Boston Acoustics VR 960 Floorstanding Speakers

VR 960

Lynnfielf Speaker - 8" Powered Sub, 4.5" Mid and 1" Tweeter

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Rocky Malone   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2017]

I found these at the goodwill for 50 bucks. What a score. They don't compare to my Bowers-Wilkins (B&W) CM8's, but they sound awesome for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kurt   AudioPhile [Nov 28, 2017]

I was recently given a pair of the VR960's for free due to a damaged amplifier in one of them. I decided to rebuild them as a passive 3-ways. The rebuild process necessitated that I disassemble them. I was quite surprised at the inexpensive construction I discovered when I took them apart. The amplifiers (+/-25volts) are hardly what I would call robust in construction. The 8" woofers are very inexpensive stamped steel frame units and again, I would not call them robust in construction although they do appear to have rubber surrounds. No gaskets on any of the drivers which really surprised me. These are sealed box units and the way they were put together was hardly air tight. But they do sound pretty good!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Jaas   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2010]

They are good speakers and they sound excellent but I've been skeptic to push my denon all the way

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Monty Rowland   AudioPhile [Feb 21, 2008]
Strength:

Powerful sound from a very slim design..incredible!

Weakness:

no detachable power cord

Ive loved Klipsch for so many years now, I never listened to other speakers that much. Alough a friend was selling these and asked me to come listen to them...All I can say is I was blown away by the output of such a slim speaker..I couldnt beleive the sound from the slim towers..Im defenitly a Boston Acoustics fan now...Klipsch I still love you, but I cannot stay 100 percent faithful now.

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: klipsch, Denon 3803
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   Casual Listener [Feb 16, 2008]
Strength:

Great Sound, clean. Bass much improved over other speakers without the built in woofer.

Weakness:

???? Wieght allot

I am not that sophisticated at equipment. I have a large diversified collection of cd's and albums. Love music and I hope that I own a quality pari of speakers.

I also have B & W 604 tower speakers. Plus CDM1 both have the center speaker.

If you know are the 960 Bostons as good as the B & W's?

How much power do I need to run well?

Do I need my Sub Woofer with the 960's?

Sorry for the Moron questions, I also just got the internet and am in a struggle

I

Similar Products Used: B & W
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
azjoe35   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2005]
Strength:

Perfect sound, great range, excellent separation, slim design.

Weakness:

After 4 years I am still finding none.

I wanted to follow up on my review from 2001. I wished to add that when I originally reviewed the speakers I was still using my JBL sub and hadn't bothered to use the Boston's built-in sub. I made the poor assumption that the 8 inch subs in the Boston's would not compare witht the 12 inch JBL; how very wrong I was. One day I experimented and connected the sub cable to one of the speakers and I was thrown back! An unbelievable sound. I have since moved my JBL to my bedroom and utilize the Boston's only for my main and sub speakers. The speakers hav a main hook-up and a dedicated sub hook-up as well. I'm not sure how the bass works with and not against the sub (seeing the speaker is the same) but it does. The control knob on the rear controls the amount of sub you hear. You can rumble the house on#3 setting--which is low!!! If you are able to pick a pair of these up I can't see you going wrong.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sansui, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
atriker   AudioPhile [Nov 30, 2002]
Strength:

detailed and the nice bass hard to move(For audiophiles)

Weakness:

hard to move(For weak people who just like to try to find a weakness)

These speakers are detailed and put out a good amount of bass. They are razor thin but they are very powerful. Really great if width is a factor in placement!!!!For a grand you will not go wrong.

Similar Products Used: paradigm and infindy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
hatesony   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2002]
Strength:

Clean, crisp sound built in sub in each speaker

Weakness:

nothing to complain about. I guess if paid a lot more money I'd nit pick a little more

Great speaker, I didn't have any packaging problems like stated in other reviews. I'm no mid-range expert but I they do the job. The high are awsome I compared them to Klipsh and heard the difference instantly. Not a fan of the horn tweeter to high pitched. Built in sub is a space saver but I need to adjust the volume often. I guess I can't find a happy medium for music and DVD's. I also compared to mirage and if you think these speaker lake in mid then give a listen to them. Overall very pleased they do what I bought them for. Clean sound to listen to a movie or music. Good speaker for the price

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Paul   Audiophile [Jan 14, 2000]
Strength:

Neutrality, good in music only or home theater environment

Weakness:

Overloads when played loudly. See comments in review.

I purchased these speakers after extensive listening to the above contenders. The only other speakers I have heard which come close to their quality are Paradigm Studios, but I ended up with the VR960's since I got an excellent deal on them.

As some of the other reviewers have stated, this speaker (in addition to the VR970) is extremely neutral, not your typical hiss and boom speaker. The speaker is also able to resolve micro details. If you feed it good recordings, it will show you what is there; if you feed it bad recordings, it will scare you. But that is not a shortcoming of the speaker, but of the producer/engineer/mastering.

Starting at the top, the tweeter is very clear, not emphasized, but not reticent by any stretch. This clarity extends through the midrange, too. Vocals are naturally presented. The bass is also very good, especially for a speaker in this price range.

Imaging and soundstaging are very nice, probably due to the thin profile.

The shortcomings of this speaker, which should be taken in light of the inexpensive price, are few. The 960 tends to 'harden up' when pushed. Complex music played in excess of 100dB is definitely strained; this is a small to medium-sized room speaker. The bass is not the most powerful, but again this is not a $2000 speaker. If you want more bass, you can ante up for the 960's big brother the 970. Also, if run in a home theater environment with the requisite sub, you won't have to worry.

Similar Products Used: Mission ?, Sonus Faber Concertina, B&W CDM 1SE, Snell E
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tan Le   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2000]
Strength:

Very clean trebble, and the design is thin and different than most speakers i seen.

Weakness:

Distortion on the sub at high level, a little weak on the midrange compared to Infinity Oveture 2 but.

Sounds good for music, but for movies i thought KLipsch were better. This speaker sounds very good for music that have string instruments, especially listening to the Eagles in DTS. For Movie i listened to Klipsch and they sound better and handle high volume more better w/o distortions.
I suggest getting the higher Boston VR970 model.

Got these pair of fronts for 600$ at a local Good Guys.
THe price was so good i could not refuse to buy it.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Infinity, Energy
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com