B.I.C. America venturi Floorstanding Speakers

B.I.C. America venturi Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Oct 06, 2003]
Tom Ruffin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Soundstage; smooth, accurate midrange and high end. Unbelievable power handling for the price. Good dynamics.

Weakness:

I like a lot of oomph in the low end. Fortunately, a subwoofer gives you all you need...Ed says that the 8 inch woofers in the other BIC speaker sacrifices midrange accuracy. I have to believe he is right.

I talked to Ed on the strength of other reviewers in this space. He had a pair of DV64s in stock since a recent customer had not come through. I figured I had very little to lose, so I went for it. These speakers are excellent. They have a great soundstage and are extremely smooth from about 40 hz up. Very very easy on the ears. No fatigue at all, even when played very loud by my Phase Linear 400 amp. Ed is the real thing. He cares and he has good ears. And he does not overcharge. I submit he undercharges.

Similar Products Used:

System: Phase Linear 400 Amp Carver 4000 Preamp Carver Tube Output CD Player HSU 1225 Subwoofer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 13, 2002]
Rob V
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value - for $160/pair (w/ Ed's x-over mod), you can't even come close. Flat frequency response. High power handling. Sound great at low or high volume levels.

Weakness:

Nothing that I can complain about

I learned of the BIC dv62si from the Consumer Reports reviews, but had to do more research. I can't believe that CR is the ultimate audio authority. The reviews here on AudioReview.com reinforced the opinion that this was a quality speaker, so I bought a pair, along with the acclaimed dv62clr center channel. Before even listening to these speakers, I sent the crossovers to Ed Frias for his crossover mods. I was not dissapointed. I could hear no over or under emphasized frequencies. Smooth and realistic response. Wow! See Ed's review further below. It was not until I bought a Sony ES surround receiver that I really appreciated what these speakers could do. The clarity is dramatic, limited only by the source material. Although the receiver has an amazing parametric EQ, there is virtually no need to use it with these speakers. I bought two more dv62si and sent the crossovers to Ed again (I have never listened to the unmodified speakers). Back to me in less than a week again! (coast to coast by priority mail) Five speakers (4 dv62si and one dv62clr) cost me under $450 (including shipping & Ed Frias' crossovers). It is my opinion that there is no better value in the budget speaker world.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity Infinitesimal IV

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 10, 2002]
vare4
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Incredable sound

Weakness:

Price, I feel like I stole something.

I discovered Ed Frias and BIC America speakers on the AR.com web site and since he lived close to me I went to see him to talk speakers. I had an old 4-channel surround system that needed upgrading. First of all Ed''s a delight to talk to. Extremely knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. The first time I went to his home I spent three hours talking stereo and listening to his awesome speakers (his own EFE line). I''m telling you if you''re a true audiophile you can''t go wrong with his speakers. Don''t let the bargain prices fool you. You won''t do better for many time more. Ed seems to be offended by speaker companies that overcharge for their equipment. Ed doesn''t! Anyway back to the BICs. I was on a budget and didn''t have a lot to spend on a new system. I got a Toshiba DVD player for Christmas and bought a Kenwood AV receiver (AV-509, actually not a bad unit for the money). I purchased from Ed a complete system that he modified rather then buying something off the net (Ubid, etc and having Ed modify) and not knowing the quality you might get. I''ve heard of people getting blems off the net that were problematic. The system I bought was a Venturi DV62 SI up front, a Center DV 62 CLR-S and two rear Adatto DV 52 SI plus a JBL PB12 sub. WOW. The sound is magic. Crystal clear highs and strong lows. Pianos that sound like pianos, violins that sound like violins, all together. All wonderful. Incredible sound. I bought a Chesky CD and it sound like I''m standing on the sound stage with the artist. I truly can''t believe how good the sound is. My buddy who owns B&W speakers was equally impressed. You can''t not be impressed after hearing these incredible speakers AFTER Ed''s modifications. Plus if you''re looking only for a great stereo speakers on a budget Ed''s 62 conversation is only $250, and that includes the speakers! I just can''t say enough about these BIC speakers and Ed. What a great experience. Oh, by the way, while I was on a budget and didn''t spend a lot, what I got was a system that will compete with any $3000 system you can put together. I know that''s hard to believe and I''m sure some owners of the more expensive stuff will say I''m crazy or don''t know what I''m listening too, but the real proof is in the listening. Seek out Ed. Listen to his stuff. If you''re into stereo at all, it will be like going to Disneyland, except it''s all rea

Similar Products Used:

Original Advents (the''re for sale now)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 21, 2000]
Derk Bailey
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very accurate highs,mids and incredible bass.

Weakness:

Did not have them enhanced by Mr.FRIAS earlier

I've had two pair of the DV 62si's for several months
now,and until i let ED FRIAS enhance them by adjusting the crossovers i was pretty impressed with their sound;now i am
astounded by the clearity of the highs,smooth mids and punchy bass.My friends can't believe their the same speakers.These speakers will match the build quality and
sounds(after being enhanced) of speakers five times as much. B.I.C. is sitting on a gold mine and they don't even know it,Thanks Mr.FRIAS you really know your stuff!

For enhancements:ED FRIAS
EFESPKRS@aol.com
(760)741-6525

Similar Products Used:

POLK RT25,mission77,JBL Studio series

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2000]
Mark
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean sound, price, looks.

