Axiom Speaker Company Millennia M50 Ti Floorstanding Speakers

Millennia M50 Ti

You'll be thrilled with the clean bass produced by the M50's twin aluminum woofers! Its titanium tweeter delivers silky and detailed highs with a smooth, pleasant midrange . Great on its own for home audio, and wonderful as the powerhouse in a home theater speaker system.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
kjasey   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2005]
Strength:

Excellent customer service. You get what you pay for.

Weakness:

Bucking magnets attached to the woofers.

There's a reason why there is a gap in the reviews between the M22s and the M60's. Ive owned the M22s and they have an excellent sweet spot. Its a great little bookshelf but i needed something with a little more power and soundstage for home theatre. That brings me to the M50s. They indeed have more power but the musicality and openess isn't there. You have to turn them up really high to get performance out of them. When watching movies they lack detail as L&R channel. Your better off with the M22s. I havent heard the M60s but i believe its worth the extra money to upgrade because the extra midrange woofer makes a huge difference when it comes to detail. Dont let Axiom fool you with there overwhelming reviews....most of them are contrived. If you have a pair..take out the woofer and you will see the lack of quality put into this speaker. Check out the silly bucking magnet for shielding. Good speakers but nothing more.

Similar Products Used: Energy, NHT, Paradigm, Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
cazimero   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2003]
Strength:

Simple but solid construction. Attractive design. Incredible, full range sound.

Weakness:

none that I can tell.

Let me start by saying, I agree with what everybody is saying about this company's customer service and sales policies. Patient, very friendly, helpful people on the phone, the price included FedEx 3 day shipping, speakers arrived as scheduled, packed in double boxes, I bought the factory "B" stock and can't find a single blemish anywhere on them, etc, etc. Couldn't have been a more enjoyable or painless transaction...... Now for the sound - I bought these Axiom's M50-Ti's for my front mains, a pair of Axiom M3-Ti bookshelfs for surrounds and an Axiom VP-100 for the center channel. Immediately after hooking them all up I sat down in my easy chair, and popped in a few CD's to give them a listen. Initially I was somewhat disappointed - all the speakers sounded harsh to me - much too bright and rather unrefined. However, I remembered reading so many other reviewers comments about having to break in new speakers, so instead of losing hope, I just began playing them for about 8 hours a day while I was at work, by feeding them one of the digital music channels my cable company serves up. I began that process on a Monday. That following Friday evening (about 40 hours of playing time later) I sat down again to give them another serious listen. I was stunned. I don't know when it happened, but all of a sudden it seemed like I was listening to an entirely different set of speakers. All the harshness I had previously experienced was gone. Instead, the sound coming out of them was ultra clear but rich and deep and warm. Highs are almost "tinkly" sounding - very sweet and smooth, the mid's are hard to describe - rich and deep - actually the word that comes to mind is "presence" -incredible presence -I can actually hear the artist's breathing! I'm hearing sound details on my favorite, well-listened-to CD's I've never even heard before! The lows, while not ultra-low (my Boston Acoustics PV-600 subwoofwer takes care of those quite nicely)are rich and warm and very tight, very musical.....Bottom line! I am absolutely thrilled!! I've been doing nothing but playing music ever since. I even dusted off my turntable and pulled out a few of my old (but well cared for) vinyl LP's. What a revelation! I have never heard them sound like this!! Ok,Ok - so I'm not a audio fanatic who's used to listening to audio components costing many thousands of dollars (in fact the speakers these replaced were some old Yamahas I've had for about 20 years, although they were nicely built - weighed about 40 lbs each with 12" woofers, etc - heck, I used to think they sounded pretty good...) Well, the difference between these and my old Yamahas is dramatic. I just can't imagine home audio speakers sounding any better than these Axioms, regardless of the price. Getting all 5 of these speakers for $1,000 delivered - what a bargain! And to think these might actually get better with a little more break-in time - what a scary thought. I just can't get enough of this sound and obviously, I just couldn't be happier with these speakers. If you're in the market for speakers, from small bookshelfs all the way up to free standing, sound stage monsters, you owe it to yourself to check out this high quality company and it's high quality products. Because they have no distribution network in the U.S. they're still kind of a well kept secret. Not for long, I'll bet.....

Similar Products Used: my first set of "real" audiophile speakers. I won't be going back....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Smith   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

SOUND

Great Company! Its nice to be able to talk to the same extremely helpful people anytime you need help. The sound is very good. With time I know they will sound better. They look great considering the amount of money spent. The majority of the money goes where it should the sound. Cant wait to get the vp120 center channel and Qs8's one day. Take the jump and audition this great brand. Call Alan an he will help you pick the right speakers for you.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch Rf3 & Rf5 auditioned both at home sound good if you want to go deaf from ear piercing treble ear fatigue for days! Marantz 6300 Nice warm sound.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
md55   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2003]
Strength:

Great clear, detailed sound. Quality workmanship. Fantanstic company to deal with. Can't be beat for twice the price. Trapizoidal shape make placement easier in room. Very happy with boston cherry finish.

