B&W DM603 S3 Floorstanding Speakers

B&W DM603 S3 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Slimmer than its predecessor, the DM603 S3 is a 2½-way floorstander. The lower 165mm (6½-in) aluminium cone driver features B&W''s mushroom construction and is restricted to bass frequencies only, where it operates in parallel with the Kevlar® cone bass / midrange driver. The reduced excursion demand on the bass / midrange unit reduces distortion, not only in the bass, but also in the midrange when accompanied by heavy bass. The result is greater clarity at higher replay levels.

The tweeter response in the ultrasonic region is improved for Series 3, recognising the needs of the new high resolution recording formats.

The well extended bass response and substantial output capability make the DM603 S3 fully at home in medium to large size rooms. In home theatre systems, partner with the LCR600 S3 centre speaker.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 59  
[Sep 09, 2019]
grateful1031


Strength:

Just pulled these out of storage & paired them with my new (to me) Sansui au-717. All i can say is that im in love with the sound!

Weakness:

None at the moment

Price Paid:
1000
Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2019]
Yorkshire living


Strength:

Beautifully balanced speakers, good mid range very musical with all types of music

Weakness:

Can be a bit unforgiving with a poor sound source best paired with a neutral system

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 09, 2011]
Prithvish
AudioPhile

Well i consider my self an audiophile after tremendously listening to and owning and researching about speakers and amp i have 2 combinational that i own.
B&WDM604 S3 Black Paired with a krell 400xi Black IS the Mammoth and hell ye the speakers rock !!!
B&WDM603 S3 Black Paired with a krell KAV 300i is the baby mammoth and ye it suffices a good sized bedroom!

First off my favorites B&W and Krell!!!!! Bottom Line you need a sub if use krell if you use rotel u can avoid it and helll ye if you biwire them the music has less bass but more life and clarity.

I got the BW 604 S3 for $800 secondhand and excellent condition it is definitely worth every dam penny!
The richness in the music is what you fall in love with in these speakers!

B&W603 S3 i know i cant compare them with the 604 but hell its a big difference it is good for your personal space but definitely not to power your home theater.

Bottom line they vary in sizes and weight and that says it all these speakers do not phase out in time it has a lot of life and has value in time to come.

I tend to buy products slowly and tend to make the best deal of what i can especially with the condition they are in. here is what i spent on my setups.

Krell 400xi- $1400
BW 603 - $550
604 - $800
Krell 300i -$950

never try to save a penny when you look for quality its always worth it!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 18, 2011]
Leo Hirschocker
Audio Enthusiast

Previous speakers - Maggies, Infinity's, Wharfdale and Bose (for ease and wife). These speakers do it all. Precise, good bass, clean, open and not bright like my Infinity's. I still prefer the sound of Maggies but they are not practical. These are very practical to the point that my friends and children think they're tables. I've spiked them which made a difference and use good cable. Front end is Marantz - DV7010 and SR7400 amplification. I've listened to $100,000 systems when I was into it, can't say I can complain. If I were to upgrade it would be to an old tube amp and a high end CD player, just to hear what these lovely speakers sound like.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2010]
kule
Audio Enthusiast

Try them with Rotel1062 and some musical CD player and you will be in heaven for that money, wonderful mids,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 02, 2010]
Scott Zepeda
Audio Enthusiast

Tight bass, smooth mids and never fatiguing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2009]
JR
Audio Enthusiast

I use a Rotel RSX-1065 which power the B&W 603 S3's, I bought these speakers used on ebay. Although i am still breaking these in, because as you know anything that sits for any period of time needs a little break in again, they are starting to sound fanatastic, i never buy anything i don't audition first, but by taking a chance from reviews, the gamble paid off. I got a great deal on these speaks, 510.00 for the pair in mint condition. My room might be a little large for these speakers, but as long as i don't stray to far from the sweet spot they are awesome, as always room size, acoustics and speaker placement all come into play, so plan wisely, no need for a subwoofer. If i deaden my room a bit that would take care of what i'm looking for, the speakers are by no means harsh or bright, warm, breathy and airy. Can listen to for a long time and not sound fatigued. I am also using Xindak FS-1 speaker cables, which for the money are more than what i expected. Those too need to break in a bit, but from the time i hooked everything up till now, it all just keeps sounding better than my expectations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2009]
raklerks
Audio Enthusiast