Weakness:

None

I wanted to post a review of these speakers because they are terrific for the cost. At first i bought them because they were a bargain and i read some positive reviews of these speakers. When i received them, i was a little disappointed with the lack of midrange and was going to sell them. I instead decided to upgrade them seeing some reviews of Ed Frias work on the DV62SI bookshelf speakers.
I'm very pleased with his work, he had them back to me in a week and they sound great! They match perfectly now with the 62CLR center channel and 1210 sub and all the missing mids are back. If you own these speakers give this upgrade a try, you won't be dissapointed, they are crystal clear.
Thanks again Ed for the fantastic sound!

-Mark

p.s. if interested in the upgrade contact Ed at EFESPKRS@aol.com, it's well worth it.


as;ldfja;df a;sdlfjas

Similar Products Used:

Polk RT35

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 04, 2000]
jason helems
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

none that i see

Weakness:

all around junk

I got a pair of bic venturi dv5312 towers and upgraded them to powered towers with bic's d200 amps.All I have to say is I should have bought speakers locally and not through the internet.I hooked these pieces of junk up to Sony reciever and played 2 songs when i heard this god awful sound it was the amp then I started smelling something that was the sub it also blew.So i called the tech at bic and he was cooperative he told me to send the amp in and they would send out a new one along with the new sub.That was fine i figured maybe I got a bad speaker that wasnt the case because the next day the other one blew the same way.What a waste of money.

Similar Products Used:

na

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 12, 2000]
Ed Frias
Audiophile

Strength:

Low price

Weakness:

Bright!

I sell the BICs as a lower priced speaker to those that can't afford my EFE TECHNOLOGY Speaker line.
Until last year the BIC DV62si (V-62 / C-6) was an unbelievably good speaker for the price! Consumer Report gave it a top rating above many well known brands in the same price range. Testing its accuracy straight out of the box amazed me! It was extremely flat and neutral for a budget speaker. Recently BIC changed the speaker in style and performance.
Recently I opened and set up a new pair and they shocked me! They were bright , tinny and harsh! I tested their accuracy with pink noise and my analyzer and found them to be terribly inaccurate. BIC has taken a good speaker and turned it into Home Theater junk!
Realizing they were still using decent drivers as before, I examined the crossovers and noticed the worst mistakes any speaker manfacturer could possibly do! I tried a second pair just to make sure the first wasn't a Monday morning employee mistake, they weren't! So I modified the crossover and performed a little magic on them, and WaLa!!
Actually made them to be a better speaker than the original C-6 which were very good! If any owners would like their BICs modified to be accurate, smoother and great for music as well as Home Theater, send them postage paid both ways and $40, and I will transform them for you. You may read reviews on EFE TECHNOLOGY speakers to varify I know how to build speakers! Out of the box I"ll give them a "1" for value . After modification, "5". For info contact:
Ed Frias
EFE TECHNOLOGY
FRIAS ENTERPRISES
760-741-6525
EFESPKRS@aol.com


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 20, 2001]
Steve
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid construction. Full soundstage. Extended bass and upper end. Well rounded midrange.

Weakness:

None.

Integrated well into my home theater - Hitachi 53" HDTV, Pioneer progressive scan DVD, Pioneer Elite series digital receiver. Rear speakers are CSW Ensemble 1 and center channel is CSW Center Channel Plus. I have had none of the problems that another reviewer has complained about. These are excellent speakers - and the price makes them all that much more attractive. For me, they work very well for music (classic rock, current rock, jazz and folk) as well as for home theater.

Similar Products Used:

JBL's - various bookshelf and tower models; BIC Venturi's 6's circa mid 70's, Altec Lansing.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2000]
dale
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none

I have the adatto's,not the venturis,but have to say that they to are very good speakers.I replaced my two fronts,which were quintets,with the two BIC'S.The bic's sound much better for stereo music,and as good,or even better for home theater.I also replaced my klipsch center channel with a bic adatto 4.2.Great speakers for the price.

Similar Products Used:

klipsch quintets

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2000]
Patrick
Audio Enthusiast

A couple of years back I was looking for a pair of inexpensive speakers to use on the "B" outputs of my amp for background music in another room. Browsing Costco, I came across a set of BIC Venturi 52Si bookshelf speakers. The name wasn't all that familiar, but the price was right.
When I got these things home I was ASTONISHED at how good they sounded for the money.

To cut a long story short, when the time came for new main speakers I took a leap of faith and ordered a full BIC setup. (BIC doesn't have formal distribution in my part of California, so I couldn't go anywhere to listen to them.) I kept my old 52Si's for the rear surrounds, and bought a pair of DV62Si's for front mains, a 52CLR for the center channel, and a V-1010 subwoofer. This setup sounds GREAT For both music and movies. Thru iitems.com the whole package cost around $450 (plus whatever I spent on the 52Si's, I can't remember exactly but I think it was well under $100). My opinion is that you would have to spend at least twice the money on any other brand to get as good a sound. The only problem with the system is that (as I see mentioned in other reviews on this site as well) the V-1010 sub has a tendancy to emit a soft "pop" noise when the auto power-up triggers. But hey, that only happens when you're NOT listening to anything, so it doesn't bother me much.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com