Bose Acousitmass 10 Floorstanding Speakers

Acousitmass 10

Two 2.5" drivers in each of 5 modules. Sub has three 5.5" drivers.

User Reviews (293)

Showing 1-10 of 293  
gonzalo azocar   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2008]
Strength:

design

Weakness:

the sound
the price

Expensive, bad sound for the price.
Made of cheap components.
too many marketing, too bad sound

Avoid bose, for the same money you can get Much better equipment

Similar Products Used: B&W
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
alvin of Oklahoma   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2007]
Strength:

tiny

Weakness:

weak sound

I was not impress with these speakers the sound is missing a lot of sound that I can hear on large floor standing speakers. I have PolksRms7200 which is better to me in music and home thearter than the Bose I took back the Bose and even brought back out my Wharfdale. The Polk's are in my bedrom and the Wharfdales are back in the saddle in the media room. If you buy the Bose, you must never had good speakers before if you keep them.

Similar Products Used: Polk rms7200
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steve_Hobart   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 25, 2006]
Strength:

Great meaty bass. Great looks. Easy to install and wire up (all wiring is marked).

Weakness:

A bit thin in the mid range. Initial installation easy but it takes some finetuning of positioning and tweaking to get the sound great and requires a good quality AMP.

OK. I have a Bose Acoustimass System in my Home Theatre, which I also use for listening to music. I have the powered sub woofer. It is driven by a Yamaha vx 795 Amp.

I like these speakers........I know that they are not the best speakers in the world, or even in the price range (I am not claiming that they are), however for me I enjoy the amazing bass and they provide me a great Home Theatre experience. Everyone who comes to my home is blown away by the sound. Sure they are not audiophiles, and sure other brands may be better from a technical perspective, but the sound quality in my current room combined with the cool looks wins everyone over.

Listening to music is great (sometimes the sound can be a little thin in the mirange granted), but only noticable with certain types of music. (I have noticed flaws in other good speakers such as B&W as well).

I have noticed that with Bose the performance depends on the quality of your amp as well as the room acoustics and setup. The system sounds completely different (better )in my current (new house) than it did in my previous (much older) house.

I am very happy with them. All us Bose owners ask is that you leave us alone to enjoy the product without being "bagged" all the time on audio forums. I respect that people choose other systems please do the same for us.

Steve

Customer Service

Great service from Bose on accessories, advice etc.

Similar Products Used: B&W, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jon   AudioPhile [Jan 02, 2004]

If you are wondering why Bose does not get good reviews, then please read carefully. Ever wonder why Bose does not post specs on their speakers? Here's why... the "bass" module only goes down to 46Hz (most less expensive speaker systems will go down to 29 or 30Hz such as the Energy Take 5.2 and even cheap Paradigm speaker packages). The Bose Bass module reaches up to 200Hz. Here is where the problem begins... The little cube speakers go down to 280Hz. So you are missing sound from 200Hz to 280Hz. If you listen to music or use these for Home theater, then you will be missing a pretty important part of the sound spectrum. But wait! That's not it! The cube speakers only go up to 13KHz (Human hearing can reach 20KHz). Bose has decided for you that anything above 13Khz is not important. Well, like I said before... If you use these for music or Home Theater you will be missing a lot. Unbelievable! Due to the system's internal crossover, there is an audible gap from 200Hz to 280Hz and from 13KHz to 20Khz. THAT MEANS ONLY 66% OF THE ACTUAL RECORDING OR MOVIE IS BEING PLAYED BACK TO YOU!! This is the most outrageously overpriced speaker system I have ever heard. Please do yourself a favor and go listen to other products. If you can't go to a decent audio store to audition speakers and your ONLY option is Best Buy or Circuit City, then spend less money and get the Athena speakers or JBL speakers or Klipsch speakers. Much better options (not available at chain stores yet they are probably available at a decent audio shop near you) would be speaker offerings from Energy, Paradigm, Gallo(very small speakers but impressive sound), B&W... and great bargains on terrific subwoofers can be found if you look at SVS or HSU subwoofers (not extremely expensive but great bang for the buck). Ask yourself this? Who told you Bose makes great speakers? Radio Commercial? (paid for by Bose) Magazine Advertisement? (paid for by Bose) Infomercial??? A person who owns Bose and has never ventured outside of Sam's Club or Best Buy to listen to speakers? Please, before spending your hard earned money, do some research on these speakers. Search the message boards at audio websites such as Audiogon, Audio Asylum, Sound and Vision, AVS forum, etc. etc. I don't expect everyone to take my word as Golden and I completely understand. Just do some research about these speakers!!! I probably can't post links but this will get you started... look for discussion forums at Web sites such as Audiogon, Audio Asylum, Sound and Vision Mag, and AVS forum.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ethan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2003]
Strength:

Cute little looks - appealing to housewives maybe for it's easier for them to clean the house. (as opposed with the previous reviewer who described them as lacking in manhood) - I find them cute.

Weakness:

Sound way below expectation at the price.

