B&W CDM 9NT Floorstanding Speakers

B&W CDM 9NT Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

The CDM 9NT really is an excellent example of the marrying of technological design with stunning aesthetics. This top model in the Series incorporates the unique FST "surroundless" midrange driver first pioneered in the Nautilus 800 Series. Other technological features include Nautilus tweeter, paper/Kevlar cone bass driver with mushroom dust cap for extra diaphragm stiffness, Flowport and braced cabinet construction. The handcrafted cabinets incorporate the best in design know-how and are available in three finishes - Cherry, Red Stained Cherry and Black Ash.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 66  
[Jul 14, 2011]
Steve Razzetti
AudioPhile

I've had these for two years now and they absolutely rock. I love them! I have them bi-amped with Musical Fidelity A3CRs and play vinyl - mostly reggae, soul, blues, funk. Tight, deep bass. Lots of control. Fabulous detail in horns and piano, crisp highs and they love to play loud. I have a large music collection and am still constantly amazed at how well these perform - they reveal stuff in recordings and pleasantly surprise me. Got them for less than £800 on eBay - I am certainly a happy bunny!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2011]
ces4x4
AudioPhile

Have had these speakers for several years now. I've used power amps rated from 30wpc to 380wpc with them. Am currently using a 60wpc amp (rotel) with a Mac tube preamp. These speakers have always sounded very good, possibly bright depending on your amps so be careful which ones you use. These speakers are very revealing. Any weakness in electronics comes through in spades. In my current system I am very pleased as I find myself listening to the music and not the components. Maybe a little short in the bass but I use a Velodyne sub set 4dB higher at 40hz than the 9nt's put out so it blends in very nicely, not boomy yet full and airy, for a lack of better words. Have had SPL's hit 106dB at my listening position without audible strain. They sound equally good at rock concert levels as they do playing in the back ground. The 106dB reading was with the 380wpc amp of course!! Though my current 60wpc amp plays nicely while hitting 100dB at the listening position.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 13, 2008]
Jon Sonneborn
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very Clean, full sound. Well balanced all around

Weakness:

Tweeters are a bit bright and can be a little tiresome to listen to for too long at too high a volume.

Demos tend to impress my friends. Jazz & rock is what sounds best. I especially like to listen to a well recorded accoustic guitar piece.

Similar Products Used:

CDM 7NT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2008]
Slant83
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

top flight furniture construction..stunning
tight bass/mids and ability to "put you in the music" with the nautilus tweeter
sounds just like the new 703s I previewed at $3000


Weakness:

Not the prettiest of speakers (compared to Thiel)
Need good space and are heavy and bulky

I just purchased these babies to replace my Thiel CS1.5s. They are a little brighter than the Thiels but sharp and crisp. Sharp probably should be replaced by ACCURATE. Every note is crystal clear. More pronounced bass and a quicker and tighter response. The baby Thiels were no slouch but a little weak in the bass. (Also a respectable speaker in its own right and highly recommend for smaller rooms but need good power)

Setup: (my 15 yr old Adcom stuff...still cookin!!)

Adcom GFA 555 amp 200wpc
Adcom GTP 500 II tuner/preamp
Adcom GCD 700 cd
Oppo dv-981HD DVD/SACD
Canare 4S11 cables and interconnects

Rotel equipment may warm it up some but still kicks butt.



Similar Products Used:

Thiel CS1.5
Dahlquist DQ-12 (rebuilt and still rock my gameroom !)
Vandersteen 2ce

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2007]
Greg
AudioPhile

Strength:

Crisp, clean, and percise sound. If that guitar player in the studio droped a pic during the recording you'll hear it! With the proper power and setup its nearly impossible to beat for the price point. Beautiful to boot (I have the cherrywood).

Weakness:

None.

Much has been said about these speakers already and I'll just add that they are great for the money. I'm in love with them. They are great with both music and action DVDs.

