Boston Acoustics CR 7 Floorstanding Speakers

Boston Acoustics CR 7 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Bookshelf Speakers - 5.25" Woofer and 0.75" Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Jul 03, 2017]
Cone
AudioPhile

Disappointing performance compared to CR 8/9s, which are in a totally different league. Unlike some manufacturers where going up models in a line doesn't offer much if any gain, BA offers upgraded house made tweeters and drivers in their Flagship CR 9 , as well as the CR 8. For second hand shopping, I wouldn't? bother with the cr 7s. For a fraction more, 8 or 9s are within reach. The 7s sounded congested, and really struggled with providing any bass definition. I wanted to like them, but sold them very quickly.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 15, 2012]
terra1
Audio Enthusiast

Even with an audio video receiver Sony STR-GX909ES, it sounds great for music. I can listen at moderate volumes and picture a live performance.

As far as removing the metal grill, place it on its back. The metal screen has some give. Place the fingertips of both hands in the slot between the screen and cabinet, press fingertips in slightly as you pull up. Do the same for the other side. You really don't need to remove the grill other than to maybe brush or clean the drivers. The surround is some kind of rubber so you don't need to worry about foam rot.

If you are familiar with the Boston sound through the Boston A-100 or Boston VR-40, you won't be disappointed. The consistent smoothness of vocals is present.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2003]
Tourniquet
AudioPhile

Strength:

Beautiful sound, The 5.25 inch driver, ported inclosure, and .75 inch tweeter nail the highs and lows.

Weakness:

I feel bad complaining about the mids when the over all sound is good... Have to buy a aftermarket mount kit to use them as surrounds, some nice duct tape...

I Bought these speakers used over e-bay, because I needed some rear speakers to complete my 5.1 system. They were lightly used, and I have been very pleased. The are VERY good dorm room (or any small room) speakers. They have great highs and lows. The ported design really helps out the lows I think. The mids are the only soggy spot when compared to speakers of MUCH higher price. I compared these speakers directly with the JBL n26's, although it was close the Bostons seemed to be much better behaved and had a cleaner, more balanced over all sound. Only thing I did not like, is I broke the plastic wall mount on the back of the speaker, maybe could have been reinforced a little...

Similar Products Used:

Polk R40's JBL N26 (B&W)Solid monitors.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 07, 2003]
Cary Ginell
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Compact size, great midrange and crisp highs.

Weakness:

Lows could be a little better but they're far from inadequate.

I hadn't bought speakers in 15 years but today my old Infinitys blew out so I had to go shopping. The Bostons blew me away with their crispness and definition of sound. I was told they were like sitting in Row C of a large theater, listening to an orchestra. I wanted to be able to single out individual instruments for discographical research. I also transcribe lyrics and melodies so I need honest, true sound. I compared these with Monitors, B&W, and Bose and the Bostons won hands down. No skewing of the sound, great highs, fair lows, but nothing muddy. Bravo Boston!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 04, 2002]
cschell
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

SIze, build quality, open sound, price

Weakness:

None so far

Actually I own the CR75s which replaced the CR7s. Wow! These speakers sound better than some speakers twice their price! They are my main front speakers in my first real home theater system and they sound amazing. The sound is open and full, unlike many competitors in this price range. I listened to side by side comparisons with Bose, Klipsch, Infinity, and Def tech and these speakers were by far the best sounding. Open and natural, the soundstage is great and the mids and highs are exceptionally clean. The salesman (whom I've worked with for years) was even surprised at how good these speakers sounded. For music they are tight and clean, and movies sound great as well. When matched with the other boston's the sound is seemless. Add a sub and everything sounds great! I'm glad that Boston builds great sounding speakers for those of us who can't afford the high-end stuff. My setup includes the CR75s, CR65s for the rear channels, a CRC center, a Yamaha HTR5550 receiver and a Def Tech prosub 80 (great sub, see review if interested).

