B&W DM 604 Floorstanding Speakers

DM 604

3-Way Relfex Speaker - (2) 7" Woofers, 7" Mid-Range and 1" Tweeter (1996-1999)

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
Francois_2009   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2009]

I have had my 604's for about 10 years now.
They are driven by a Marantz SR-19 (110w/ch). Lot's of bass, clear vocals and great sounding highs
I keep them about 10ft apart with minimal toe in, and always on spikes. When off of the spikes the bass can get muddy and the sound not as transparent. I like my music loud, and the 604's sound the their best to my ears when played at moderate to high volumes. Although I use them mostly for stereo, they are in a theater setup with a B&W CC6 center, Omni 150 surrounds, and a Klipsh KSW12 sub. Even without a sub these speakers can deliver the deep rumbling lows for a great theater experience. When in stereo I never use the sub. These speaker have also been driven for a number a years by a less powerfull Harman Kardon 3600 stereo reciever (50w/ch) and they sounded to my ears almost as good as with the Marrantz SR-19.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Booser   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2006]
Strength:

Consistent imaging from the lowest to the highest volume.

Weakness:

Cabinetry - black ash has a low WAF

Driving these 3-way towers in a bi-amped set-up. I use an Adcom GFA-535II on the high end, with an Adcom GFA-6000 (5 channel ht amp) on the low end. All of this is controlled via an Adcom GTP-860II HT Preamp. Audio and video content delivered via an Adcom GDV-850 disc player. Ok, stipulated, I like Adcom as an excellent example of the intersection of price and quality.

I find these DM604s to be excellent for my space. The room is effectively square at 22' by 18' with 10' ceiling. There are hardwood floors with some damping coming from two couches and a 12' by 9' turkish mid-pile carpet.

They function as the primary speakers for stereo (compromised by the placement of the couches) and as L and R for the HT. In this environment, I have not found the need to add a SW to my 5.1 set-up, preferring instead to control bass reponse via wall proximity. I find the bass powerful, though not overpowering. Where these speakers excel is in the high end and treble responses. There are arguments to be made about bi-amping, bi-wiring, or simply jumping the terminals, but in my tests, the bi-amping proved obviously superior. The high end proved the test.

For audio, I have enjoyed testing with three particularly well mastered albums: Radiohead "Kid A", Beck "Guero", and Prince [Symbol or Love Sign]. These albums truly push the frequency reponse and test your amplification. Properly amplified, they keep sound integrity down to the lowest volume with consistent imaging.

In the end, excellent dual-purpose towers. They will likely fail the most exacting audiophile irrespective of amplification, but considering the price:value ratio, superb.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mfrench   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2004]
Strength:

Good for annoying your neighbours while you watch a John Woo film.

Weakness:

Poor sound-staging/imaging. Out of proportion bass.

I've had these speakers for 2 months, and, despite continual placement attempts, I've yet to to coax an acceptable sound stage from them. The image is compressed into the centre, with little or no width. Large amouts of toe-in did help a little. Its an understatement to say they require careful positioning. As for the bass, its great it you want them for home theatre use. For music reproduction the bass was too forward, and too dominating, for my taste.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
jwsb   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2003]
Strength:

Dynamics, Visceral impact great overall value. One of the best all arounders I've owned

Weakness:

Highs a bit rolled off. Needs carful positioning

Great value for money. Leans towards the bright side. Needs careful positioning for focus and imaging. I could imagine them doing well in a home theater set-up. A bit boomy. Plugged the port. these speakers need to be on its spikes as well to get a tight and defined bass. Hits low frequency extremes very well (This i noticed when amplified by Adcom SS Amp)Had it Driven by paragon 12A preamp and pair of 100+W Ambient Labs Mono Blocks- 6 6L6GC per channel.

Similar Products Used: EPOS ES14, Magnepan SMGC, Systym 935 (Systemdeck), Soliloquy 5.0
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   Casual Listener [Aug 12, 2003]
Strength:

average except for bass.