Have had the 330i for more than 20 years. Since I moved my old speakers to be used in another room, I had to search a new set. After having listened to the small 685's I was not sold. Even though they were the best in their class. Going back to the reviews on audioreview I sought a new set of floorrstanders. I have seen the 603 s3's going on sale and set out to listen to them. Went for the S3's after having read that the S3 are still a bit better than the S1 and S2.
They look sleek and tall (in black) and best with the fronts off. The aluminium cone looks awesome.
The mids and highs are flawless, especially listening to vocal or live sets. The low is quite flat when the volume is low, but when turned up the music comes out best. Well balanced filling up the space with music on all ends.
I am sure I can hold out for another 20 years on these ones. I have not been so happy with a purchase for quite some time. If you see any pair you cannot go wrong.

Set used with Onkyo TX SV545

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2008]
Sergio Serra
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, exact bass, image, soundstage, very nice looking and of course that logotype that makes the difference.

Weakness:

Don't say this!!

At a reasonable price, an excelent pair of speakers.

Similar Products Used:

Speakers= paradigm monitor 5 v1, mini- monitor, energy, infinity, b&w 602-s2, 603-s2, cygnus, gradiente, sony.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2006]
diehardmonte
AudioPhile

Strength:

Perfect sounstaging. Nothing in its range to beat these guys!

Weakness:

None!

Hi friends! This is my second review for these speakers and if you scroll down n read my last review, i had mentioned that i would be discussing my system from a more techincal view point. My setup consits of the Marantz CD7300 player, Arcam A70 Integrated stereo amp, Kimber's Timber analog audio interconnect and Kimber's Kwik 16 (standby, 8VS is on way) speaker cable in biwire mode. The setup looks quite simple, though its a midrange setup with a true class A quality sound. The speakers are kept about half a feet ahead of the walls and atleast 6 feet apart. The speakers are on spikes, with the room being acoustically done partially. This helps me in minimizing the bouncing and boomy sound in the small room. The setup runs on a singaporean make surge protector till the time my power conditioner arrives.

Now, i must highlight the differences in the performance i noticed about these speakers when i switched them from Yamaha RVX457 amp to Arcam A70. The first thing was the sound totally changed. The sound becme huge as if there were double the size of speakers playing. Secondly, the detailing factor improved so much so that everything now seems lovely listening to. All those complains about lack of bass is absurd. The bass response that i get is better than what a midrange sub can offer. The vocals are damn strong and the speakers deliver the same fastness at almost 90% of the volume on the amp without any distortion! The treble or tweeter is more soft. It wasnt harsh earlier, but the difference is noticiable. The level is gone much much higher n it was earlier. Truly magnificient....the more i listen to them, the more i love them...the amp is burned only 30 hrs so far...so it would be more interesting to see the performance after almost 100 hrs.

The important aspects for any speaker to perform wonderfully is to spend on a good CD player, which i did with Marantz CD7300, good cables, Kimber's mid range cables though but decent enough, a very decent amp...though wattage is low in my case, but the quality of 55 watts are more preffered than quantity of power. I could have gone for a nad 150 Watt C372, but, the quality wont be there. So try getting something which delivers more quality than quantity. Because, every human has a very limited Then do a smart bi-wiring and try to keep as small cables as possible. Avoid any bend or ground touching if possible. Try n route power cords seperately and you will see, the sound improvement with these mid range twin towers are fantastic.

The best part i liked about B&W is, they dont have a proper showroom except in Bombay. All the other places have Onkyo showrooms which do not have such competent equipments to run these speakers. Nonetheless, the still sounded far ahead of any other brand set with right n matching equipments. So you can now imagine the sound from these guys with this pidegree of my setup. They sound simply fantastic.

Shut your eyes n ears...just go n buy it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 59  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com