Boston Acoustics CR95 Floorstanding Speakers

Boston Acoustics CR95 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 2-way, full-range floorstanding loudspeaker with system-specific crossover
  • 7" copolymer DCDâ„¢ woofer offers extended excursion with increased bass response (see Technology)
  • 1" Kortec® soft dome tweeter delivers a smooth and natural high-frequency response (see Technology)
  • Woofer’s unique coaxial phase plug draws heat away from the voice coil, increasing power handling
  • Rigid, internally braced CR cabinet delivers clean sound (see Technology)
  • MagnaGuard® magnetic shielding prevents video interference (see Technology)
  • CR bookshelf models also available
  • Available in black ash vinyl veneer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Mar 28, 2019]
creationhouse


Strength:

They sound really good.

Weakness:

The woofers pop occasionally when they're turned up pretty high. I think it's the design of the woofers which have the cone separated from the center part. Is this normal? Anyone else have this happen? When I don't turn up the volume as high they don't pop.

Price Paid:
$125
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 16, 2017]
Doug
AudioPhile

Boston Acoustics CR 9.5 were made for a few short years in the early 2000s. I bought mine "new-in-box" from old stock from the e-bay outlet of a retail store about 10 years ago. I was matching to other CR series speakers in my system. I had a pair of CR 9s, on Sanos stands, which I moved to a second room and three CR 7s as surround and center channel speakers. Best of all, the 9.5s look and sound just as fantastic as they did 15 years ago when I bought them.

The Boston CR9.5s are great sounding speakers and mine have held up well for the last 10 years. The surrounds have lasted with no deterioration. They still pump it out and the

They are plenty loud and efficient so they work well with a low to moderate powered system. I push mine with a 25 watt per channel Harmon Kardon receiver in a 15 by 20 foot room with a wall of records, wall to wall carpeting and over stuffed furniture. It sounds great.

I think they were some sort of experiment Boston Acoustics made with a Malaysian supplier that may not have proved profitable. Open them up and you see BA electronics and drivers. Maybe shipping assembled floor standing speakers from overseas was not ideal.

They were only made for a year or two and originally listed for over $500 US. I didn't pay $500 for mine back then, but I would consider it now. These things match speakers costing twice as much. If you see a pair, pick them up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 16, 2006]
donbagley
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good wide-band sound with bass that really blooms. Attractive three-foot towers.

Weakness:

Made where? Oh no, say it aint so!

The Cr95 is a real enigma. Boston sound made in Malaysia? It boggles the mind. But the sound of these little towers won me over and I shelled out two and half Franklins from my hobby stash money (which I had sworn would never be blown on Far-Eastern speakers). Lots of bass with these and pleasant mids, too. I like acoustic music a lot and the CR95s love horns and strings, though they can rock when you need it. For 550.00 duckies these are really great. Get 'em on closeout. I like the beech ones though mine are black, and the towers are finished all around with veneer. Good looking! Oh yeah, they're easy to drive at 8 ohms. My somewhat wimpy Sony receiver can drive them hard--loud as I want, and then some.

Similar Products Used:

Bose, Epicure, JBL

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 22, 2005]
missionub6ib9
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very clean sound, imaging that other expencive speakers cant even achieve. very detailed . great for ht, great value.

Weakness:

takes a long time to run in ,

this review is for the cr 97, its the updated model of the cr 95... i was very impressed with the cr 95,it has a very extended bass, and sounds ever so clean,but while i was there the cr97 was there sounding just as good and looking prety sharp with the new red cherry look and a new steel mesh cover instead of black cloth ,any way to me the bass is tighter an more controld ,the image is still pin piont like the 95 ,and has that same clean sound.this is a great speaker for small to mid sized rooms ,very good for acoustic stuff and is best for r and b .rap. dance ,its a speaker with slam and in ya face, clean as sound.

Similar Products Used:

mission 74,bw 602 s3,subsonic pm1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 02, 2005]
Siper2
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Attractive veneer, great build quality, excellent sound for the price, or just in general.

