Cambridge Soundworks MovieWorks 408 Floorstanding Speakers

MovieWorks 408

Five Small Cube Speakers plus Base Cube 8 (powered sub)

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Brian McFarland   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2000]
Strength:

Size, appearance, sound.

Weakness:

None really, although I wouldn't mind seeing some other way to attach the speaker wire than the spring clips but I guess everyone uses them.

Forever I swore by my Bose 301's, I even payed $100 a couple a years ago for new woofer cones that I installed as the originals had dry-rotted. I had always longed to but the Bose cubes as I was slowly assembling my home theater system. I kept putting the speaker purchase off because I could not rationalise the cost even though the Bose always sounded great in various showrooms. Then, I started reading some reviews not only about Bose but also about Cambridge. The price was right so I decided to give them a try. I HAVE NOT BEEN DISSAPOINTED. The speakers sound and look great and the powered sub-woofer provides the needed bass punch. Although my home theater leaves something to be desired (please refer to my review of the Sony STR DE-635 receiver in the receiver review forum), I am so glad I didn't spend the money on the Bose. Hell, even my KLH indoor/outdoor speakers sound better than the Bose, I just had to swallow my pride before I could recognize it. Well, they do okay in my garage! I think the Bose thing might just be inplied value - - they're expensive so they must be good? (I've never heard the Bose wave radio so I would be interested to know if it's as good as Bose says it is). Anyway, the Camridge Movieworks 408's absolutely rock and I don't eventhink I'm getting the full impression of them due to my inferior Sony receiver!

Similar Products Used: Fifteen year old Bose 301's; KLH indoor/outdoor speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Will   Casual Listener [Mar 01, 2000]
Strength:

Good bass. Good quality for a low price.

Weakness:

You really need 2 way speaker as your main speakers.

I think this product would not dissapoint anyone who wants more from their TV watching experience but doesn't want to spend alot of money. The bass is awesome and the sound is great. The only complaint is that the cube speakers are not suited for main speakers. They are great center and surround though. I would recommend Cambridge but get the 308!

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 23, 2000]

These home theater speakers are excellent. The sounds are very clear, crisp and powerful. They beat any Bose speakers that I have ever heard! You won't go wrong with these superior speakers!! I highly recommend them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick Morales   Casual Listener [Oct 21, 1999]

When I was shopping around for a speaker package, I did what most people do: go see bose. The name for many equals the very "best." And being on the bandwagon, I truly believed what I was paying for was the best product on the market.

WRONG.

AFTER SHELLING OUT CLOSE TO $1,000 FOR AN ACOUSTIMASS SET, I WAS SURFING THE WEB, AND WHAT DID I SEE? CAMBRIDGE SOUNDWORKS AND THEIR COMPARABLE MOVIEWORKS 408 SET.

Read some reviews, asked some questions, and I was sold.

I owned the acoustimass set for close to 3 weeks, and to be honest, the novelty wore off quickly. sure they're tiny. sure they're loud. but they just sounded like crap in my room (too bright, no highs, non-active bass module too weak for home theater).

The MW408 on the other hand, BLEW ME away. I got five satellites - which actually sounded more natural and cleaner than the Bose - and a POWERED sub to take care of all my low frequency tastes. Saw "The Matrix" on DVD with my MW408 set-up the other day. AWESOME!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 1999]

Perfect for moderately-sized rooms. You won't find a better bargain on the market for five satellites and a powered sub. Truly simulates the cinema experience in the comforts of your own home! Great price and great quality = Cambridge Soundworks. Didn't know too much about the company before the purchase, but they've definitely made a believer out of me! All hail CSW!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

$200 on ebay (what I paid).

Weakness:

$370 retail (what you paid).