Weakness:

None

After reading many reviews on this site and others, the excelent reviews for all the Axiom products and their great price made me give these a try. Ordered Dec. 23 they arrived the morning of Dec.26. While waiting for the rest of our new system to arrive I hooked them up to our sony MHC 100 juke box in the bedroom. A big smile, outright laughter at the change in sound. My wife came in from work and had the same response laughter. It was like being tikled by the sound. Clear and sparkling, full and rich. For the next few days we went through our cd collection hearing things we had never heard before. Cds we hadn't cared for in the past were suddenly wonderful to listen to. We are still breaking them now hooked up in the living room to our new Outlaw 1050 receiver and NAD T571 DVD changer. We are spending continuous hors listening to music with a movie thrown in now and then. Very well built. Can't wait to get some mt22i s for the bedroom.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jamin3d   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2002]
Strength:

Easily powered - efficient. Very economical. Stay where put with the spikes! :) Best customer support of any company I've ever dealt with, ever. I cannot stress this enough!

Weakness:

None so far.

I began my quest for great speakers at the local Tweeter store, listening to thier higest-end Vienna Acoustics, Sonus Faber, and Mirage floorstanding models. Also had extensive listening to my roommates M&K's. Long story short, based on many hours of on-line reading, I decided to audition the Axiom M50Ti's (Axiom gives you 30 day audition period, satisfaction guaranteed). After breaking them in for a couple of weeks, I then began to *really* listen to them, and this should sum it up: A HUGE smile comes across my face every time I listen. Absolutely transparent, with so much detail. Plenty of bass, but with my SVS subwoofer, I have literally listened to these for more than 4 hours straight, multiple times, and totally enjoyed every second of it. Great soundstage. Superb mids. Crystal clear highs. I feel like I have $3,000+ speakers when I'm listening... they sound very good. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Extensive listening to Sonus Faber Grand Piano, Vienna Acustics Mozart & Beethovens, Mirage OM 5 & 7s and M&K 750 THX's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
2x6spds   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2002]
Strength:

Superbly accurate reproduction of music and movie sound tracks. Great imaging, enormous sound stage. Extremely pleasant sound. Efficient - good for high powered solid state systems or low powered tube amps. (I've used it with 130 watt per channel Onkyo TXDS 797 receiver and a 5 watt per channel Antique Sound Labs tube amp. Sounds great serving either.

Weakness:

These are some really large towers. I got mine in Maple and they look like a pair of refrigerators. I suggest you get them in black or Boston Cherry.

Replaced a pair of Infinity Composition Overture 3 towers with these Axiom M50Tis. The Axioms are, in my opinion, much better speakers. The M50s reproduce the high frequency range of music with accuracy and sparkle, mids are incredibly accurate, full, rich and detailed. The M50s go down pretty low but appreciate the help of a good subwoofer to fill sub 40Hz music. I used the M50s for both music and home theater. These speakers excell in both rolls. These are large tower speakers. If you don't have the room for these towers, grab a pair of Axiom M3Tis. They do not go as low but their mids may be even more pure. The highs from the M50s have the same sparkle as the M3s but without any harshness.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Composition Overture 3 towers (Axioms are stunningly superior); JBL L5 towers (no comparison, Axioms are true audiophile speakers); Axiom M3Tis bookshelves (M50 goes down much lower, M3's mid
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
N Haley   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2002]
Strength:

Highs, good deep bass for dual 6.5" woofers, Look like a lot more expensive speakers

Weakness:

None really, I did have a hard time tweaking the M50s to integrate with my sub however

Before I go into anything I just want to let it be known that these speakers DO need some time to "break-in", about 40-50 hrs of use is sufficent. With that said these are truly amazing speakers, they sound and look like speakers twice their price. Extremely detailed highs along with excellent, tight bass. I currently have the following setup.... Mains: Axiom M50s Center: 2 Axiom M22''s Surrounds: Axiom Qs4s Reciever: Denon-2802 Sub: Velodyne HGS-15 I paid just under $1200 for the whole Axiom setup (Great value). Movies sound unbelievable, and music is reproduced accurately and with authority. I reccomend these speakers to anyone.....at their price it is a no brainer

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Studio series JBL Studio series NHT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ak s   Audiophile [Jun 07, 2001]
Strength:

the entire Millenium line is an outstanding value! Remarkable engineering and quality at 'bargain basement' prices.

Weakness:

Poor distribution in the U.S. :-(

the entire Millenium line goes neck-and-neck with the paradigm reference series for a fraction of the cost. See www.soundstage.com and www.goodsound.com for further coverage of the Axiom product line. Very cool. Those Canadians sure know how to build speakers. Harman International is lucky as heck to have Floyd Toole on board now!

Similar Products Used: paradigm polk nht psb pinnacle etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2002]
Strength:

Clear sound, good imaging, Fit and Finish.

Weakness:

None at this price. $736.00 cdn.

I decided on the Axiom speakers after reading reviews and corresponding with Marc at the Audioshop. So after some deliberating I ordered a set of M50ti's. When the speakers arrived Marc had double boxed the speakers just incase. They arrived in perfect condition :) The first thing I noticed about the speakers prior to hooking them up is the fit and finish, they are top notch and look great. Cool looking ports and Aluminum drivers. I had never heard these before so it was kind of a risk and after first hearing them they sounded a bit on the brite side. This only lasted for a short time and they calmed down and sound awesome. The other thing I noticed with these speakers is positioning is key. Marc advised me on some positioning tips to get rid of the boomy problem. Overall the speakers sound great, they provide clear sound and good imaging and tight base. For the size of the speakers they can create fairly low base, just isn't earth shaking loud. If that's what you want get a dedicated sub box.
For the cost of the Axiom M50ti's I don't think you can go wrong. I would recomend them to anyone looking for a good set of speakers in this price range.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com