B.I.C. America D1010R Floorstanding Speakers

D1010R

High-current 150-Watt amp coupled to long throw 10" woofer handles extremely high volume levels without audible distortion. Patented "venturi" vent enhances low bass out-put.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
rkfountain   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2002]
Strength:

Price, performance.

Weakness:

Size, little large

I bought this sub almost a month ago and I can tell you I'm very pleased. For 145 bucks I got a 10" sub that rattles my family room! This sub may not compare to the higher end 500 dollar subs but then you aren't spending 500 bucks. I plan on replacing the 5 sony speakers that compliment my BIC sub with BIC speakers. Anyway, I am very pleased with this sub, I just watched pearl harbor with the sub on notch 5 of 10...my heart raced with anticipation of each bomb and each explosion!! Some other notes, this sub doesn't pop when the auto on feature kicks in...also there is no hissing or popping of any sort when turning it off or on.

Similar Products Used: Sony, BIC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2000]
Strength:

Deep low bass. Can shake your walls. Quality construction.

Weakness:

None too obvious. If you turn it up and stand close to sub it seems to be a little boomy, and somewhat of a little rattle in the sub. This is probably because the insulation is not very big inside the box. I have plans of putting some more Polly-fill in there to dampen it up a bit.

I haven't had all the time in the world to test this sub out, but so far I am pleased. I have hooked it up and played some song with some deep bass, and this sub sounds great. You could rattle your walls if you have an apartment.

The construction is very well done on this sub. It weighs 40 lbs, so It' not just a bunch of plastic and thin wood. I don't hear any popping sound when it is turned on or off, which is a good thing because many people complain of this in other subs. This 10" sub can go down to 29 hz, and I have heard even 27 hz. For a 10" that is great.

Overall this is an excellent product, and I got it at a great price brand new at UBID, so it is definately has a good value rating to me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2000]

Follow up to my last review. I unscrewed the woofer to have a look inside. I noticed there was a decent amount of insulation, but it was just sort of smashed together and thrown and pasted into a corner of the sub. My insulation was even falling off and hanging around in the box.

I got some of my own insulation, and cut it into squares and glued them to the inside walls of the sub, all 6 of them. The sub sounds even better then before. I don't notice the tiny little rattle, and it isn't boomy at all. I may have to turn it up more to hear it better because I dampened a little of the sound with all my insulation, but overall it is an improvement to an already great sub. I recommend thin layers of insulation, around 1/2". If you cut your insulation into layers too thick, it will greatly decrease the inside of the box. The inside of my box already looks quite a bit smaller then before, if you cut your pieces too big there won't be much room for the air to move around inside your sub. Overall, I'd definately recommend adding a little more insulation or pollyfill on the inside of your box, it improves the sound even more!!! I'll give it 5 stars for the improvement.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
smrgol   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2001]
Strength:

deep, low, full bass (27hz). price.

Weakness:

auto on/off makes popping sounds.

nice, clean, deep sounding sub. CHEAP. box is a little big, but the sound you get for the price is worth it. i was supprized i could find a sub for less than $175 that reaches below 30 hz. i've got this thing paired with a couple jbl d38s (nice mid and high with shallow bass), powered by an optimus stav-3560 receiver. very nice sound.

Similar Products Used: -
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Justin Bruhns   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2001]
Strength:

deep bass, nice looking. Auto-on feature works great for me.

Weakness:

Y-cable seems to have no effect. Has input for digital and input for Pro Logics.

this addes great bass to my system. My system includes 2 technics 2 SB-T200's
Klipsch KV-1 Center
Rears are Klipsch Quintet

The built in crossover works nicley, I have turned mine up to volume 5 and it rattles deep low bass well. Great sub for the price I got it for. However I may mention that it took ubid 2 weeks and 1 day to get this to me.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2001]
Strength:

Deep bass, nice controls.

Weakness:

Can be a bit "boomy" at very loud volumes. Auto-on feature doesn't seem to like my receiver.

The BIC in my system is used for the LFE. I've set it up w/ 4 Klipsch Quintet series Front/Surrounds and an SC-1 center channel. Thanks to the built-in crossover (60-180Hz) and volume controls, the sub blends in perfectly with the rest of the system. Bass is relatively tight at most volume levels, and only seems to go out of bounds if you really push it with music.

All said, I'm very happy with this piece of equipment. It's not a Sunfire by any means, but for ~$150, it does a great job.

Similar Products Used: BOSE, Cambridge, Polk Audio
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Marvin   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2001]
Strength:

Deep, Tight Bass

Weakness:

None

I use a BIC D1210R for my LFE and the D1010R for my rear Dolby Digital EX soundstage. Let me tell you, if you don't use a subwoofer for your rear soundstage, you are definitely NOT going to get the most out of your system.
Using dipole, bipole or direct radiating speakers alone for the rear will not allow you to experience the full bandwith
that Doly Digital offers. The D1010R is a nice, affordable
subwoofer that's not boomy and the quality and workmanship is comparable to more expensive models. Placement of the D101R is also not a problem. There is no "pop" when you turn it off or when it is activated from standby mode. As
far as I am concerned, BIC has the BEST customer support department I have ever dealt with. The representatives name is Jeff. He is patient, honest and very knowledgeable about BIC products. A word about UBID delivery: I ordered a second D101R using Fed EX as the delivery service trying to save two or three dollars. When I arrived home one evening I noticed a small Fed EX van pulling out of my driveway. I thought it was rather strange that it wasn't the usual large truck. I picked up the D101R box and there was a huge hole in the side of it and the side of the subwoofer speaker was damaged. I called Fed EX and I was told it would take 30 days to resolve the claim. I called UBID and I was credited the $99 to my account in about 7 days. Here is the point: DON'T use Fed EX for UBID home delivery. The driver KNEW the box was torn and the speaker was damaged (you could see the speaker) and he still delivered it. He didn't stop to explain what the claim procedure was or help to inspect the damaage; he just smiled and waved as he pulled off. This is NOT a complaint against UBID, they were very professional. Use UPS...believe me it is worth the extra money UBID charges.

Similar Products Used: BIC D1210R
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc C   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2001]
Strength:

Not sure yet.

Weakness:

A lot of hum and background noise

Well, I just got this the other week and I had a chance to hook it up in my new place this weekend. I am using a JVC 9000 receiver and hooked it up to the subwoofer with a Monster cable. . . very shielded cable I might add. I also plugged it into a Monster power cleaning strip. Anyway, when I started to turn up the volume, a very noticable humming sound showed up, and behind the humming i could hear radio voices. No matter what I did to this component (moved it around the room, tried different outlets, tried a different cable) the noise wouldn't go away.
No other speaker or component in this system has interfearence of any kind coming though it. As it is right now, this component is basically unusable. There is so much noise that if I turn it up to a level I can hear it, the noise if very noticeable.
I talked with a guy at Magnolia HiFi about this problem and he gave me a number of things to try, all of which have not worked. He said he had seen this one other time at a customers house, and the subwoofer was made by the same company. He thought it was because there wasn't enough shielding in the woofer itself, but he couldn't be sure.
Ugh! Not sure what to do. I'm pretty sure it isn't the receiver, but I'm going to try it on a different one tonight just to be sure.
Don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com