B.I.C. America V636 Floorstanding Speakers

V636

Tower Speaker

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
KDC   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2002]
Strength:

sound!!sound!!sound!!build quality and price shhhhhh not too loud

Weakness:

NONE

Hello, well here i''m writing this review while listening to my dv-736''s and let me tell you i love what i hear i''ve had them for five months now and from right out of the box''s i knew i had found an exceptional value wow!! beautiful low end wonderful mids and perfect highs i have listened to many speakers by various mfg but i have to say i''m sold on bic america just a great speaker in fact i am so happy with these i am planing on buying another pair for my liveing room oh by the way i also have the bic dv-62clr-s and it also is just as great sounding as the towers my speakers have never been modified and i plan not to do so... not because of the warranty but because i like the way they sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Powers   [Jun 27, 2000]
Strength:

PRICE, sound, quality

Weakness:

Do not compare BIC speakers with a high end speakers. This is not a high end speaker, despite what others think they are hearing.

Great speaker for the money. Quality of craftmanship is not compromised to accommodate a low price. I have had the V-802 model for about one year, and the sound is very good. It's hard to not give these speakers a high rating due to the price. I have owned and heard better, but nowhere near the low BIC price.

I was another fool to shop at Ubid. They screwed me as well. I moved my auctioning heart to onsale and haven't had a problem. P.S. I doubt that the Better Business Bureau will reslove your financial loss, but small claims court is effective.

Similar Products Used: Boston Accoustic and Bose. I do not care for the sound of the Bose satelite home theater speakers, as the mid range and bass are poor, not to mention the ridiculous price. The Boston Accoustic Lynnfield speakers are simply awesome. The Boston Accoustic speakers come alive with superior sound on all levels. I wish that I had never sold my Boston's to take a new job in the Bay Area. If the high end Boston Accoustics are way out of your price range, BIC is the best.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
C l   Casual Listener [Mar 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, excellent match for the DV62clr

Weakness:

Good bass, but still needs a subwoofer

I got it from Ubid, and they only sent me one speaker like the previous poster. When I called, they told me I wound get my second speaker from the manufacturer. The funny thing is, for the next few days they have auctioned off at least another 12 pair of speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
TJ   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2000]
Strength:

great sound, fantastic price at Ubid.com. I paid $180 for the pair. matched with the BIC 1010 subwoofer and the 62C center and 62bookshelfs.

Weakness:

For the speakers: None For Ubid: give them a zero. Seems they are sending out a LOT of one speaker systems these days. And getting the 2nd speaker isnt easy. All their customer support have said that someone from Customer Service will be contacting me. So far no one has, its been almost 10 days. Think the better businees bureau would be interested?

I matched with the BIC 1010 subwoofer and the 62C center and 62bookshelfs. Connected the speakers to a Denon DAV1800 receiver and it sounds great. Using the BIC D1210R subwoofer, DV62SI bookshelfs for the rear, and DV62CLR. Movies have never sounded so good. Even my wife was impressed (and she ususlly likes AM transistor radio sound :) ) Hopefully I will get the 2nd speaker soon. I have a borrowed RS1 hooked up to the other front channel and the BIC sounds much better. Especially for the price!
I have been a audio lover for years (but on a budget) and think you can't beat these speakers for the price. Just stay away from Ubid.com...

Similar Products Used: Infinity RS-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2001]
Strength:

Nice low end, exactly what I was missing from my smaller Polks (anyone want some Polk monitor 5's?)

Weakness:

None, although I suspect they benifit greatly from nice components.

Let me start by saying Wayne's review is absurd. The BIC DV736's perform beautifully after sufficient 'burn in time' is achieved (10 hrs.). I have sold Infinity, Klipsch and Kef speakers and for the money you cannot touch the performance of the DV736's. They will gladly accept high volumes and sound GREAT wherever you are in the house; this is what really amazed me...you don't have to sitting in front of them to enjoy them. In short, I'm smiling ear to ear and selling some nice Polk Monitor 5 speakers to offset the cost of their replacement. In closing,I can't imagine them not being an outstanding choice for home theater use as well.

