no lack of bass at all. Cellos sound like cellos, low piano notes are almost complete! Voices suffer slightly from some dip in the 1000 Hz region. I guess I should have a look at my filters, or did Celestion put the bar too high for the 12"?
Switched to Radio 1 again and The Drums (the Britpop band) throws some very nice kick drums at me.
I'll write a new review after break in.

Strengths: Detailed natural, very sweet at low volumes
Weaknesses: very ugly, don't seem to be built for high volume

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 30, 2010]
tojohndillonesq
Audio Enthusiast

I have the Ditton 66s driven by Adcom GFA 5500 amp, Adcom GFP555II pre-amp, and Technics SLQL1 turntable.

Mu other main speakers are PSB Stratus Gold from 1992. Both speakers were the flagship of their company line when introduced.

The two models seem very similar to me, in both the intent of the builders and the results. Both are suitable for long listening sessions at very high volumes, both have incredible range, and both are suitable for all types of music. The Dittons are even more power hungry than the PSBs, which is saying something. (We are not talking Magnaplanar level, but moving that direction.)

The midrange - and especially the voice - with the Ditton dome mid is simply fantastic. Rather than airy, I would call is juicy and visceral...

Imaging on the Ditton 66 is flat out fantastic. Vastly superior to the PSBs, which do not have a strong reputation in this area but do ok if positioned with great care.. Folks who say a big three way can't image well need to listen to these. They disappear completely, leaving nothing but the musicians arrayed across the stage. YUMMY! They also have a sense of immediacy and intimacy that can be weaker with the PSBs. Sometimes Iwith the PSBs I feel like the musicians are playing 20 ft behind the speakers. It is the exact opposite with the Dittons; they sound like the folks are about to sit down in your lap.

At 18 years old, the PSB build quality is vastly superior to the 35 year old Dittons.. Solid Oak in the PSB vs veneer. Bi-ampable on the PSB but not the Ditton. And the overall design of the Ditton is pretty basic compared to the style of the PSB Stratus Gold. I laughed at the comments that the Dittons were big and heavy; the PSBs outweigh them by a BUNCH! So the did the Klipsch Forte IIs I traded for them.

I auditioned the Dittons with a Wilson installation and setup test CD and a couple of other reference test CDs.. The 18hz claim is for real; on the low end test I could feel the base long before I could hear it. Almost spooky, My buddy and I just turned and stated at each other when it started.

Overall the Ditton win for sure, and that is a big pleasant surprise for me. The PSBs had already entered my "never sell or trade these" category, and now the Ditton 66 move ahead of them.

BTW, I traded an Amp and the Klipsch Forte IIs for them. I had about $210 into the amp (a little custom tube amp), and about $250 into the Fortes, so $460 total. The truth is that I JUMPED at the chance to make the trade. I would consider anything under $600 a great deal on these.

Strengths: Imaging, clarity, incredible range

Weaknesses: I had to give up my Forte IIs to get them?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com