Canton Ergo RC-L Floorstanding Speakers

Ergo RC-L

3-way bass reflex floorstanding speaker with room compensation unit

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
jelly109   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2005]
Strength:

Impressive clear reproduction of all flavours of sound, ultra-deep bass

Weakness:

Not really weaknesses, but don't use these speakers in small rooms and, most important, don't use them with bad recordings, you will now hear all production mistakes.

This speaker is the best you can get for this budget. The speaker is EOL but if you can still find it, get a pair without thinking too long! If you want to get to the optimum, you have to install the control unit that comes with the speakers. This electronic masterpiece gives you a flat transmission curve, ultra-deep bass and super transparent highs. Two controls let you adapt the bass and treble to your room characteristic. I had to modify my amplifier to get this unit active in all surround modes, but the effort paid more than off. Full recommendation, at least worth 5 times the cost.

Similar Products Used: I listened to nearly all branded speakers in the range of 400 to 4000 Euro.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jaco97   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2003]
Strength:

look, sound, bass, middle and high, can handle high volumes easily

Weakness:

none

its a real bargain. used first with marantz pm 7000, then proton ap 2000 pre and musical fidelity ma50-x monos (just 50 watts class a)and nad 541i cd. Clear, fine and airy sound, natural. sold my control-box, it makes no fun with cables and so on, bass was a bit deeper or controlled? if you use a good amp, there is no real need I think. very well made and good sounding

Similar Products Used: heco mythos, heco argon 50, audioplan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   AudioPhile [Apr 01, 2003]
Strength:

Clarity, fundaments in all spectra, from bass to treble.

Weakness:

VERY NEUTRAL SOUNDING. With not enough power, the bass get flubby. I recommend Bi-Amping

Ok now, down to the last writing from me. I have two other reviews below. Canton RC-L 1998, 2000 Euro Arcam 9 Int. Arcam 10 P (Bi-amp) Arcam 9 Alpha CD Nordost Cable Blue Heaven Interconnect Nordost Gold MK II Speaker cable Pro-Ject RPM 6 Goldring 1042 Audioquest Coral Interconnect First of all I´ld like to mention that this speaker is now only to be found in second hand. As time and music has aged in my mind and my RC-L. The sound have become more smooth and less pin point. So my system sounds more involving in all spectra than before. Having my interrest for clarity and definition I have not yet found a system near this price tag sounding half as good as my do. Was listening to Tracy Chapman the other day. And still, after almost five years of ownership I was surpriced that it still reveals new and undiscovered information to me. If you all lived in Sweden you would get a chance to listen to this set.

Similar Products Used: Inifity (Not even close) Linn (Not half of depth) JBL (Great but not some treble) B&W (Are you joking? You have to spend twice the money to enter same leauge) Revel F30(Greater in all !) But
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hubert Lowin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

The absolutly best you can get at this price.

Since 30 years i owned a lot of very good speakers but the overall quality of the RC-L is outstanding for that price. They produce a very clear and natural sound with a deep and strong bass. I recommend the speakers for all kind of music. If you have a chance to get them (They are out of production) you should do it now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruno Nashuay   Casual Listener [Jan 23, 2003]
Strength:

Very clean and natural sound.

Weakness:

None

At this time for shure the best at this price. Very clear sound with excellent bass. I use it for classical music in a large room and it sounds like a concert hall.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LovelyMick   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2002]
Strength:

Price, sound, build

Weakness:

None that I know of.

I'm the owner of a pair of Canton RC-A's (couldn't find them at Audio Reviews that's why I put my review here). The RC-A speakers have got a self-powered integretad subwoofer system which really 'upgrades' your existing amp. Why? Because your amp won't need to drive bass speakers (difficult resistance, load, and the like) any longer and can focus on somewhat easier to handle mid- and upper range. Folks, it really works! These splendid speakers are worth every cent. The bass is extremely dry, deep and listenable. Mids and highs are crystal clear without sounding harsh. And you may drive them with an appropriate integrated amp as well as with a power amp.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Kappa 8a B&W Nautilus 803 (yes, they are somewhat better, but I think they are too expensive for their sound) JBL 5000 (forget them!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fred_wahlgren   AudioPhile [Feb 06, 2002]
Strength:

Keeps audience interested and engaged in the music. Very elegant. It sustains a nice sound stage at lower volumes.