Weakness:

Hard to say without an audiophile's ear. Nation of origin is a disappointment--Boston once produced all their merchandise at their Peabody, MA headquarters. Now all but their highest-end products are made in Malaysia or elsewhere, including the CR95s. Acceptable for a mass-market company, but not for BA in my opinion.

I purchased a pair of CR95s from Tweeter in the summer of last year (2004), for what was supposedly 50% off. However while it seems that many people got a similar or lesser price, still these are a great buy at $500 or under. Or perhaps even over $500! I play my CR95s off of a Denon AVR-685s 6.1 receiver, but have no surround. Stereo sound for me, for the time being. Thus far I have been extremely impressed with the '95s, their representation of music, and flawless performance thus far. As an owner of many other Boston products (Digital MediaTheatre 4.1 PC system for my '98 Gateway; RC61 front component car speakers; Competitor 1000 car 10" subwoofer), adding these to my collection was a joy. And I can happily report that they're the new mainstay of my listening. At this time I'm considering searching for a new DVD/CD player unit, as some sound playback has been muddled and weak... Considering the specific sounds, I attribute this to the player, not the speakers. Mine is an inexpensive Sanyo DVD player from Wal-Mart--no miracles expected. Even though they're discontinued, I would gladly recommend these entry-to-intermediate level tower drivers to anyone. As a footnote, I use 12-gauge cable from Home Depot, in six-foot strands per tower, connected via bare wire at each end.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 20, 2004]
tomh
AudioPhile

Strength:

-Smooth, extended highs -Transparent large sound stage -Solid midrange with excellent balance

Weakness:

-Bass is delivered via ported loading and is not as tight as a closed cabinet acoustic suspension driver. -Cabinet veneer is not wood but looks reasonably good

I purchased these speakers to use in a bedroom system connected to a Sonic Frontier tube preamp and power amp. My primary system uses Martin Logan Electrostatic speakers. I was very surprised by the smooth transparent highs, wide and deep sound stage and accurate imaging. These speakers had a very neutral presentation with minimal cabinet resonance. Excellent with all music tried. Jazz and classical were well voiced and transparent. Rock was dynamic and non fatiguing. These are not high end speakers but do blow away many much more expense speakers I've had that were made say 5 to 10 years ago. Highly recommended for a moderately priced primary system or a high quality tube system placed in a second listening area.

Similar Products Used:

-Polk -Older ADS

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2004]
tcontas
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Silky highs. Super clear mids. Very low, controlled bass. Full range sound. Not at all fatiguing. Pretty efficient and easy load for receiver.

Weakness:

They don't have spikes or rubber feet to decouple them from the floor.

I've been VERY pleasantly surprised by these. They are outstanding, esp. for the price (closeout sale). These got an extremely positive review in Sound and Vision mag. a year or 2 ago. For speakers that have a 1" tweeter and just one 7" woofer, they put out some serious full-range sound. The review said they play down to 30 hz, and I can testify to that. The tweeters are nicely detailed but not at all overly analytical or bright (a real pet peeve of mine - so many newer speakers are marketed as "detailed" or "revealing" or "airy" when in fact they are harsh and fatiguing). They have the sound of a fine silk dome. Mids are very clear, vocals completely uncolored, just forward enough in the mix. Bass goes very low and stays extremely clean and tight; not boomy. To sum up, they have a sound that is very accurate and balanced, not overly bright or etched like so many speakers that have "tizzy" metal tweeters. I've owned a lot of speakers over the years, some that cost a lot more than these and had more "prestigious" names, and these just seem more real and natural sounding. Great job Boston!

Similar Products Used:

B&W, Paradigm, Klipsch, Pinnacle, ADS, KEF, Advent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 01, 2003]
Jamey
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean, crisp highs from tweeter. Boom from sub is not too overpowering.

Weakness:

None, unless you like a ton of bass from your main speakers.

I initally went to SoundTrack intending to buy a pair of Infinity floorstanding speakers. The Boston's were being discontinued at a great price. When I had the salesman demonstrate both sets of speakers, the Boston's blew my mind. Now that hey are in my home, they sound even better. They had much more crisp sounding highs and just enough boom for the lows.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com