I apologise to all Bose owners but I have to say they are crap. The AM-10 is my first introduction to HT and I got it when I was in uni at the age of 19. That was more than 6 years ago. Now I have a system based on Classe SSP-60, CAV-150 and with B&W N803 fronts, HTM 1 center and N805 rears. I know my current system is not comparable to the Bose AM-10 since they are totally in a different price group and class altogether. Nevertheless, I would strongly suggest NOT TO GET ANY BOSE ACOUSTIMASS SYSTEMS. If you like their less-intrusive cute little shape of speakers (as opposed with the previous reviewer who said they lack manhood), then get the Lifestyle instead. The Acoustimass range is crap. The Lifestyle is reasonably fair in performance and function but if you compare with other setups there are better stuff out there for the same money. Overall Bose sucks.

Similar Products Used: B&W CDM series, Nautilus series, JM Labs Utopia.... I know these are high-end stuff so my apologies of comparing these with the low-end Bose.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Jesse   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2003]
Strength:

None in my eyes

Weakness:

small speakers reduce manliness not convincing over the entire bandwith that we hear and not enough power to light a high quality light bulb many many many more....

I work at best buy part time while I finish my master's degree in mechanical engineering. As a degreed engineer I have been trained to weigh the positives and negatives of any product, and not simply regard someones advertising campaign as the whole truth. Folks, let your ears decide, listen to a bose system, then listen to real speakers. Not only will the spec sheet on the speakers spell out the difference (frequency response, power handling, sensitivity etc...) But just go listen. The bose are just about the worst speakers I have ever heard, unfortunanetly working at best buy I have to listen to them everyday. The low range is non-existant on the satelittes and the subwoofer, im sorry the "acoustimass" module is just not convincing, the approach of the t-rex in jurassic park sounds more like a small woodland creature rather than the 40 ton king of the jurassic period. Even on my modestly sized JBL 400 watt sub the rex rattles my floor and shakes my walls. When I watched gone in 60 seconds the exhaust sounds and surround effects of the shelby chase scene made my heart race, and I ve seen that movie 15 times, but never had I had that experience. That is the difference, home theatre is meant to be EXPERIENCED, not merely observed. Some people think the bose is a good solution for those looking for home theatre performance, however I am not convinced, the system doesnt come with a true center channel so the vocals are painful, yes painful to listen to. All in all from the home theater aspect this is a system for those who would like to merely observe a movie in surround sound. For those who want to EXPERIENCE home theatre and never bother with the movie theatre again, setup a real speaker system. Seriously, bose has most people so brainwashed into thinking that those little cube jobs actually sound better than floor speakers. I live in an apartment where I have tastefully decorated around my 12" 400 watt sub, 600 watt front towers and 250 watt rear towers. In a 12' by 12' room. Thats experiencing home theatre. On to music, if you have no idea what music is supposed to sound like buy a bose system. If you like you music reproduced accurately and cleanly stay as far away as possible from one of these. Demo this set of speakers with a good jazz, like a tenor sax, or play something bluesy from stevie ray vaughn or taj mahal. Then play some hard rock and rap. Then repeat this process for a real set of speakers, the point is anything else will sound better. The bose has poor low range response so anything with a bass guitar will be missing, drumming will sound more like a snare drum than a real set of drums. The midrange is just completely gone, like I said listen to what happens to a good tenor sax (minid abear) players music when you listen on these speakers. The high range is bordering on painful when at normal levels and the sensitivity is so poor its almost impossible to get lots of sound out of them (thank god). My advice is to grow up and get floor speakers and experience your music and home theatre. Get a big sub and use it to augment your music and frighten you with incredibly deep, and moving special effects. The klipsch synergy series or the athena's are excellent options for setting home cinema/sound stage for the same price as the AM-10,15 or lifestyle 28. Floor speakers are not a burden and can be tastefully decorated around, or incorporated as the theme in you entertainment room. All it requires is a little creativity and open mindedness. However if you must have little baby speakers look at polk, b&w, klipsch or mirage. Please, dont be persuaded by the marketing machine, your ears wont lie to you, listen to what they tell you. I wouldnt even put one of these system in my bedroom if someone gave it to me for free, nor would I wish one of these upon my worst enemy.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch synergy series, DPA slt 2.8, JBL control monitors, athenas
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David   Casual Listener [Apr 20, 2003]
Strength:

Small size, easy to hide, easy to use speaker stands.

Weakness:

Sound. Price

Bought them expecting very good perfomance, based on some 301's I have owned for 8 years. After 1 week of use they went back to the bose store. Problems: The speakers really lack the ability to play a strong female voice, especially up high. The base sounds to 'uncontrolled'. It doesn't give a good clean sound. The center speaker is terrible for voices when watching a DVD or TV. Powered with a Denon 2802 receiver and spen 1 week changing the settings and the speaker locations. Eventually returned the speakers and bought a full set of the new Mirage Omni Series (OM60, OMNICC, LF150, OMNI FX. A little more expensive but much easier to listen to, much better for voices, much better for rock and good female vocals. I would rate these similar to the Mirage AVS200 Series which is only about $600.

