Cabasse farella 400 Floorstanding Speakers

farella 400

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Andrew kohsk   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 18, 2015]

I bought a farella some years back and match it with my musical fidelity A3.2 cd player and
also a jadis orchestra tube amp(6CA7 tube) with eccoss high range interconnector and speaker cable.
The player and tube amp had been run in for afew hundred hours so as the cable and therefore finally a true sound of farella performed very well.
The high freq of female voice or the electric guitar of BB king were detail and layered and it does not sound bright at all.it was well controlled especially when a female voice pull and hits her highest note as compare to others speaker such as spendor ,the high sound bright which spoil the speaker performance.
As for the midrange,a men or women voice delivered with warmness,full body and emotional and can be fluided ,depending on the recording.
For low freq performance,it was well controlled and extended and quite authorities and tuneful.
Music separation werel good and good depth as well.it is a fast ,musical and a transparent sounding speaker.
The farella is really value for money which i bought first hand for S$2200.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Svein   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2002]
Strength:

Fast, dynamic and natural sounding speakers.

Weakness:

The Farella 402 can sound bright in high listening levels, but not the Egea 500.

I had the Farella 403''s for about a year. Very good and natural sounding speakers. Easy to drive too. For a short while ago I got a very god trade in deal and bought the Egea 500. Of course a much better speaker. I believe that Cabasse do a lot of testing in domestic rooms. Both speakers is easy to place in the room and the bass sits.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio 1,8 mk2, Spendor SP2/3, Sonus faber Concertos and many other.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Manu18   AudioPhile [Feb 03, 2002]

Farella 401 kept his/her/its excellent output and a holding in power more that comfortable... The respect of the musical dynamics is therefore to the appointment, If the associated amplicateur is at the height. Without reaching the degree of life that had hit us so much with the Egéa 500, one recovers on the Farella this same propensity to transcribe music with realism and vivacity. The fusion of the two translators of the 401 is here very successful. The DOM 40 fully assures the difficult task that is confided to him, in perfect harmony with a fast and detailed serious medium. The resonant picture keeps therefore, on all messages, a good precision so much spatial that temporal. So to the monitoring of a piano, one recovers the fullness of the instrument, with the body and a serious held and fast while keeping an excellent joint on the notes of the right hand whose extinction appears always natural. On this last criteria, the new Farella seems to have won smoothly with a very integrated sharp extreme. On the voices or the violin, the high medium is sometimes a little characteristic in stamps. One would like that this precision and this joint come with of more than fluidity and of slur,... But the general balance is never affected some, the restitution remaining always nervous and expressive. The choice of electronics will be besides important to optimize this balance. We got excellent results with an integrated Atoll IN80, but also of the amplifiers to tubes allying held in the serious and sweetness in sharp medium. On big wholes or the lyric poet, the precision and the dynamics of the picture reinforce the impression of realism, especially if one keeps to the mind the modest size of the Farella... This new version reinforces the excellent impression that had made us this model at the time of his/her/its exit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles GILLET   AudioPhile [Feb 02, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate and consistent, those speakers ''image'' the sound with a realism noticed several times by my friends. The price (buy them in France .. :o])

Weakness:

With this quasi ''chirurgical'' sound, you can''t mess up the mariage with the amplifier. The best choice will be a tube one IMHO.

I bought the Farella in Paris along with a tube amplifier. I have tested numerous ''mariage'' speaker-amplifier and finally made my choice on the Farella after a nice discount. The image is very clear and accurate, and, when coupled with a tube amplifier, is especially adapted to classical or chamber music. While making my choice in France, I had the chance to try various combinations in the audio shop and it made obvious that not all amplifier will fit to these speakers: I tried the Rotel one, and it spoiled totally the sound into something very sharp and aggressive where the bass was almost absent. As the time goes by (over 3 years now), the speakers got better every month enlighting the bass more than ever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Riep   Audiophile [Mar 24, 2000]
Strength:

Force and livelike dynamics coupled with fantastic homogeneity and pinpoint imaging.

Weakness:

Exposes bad recordings and electronics without mercy (weakness?).