Weakness:

bass

Very poor bass. Nothing you can do to correct this problem. Very boomy. Otherwise the sound is decent but nothing to write home about.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Matthew Hyder   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2003]

For the attention of Aaron Borchard: Once again you see fit to 'grace' the audioreview site with your 'unconditional brand loyalty' biased opinion (all too common amongst B&W owners unfortunately). It never ceases to amaze me how people can be so influenced by marketing hype without realising it. Firstly, B&W are NOT 'the market leaders' as you put it, despite the claims of the company themselves, or your father for that matter (who's opinion carries little weight around here BTW). There are numerous companies out there at present producing superior loudspeakers using more advanced materials and techniques. I suggest you remove your blinkers and do some research beyond the confines of your family and B&W's website ;) Secondly, whether or not a company makes it's own drive units is no indication of the quality of it's loudspeakers. I'm sure you'd like to believe that the primary reason for making your own drive units is the pursuit of perfection, but the reality is that it ultimately reduces production costs and therefore increases profits for the manufacturer. Sure, it pays off in terms of development and quality control, but it can also lead to stagnation. In B&W's case, this is illustrated by their continued use of inherently unsuitable drive unit materials, namely kevlar and titanium (known for their resonance problems, harshness and chaotic breakup modes). Neither of these materials stand up to scrutiny when compared with state-of-the-art technology, yet B&W refuse to give up on them despite frequent complaints about harshness by reviewers, simply because they've invested so much time and money in their design/production. Sooner or later they'll be unable to iron out any more creases in these out-dated materials, and will fall behind until they accept that "if you can't beat em, join em". Companies that source drive units externally can more readily take advantage of new technologies, but profits/pricing may be affected. FYI i wouldn't buy anything from the 600 series. I'm not fond of their drive units, hate their looks, and rear firing ports on floorstanders are no good to me. I also don't like the use of chipboard for cabinet construction! Yours sincerely, Matt

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
PILAK   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2002]
Strength:

At this price level this is the speakers that i would recomend for home theaters. forget the other brands. Try the 600 series for serious home theater system.

Weakness:

for audio lovers, we are speaking of just left and right speakers alone(stereo). Never mix home theater audio with audio alone(playing from cds, phono etc...). Dynamics are ok when tested with sheffield drums, but high lacks warm.Try Camomile good for testing the highs. Tweeter is not so clean but can not be notice by most listeners. for audio, I prefer Proac Studio 125,Jmlab utopia line only, wilson audio depending on your budget. These 3 speakers has all it takes to be called good speakers.

The 604 is the best buy for home theater lovers. The price is just right. I have a runco crt 3x8 HD-45. Farouja VP2100 video processor. Stewart 110" fixed screen. Yamaha ax-1 dts es 6x150rms 2x45 front effect. rear bypass by a Luxman 4 channel amp. pioneer 737 progressive player. wires monster cable. main 604 s1 front center lcr6 s2 front effect lm1 rear side energy rvss6 omni directional rear 602 s2 rear center cc6 sub energy xl-18 18" 400rms room size is 7 by 12 meters. Works very well as a home theater system. dont think of any brand. mission lacks dynamics. dyna is a excellent speaker but needs powerful amp. jmlab chorus lacks dynamics. bose forget it. jbl highs too sharp for the human ears.

Similar Products Used: jm lab chorus line, bose acoustimas, jbl, infinity, altec , polk audio, boston acoustics, dynaaudio contour and audience.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Williams   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2002]
Strength:

The Clearest Sound Among All And very powerful

Weakness:

None At All

The Moment I Saw these speakers back on an audioshop I Knew i Had To Buy Them But... I Had No money. I almost went mad about these, these are the best I Have heard in my life, no infinity systems nor any other brand suits me, only B&w.

Similar Products Used: Nothing B&w is the best and these speakers are the best!!1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Pedraza   AudioPhile [Jun 20, 2002]
Strength:

the best sound ive EVER heard

Weakness:

none

i heard it on a presentation on a theater and since then i knew i had to have them. ASTOUNDING

Similar Products Used: nothing compares to these
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RossZahara   AudioPhile [Feb 18, 2002]
Strength:

The Highs are Crystal Clear and the Imagery is Ourstanding and Bass is VERY impressive. Bass is Fast and smooth The bass is so impressive you really dont need a Sub

Weakness:

When pushed hard can stumble on the low end that when only Pushed VERY hard though but when listen at normal volume there Outstanding..

B&W 604 are one of the Nicest Speakers ive Every purchased I have tryed NHT''s and Own a pair Magnapan but these are by far the best for the money.

Similar Products Used: Magnapan MMG Dynaudio Audience 120+ and Audience 20s Parasound HCA-1206 Sunfire Theater Grand Processor 2 Infinity Kappa Subs
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com