I can't believe people are paying $350 for this system. Buy a Ensemble IV HT for $150 new at Hifi.com. Then get the Basscube 8 sub for $170. That's $320 and you have the little passive sub as an extra. Wow!! Cheaper, and you get the extra sub. Do the math people. Even better. On ebay you can get the Ensemble IV HT for around $100, and the Basscube 8 for about the same. That's only $200. And you have an extra sub!!!!!! Most of the Cambridge systems are priced fairly. I own two systems myself. This is the one that stands out as wasting money. Shop smart. I'm rating the value based on the retail price of $370. By the way. I do have this setup, and I'm very happy with it.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Jake   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 1999]
Strength:

For the price, there's nothing better

Weakness:

None

I, like many others looking for a satellite speaker system, first went to the Bose. Are you kidding me?? The comparable bose system to this CSW Movieworks 408 is the Acoustimass 10 that sells for $1000. I got the cambridge soundworks on sale for $349 and compared the two and now every time I hear the name Bose, I want to vomit. These speakers are awesome and any one thinking about the acoustimass should think again and go for CSW Movieworks 408. I almost made a huge mistake by going with the bose and have since praised my Cambridge's every time I turn on my system. I live in a college dorm, and these speakers are perfect for small to medium sized rooms. Awesome for Movies, awesome for music. Not much else to be said.
CSW, you kick butt.

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chytra Pawashe   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2000]
Strength:

Price, design, size, sound quality and neutrality, sound stage, ungodly warranty

Weakness:

spring clips, lacks "warmth", minor subwoofer weaknesses

I was in the market for a Home Theater system, my first one in fact. Unfortunately, I could not spend thousands of dollars on a HT system so I had to think of what to get for a budget system. I needed a speaker system first of all, one that is cheap but good - a great bang for the buck. I started researching and researched what CambridgeSoundworks had to offer; I had heard of the name after using CSW's multimedia speakers which I was pleased with. With enough research and user opinions, I decided to buy the MovieWorks 408 system for a mere 350$, and let me tell you, I am not dissappointed for the purchase.
The set comes with five identical speakers and one 8" powered subwoofer. I hooked it up to my Onkyo TX-DS575x reciever (which is an excellent reciever) and finally got it working. Boy was I surprised, I didn't expect sound this good from such a cheap speaker system. For one thing, the five identical speakers promote an "ideal" speaker setup, as you have a very good balance with all of your speakers. The sound quality from these speakers really amazed me. Sound flows in a way such that you cannot point as to where the sound comes from, as if the sound is everywhere, it is in perfect balance. Music sounded just fine with these speakers, and movies sounded excellent. Furthermore, the MW 408 is about the most neutral speakers I have ever heard. Sound is reproduced as it should sound, no alterations to it. The subwoofer complements the speakers well, though it cannot shake my home theater room as there is nothing below it; a bit more power to the sub might help.
On the other side, one of the disadvantages to the MW 408 is that the speakers use spring clips. Though not incredibly important, binding posts would do better. The subwoofer could also use a little more power and performance as at higher levels, it does get slightly boomy. Also, the neutrality of the speakers can backfire as sometimes a warmth could help the sound. Don't get me wrong, this system is excellent and it easily rivals systems that can go for twice its price. This is about the best speaker system in its class, and for 350$ it is worth every penny.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Aiwa (easily succumbs to MW408), Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2000]
Strength:

Price, size of speakers

Weakness:

None

Just like a majority of you, I received my CSW 408 speakers as a HT bundle at Hifi.com. As soon as I hooked these speakers up, it gave me good clean sound. The 5 satellite speakers were crisp and the 8" powered sub gave me enough bass to watch such movies as "The Matrix" and "Star Wars-Episode I". For a HT system that costs about $600 it is well worth the investment--even though if I decide to upgrade down the road.

This speaker package is excellent for those on a budget or for those that are looking to build a HT system for the first time.

If you get a chance, go check out Hifi.com and see what they have to offer. Nobody will be able to match price and quality.

2 THUMBS UP!!

Similar Products Used: None, it's my first HT Speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keith   Casual Listener [Apr 07, 2000]
Strength:

Great price, compact, sounds great

Weakness:

Spring clips

I just got these speakers in and hooked them up. I have never owned a HT system but have always wanted one. After doing a few months research I decied on theses. I picked up a package deal at HIFI.com for around $600. It came with the Sony DE-635 and a Samsung DVD player. I already had a reciever and DVD player so sold them off on ebay and the final price came to alittle over $200, for just these speakers. That is what I call a deal. I love these speakers. Don't let the size fool you, they really put out some sound. The receiver that I am using with these speakers is the Yamaha RV-1105. It goes with these speakers well. Really puts out some sound. I would recommend anybody to get these speakers. I have friends comming over now just to listen to my setup.
Now all I need is a new TV, 27" doesn't cut it anymore, and a good CD player to go with my system. Does anyone have any recomendations??

--Keith

Similar Products Used: Bose,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com