From time to time one meets an outstanding device. It is an unusual case of true interactivity when the sum is more than just an addition of single characteristics. Hearing the Farella is such an experience.
To make a long story short: after a speaker odyssey the treasure is found now. This beautiful made but conventional looking Frenchies are really able to let music become real - everybody, specially musicians, with working ears will state that.
It is quite unclear how the people in Brest (France) got that magical musical ghost into this "box". A miracle. Anyway: they were successful.
Of course there are better (and much much more expensive) speakers - but you will rarely find others that perform with this sovereignty. The 400/1/2 is so homogeneous, wellrounded and somehow RIGHT - incomprehensible at this price.
No doubt, no question: the Farella is fantastic. Nearly a living thing, a friend - didn't she smile just now?

Similar Products Used: Too many to list ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Hyson   Audiophile [Oct 28, 1999]
Strength:

Extremely fast, balanced, uncolored, excellent bass extension

Weakness:

Too bright unless upgraded to 401, 4 ohms which may be a problem with some low power tube gear

After reading a review written by Sam Tellig a few years ago, I purchased these speakers along with a Conrad-Johnson MV-55 amp and PV-12 preamp. My front end was an Anthem CD-1. This was a vast improvement over the mid-fi system I had been living with (Adcom electronics, Spica speakers), but something was missing. So I embarked on that perilous, obsessive and excessive journey which is often referred to as being an audiophile. In the last 2 years, all of my components have changed several times over except for the speakers. However, these are now technically Farella 401s because I upgraded the crossovers (factory kit) which fixed the slightly forward midrange. To make a long story short, I am now driving the Farellas with a custom made 300B push-pull amp which puts out 18 watts a channel with a Joule Electra preamp. The front end is a Meridian 508-24 CD player. I have concluded that these speakers are so revealing that what you hear is precisely what you feed them. If they don’t sound good, the problem is elsewhere in the chain. Or the quality of the recording isn”t that good (which no system will fix). Cheap solid state amplification sounds especially bad through these speakers. I have auditioned many other speakers in the same price range and higher including Spendor, Odeon, Joseph Audio and Soliloquy and I still have the Farellas.

How do they sound with the right electronics? Even though they are rated down to only 50hz, they roll off so gradually from there that they go much lower and sound huge for their size. Midrange is glorious. Female vocalists (if well recorded) are right there in the room with you. These speakers whisper, they sing, they rock... they give you the music while they disappear, and that is what it is all about.

Similar Products Used: Joseph Audio, Soliloquy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brad Freedman   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2001]
Strength:

The most Cabasse for the buck!

Weakness:

Need to arrange the room according to these speakers if you w t them in a theater configuration

Find someone who has one and listen. Unfortunatly no description can replace 60 seconds with you and these speakers in the room ...alone

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Kindred   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2001]
Strength:

Awesome Highs and Midrange

Weakness:

could use a bit more bass

While working at a a stereo retailer I got to listen to quite a few speaker systems. At first I didn't think that the Farellas were all that. Looking back I don't know what the hell I was thinking. After a while I started to notice how well they imaged, and how clear the mid and highs were. The only problem I noticed was that sometimes they were just a bit lackin in the bass dept. After many experiments with diferrent amps and preamps I discovered that the speakers could handle everything I through at it. I found it worked best with tubes and a slight bass boost. After a while dicided to buy them. Everyday they sound better and better. It seems, like wine, these speakers get better with age. And a lifetime warranty ain't bad either.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
oscar   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2002]
Strength:

midranges and hi's

Weakness:

none so far

bought a pair of 401 together with CJ CAV 50,a great matched.Mid'sand hi's are fantastic.No problem with bass cause l bi-amp. my system.Vocalist seems right in front of you.A beautiful speakers even when you take of the grill.

Similar Products Used: lots
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
merle scruggs   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 1998]

I purchased a pair of these after hearing everything near its price range.[$2000] The speaker is everything Sam Telling said it was and more. Used with Naim Audio gear the sound is clearly the best I've ever had in my home.[These replaced Epos ES11's.] Fit and finish are world class.I'm very happy with these speakers and look foward to coming home to listen every day. Would be very interested to hear other peoples experiance with this speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com