B&W DM603 S3 Floorstanding Speakers

B&W DM603 S3 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Slimmer than its predecessor, the DM603 S3 is a 2½-way floorstander. The lower 165mm (6½-in) aluminium cone driver features B&W''s mushroom construction and is restricted to bass frequencies only, where it operates in parallel with the Kevlar® cone bass / midrange driver. The reduced excursion demand on the bass / midrange unit reduces distortion, not only in the bass, but also in the midrange when accompanied by heavy bass. The result is greater clarity at higher replay levels.

The tweeter response in the ultrasonic region is improved for Series 3, recognising the needs of the new high resolution recording formats.

The well extended bass response and substantial output capability make the DM603 S3 fully at home in medium to large size rooms. In home theatre systems, partner with the LCR600 S3 centre speaker.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 60  
[Oct 25, 2019]
hillav


Strength:

Much better than Canton SC-L i had before. These b&w smaller but delivered more soundstage and details while bass almost moving sofa in 40 sqm room

Weakness:

Looks cheap due vinil film coatings instead of wood

Price Paid:
500
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2007
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2019]
grateful1031


Strength:

Just pulled these out of storage & paired them with my new (to me) Sansui au-717. All i can say is that im in love with the sound!

Weakness:

None at the moment

Price Paid:
1000
Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2019]
Yorkshire living


Strength:

Beautifully balanced speakers, good mid range very musical with all types of music

Weakness:

Can be a bit unforgiving with a poor sound source best paired with a neutral system

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 09, 2011]
Prithvish
AudioPhile

Well i consider my self an audiophile after tremendously listening to and owning and researching about speakers and amp i have 2 combinational that i own.
B&WDM604 S3 Black Paired with a krell 400xi Black IS the Mammoth and hell ye the speakers rock !!!
B&WDM603 S3 Black Paired with a krell KAV 300i is the baby mammoth and ye it suffices a good sized bedroom!

First off my favorites B&W and Krell!!!!! Bottom Line you need a sub if use krell if you use rotel u can avoid it and helll ye if you biwire them the music has less bass but more life and clarity.

I got the BW 604 S3 for $800 secondhand and excellent condition it is definitely worth every dam penny!
The richness in the music is what you fall in love with in these speakers!

B&W603 S3 i know i cant compare them with the 604 but hell its a big difference it is good for your personal space but definitely not to power your home theater.

Bottom line they vary in sizes and weight and that says it all these speakers do not phase out in time it has a lot of life and has value in time to come.

I tend to buy products slowly and tend to make the best deal of what i can especially with the condition they are in. here is what i spent on my setups.

Krell 400xi- $1400
BW 603 - $550
604 - $800
Krell 300i -$950

never try to save a penny when you look for quality its always worth it!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 18, 2011]
Leo Hirschocker
Audio Enthusiast

Previous speakers - Maggies, Infinity's, Wharfdale and Bose (for ease and wife). These speakers do it all. Precise, good bass, clean, open and not bright like my Infinity's. I still prefer the sound of Maggies but they are not practical. These are very practical to the point that my friends and children think they're tables. I've spiked them which made a difference and use good cable. Front end is Marantz - DV7010 and SR7400 amplification. I've listened to $100,000 systems when I was into it, can't say I can complain. If I were to upgrade it would be to an old tube amp and a high end CD player, just to hear what these lovely speakers sound like.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2010]
kule
Audio Enthusiast

Try them with Rotel1062 and some musical CD player and you will be in heaven for that money, wonderful mids,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 02, 2010]
Scott Zepeda
Audio Enthusiast

Tight bass, smooth mids and never fatiguing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2009]
JR
Audio Enthusiast

I use a Rotel RSX-1065 which power the B&W 603 S3's, I bought these speakers used on ebay. Although i am still breaking these in, because as you know anything that sits for any period of time needs a little break in again, they are starting to sound fanatastic, i never buy anything i don't audition first, but by taking a chance from reviews, the gamble paid off. I got a great deal on these speaks, 510.00 for the pair in mint condition. My room might be a little large for these speakers, but as long as i don't stray to far from the sweet spot they are awesome, as always room size, acoustics and speaker placement all come into play, so plan wisely, no need for a subwoofer. If i deaden my room a bit that would take care of what i'm looking for, the speakers are by no means harsh or bright, warm, breathy and airy. Can listen to for a long time and not sound fatigued. I am also using Xindak FS-1 speaker cables, which for the money are more than what i expected. Those too need to break in a bit, but from the time i hooked everything up till now, it all just keeps sounding better than my expectations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2009]
raklerks
Audio Enthusiast

Have had the 330i for more than 20 years. Since I moved my old speakers to be used in another room, I had to search a new set. After having listened to the small 685's I was not sold. Even though they were the best in their class. Going back to the reviews on audioreview I sought a new set of floorrstanders. I have seen the 603 s3's going on sale and set out to listen to them. Went for the S3's after having read that the S3 are still a bit better than the S1 and S2.
They look sleek and tall (in black) and best with the fronts off. The aluminium cone looks awesome.
The mids and highs are flawless, especially listening to vocal or live sets. The low is quite flat when the volume is low, but when turned up the music comes out best. Well balanced filling up the space with music on all ends.
I am sure I can hold out for another 20 years on these ones. I have not been so happy with a purchase for quite some time. If you see any pair you cannot go wrong.

Set used with Onkyo TX SV545

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2008]
Sergio Serra
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, exact bass, image, soundstage, very nice looking and of course that logotype that makes the difference.

Weakness:

Don't say this!!

At a reasonable price, an excelent pair of speakers.

Similar Products Used:

Speakers= paradigm monitor 5 v1, mini- monitor, energy, infinity, b&w 602-s2, 603-s2, cygnus, gradiente, sony.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 60  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com