I will say I first bought them and came home, hooked them up to my old Yamaha reciever with cheap speaker wire, cheap interconnects and cables, and no power conditoner, and was very dissapointed with the difference in sound between the audio store and my home. Upgrading the rest of my gear became a mission. My current setup below:

Arcam DiVA ARV200 - AV Reciever
Arcam DIVA P85 - 2nd Power Amp.
NAD T571- DVD/CD
Furman PM8- Power Conditioner
B&W CDM 9NT - Main Speakers
B&W CDM CNT - Center Channel
B&W ASW 675 - Subwoofer
B&W DM 602 S3 - Back Channels

All speakers Bi Amped with Audioquest Type 2 on top, and Type 4 on bottom of speakers.
CinemaQuest VSD2 Digital Cable
AudioQuest Viper Analog Cables out from ARV200 to my P85 Amp.
Monster Bass 400 Subwoofer Cable and Interconnects

WIth this setup the sound is beyond breathtaking. Although all my equipement wasn't cheap it results in fantastic sound and vision for the money.

My advice, power matters! Bi-Wiring and Bi-Amping the front 2 CDM 9NTs and also my CDM CNT (center channel) lower freqency plugs with the Arcam P85 and driving the upper freq plugs with the ARV200 Reciever really extended their bass and over all performance. Good speaker wire and interconnects matter too.

I believe setting up my system this way really helped integrate the sound with my ASW 675 Subwoofer too. It took some tweeking to set it up right so that it sounded both good with music and action DVDs. Giving the lower drivers of the 9NTs that extra power keeps it sounding balanced with the sub.

Customer Service

Great

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2005]
mona979
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

They have all the full range to produce beautiful music, but you need the right stuff to drive. Trust Me...

Weakness:

none, they even sound great at high volumes.

I can tell you that the difference is what you are driving these speakers with. I have a Hafler Xl-280 amp, and had a yamaha cx-600 preamp, and I liked the sound but knew I was not getting the full affect. Sold the yamaha and got a Hafler Pre 945. It made the speakers the best I have ever heard. You can not imagine the high's, low's and mid's are outstanding. You loose the speakers in the music, there is no extra backround garbage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2004]
bonesetter2004
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

soundstage, presence

Weakness:

brash, hard ear splitting top. big and boxy, not too atractive visually, a waste of time

i had to sell these speakers due their brash, hard and uncomfortable sound. i tried changing other components to see i could take some of it away, going to the length of buying o 300 watt krell, but they fundamentally stayed the same. there was alot i liked about them - presence, detail, soudstage focus to name a few, but they were not easy on the ear, especially at higher volumes. i used a CDM-7Nt for a while, which was a much more balanced sound.

Similar Products Used:

CDM-1NT Signature 805 CDM-7NT

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 06, 2003]
Spobs
AudioPhile

Strength:

Well constructed Controlled high and mid range Wide dispersion pattern Tweeter set at proper height Non-metalic sound from a metal tweeter Incredible seperation Flawless crossover from tweeter to mid Bi-amp capable

Weakness:

Heavy Tall, (center of gravity concern possible) Needs a good subwoofer for bass heavy music and for moves.

I have had these speakers now for 6 months, being driven by a 200watt/channel amp. My room is 24' X 24' with 8' ceilings. These speakers are used for music and home theater mains, they are connected to a SVS subwoofer. How do they sound? For classical music, they sound fabulous. For easy listening and light rock music, they needed a little tweaking, (changing the crossover to 80db so the sub could handle more of the bass). Once levels were trimmed and crossovers set, (using RS meter); I was ready to test the speakers. Wow! Enough said. For instance, listening to "Skimbleshanks the Railway Cat" from CATS, the seperation in the voices is superb; you can close your eyes and feel like you are actually at the broadway production. Robin Spielberg's piano sounds like a Steinway, (maybe because it actually is). The North Star Jazz Ensemble sound just like you are in a club, you can even smell the stale smoke. I could go on but what would be the point? I love the way these speakers sound with music, but what about home theater? Well, they still impress me. I've heard details in movies that I didn't know was there before, and convincingly realistic, (every time my wife and I watch the same dvd that has a door closing on the left, we still think it is our basement door closing). I know what some of you are thinking, it's the subwoofer that is making the difference. Well you may be right, but this is the perfect combination. The 9NT's have enough bass control to flawlessly match up with my sub, not too shabby. For the money, I believe these are an excellent buy! Room acoustics have a lot to do with speakers, mine must be just right for these spekers, (plus I have an amp that can drive them easily).