Similar Products Used: ADS, Polk, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
nick4433   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2001]
Strength:

See Below

Weakness:

Not apparent

First of all thanks to all those reviewers who answered my email about binding posts on this speaker.
I have been a regular poster at the consumer forums and give my opinions as I see things withoput any distortion and was ready and armed to trash this speaker if it warranted but the reverse happened.
I paid $140 including shipping from Ubid and they arrived on time, both speakers in perfect condition. It's been about 2 weeks that I have been using them. For someone who had been using PSB and Energy speakers, my expectations were very high and i had a buyer arranged for $100 just in case I did not like them. In that case I would have lost $40 for experimenting them.
After 2 weeks of listening to them. let me say that I've been nothing but impressed with them. I think they have now burnt in and sound great. The highs according to some here were soft but I found it slightly harsh but not too harsh. Nothing that a decrease in treble didn't cure. The mids are really nice and the bass is what others have said below, tight. Now i do have a subwoofer that does the job well but these speakers have added that extra bit. The overall construction is pretty adequate and acceptable.
Overall this speaker can kick some serious ass and for the money? ($29 each?) it is a steal and had it not been for Ubid's receipt, i could have been in jail.
Remember, this speaker needs to be broken in for a good 10 days or so before you hear it's magic work.
I highly reccomend this.
My System:
Denon 3801 Receiver
Onkyo C-601 6 disc DVD player
Pioneer 35 disc CD player
Hitachi 35" TV
Mitsubishi HSU 795 S-VCR
RCA S-VCR
Dish Dolby Digital ready Satellite Receiver
Denon Tape Deck
BIC DV-736 Fronts, DV-62 CLR Center, DV-32 CLR Back, DV52 SIs Rears.

Similar Products Used: PSB,Energy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2001]
Strength:

Fine looking, ultimately great sounding, especially for the price.

Weakness:

Shrill out of the box

I bought this pair of DV736 speakers from Returnbuy.com via Ebay. They seemed to be electronically as new and had just a few dents along the rear edges. They sounded pretty nice but way too bright. I don't know if they've been broken in.
I tried Raymond's quick cheap fix described in his review and was disappointed. The excessive brightness was gone but the overall sound was really flat. So I sent the crossovers to Ed Frias. I just got them back and like other reviewers, I couldn't be more pleased. Every CD I play sounds better than ever!
I'm currently using a Denon AV receiver a few years old
in stereo mode.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dirk benedict   Audiophile [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

best speaker for the $

Weakness:

without modification very bright.. speaker has far to much lobing beginning at 1800 mghtz

Let me clarify changing the capacitor like Raymond mentions
does fix this speaker. changing to a 1.5 cap sets the cross over of the tweeter at 2800 (originally it was around 1700)
this causes the brightness all 3 speakers are producing the 1700-3000 frequencies. changing to a 1.5 cap changes the lobing of frequencies to 2800-3000 this effectively flattens the sound.. of course there are other ways to do this if you are not handy with a soldering iron.. just make a zoebel and place it in between the positive line going into the tweeter. If you want to know more. get a speaker builders guide at any local library. As far as doing anything else to the crossovers..there isnt much else you can do..EXCEPT turn the 2 way speaker system into a 3-way system.. No real benefit. just a bit more freq. dedication for indivdual drivers. You may also want to buy better woofers than the oems. Parts express has 6.5 woofers from 19-39.. replace the lower or replace them both.. a much better product. Remember most manufacturers of loadspeakers put in the most cost effective units in their enclosures that will give them an EXCEPTABLE product.. not necessarily the best.
Final thought: there are only 3 ways to modify 2-way speakers.. changing values on the crossover, putting zoebels and chokes in the speaker leads, Or replacing the driver units themselves. Capacitors (to set crossover for the tweeter) are about a $1 (mylar caps (better) about $3) Resistors (to choke off the woofer) $1-$4. I dont know of any miracle that can be performed to make these speakers sound better. They are what they are. Get some books on speaker building before ever attempting to modify ANY LOUDSPEAKER!

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Stan Rosenblatt   Audiophile [Jul 16, 2001]
Strength:

Price, Solid Bass, well-tempered mid-range, GOOD SOUND STAGE, Quality construction, bananna plug connectors.

Weakness:

Highs just a "tad" bright but hardcore "Rockers and R&B-ers would probably love this.

Possibly one of the best VALUES in hi-fi stereo speakers currently available, even incurring the shipping costs of Ubid. (I paid almost as much for shipping as for the speakers..but..STILL A HUGE BARGAIN!)