Similar Products Used: Bose 301, Mirage, Boston Accoustics.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Rapture1953   AudioPhile [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Quality of sound. Quality of construction. Fine warranty. Overload protection built-in to protect your investment. Unprecedented engineering. Transducers that are unaffected by climate. Consistency of sound from speaker to speaker due to controlled manufacturing quality. Very little sonic degradation as the speaker system ages.

Weakness:

Its inability to satisfy the LESS descriminating buyer.

I enthusiastically recommend the Bose AM 10 III system to those who have a trained ear. I've played musical instruments for 46 years, worked in musical instrument stores for 26 years, installed and operated pro audio systems for 22 years. I can assure you that Dr. Amar Bose knows what he's doing. Dr. Bose manufactures a REFINED product for REFINED ears. His product produces balanced sound as revealed by my spectrum analyzer. If you spend 10 hours per week in an automobile containing 2-12" sub-woofers pushed by a 1000 watt amp that has dulled and/or permenantly removed most of your low frequency hearing, then I would suggest that you NOT purchase this system, for it does not have the ability to overcome hearing loss. However, if you prefer a flawless one-carat diamond over a highly flawed 3-carat diamond, then this is the system for you. Should your room contain more than 300 square feet, you might want to consider the next larger unit, because of its increased bass performance. I power my system with a YAMAHA RX-V1000 AV receiver and use a YAMAHA EQ-500U Equalizer to 'fit' the system to my Video room.

Similar Products Used: Klipsh surround-sound. (Even an EQ couldn't make it sound good!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
apun   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2003]
Strength:

Small Size great sound Amazing "Real" Sound Production

Weakness:

Passive Subwoofer(AM-10 Series III has an active one) Maybe a lil pricey

Ok i got this as a prize and i was happy that i got me a bose surround system. Little did i know that the passive subwoofer that it came with lacked the punch i was looking for. However, this product held true to its words: Real Sound! However most of us prefer to have some extra bass to shake the couch and give us the feel of the movie. I am using this with a Harman Kardon AVR510 reciever so i knew i was sending in more juice than needed. However this all changed one day when i decided to add in another subwoofer since this system does not really use the subwoofer out from the reciever. Since then i have had no troubles with this system, it performs well at low, medium and high volumes. As long as you have an additional subwoofer hooked up (i recommend velodynes)this system wont let u down.

Similar Products Used: JBLs (they suck)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
stvnscott   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2003]
Strength:

They look great and offer interesting imaging options.

Weakness:

Too many to list.

I have to admit having very high expectations when I bought these speakers. At a cost of $1,000, I expected them to perform exceedingly well in spite of the fact that they are a sub/sat system. I was disappointed. Beginning with the bass module, the very low frequencies are noticably absent. Further, while most subs start at 20 or 30 Hz and roll off at around 80 or 100 Hz, this one seems to start at 80 Hz and be crossed over at around 180 or 200 Hz. This makes the bass very frequencies directional. Not a good thing. The bandpass design of the enclosure limits its performance to being loose, floppy, and boomy. Moving along to the midrange. There is an incredible hole in the midrange from about 180 to 280 Hz (I'm guessing). Listening to a good male vocalist is depressing. His voice will frequently suck out. A piano concerto is worse. The high and low ranges of the piano sound ok, but the mids vaporize. The sound fades in and out as the pianist delves into the missing octave(s) as a result. Also, the mids are not smooth and natural. I think colored and harsh is a more accurate description. The highs were unilaterally disappointing. First, they stop short of the 20,000 Hz defacto standard which all other speakers seem to be able to hit. Second, the definition is cloudy and shrill. I experience fatigue after only about an hour of listening to this sytem. To put matters into context, I tried very hard to get these speakers to work. I tweaked my Onkyo receiver exhaustively in trying to dial in better sound. I even took my AudioSource EQ out of the closet and tried to finely equalize them into sounding better. I worked with placement and imaging. I did everything I could think of to no avail. These speakers are simply not capable of producing high quality sound. I cannot believe they are priced in this range. In the end, I returned them and opted for a component system centered around Polk's excellent LSi series of bookshelf speakers. I paid just a little more for them after bargain hunting on the internet, but the difference in sound quality is astonishing. In summary, the bass module doesn't move enough air to be effective. The satellites feature speakers which are too small to be effective midranges, but are too big to be even decent tweeters. I question the materials used to make the drivers. I think Bose might buy their drivers from the bargain shelf at Radio Shack. There are at least a dozen systems available which sound better for less money. I very good example of this is Polk's RM6700 sat/sub system. It looks almost as good, has the same abundant mounting options, and sounds 100 times better. At the moment, if you are willing to spend about $700 on the complement of satellites, Polk throws in a sub free. Bose is a lot like McDonald's. The marketing is great. The product is not.

Similar Products Used: Polk RM6700
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 293  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com