Similar Products Used:

Upgrading from an Aiwa Bookshelf system. Listened to speakers by Klipsch, Paradigm, B&W, Infinity, Def Tech, NHT and Dynaudio. Still liked the sound of the bostons the best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2002]
The Royal One
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear highs and punchy bass when placed correctly. Small size and video shielding are great plusses...

Weakness:

None...

One Word, GREAT!!!

Similar Products Used:

Eosone, Klipsh, and Mirage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 19, 2000]
Tony Van Leeuwen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound, solid quality build

Weakness:

None for its class

Great speakers, I was amazed at the 'size' of the sound coming out of these little beauties. I have them for both mains & rears, and combined with the PV600 subwoofer I get huge sound, even though I have them setup in a very large room. I do think they might be a tad lacking in bass if it wasnt for the sub, but that is the whole point of the sub anyway, to do the best job possible of filling in the lower end, while the CR7s take care of all the rest. What was most significant though, was the 'imaging' of the sound - I listened to some favorite songs, & suddenly I was hearing sounds I never heard before! This means that on surround sound applications, they do a great job of defining realistic sounds. I must admit I didn't do too many other comparisons, the Polks sounded good in the store, but didn't blow me away. I also think these sort of comparisons are difficult because it always sounds different in your home, & depends a lot on your whole setup - ie equipment, speaker placement, room size & composition, etc. So I took these speakers mostly on a recommendation of being a quality speaker, & they were within my price bracket, & I am very happy. There may be better bookshelf speakers on the market, but I think you would need to spend a lot more to realise any difference, so for what they are, ie a top quality bookshelf speaker in a particular price range, I reckon they deserve 5 stars.

Similar Products Used:

Polk

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 18, 2000]
Michael Mason
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Sound!

Weakness:

None That I can Tell

The CR7 Are great in my Home Theater Setup! I have them for my Fronts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2000]
Rob Harrison
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

These speakers were fairly nuetral, not too bright, boomy, or nasally. Presented a fairly strong image.

Weakness:

Light in the bottom, but they are a bookshelf speaker, not a floor-standing speaker.

Of the five speakers I auditioned, the CR-7s sounded overall the best. The did all sound very similar, and quite a bit better than I expected for this price range. The Energy was my least favorite, being quite subdued in the high-end. The Polk's were a little too midrangey - making the vocals a little nasally or as if they were coming from a horn or a tunnel. The CR-7s use the lesser-priced tweeter than the CR-8s, but I found the CR-8s a little bright. Of all of these though, the CR-8s presented the widest soundstage, with the CR-7s running a close second. This may be due to the larger cabinet and woofer of the CR-8s (overall greater bass response). However, I am planning to use these speakers in a set of four in a workout room with a powered subwoofer, so I am not too worried about the bass response. As long as the mids and the upper bass are well represented, the sub will take care of the rest. Therefore, the smaller and less bright CR-7s won out over the CR-8s. Also saved about $100 a pair.

Similar Products Used:

Polk RT25, RT35, Energy eX16, Boston CR-8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2000]
Rob Harrison
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

These speakers were fairly nuetral, not too bright, boomy, or nasally. Presented a fairly strong image.

Weakness:

Light in the bottom, but they are a bookshelf speaker, not a floor-standing speaker.

Of the five speakers I auditioned, the CR-7s sounded overall the best. The did all sound very similar, and quite a bit better than I expected for this price range. The Energy was my least favorite, being quite subdued in the high-end. The Polk's were a little too midrangey - making the vocals a little nasally or as if they were coming from a horn or a tunnel. The CR-7s use the lesser-priced tweeter than the CR-8s, but I found the CR-8s a little bright. Of all of these though, the CR-8s presented the widest soundstage, with the CR-7s running a close second. This may be due to the larger cabinet and woofer of the CR-8s (overall greater bass response). However, I am planning to use these speakers in a set of four in a workout room with a powered subwoofer, so I am not too worried about the bass response. As long as the mids and the upper bass are well represented, the sub will take care of the rest. Therefore, the smaller and less bright CR-7s won out over the CR-8s. Also saved about $100 a pair.

Similar Products Used:

Polk RT25, RT35, Energy eX16, Boston CR-8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com