After listening to these speakers extensively for about 6 months, on ALL types of music, I would not hesitate to recommend these speakers to anyone. Some audiophiiles believe that no speaker finished in vinyl could be a quality product. For the "FROD"(Flat Response Or DIE) Kling-ons out there, the tweeter is likely a bit "bright" SO......
I did a little experimentation! Via the net I bought a couple of new 3/4 inch audiophile grade Scandinavian made tweeters that are the same size (94mm O.D.)w/ silk domes for under $20 ea. and were rated to handle at least 150W RMS short term(i.e. music). They are available from Madisound(.com) or Parts Express(.com)., and other vendors. Using a # 3 Phillips screwdriver to remove the original tweeter mounting screws(saving screws of course), a tiny flat-blade jewelers screwdriver(to loosten the middle of the quick-disconnects while carefully removing them from the +, - terminal posts, and exactly 10 minutes of my time, I was able to totally and neatly replace both tweeters. When I was finished, there was NO trace of my visit. The result was as Billy Crystal might say, "Simply Maavelous" The entire upper end of this speaker took on a totally SMOOTH character.

While I do not claim that my "modified" BIC736s are the finest speakers I have ever heard,.....I would say without reservation, they are perhaps the finest UNDER $150 audio investment I have ever made....hands down! In my opinion, the BIC 736s rival some larger more popular and esoteric speakers costing 6 to 8 times their price.
SUMMARY....IF YOU HAVE CHAMPAIGN TASTE AND A "beer" Budget and are looking for the BIGGEST AUDIO BANG FOR YOUR SPEAKER DOLLAR, ...BUY THE BIC736s ...as NIKE(tm) says, "JUST DO IT!"

Similar Products Used: Polk RTA1200s, AR monitors, JBL100s, etc,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Wayne   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2001]
Strength:

Just about perfect size, and good low end at any price.

Weakness:

Mids and highs are extremely bright and harsh. Very fatigueing for lengthy listening.

For the gentleman who thought my review was absurd, I suggest you listen to several "high end" speakers, as well as low end speakers, and compare the BIC's to them if possible. What I spoke of will become very evident in the face of what speakers should sound like, and what the BIC's sound like out of the box. Perhaps, you're an individual who likes to stand in front of a fire engine and listen to the siren? Really, if you like the way they sound, that's up to you, sir. But for the rest of us, the speakers are very bright and fatigueing. Vocals truly sound like people singing through cardboard tubes. I am fortunate to have several other brands and types of speakers to compare them to, and I can see they have great potential, especially having listened to them after the EFE Technology modification. I still haven't had mine modified, and I won't use them until they're fixed. I drug them out again yesterday and put them in line next to several different models of Wharfedales, Dahlquist, Acoustic Research, and some less famous brands. Almost any brand of speaker has some shortcomings. The other speakers I have lack bass, or in one case present too much bass. Others are too bright, and some lack mids. However, the BIC DV736 tower, out of the box is the brightest and harsheset of any I've ever auditioned. I admit they have a wonderful low end, but they really need the tweak to balance out the mids and highs. I have Wharfedale Rubiance tower models 25 and 27. Their mid/high range is very bright, but they are extremely clear and detailed. Although the highs are very bright, the clarity they provide is exceptional and not forward. The mids are very good, especially female vocals such as Diana Krall, Shirley Horne, Sarah Vaughn, and Peggy Lee. Although they are bright, they remind me that the BIC's should be clear and detailed without colouration. Those Whafedale Rubiance towers as well as the bookshelf models demonstrate how a speaker can be bright without colouring the sound as the BIC's do. I mentioned before about the vocals and "cardboard tube" syndrome. This is the colouration I speak of. I have some Dahlquist towers that are very balanced and provide severe lows comparing favorably to the BIC low end. However, the mids and highs are very well balanced, with clarity and detail. I know this can be achieved with the BIC's, but only after the crossover mod by ED. I strongly recommend the BIC DV736 speaker, as it is a very good foundation for an audiophile quality sound, but as they come from the factory, they are merely party speakers for the untrained ear. And I daresay, after extended listening at high volume, you will destroy any ability to hear high frequencies unless you have them balanced (crossover mod).


Please note: there is now a category for the BIC DV736, and you must scroll down the list of "B's" to get to it. The list has BIC divided into two different sections.

Similar Products Used: Dahlquist, Acoustic Research, DIY, DB Dynamics, Dunlevy, Wharfedale, Parasound, Arkay, Vandersteen, Canton, Jamo
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com