B&W DM604 S3 Floorstanding Speakers

DM604 S3

The imposing DM604 S3 is the only full 3-way system in the range. The dedicated Kevlar® cone midrange driver is housed in its own isolated chamber within the cabinet and delivers all the nuances of the detail in the recording without the encumbrance of having to produce any bass.

Twin 180mm (7-in) aluminium cone bass drivers combine with Flowport to deliver the deepest bass frequencies with ease. Like all the vented-box systems in the range, foam plugs are supplied to block the ports should the acoustic of the listening room impose too much bass reinforcement.

Suited to larger rooms, the DM604 S3 is capable of reproducing everything from the delicate sounds of a solo performance to the complexities of a large ensemble. In combination with the LCR600 S3 centre speaker it forms the basis of a truly impressive home theatre installation.

User Reviews (43)

Showing 1-10 of 43  
Manicindhouse   AudioPhile [Apr 19, 2011]

I bought mine for $750 and they were like mint condition and man im in love with them powering it with the krell 400xi. Tried it with the rotel the base was just too high !

Love how the music fills the room just great!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Prithvish   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2010]

Hey there People
I just managed to get a great deal on the B&W 604 s'3 in black on ebay it was virtually in Mint! I paid $750.

I have been into audio equipment for quite some time and played around with a few of my speakers.

a. 3 Drivers for the 604'w give's you better clarity for a mid range speaker as the power distribution is more even.

b. You need a very good amplifier to get these baby's singing they are highly reliable and do not fade in time.

c. For older people and characters who listen to classical and low range music it kinda is over ya'lll
for the rest of the people go for it!

d. These babies are heavy but well worth the money especially if your watching a movie.

Bottom line have the right setup and you will get these just right some of you may prefer a preamp to have a better choice of tuning......


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank McHugh   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2009]

I recently bought these on E-bay for $650.00 because of the rating and reviews I read here. If these were the first pair of B&W speakers I've ever owned and hadn't heard better, I would think I had something. It has the kevlar midrange that other speakers I've owned had so how wrong can these be. Well, unfortunately, enough to annoy you. If you are looking for bass then these should satisfy you but the midrange and highs are over shadowed by it. I unhooked my B&W cn-4s to listen to the speakers and there is no comparison. The cn-4s sound beautiful connected to my 251 watt per channel Carver amp. I could live with these 604 3s speakers with this setup had I not just changed them out and had the comparison. The 604 s3 has better bass but for me the beauty is in the middle and upper ranges. The difference appears to be the wattage these require. These are 200 watt speakers in 8 ohms. You are going to need a powerful amp to make them sing as they should. I could not live with listening to something less so I unhooked them and took them to my bedroom where I undid my Klipsch sb-3s and hooked it up to my Yamaha rxv-3000 amp. Nope, the bass was there but it still sounded a little dull in the mid and upper ranges. To be fair, the yamaha is 100 watt per channel. Next I moved them to my surround system. Here they found a home. They supply good bass where the Klipsch speakers provide everything else. By the way, these weigh 75 lbs apiece so this was no easy feat.
The sound stage for these are wide but the mids and highs sound a little (just a little) dull to me and.. and they didn't put me in the room with the players as other speakers will. The further down in Wattage I went, the more noticable this was although the bass never left. I'm sure when these were made, they were excellent for the time but progress has made these not quite as desirable or so it seems. Use them for in your surround system but for listening to music, you can find better for less money these days.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
ullodea   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2009]

I've had these for 18 months now and consider them a fantastic investment. I auditioned them together with the successor 683s and preferred them, for what it's worth. Three things have made a significant impovement to their sound in my case (and reflects my change from relative novice to enthusiast): 1) CABLES - the dealer I bought these from suggested that basic starightwire cable would suffice - not true. I have the rig now hooked up with nordost solar winds (cd to receiver), chord crimsons (receiver to power amp) and canare 4S11 speaker cable.I gained a lot more transparency and dynamic range by swapping out the average cables, totally worth it from where I started. 2) POWER - they need at least 150w to give you their best. I have a CA 640R hooked up to the bass and NAD C272 to the treble/mid.The sound tightened and got more authoritative when I added the power amp. 3) PLUGS - in my case the front ports needed a little taming, I had all but forgotten about the supplied plugs and installed them recently. This tightened the bass, given the way I have them close to a wall here. Whereas before these changes I wasn't totally sure I now feel very very happy with these babies. They are transparent, offer warm, sweet mids and deep bass. A joy to listen to.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bobby Jackson   AudioPhile [Jan 12, 2008]
Strength:

Work with you. Not against you. Just hook up and go. I love it.

Weakness:

Spike are kind of cheap looking. It is like having 14 inch rims on a lambo. I used some old ones I got off of another speaker.