Similar Products Used:

Totem Hawks Legacy, (bad decision) B&W 7NT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 06, 2003]
Kishan Singh
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very detailed and accurate three dimensiona soundstaging involving the listener to an unbelievable extent. Of course, you would have to be a really critical listener to exploit the value of these speakers.

Weakness:

i dont know, i never auditioned the Nautilus 803/804.

I must admit that I ordered these loudspeakers without actually listening to them. My decision was based on research on the net and having owned and enjoyed the B&W DM602S2's for the past 5 years I knew I couldnt be wrong. My System i have the NT9's hooked up to a Harmon Kardon AVR7000 via two pairs of Kimber 8TC cabling to each speaker. The speakers are biwired. My source is the Rotel 965BX bitstream player (a little aged but extremely musical) and this is connected to the amplifier through the Madrigal Digital Fat Boy. I also have the B&W ASW 1000 hooked up, read my comments on this below. The NT9 need some time to burn in, probably 5 hours a day for 10 days. But even during this initial period the ability of these speakers to emotionaly involve the listener is uncanny. Whilst I am certain that they would be terrific for partying, I would say that they would be best suited to classical, jazzy, light rock type of music, music that requires analytical listening. Top End Detail. The Nautilus tweeter set back does make a massive difference from my old 602's. The top end frequencies are extremely open uncluttered and detailed offering as it were a view into the recording studio. i must admit that sometimes the tops can be on the bright side but that is a fault of the recording. be warned that bright recordings would become somewhat more difficult to listen to. Mids The midrange once again is different with the new Fixed Suspension Transducer. The crossover of only a limited bandwidth of the signal to the FST midrange unit allows accurate, open, three dimensional soundstaging whilst producing the minimum of movement to achieve this. Recordings that i have listened to for years suddenly sound as though they have been re-recorded with more sophisticated equipment. I have actually heard more with the NT9's than ever before. I mean a significant increase in detail, in fact so must so, that some recordings that i considered really "present" are now far too involving, even to the point of perhaps being eerie. Low end This depth is detailed, fast and tight. Going down to 30Hz is reasonably substantial but the beauty is the ability to be in total control at that frequency. Overall Tonal Ability i would say that B&W have integrated the whole frequency of audio signal immaculately in the NT9's. The depth of the soundstage and the separation is only appreciated when heard. i could write details here but unless it is experienced, it cannot be appreciated. Ofcourse, the amplification has to be of standard, i imagine i would achieve better with a better amplifier, but i am totally transported when i listen to these speakers. Subwoofer I would imagine that a subwoofer would be a nice to have, the trouble is which one? i must say that only a superbly clean, tighter than the NT9's subwoofer would complement these. And even then to set this at just 30Hz and below would be critical, with just the correct sound pressure and perfect phasing. it is possible nut unless it is done perfectly the beauty of the NT9's would be compromised. Certainly the B&W ASW1000 is not the right sub. I have found that listening to the NT9's alone is extremely enjoyable, i use the sub more for Home theatre now.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 04, 2003]
Patrick
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Articulate and precise high register Glorius midrange Plentiful, crisp bass. Overall, a wonderfully musical speaker

Weakness:

None

As a professor of music, I have picky ears but, with a teacher's salary, I had to find speakers that I could afford. There are many speakers in this price range that caught my attention, but none were as clear, articulate, and accurate with music reproduction as the CDM 9NT. When listening to live Orchestral music performances or chamber music in any genre (classical, jazz, - even pop or country) notice that there is always cohesiveness throughout the ensemble. The cdm 9nt reflects that; there is cohesiveness from high to low. The other speakers I auditioned seemed to distract my attention from the music. I was quite impressed with the B&W Nautilus series. The CDM 9NT performed admirably when compared to the Nautilus 804 (the 804 was slightly more precise in clarity). It was an absolute pleasure listening to the Nautilus 803; they really are quite remarkable. If I had the money, (don't get me started on teacher salary!) I think the next big step above the CDM 9NT is the Nautilus 803. That statement is not a criticism of the 804, but rather a compliment to the CDM 9NT. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase - Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm Studio 100, Studio 60, NHT, Boston Acoustics, Mirage, Monitor Audio, Energy

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 66  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com