Boston Acoustics CR 6 Floorstanding Speakers

CR 6

5.25" Woofers and 0.75" Tweeter

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
cone   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2014]

CL impulse purchase for $20...these are very impressive...and they don't sound like typical
$200 speakers which often have fatal flaws...these have a unique presentation in that one gets detail yet warmth...imaging is also very good...bass response can be overly energetic at times but with rear port they need to be away from walls...these have far more detail than the highly regarded original Paradigm atom or PSB alpha....tweeter has far less sibilance than the VR line......mellow, open midrange, and punchy bass make these a very good all around speaker...when BA went to the Deep Channel bass drivers...as clean as they sound...they seem a bit bass shy...these are not...and probably the last BA series that stil sound like old school BA A series speakers...tremendous value new or used...I have 2 pairs now

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chuck   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2011]

Picked up a pair for $20 @ the Salvation Army thrift a year or so ago. Someone had painted them a nasty brown color, so repainted them - the grills look REALLY sharp painted with Krylon Brushed Metallic Satin Nickel, contrasts nicely with the blue-painted cabs. Just painting the grilles in Satin Nickel alone would greatly enhance the boring stock black or white paint schemes.

Use these as nearfield monitors in the man-cave. Have compared them with Celestion 3's, many other "audiophile" speakers of similar size. They're staying put, the others never last.

If you see a pair on craigslist for $50/pr or less, snap them up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
doug Jones   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2002]
Strength:

they help me chill

Weakness:

I don't have enough time to chill.

I've had this set of cr6's for a month and they sound beautiful, I have cr4's for my rears, the 6's for the front's, a boston 404v for a center,and I use a brand new nad 531 receiver, and I chill a lot on the couch chillin jazz.

Similar Products Used: more and more boston acoustic stuff. For the price it's cool. Nad is cool as well.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Good sound; Compact size; Wall mount option

I'm using these for rears in a home theater, and I'm quite impressed (especially considering their size). Very well built.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James Pipes   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 2000]
Strength:

good detail imaging and sound

Weakness:

bass/ use a sub.

I originally purchased the CR6 for the front effects for my 7.1 Yamaha RX V2095 and found they sound,(to me), much better than expected. I put the Infinity's up front for effects and use the CR6's for my main speakers. They sound very good for their size. My room is very small. I'm going to replace the Infinity LMPS and use bostons all around.
They give great detail with good wire. I'm using MITerminater 5 speaker wire and they really opened up.
Thanks Boston.

Similar Products Used: Infinity LMPS
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Beezley   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2000]
Strength:

Build Quality
Build Quality, Bass, Cat-Proof grill

Weakness:

Upper End!

Oh woe is me! I purchased a pair of CR6's a couple of months ago to fill out a home-office system. I tested them against comparably priced/sized speakers from Polk and Klipsch. The Polks lost out quickly and the Klipsch's ran neck and neck with the BA's (at least in the testing room). The Klipsch's had a much wider sound stage, but I had heard good things about BA's and went with them.

After purchasing the BA's, I paired them up with an 8" Yamaha powered sub for my office. Power comes from an old Harman Kardon PM645 Vxi 60wpc integrated amp.

I was fairly pleased until I needed to repair a woofer from one of my main-system Dahlquist DQ-12's recently (rot). I remembered that stored down in my basement, I had an old pair of Acoustic Research TSW-105's that also had a rotted 4" woofer. I went ahead and had it replaced at the same time the Dahlquist was repaired.

And here's where the story goes south. Just for fun, I hooked up the other AR to my office system in place of a BA, and WOW, the AR just blew the BA away in the high end! I could hear the plink of acoustic guitars, the crispnes of cymbals...it opened up another dimension of music for me. Admittedly, the BA's blow away the AR's on the low end, but in this instance, the sub has that covered.

Needless to say, I'm now storing the BA's away in the basement to eventually become the secondary speakers in my future HT system. The old AR's have bumped them out of the office and I've learned a $180 lesson!

Similar Products Used: AR TSW-105's
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Helicopter   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great build quality (Made in USA!), nice detail, good bass for small speaker, good looks.

Weakness:

n/a

I have NHT in almost every room in the house, but a friend gave me these and I must say I was impressed. Good detail, nice bass, good power handling. Not quite up there with the NHT SuperOne, but an excellent value at this price point. I use them in my bedroom system.

Similar Products Used: NHT, AR
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 18, 1999]

Good quality speaker for the money. Nothing exciting but matches my VR950 and VR-10 alright. Build quality is very good for this price range. (150-200)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kev   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2000]

Purchased these speakers as rear surrounds to be matched with my older Boston A-70's along with a CR2 center channel. These are paired with a new Denon AVR-2801. I have both the mains and rears set as large speakers. I couldn't be happier with the sound. Highly recomended for someone on a tight budged as rear channel - however I wouldn't recomend them for your main channel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Not Available   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound. Crisp clear highs, midrange and good lowend for the size.

Weakness:

I'm tempted to toss one around like a football.

This is one of my favorite bookshelf speakers. I tried these after I got them and they sounded better at home then at the store. One of the problems is that you would have to buy a subwoofer to fill in for the low end. I listen to baSicallly all kinds of music and the mids highs and lows are good.

Similar Products Used: Polk, Acoustic research, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com