Well, I bought these for my wife. I didnt think they would sound as good as they did. The audiophile world is so bias and stuppid. You can get so tied up in it . After a while you will start going by price range and what others say. In the end you only have two ears, your ears. That is the end story. These 604s are a darn good deal for the money. If you can still find some, get them. They remind me of the old days when you didnt have to spend a arm and a leg for good sound. remember the timeframes and the L 100 centrys. I still have my JBLs. they give me more fun than these new watt puppies I am looking at that cost as much as my wife new Honda. They sound good but wow , look at the price. I find my self listening to the 604s more than the wilsons, The wilsons are the better speakers but not by lets say for 29 grand difference. I get more of a conection with the B@Ws. It dosnt matter what you listen to are what amp I have hooked up . They just give you good sound. They work with you. You could have a krell are a 200 dollar sony, They will do somthing right.
You know. I am going to quit wrighting hear, Box up the wilsons and take them back and try out the new 683s. Save a little.

Customer Service

Dont know.

Similar Products Used: vandersteen, wilson, veanna, etc.You realy cant compair. Have there own sound.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
abidmrcog   AudioPhile [Oct 24, 2007]
Strength:

all rounder, performs good even at low powered amplifiers

Weakness:

none

Best Speaker Ever . Excellent performance, still I am trying to find some thing better, but B&W is outclass, no one can beat its performance. It is now said that, If you have less money then go for 600 series and if have further more to spend then again go for B&W 800 series, there are plenty of models to find out in B&W world. 683 new have now taken over 604S3, I have not heard it, but it must sound better than previous.

Similar Products Used: no comparison with other brands, but if want to waste money before making up your mind then try KEF,JAMO,INFINITY,KLIPSCH,BOSE.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
abid   AudioPhile [Oct 24, 2007]
Strength:

all rounder, good in all audio and theatre.

Weakness:

none

Best speakers I have ever herd.
believe me , I you have extra money then go for 700 series or 803 nautius , best speakers in this world. If you are running short in your finance then go for 603 s3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2007]
Strength:

warm sound
excellent bass performance
good for symphony playback

Weakness:

no weaknesses

[NOT GOOD IN ENGLSH]I am a classical music lover in China. I bought these speakers for my new house together with the CD player (Marantz SA8400) and the amp (ONIX A120MK2). i used to listen to headphones, i prefer Sennheiser's warm and comfortable sound. Since i got these speakers, i threw away my Sennheriser HD650, the sound of 604S3 is absolutely wonderful, espicially the warm string sound. With two bass speakers, the bass is made a little---fat, and hard to control. if the amp is incapable of controlling the bass (the Marantz PM7200), the bass is fat and not good to listen. it's a good choice for hifi and home theatre users. Yes, the sensitive of the speakers are made high, so a tube machine can handle that easily. that's all i wanna say. in a word: a good buy!

Similar Products Used: DM603S3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sct   AudioPhile [Nov 07, 2006]
Strength:

sparkling highs , great mid range and bass that is very tight and present

Weakness:

finish is O.K. (Black Ash)

Bought these speakers as a demo off the floor - had a pair of dm601's and really liked the sound - very balanced - this led me to check out reviews and have a listen to these speakers - the DM604 series3. After going thru dozens of speakers the last couple years (carver alIII,Klipsch Cornwall2,Thiel cs3.5,Kef 105 s2, paradigm 20v3, dahlquist dq-10, jbl 4311b,etc.) I have found these to be the best I have heard - sparkling highs , great mid range and bass that is very tight and present - I have yet to listen to a CD that hasent sounded fantastic thru this speaker - the balance of the sound from top to bottom is what really shines thru on this speaker - other speakers I went thru had their good traits, but none were as good all around as these speakers - I'm using a B&K amp (225wpc) and preamp and a Sony dvp-7000 for CD - highly recommended

Similar Products Used: carver alIII,Klipsch Cornwall2,Thiel cs3.5,Kef 105 s2, paradigm 20v3 &monitor 5, dahlquist dq-10, jbl 4311b, Soundwave point source,boston vr-m50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
M. GRIFFIN   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2006]
Strength:

4 year & still sound wonderful

Weakness:

NONE

Wow! It has been 4 years since I bought my pair of DM 604S3....They still sound wonderful. When I have parties I get great comments about the speakers...I will have to say that these are still the best speaker that I have heard and they are will worth the money spent. If anyone can find a speaker that sounds better and that has an excellent history in home audio speakers please let me know so that I can compare them to mine. Since the day I purchased these I have not went out to really list to home audio speakers, I really have no need to becasue I am completely satisfied with my B&Ws.

These speakers pump out enough BASS to where I have no need for a subwoofer even now in a larger house. I really enjoy listening to jazz and what a wonderful warm sound....You should go out and listen to any of B&W speakers trust me you will find what you sounds you have been missing.

Similar Products Used: SInce I sold my BOSE speakers & bought these...there are none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com