Boston Acoustics BA 635 Floorstanding Speakers

BA 635

3-Piece Powered Multimedia speakers for computers

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Tom Razmologov   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 17, 2002]
Strength:

Everything: Size, Sound, Quality and dependability, Price, what else is there? Powerful!

Weakness:

like someone else said, which made me laugh, Makes you regret in buying a floor system for much, much more, cause i almost never listen to it anymore since i've gotten these babies.

I chose Boston Acoustics because I've always known that they made exceptional sound systems that delivered crisp and clear sound. Knowing their quality and sound, the price was the final determining factor. When i actually tried them out at home, WOW! What sound for a 3 piece! This sub sounds like a 12 inch stereo sub. I simply refuse to watch DVD's on my TV and sacrifice the size of the screen for the sound of this system. Its like you're at the movies, well almost! This system is simply incredible, Thank You, Boston Acoustics!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete Johnstone   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 26, 2000]
Strength:

Compact. Auto On/Off. Great Sound

Weakness:

No headphone jack

Came with my Gateway computer. I thought it sounded very good but didn't realize how it great it was until I compared it with other speakers at my parents' home and at work. The Boston's are very crisp while the others are muffled. For the price(I've seen it for $79), it is an fantastic value. Previous reviewer commented that the subwoofer doesn't sound well if it is turned on all the way. This is true but as he said it works just fine if < 1/2.

Similar Products Used: harman/kardon HK195, Altec Lansing GCS100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andreas   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2001]
Strength:

Rich, clear sound at high volume and low price!

Weakness:

These things make you regret for buying that 300 dollar stereo system... :)

I was planning on buying myself a set of better speakers for my computer, so I read a lot of reviews and everyone was just crazy about the BA635 so I bought them. Even after what people had said I was really surprised by the sound these little things can let out! The sound is rich and crystal clear and the bass is enourmous for the size of the subwoofer. There is no detectable distortion of any kind when the sound levels are fine (that is actually a problem with the soundcards because of their weak amplifiers the distortion levels increase when amplified through the soundcards). Ofcourse these speakers aren't a match to some loudspeakers in volume, but they beat many in sound quality and that is what I expect from my system. I won't be needing external stereos... Simply better than anything I have ever tried before! Higly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Nothing comparable or similar to these...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan Crowell   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2001]
Strength:

Great price, adequate volume, compact, easy to set up, sounds good

Weakness:

none

Incredible little sub-sat combo. We got them in last Christmas at the Tweeter store I work at, and set them on display hooked up to a Panasonic DVD portable. The sub was just sitting on a counter, in open air, and it still produced an incredible amount of output for a 4.5 inch driver in a little plastic box. The peak spl for this little combo is (if I remember correctly) around 105 decibels at 1 m. The satellites produce very clear, if somewhat bright, sound, and when the bass module is placed in a corner, it produces an impressive amount of output. Obviously this is not an audiophile speaker set, but it is an excellent value, even at $70 retail, and is better than any system I can think of at that price point.

Similar Products Used: Altec Lansing, Klipsch ProMedia, Boston 790
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ragbar   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2001]
Strength:

- rich, warm sound
- very efficient
- jaw-dropping price

Weakness:

Weaknesses? WHAT weaknesses???

I have used these with my Gateway computer for almost two years and I am still amazed by the sound quality this little guys produce. Don't be put off by their size -- the sound is much, MUCH bigger! On occasion the left speaker goes out for a few seconds, but I just tap it and everything's fine. For music listening, these are SUPERB and can easily fill a college dorm room with room to spare. The incredibly low price makes this an essential purchase for anyone who is sick of their old tin can speakers and wants to upgrade. I never heard of Boston Acoustics prior to obtaining these speakers but I am definitely keeping my ears open to their new products now!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Randall Reese   an Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 1999]

WOW!Thats all I could say when I got these home.For the price unbeatable.If you are using $20 they came with the computer speakers these will amaze you.Small,compact,look great,and sound fantastic.There are better speakers I am sure but I think they cost twice the price these do.I would say this is one of the best bargins in sound there is.If you like to surf and listen to music with resonable sound quality this is the way to go unless you got a sack of cash for speakers that cost twice this much.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
AudioMan   an Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 1999]

I recieved this speaker package with my new Gateway, and I have to say that I'm pretty impressed. Boston Acoustics does a good job of packing a punch in a small package. The tiny satillite speakers do a good job of reproducing treble and midrange sounds, and are not tinny. Their small design makes them easy to tuck in beside the monitor. The bass module is fairly small as well, and can be placed on the floor somewhere. Overall, this is a very good package. However, the bass module will emit a loud, noticable rattling noise (shame on you, BA!) if it is turned up about 3/4 of the way during loud bass passages. Fortunatly, it will produce at lower volumes (1/2 way is fine). I have to hand it to Boston Accoustics, the space saving design is a godsend on my cluttered desktop. Good sound, too....but....the bass rattle is annoying. 4 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Fred   Audiophile [Jan 30, 2000]
Strength:

Great Sound, good build quality

Weakness:

none

After listening to these speakers for a few weeks, I felt compelled to submit a review. They really are a bargain. They have a wonderful sound, a warm yet quick midrange with great transient detail, nicely extended high frequencies without being overly bright and excellent blending of the subwoofer and satellites (when properly adjusted - I have the subwoofer level control set a little below halfway.) And they do ALL THIS for $70. They will play fairly loud and I have used them in a small room with a portable CD player for a minimal stereo system. Don't laugh until you try it, the speakers will surprise you. If there are any audiophiles out there using cheap $10 speakers on their computer, get some BA635's and a good sound card, it will be the most audio fun for $70 you've had in a long time!

The above review is my overall impression of the speakers, but to be complete, here are a few negative points:

On all 3 sets I tried (kept the 3rd set) there is a fuzzy distorted sound eminating from the subwoofer like some of the higher frequencies are leaking through with about 100% distortion. This distorted sound is fairly low level and can only be detected if you place your ear within a few inches of the subwoofer. From normal listening position the satellites completely mask this. I was bothered initially by this, since it appears to be a design defect, but in normal use it is inaudible and a limitation I can live with for $70.

On one of the sets I purchased and returned the right satellite was highly distorted, so there may be some quality control problems. The salesman suggested that the third time would be the charm and he was right - the third set is fine so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ernest vining   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2000]
Strength:

style,compact,well balanced sound,bang for the buck

Weakness:

lots of distort above 3/4 of total max volume

i love these speakers. i like how they automatically turn of when you turn off your pc.. i have a one bedroom apt. and i can here them through the whole house. i went to comp usa and listened to about 35 sets of pc speakers and these by far were the BEST!!!! these speakers are not tiny at all!! who wants a pc speaker system with 6 speakers, come on. only complaint is lots of distort at high levels which sucks!!

Similar Products Used: none for the price
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Randall Reese   Casual Listener [Sep 28, 2000]
Strength:

Good design,small size for sound that comes out,clean clear sound

Weakness:

None really
Maybe woofer volume control should be on speaker front

Wow!
Thats about all I could say when I hooked these up.The sounds that come from these are great for the size vs price.I mean there are better I am sure but at a much higher price.These speakers are a must for computer folks who listen to MP3.BA has done it again with giving excellent value for the money in a great product

Similar Products Used: many small computer speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com