Weakness:

A bigger enclosure may most certainly produce more body to the sound. But honestly, who needs to move furniture?

I would just like to comment on Jon, Jonas, Torbjörn and Per who claims to be Audiophiles and obviously can not tell the difference between high quality sound and an alarm clock radio. I just recently bought these speakers. Matched with my CD Classé CDP 1.5 and my Power Amplifier Dynamic Precision DPA 6.32 I surely can not recognise all the flaws the above mentioned authors claimed to hear. Cabling from Harmonic Tech. I can understand that the result may not be completely satisfying if you hook them up to a $200 Rotel amplifier. But that goes for all speakers. OK, a pair of B&W Nautilus 801 will most definitly sound more dynamic, but as far as I can tell these Canton speakers perform well enough to catch my musical interest to the extent that it is interesting and enjoyable to listen to MUSIC. A minor aspect most of the previously mentioned audiophiles probably have forgot. A tip: music is not the waterfall recording on a German test CD ;=) To sum up my impressions; a nicely sounding speaker with homogenous sound, nice detailed highs, OK low end and whos strongest side must be voice handling i.e. mid range. It also passes the hardest test of all - My wife! Keep swinging...

Similar Products Used: Inifinity Omega, Martin Logan Request, Infinity Kappa 600 (juck!), Dynaudio Contour various sizes, Acoustat Spectra 11 (my previous speaker), Kef (not my cup of tea), Klipsch (quite nice)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jon Leonardsson   Audiophile [Apr 13, 2001]
Strength:

Bass goes somewhat deep-

Weakness:

Most of the things.

These speakers are crap, paying 1800$ for these is like being robbed.
I didn't pay those money for them, I borrowed them, and I hav never been so disapointed in my whole life.
The bass goes deep, I can agreeon that, but the lack musicality in the first place, they lack attack and dynamics and most important of all, they lack details. So if you consider buying these, listen to them at home first.

A dull speaker with a high price.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Slobodan Muzdeka   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 28, 1999]
Strength:

Good balance between drivers.Good bass.

Weakness:

Control unit

Amazing speakers for the price.I do not use control unit because it will not support balance interconnect. Let’s be realistic here,you could by speakers cable that cost more than this speakers icluding control unit.I think control unit is a good marketing feature.I wish I had a bigger room so I could fully experience the awesome capability of this speakers.I wish that stereophile magazine would write a professional review on RCL.I still wonder what they would think about CANTON products.Anyway I like them and that is all that really matters to me.
My listening experience is preventing me to fully elaborate sound produced by this speaker but it sounds is very good using my KRELL equipment and MIT interconnect
.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonas   Audiophile [Jun 19, 2000]
Strength:

Priceworthy and overall good sound.

Weakness:

Lack some details

First of, isn´t this an excellent forum/review site. I was surprised that there was one around.

I have used my Cantons for almost two years and I am quite satisfied with their overall performance. What I lack is more detailed sound. I use Wadia 850 cd matched with perraux pre and poweramp. Before I have used the rotel 991 and two Audio analouge(bi amped) But my current set up has proved the best sound so far. Though I have tried them with a friends tubeamp(can´t remember what brand) and they sounded just as good but different with that amp.

For those of you who are thinking about buying this speaker. First of look around, you can get them very cheap now adays, about half the price of what i payed for them.

Know the weaknesses of these speakers, mainly the details and it is somewhat hard to make them "dissapear" from the soundstage. Larger rooms are recomended.

I think that there are other possible speakers out there in the competition now, as opposed to 1998 when I bought mine, but they are still a good buy. -98 I would probably have given them 4-5 but as there is much more competition nowadays I tend to give them somewhere between 3-4 in sound quality, but five in value if you get them for around 11000 Swedish kronor(circa 1250 USD)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com